Ride-hailing not banned, but must be fair to taxis: Loke

Despite pleas from certain groups such as taxi driver organisations, transport minister Anthony Loke said that the government will not be banning ride-hailing services like Grab, but they will have to be regulated to be fair to taxi drivers.

In a report by The Star, Loke said that the government is committed to ensuring a level playing field for both taxis and “e-hailing” services, and that laws will be put in place.

“In today’s cabinet meeting, the prime minister [Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad] called on the Transport Ministry to look into ensuring there is a level playing field for taxis and e-hailing services,” he said. “I will be meeting with SPAD [Land Public Transport Commission] this evening and ask the commission to come up with a proposal on this.

Loke added that he hopes an announcement on the future of ride-hailing services and the taxi industry will be made in mid-July. “I hope taxi groups who have voiced out their concerns on e-hailing services can be patient, and I assure them that an announcement on this will be made soon,” he said.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Rajoo Selvam on Jun 28, 2018 at 11:03 am

Teksi drivers complain a lot. They are pampered and used to getting things free.

Well, New Malaysia now. You got to work hard like the rest of us.

Sitting under the tree and sleeping half the day won’t bring you money. Half the time lepak bawah pokok and sembang with all the other teksi drivers.

Then complain that life is difficult and cannot make money.

Time to work hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 16
    • Man Dhalan on Jun 28, 2018 at 11:19 am

Good and responsibled MOT in considering competency, accountability and transparency on overall taxis and e-hailing services.

To implement fair meritocracy liberally and level playing field for taxis and e-hailing. Brighter decades ahead for the New Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 31
      • New Taxi Platform on Jun 28, 2018 at 12:57 pm

(1) Liberalize taxi permit; (2) special Taxi app; (3) Lower or similar fare with Grab; (4) clean and safe car; (5) direct Taxation and inspection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
      • A gud MOT will consider competency, accountability and transparency, but this MOT only consider one thing: how to reward kleptocronyism.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 38
    • digidigi on Jun 28, 2018 at 11:21 am

This is not new malaysia, many things start going back to square one ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 4
      • Einstein on Jun 28, 2018 at 1:37 pm

So take me away, I don’t mind
        But you better promise me
        I’ll be back in time
        Gotta get back in time
        “Back In Time [From Back To The Future Soundtrack]”

• But New MY gov must gip rewards to teksimen. If not becoz of them, how will PH winrar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 30
      • You mean 67000 taximen 67,000 Kad Bantuan Teksi 1Malaysia ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
        • The 67,000 teksimen telling 1million customers sapot PH lor which helps PH lor, otherwise sure wun winrar lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 16
      • umnoman on Jun 28, 2018 at 2:11 pm

Its becoz of ur own pipu dun sapot ur own party that PH winrar. Oh wai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
        • Teksi own pipu? But sapot or not is up to them where got such thing as compulsory sapot in previous gov unlike Bapak time? Oh wai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
  • taboogen on Jun 28, 2018 at 11:06 am

if want to be fair.. both should have the same rights.. right.. but when both have the same rights then what is the different? back to square 1 unless abolish taxi only have ride hailing system

• Awang Selamat on Jun 28, 2018 at 11:15 am

To be fair, poor teksi drivers. They all have to pay expensive teksi permits and rental. All lesen companies held by UMNO

Time for PH Government to clean up all these teksi companies. We want a clean Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
      • Ini baru keluar dari gua ke apa? permit dan sewa sudah dikelolahi persendirian masa pak Najib. Kalau dari masa pak Tun, papa kedanalah pemandu2 teksi mau bayar kroni pak Tun. Pemandu teksi yg cari duit, kroni2 Tun yg ambik duit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • Samsa on Jul 02, 2018 at 9:42 am

The reason why many users opt to use ride hailing service is due to the facf that you will be riding in a person private cars which means not a public.transport. so its.cleaner and newer. If.you start imposing law and regulation for this.service, then it will become another taxi with different name. Coz grab intention is for part time side income cash not full time taxi like service

• Kopi-o on Jun 28, 2018 at 11:20 am

Follow the law of nature – FITTEST SURVIVE

• Ben Yap on Jun 28, 2018 at 11:51 am

improve the train system and government provide all the free buses for the last leg.

from there you don’t need ride-hailing and taxi.

• https://paultan.org/2018/05/30/government-pulls-the-plug-on-mrt-line-3-project/

• Mikey on Jun 28, 2018 at 12:01 pm

Dear Transport Minister, If SPAD [Land Public Transport Commission] is under your purview, let them do some work to justify their existence/salaries.
    Don’t shoot 1st B4 consulting with them or U will be blamed. After-all, they are there for a purpose isn’t it!!

• https://paultan.org/2018/06/07/goodbye-spad-hello-apad-new-agency-to-be-formed/

• Mikey on Jun 28, 2018 at 2:28 pm

Why “https://paultan.org/2018/06/07” when this article is publish by PT.org too.

• PT site is vetted a secure and legit site and not a fake news site like what Albertkunta implied? Who knows?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
          • Mikey on Jun 28, 2018 at 4:21 pm

This PT site did mention – “I will be meeting with SPAD [Land Public Transport Commission] this evening and ask the commission to come up with a proposal on this”. U mean this is NOT PT site!?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • I belip PT more than Loki. PT is consistent, Loki works for UTurn gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
          • Mikey on Jun 29, 2018 at 11:23 am

I believe Loki more than U:P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • Really? But i din write this article nor works for PT. So if u dun belip me and dun belip PT, then why u still here? Weird.

• 12yrsold john on Jun 29, 2018 at 4:34 pm

Uncle john, PT do not need U to polish them la. Can u please write/commenting something original instead of https:pt

• Ben Yap on Jun 28, 2018 at 12:58 pm

taxi and ride hailing can be fair playing ground.

but will ride hailing be fair to their drivers?

• sabahan on Jun 28, 2018 at 2:02 pm

Just treat them fair and square. Commuters dont choose them, because they are not honest (some of them), so commuter treat them just fair enough

• Tutup jer semua kompeni teksi yang perah duit dari pemandu teksi … What you earn is what you get.

• wawasan2020 on Jun 28, 2018 at 3:18 pm

please removed all the permit from clony to control and sucking blood from poor taxi drivers.

• komarad on Jun 28, 2018 at 3:50 pm

just remove the dr evil look alike guy…

• How come Taxi cannot come up with their own app? Mainly what they say is Gov should this and that and ban Grab

• https://paultan.org/2018/01/16/dacsee-ride-sharing-app-empowerment-by-interlinked-community-live-by-feb-launch-in-april/

Oh wait, that was by previous gov…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • 4G63T DSM on Jun 28, 2018 at 7:09 pm

Meter also don’t want to use, use app for what?

The more honest Taxi drivers are already using grab. Taxi drivers have gotten such a rotten reputation that even taxi drivers themselves quit driving taxis to drive grab with their private cars.

• Ah Beng on Jun 28, 2018 at 10:11 pm

So have to detune my Ferrari to be fair to all the Myvis?

• stastasta on Jul 02, 2018 at 9:53 am

in racing ? yeah ferrari need to run air intake restrictor

• grab driver on Jun 28, 2018 at 10:13 pm

what have grab and other e-hailing co did that make them unfair to taxis? e-hailing is just being proactive rather than reactive as practised by conventional taxis. This is how the modern taxi should operate, calling by just using apps & no need to walk to taxi stand only to be told that the taxi drivers are not willing to go there due to bad traffic, no customers when coming back, etc & finally charging double tripple? Cars also in bad condition & ageing sounds coming from every parts of the car. Do the survey & I can guarantee 80-90% people will prefer e-hailing over conventional taxis.

• This doesn’t sound good to be honest. I’m afraid this country is heading backward under Tun.M leadership, we cannot let the “new govt, new cronies” thing happen again

• why the minister are supporting the taxi driver?
    those taxi driver are only like 87 000 people plus i heard only 20 000 of them left driving today. They are not the major portion of the people that get Pakatan Harapan to win election.

E-Hailing own like 500 000 driver and heard like 200 000 of them active daily supported by thousand and thousand of Malaysian people used it to travel every single day.

Malaysian people need to stand up. If u want e-hailing to be cheap and available fight your right. If this policies goes on, am pretty sure like 80-90% of the e-hailing driver will quit and that will cause a high price since less driver are available.

Some ppl complaint e-hailing fare are high since Grab already monopoly the market. Use your brain and think straight, the driver are paying for the fuel which is unstable and keep on rising during BN era. Why must the driver the one who dies in order for u to reach your destination. Be fair to driver as well.