AOS 2018: “Papa Jahat” RM45k prize bike press reveal – custom build C70 kapchai with 600 cc engine

Last year’s lucky draw winner at the Art of Speed festival (AOS 2018) went home with “Twin Boss” a double-engined Yamaha RXZ but for 2018, the prize is a little different, a 600 cc kapchai named Papa Jahat or “Bad Daddy”. Taking a Honda C70 as its basis, this monstrosity was put together by last year’s prize builder, Mohamad Irwann Mohd Azlan, better known as Cheng, from FNG Works of Ipoh.

The 27-year old mechanical engineer was commissioned by the organisers of AOS 2018 to put together Papa Jahat for inclusion as first prize in the festival’s lucky draw. According to Cheng, the project was difficult due to the size of the engine which necessitated butchering the C70’s frame, but still preserving the looks and profile of the donor bike.

A 39 mm PWK Keihin carburettor is mated to the 600 cc four-stroke single-cylinder air-cooled engine with the entire wiring loom replaced . Despite looking that way, Papa Jahat is not lowered but in face, raised a little in front with lengthened leading-link front and 300 mm shock absorbers at the back, along with race shift pattern for the gearbox.

The swingarm was lengthened by 50 mm over stock while the C70 monocoque frame was hacked to install a steel backbone. This then required the fuel tank to be made smaller, giving some 3-litres of capacity, or in the words of the author, “about enough to start the engine, go around the block and get arrested.”

Although the build is not quite yet complete and AOS 2018 is only three weeks away on July 28 and 29 at Malaysian Agro Exposition Park Serdang (MAEPS), Cheng has resolved to finish his work in time. On the final day of AOS, one lucky visitor will get the chance to bring home Papa Jahat, which cost almost RM45,000 to construct.

If anyone is curious, both the author and his colleague, Durrani Shahrom of paultan.org‘s BM section, took Papa Jahat out for a spin around the block. The verdict? Scary fast, easily goes sideways and heaps of fun.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Dave Chapman on Jul 13, 2018 at 5:29 pm

Did anyone notice the front tyre is totally misaligned? I understand the designer wanted to give a weathered look but the bare polished metal body looks uneven and dents are everywhere. I’ve seen better Japs and Thais modded cafe style C70s. Malaysian custom mods? Meh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • AkooIm on Jul 13, 2018 at 6:24 pm

Read again bro… the built is not complete yet…

• sad that Dewan Bahasa dan Pustaka got no better word. Everything copy other languanges

• The article is in English, the comments above are in English. What the heck is wrong with you suddenly bring in DBP?

• Jougan on Jul 13, 2018 at 6:27 pm

@Dave, did you notice the phrase “Although the build is not quite yet complete….” at the 5th paragraph?

• casual rider on Jul 13, 2018 at 7:26 pm

can you read the first line on the second last paragraph bro?

• Bro,
      U build Ur own,
      Invite public – so they can judge Ur small talk, big ambition
      At least, give compliment
      Kata Malaysia Baru
      Condem org No1.
      Tp Dalam, habuk Pon tarak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • rightwinger on Jul 15, 2018 at 10:28 am

you,ve got to start somewhere…malaysian custom scene is stifled by archaic laws that are stuck in the 50’s.

• Donno on Jul 13, 2018 at 8:21 pm

Custom? Worth RM45K? It is just a bash of scrap parts without any sense of artistic customisation. It is a disgrace to call that contraption a custom bike.

• Bernard on Jul 13, 2018 at 11:13 pm

Ugly…looks unsafe too. Maybe will look better once finished.

• sam123 on Jul 14, 2018 at 9:27 am

they are not designer

• BbalingBiru on Jul 15, 2018 at 2:38 pm

Ha ha… the time you want to bring the speed down, just shift down gears and let the engine do the breaking!

• It’s braking…you don’t want the bike to break while you are riding..
      Yes, Engine braking or downshifting is a common technique for motorbikes and cars for better control around corners/chicanes.

• Anonymous on Jul 15, 2018 at 10:18 pm

This hodge podge junk of a motorcycle does not look safe nor does it look nice. Not worth the money put into it. Try again.

• Leonardo on Jul 17, 2018 at 10:26 am

Not bad…I think Malaysia’s custom bike scene could be better and bigger IF our laws are not too restrictive, albeit some basic safety requirements for them to be considered roadworthy.