Human Resource Minister M. Kulasegaran has urged e-hailing service provider Grab to provide Social Security Organisation (Socso) contribution for its drivers. The suggestion, according to The Sun, was after Socso learnt that the late Grab driver, Aiman Nosri, 27, had no record of Socso contributions being made. Aiman was found dead in his Perodua Myvi, reportedly with strangulation marks around the neck.
“I am very sympathetic to the victim’s family, it is a pity for them because they did not get any benefits under the Socso scheme even though he died while working. In fact, our checks revealed as of April, there are only about 4,231 taxi drivers including those in the e-hailing services from a total of 90,000 drivers who contribute to Socso,” he told reporters after launching the Malaysia Commuting Accident and Road Safety Seminar.
Kulasegaran cited the law, which states that every employer is required to make Socso contributions, thereby ensuring that the welfare of every employee is taken care of. He also said Socso issues between RM600 million to RM800 million in compensation payments to employees involved in commuting accidents.
“The government does not emphasise on the enforcement aspect of that law as it wants to be more business-friendly and does not want employers to be in a position where they are forced to do it. The contribution per worker is not much – it is only about RM15 a month or RM150 a year. In this regard, employers are encouraged to register their employees for Socso benefit, as they have been working hard,” he added.
Socso CEO Datuk Seri Dr Mohammed Azman Aziz Mohammed said his organisation had attempted to meet with Grab to register drivers under the Socso scheme, but that ultimately failed to materialise. “A scheduled meeting with the Grab CEO has been postponed twice. I hope that we are able to meet Grab in the near future to sort this matter out,” he said.
This Kula guy is so stupid beyond belief. Trying to cover after the cook banning saga.
Isn’t Grab just a platform where drivers and passengers are connected. Grab doesn’t employ drivers, right? They just take some commission for using their platform.
I’m glad to eat my words if I’m wrong but Kula is not the kind of minister we need or want. Resign please.
So no different from previous ones. When they were in opposition they talked big time. Now already in power continue playing the blame game.
The problem with Grab is, there is no background check on passengers. This is unfair to the driver. Most drivers are scared and apprehensive of the passengers they take, especially late in the night and drunk passengers.
I hope Grab has a method to verify passengers. Problem with Grab, they are greedy. They want all the maids, foreign workers and foreigners who have to credit cards to use it
Having a credit card as payment gives extra safety to the grab driver.
It is immature to attack the Minister. You sound like a sore BN loser. Instead of giving constructive criticism, you call Kula names.
Try to give your suggestions to the Ministry instead of being abusive in this forum.
Correct bro ….
That is why I , friends quit GRAB. Easily any one register as rider including PATI as long as you have phone & prepaid.
Reject suspicious rider, rider don’t appear, turn wrong junctiin, riders request anther pickup along the way, GRABShare etc- Such cases only victimize Driver. Lower star – banned or pay hidden damage travel cost.
Would driver able to beg for money if African & Arab rider suddenly run away without pay?
Further more INSURANCE company openly announce E Hailing not Sharing.
It is COMMERCIAL BUSINESS in disguise.
Standard insurance coverage won’t repair your car damage.
Don’t bring stranger – put your CAR & LIFE into death mode.
nobody is forcing you to drive for grab. if you dont like it then find another job. or create your own company to compete against grab.
What are you talking about damnson, even though they are just a platform but by right they are just like any company, they take commissions and regulate rules and what not, Mr Kula also should impose rider background check as well
the drivers are self employed, not hired by GRAB.
Self-employed? So who gave grab the authority to ask for personal information, insurance, road tax, ability to suspend and terminate drivers who are “self-employed” and take 25% commission from their earnings? Damn you’re ignorant, son.
They r self employed using Grab platform, just like using Lazada, if the provider is misusing/ misbehaving then the platform has the right to remove them from their service.
Althou some countries in EU deemed them to be employed by Uber et al, hence requiring social benefits, some countries says no need.
No right and wrong, to have it is better but then the gig workers will need declare Grab income to LHDN lor. Money come, money come, to gov!
Kula should ask Loke to set up a tribunal to look after interest of taxi driver n Grab drivers…I think my request is reasonable.
so grab need to increase fare again, at the end consumer hurt again
I think that is really subjective. Last time everyone complained that taxis didn’t use their meters so the assumption is that the metered fare is the fair price. Then Grab & Uber came along offering dirt cheap fares. Now people reject taxis even when they use their meters.
If you have an idea on how to reduce the costs for the drivers so that they can earn a decent living with cheaper fares, then please share it.
i sympathised with the deceased, however we must take note that he, among all other drivers had decided not to work as full employment as an employess, which subjected you to working 5 or 6 days a week 8.30 to 5pm.
he had decided he wants to be his own boss, he decides when he wants to go to work. and where. and what time is his lunch break, and what time he goes home.
he is his own employee, grab is just a platform (an application) for him to exercise that task. besides, the contribution to socso per month is something like RM5-6. its up to every grab drivers whether they want to participate or not
you think Grab cares? as long as they continue to earn, all drivers are dispensable.
Customers want cheap, so what to do? Cut cost here and there lor.
Grab Cheap!? U must be joking right!?
For john, everything was cheap before. Cause he was handsomely paid. Now, times are tough, old employer also going to jail. So, after a while, john too will feel the pinch of Grab charges….oh wai
So, more exp than teksi kah? U must be joking right!?
Never trust GRAB…!!!
A lot of the drivers are only part timers. So it’s more logical for them to get the SOCSO themselves. If Grab company pays for all drivers, they might go bankrupt!
But Grab charge very high commission on driver u don’t worry Grab goes bankrupt I worry drivers bankrupt high petrol, expensive car maintenance, n many restrictions by Grab to limit drivers to earn incentives demanding conditions n never side with us but protect passengers only
Yes you’re right Kim I support you
Grab earn 25% commission and set strict rules that favours passengers than their driver. They should also vet their passenger to weeds out the undesirables.