Toll will be abolished, but later, says works minister

The Pakatan Harapan government’s promise of abolishing toll collection will be carried out, though the people will have to be patient for it, works minister Baru Bian told The Star. “We are trying hard to fulfil promises in the GE14 manifesto. What we have promised, we will have to do it,” he said.

The works minister said that there are many things that need to be considered before toll collection can be abolished. “We cannot rush into things,” he added, saying that the recently elected ruling party will do things in a proper manner, when pointed out that the 100-day mark is approaching. “What is important is our desire to fulfil the promises. I would like to ask the people to be patient,” Baru said.

The ruling government promised in its manifesto that it will gradually abolish tolls over the next five years, and should the government take over all toll operators’ debt obligations, it will need to pay over RM55 billion, excluding compensation. In a separate report, finance minister Lim Guan Eng was quoted as saying the promise to abolish tolls will be looked at once the country’s financial situation improves.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express mixed reactions to the toll abolition promise, with some supporting a reduction or gradual removal, citing concerns over road maintenance and fairness. Many critics accuse the government of broken promises, comparing current actions unfavorably to previous administrations, and highlight disappointment over unmet pledges like car price reductions and the abolition timeline. There is skepticism about the government's financial situation and trustworthiness, with some suggesting that tolls should only be reduced rather than fully abolished due to maintenance costs. Others acknowledge the need for patience, understanding that some commitments may take time to implement. Overall, sentiments range from hopeful support for toll reductions to frustration and distrust regarding the government’s true intentions and adherence to promises.

• M.Achai on Jul 13, 2018 at 3:17 pm

it’s ok… just take your time. if the gov don’t want to abolish the toll also we will vote for PH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 91
    • Gojes on Jul 13, 2018 at 3:26 pm

KWSP owned PLUS toll collection. So later the better bah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 19
      • Abolish those within City.. not PLUS…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 4
        • John May 9 Nangis on Jul 13, 2018 at 4:19 pm

I am so glad I voted a honest and caring Government. I see so many comments, all willing to pay tolls albeit lesser tolls. This shows, rakyat know, the money is not being stolen anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 77
          • Exactly. Now no more GST, no problem.
            Last year have GST, Got many Problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
          • Kantoied but Still Wanna Defend on Jul 13, 2018 at 11:20 pm

All those comments supporting paying toll is from you lah! You think we dunno you are their resident PHootsoldier kah? Before GE, you were the same looney that was whacking then government because you were “supposedly poor” due to tolls. Now suddenly you seem to have plenty of moolahs to throw at it. Either you were lying then, or lying now, or maybe, just maybe, got a big fat paycheck when your side won. So which is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 36
          • topkek on Jul 14, 2018 at 10:31 am

john please keep your rantings private. This is a car blog. Respect this site. We know who you are john

• Graham on Jul 14, 2018 at 11:08 am

bitter person. Malaysians are willing to help with the toll and the country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
          • Jagdev on Jul 14, 2018 at 11:39 am

Kantoied, you sound so frustrated. Try to be positive brother. We Malaysians want to build our country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 26
          • Kantoied but Still Wanna Defend on Jul 14, 2018 at 1:54 pm

As rakyat, how do you expect us to be positive, brother? Promises aren’t met, prices haven’t reduce but has increased, and then hearing of incredulous mathematical gymnastics by the new Gomen. All the bad habits of the past are not only practiced openly, but saluted by macais. Nobody watches a horror show, feeling positive and happy but you expects us to do it. What logic is that, brother?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
          • John May 9 Nangis on Jul 14, 2018 at 6:47 pm

too many frustrated pembangkang comments. Try to deal with your frustration first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • Sapot u bro Kantoied!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • Sathiabalan on Jul 15, 2018 at 7:01 pm

Malaysians are so happy we don’t have a corrupted Government who spends on Birkin handbags, jewellery and diamonds….no more dedak!!!

• Saya bersyukur kerajaan saya sekarang bersih dan tidak korup macam dulu

• Shamsul Annuar on Jul 16, 2018 at 9:07 am

Too much of fake news spread by macais. Everything is FAKE

Like even PH promise of RM1.50 petrol also is FAKE. Not even in their manifesto

• Promise Mana Wei? on Jul 16, 2018 at 9:26 am

kantoied, only promise not met is the 30% car price reduction promised by the previous Government. They had 5 yrs to fullfill that promise? What happened?

• “Abolish those within City”
            wt ?
            supposedly the other around

Toll for City to reduce traffic congestion/ traffic jam &
            to encourage people to use public transport…

u so genius maaa…

• keyword = gradually

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
          • Hidden keyword = no timeline

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
          • Graham on Jul 14, 2018 at 11:10 am

Who says Malaysians want no toll? I am happy to pay toll but lesser la.

Only very bitter people say Malaysians don’t want to pay toll. We love our country wei

• Mahadzir on Jul 14, 2018 at 9:55 pm

I love my country and I am willing to pay tolls cause now I know 100% sure that the money collected is well spent by the Government and does not go into pockets

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
          • rakyat Malaysia bersyukur kerajaan sekarang bersih dan tidak korup lagi. Malaysia akan capai ketinggian lagi

• Promise Mana Wei? on Jul 16, 2018 at 9:27 am

Previous Government promised to reduce car prices by 30%….we kena tipooo. Now sapoters talk about promise

• John May 9 Nangis on Jul 13, 2018 at 6:58 pm

Malaysians are kind hearted. We are always supportive of Pakatan Harapan and their good intentions. This is why many here and in other forums all say don’t abolish tolls but reduce them.

We know Government needs money to run our beloved country.

• Concerned Malaysian on Jul 14, 2018 at 9:20 pm

Agree

• Promise Mana Wei? on Jul 16, 2018 at 9:29 am

Old Government promise to reduce car prices by 30%. 5 years I wait and wait and wait……nothing wei!!!

• S.Ibrahim on Jul 13, 2018 at 6:33 pm

Rakyat yg pilih PH dah kena game. Kita tengoklah brapa lama luncai boleh terjun.

• JOACHIM on Jul 14, 2018 at 10:02 am

That’s the same line given by the previous Government yet you people whacked them for it. Now this excuse is acceptable? Such hypocrisy stinks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
        • Tajuddin Ohwai on Jul 14, 2018 at 11:48 am

previous gomen was corrupted. That is the difference

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
          • JOACHIM on Jul 14, 2018 at 1:48 pm

Says you! Previous Government took 60 years to be this corrupted, new one took only 60 days! What a difference.

• John May 9 Nangis on Jul 14, 2018 at 6:49 pm

good one Tajuddin. Perfectly said. Like North pole and South Pole

• Really? T7, nuff said

• @John May. Do you know that North Pole and South Pole are on the same axis, and that they exert the same magnetic forces? Are you saying the new Govt is just the same as the previous Govt? But isn’t that calling yourself a hypocrite for previously defending the new Govt or maybe you just entrapped yourself with an example you know little of?

• Mahadzir on Jul 14, 2018 at 9:59 pm

Previous Government was more interested in buying Birkin handbags each costing RM300k to RM1.6 mil

• A road user on Jul 15, 2018 at 1:58 pm

Of course.Who said this is the same line given by previous government?What they said after GE13 were totally different from what they promised.At least PH still keep to what they said before GE14, just need more time only.So what is the problem?It seems that the problem is inside you, not the present government.

• Spin Too Much on Jul 15, 2018 at 6:40 pm

Stop being naive or worse, a macai. BN never promised to abolish toll, but they did it anyway gradually. PH the one saying they will abolish it as as they tookover. Does your vocabulary equate soon means later? It seems that the problem is the present government but the even bigger problem is people that easily forgets and forgives such as YOU.

• Bohong on Jul 13, 2018 at 4:29 pm

You will but I won’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
    • tuntut jangan tak tuntun on Jul 13, 2018 at 4:31 pm

dulu bukan main cakap: Ini Hari Pakatan Menang, Besok Tol Free. Cakap bukan sebarang cakap, promise jangan simply buat promise. Ada menteri cakap, kalau esok Pakatan Menang, kalau tol tak free, sila tuntut sama dia. Sekarang saya mau tuntut sama dia – Menteri Pelajaran kita yang dikasihi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 152 Thumb down 23
      • M.Zin on Jul 13, 2018 at 6:29 pm

Dia kata mau jadi Mentri Pendidikan coz rakyat senang diperbodohkan. Inilah yg dia maksudkan nya tu.

• vanzwan on Jul 13, 2018 at 6:47 pm

Harga minyak kat Rm1.50 seliter? Yelek
        Tol dimansukan pabila ambik alih? Yelek
        PTPTN x perlu baya balik? Yelek
        Kos sara hidup turun lepas GST sifar? Yelek

Ini kerajaan yelek kepape?

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 13, 2018 at 7:17 pm

Kera2jaan dulu senang2 dahulu.
        Rakyat susah2 sekarang..

• Rajoo Selvam on Jul 13, 2018 at 10:34 pm

Jangan cakap banyak la bang, kerajaan dulu janji nak turunkan harga kereta 30%…..apa sudah jadi? 5 tahun lalu pun habuk pun tarak ada.

• Betui! Betui! Betui!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • ko undi BN, jangan banyak bunyik. yang boleh tuntut org yg undi PH. pirah mabuk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
        • Mohd. Adnan on Jul 14, 2018 at 10:20 am

Oh mcm ni ke Kjaan Mesia dh jadi? Hanya yg undi PH jadi Rakyat, yg x undi diorang bukan rakyat letu. Ini hanya kjaan PH ke? Blh kite pilih utk x bayar cukai2, SST kite tolak keluar masa beli brng2, hanya bayar zakat saje. Undang2 kite ikut sendiri. Blh x mcm tu? Klau okey, kite xkan menuntut apo yg korang janji2 dulu.

• Syukur lar biasiswa JPA dan subsidi LTH maseh maintain… Tak kesah la kite bayor GST SST zakat ker

• Jarofclay on Jul 14, 2018 at 11:01 am

Typical low intellect zombies. No matter who we vote, we have the same rights. PH is just finding excuses to justify them not fulfilling their election manifesto. This has nothing to do about who voted who but about fulfilling election manifesto.

• Awang Selamat on Jul 14, 2018 at 11:58 am

Undi parti songlap. 60 tahun songlap negara

• wkaka on Jul 14, 2018 at 12:12 pm

Betui!dedak kering, smue bising. aduiih cai.

• Tajuddin Ohwai on Jul 14, 2018 at 11:56 am

ada hutang negara 1 trillion besama skandal kewangan berbillion bongkar tiap tiap hari. Susah nak capati janji.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • Norlia on Jul 14, 2018 at 7:46 pm

Maseh dia mau racun fikiran rakyat mcm dulu dgn skrip ‘gst bebankn kos hidup’. Berhati hatilah dgn skrip2 beracun puak PH ni wahai rakyat. Yg sebenar benarnya ialah, kjaan PH dah tak tahu mcm mana nak tunai janji manifesto mereka yg bagai bulan dan bintang tu.

• Manifesto Dicapati on Jul 15, 2018 at 1:12 pm

Where got susah? Now all already is capati. None was being honoured. There’s no honour in this new Gomen.

• How do u define later? 2020? 3030 oso considered as later lor.

• its okay to pay for tolls, as your highways needs maintenance. instead, lower the rate as it is too expensive. a short stretch such as LDP which jam all the time, sprint, penchala, duke, cost alot for frequent traveller.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 24
    • we still willing to pay rm1 per toll, that is reasonable and acceptable even though jams. we sapot new govt.

one day 160k cars passing the tool, 10 days easily 1.6mil. we love PH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 29
      • Ghani on Jul 13, 2018 at 6:42 pm

From grammar tone and word usage, this isn’t john. More like the pencacai PH that hijacked his name. Paul Tan should look into this underhanded manner of pirating other’s nickname.

• Correction: we “love” PH

• Yang mahal on Jul 13, 2018 at 4:52 pm

Siapa pakai siapa bayar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • Sivasangkran on Jul 13, 2018 at 9:47 pm

You can abolished tolls nothing wrong but the maintenance is very important you can ask them to reduced the toll above 30 years still collect money may be we can ask 50%reduce

• Master Mind on Jul 13, 2018 at 3:37 pm

Will goverment consider reduce the tol by half? it good enough for us for next 5 years, no price hike please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 11
  • xoxox on Jul 13, 2018 at 3:41 pm

take over, put some low toll rate to cover the maintenance is much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • Plz abolish the long over due Grand Saga, Kesas and LDP, and reduce the rate for SILK to RM1… Blardy SILK tolls are only few KM apart between Semenyih and Sg Ramal but charging RM1.80 each..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
  • vVivi Zurianti on Jul 13, 2018 at 3:58 pm

We know that nothing is free. Even public road usage. Abolishment may not be even possible due to maintanence. However, it would a show of good faith to decrease the toll rates.

Sikit sikit lama lama jadi bukit for the rakyat….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 28
    • John May 9 Nangis on Jul 13, 2018 at 4:21 pm

Very wise words. I agree with you fully. I hope no pondans come here nd demand complete abolishment of tolls and RM1.50 petrol…..oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 45
      • ooo pakatun pun ada geng makan dedak rupanyeeeee…. panggil orang pondan.. hahahhaa aku rasa john may ni ah loke in disguise la..

• Rajoo Selvam on Jul 13, 2018 at 10:44 pm

PH cannot give petrol for RM1.50 because everyday they are uncovering billions ringgit scandals. Too much of money stolen.

Until the money is reovered, then only we can have RM1.50 petrol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
      • vanzwan on Jul 14, 2018 at 10:04 am

Pandai janji kena pandai buat jugak. Bahlol!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • Ben Yap on Jul 13, 2018 at 4:08 pm

don’t abolish the tolls. it will make the country a huge deficit. those that can afford to drive, they should pay for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 29
  • Kucaibaru on Jul 13, 2018 at 4:24 pm

Cannot abolish fully and rapidly, at least can reduce the toll concessions and price, particularly the intra-city ones is good enough for me.

On might-not-be-directly-related-but-it-is issue, if the current Gomen cannot build alternative route to Equine Park, at least the closure of LDP tolls can help reduce the pain, both hati and poket. I think it is kinda stupid to pay RM4.40 to avoid traffic jam at Exit 123.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • KingKERAla on Jul 13, 2018 at 4:33 pm

Abolishing Toll & lower petrol where? TOLOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 8
  • Ahmadjr on Jul 13, 2018 at 4:35 pm

Dah lah ah loke. Orang gila je percaya manifesto orang politik ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 9
  • PJnite on Jul 13, 2018 at 4:40 pm

I agree with the other commenters here. We understand that 55 billion is a huge sum. All the money saved from LRT3 are not even enough to cover it. We can pay tolls but the rates need to be lower. Right now, I can easily spend RM6 for toll in PJ alone within 30 minutes of driving. That is ridiculous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 20
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 13, 2018 at 6:30 pm

Promises must be fulfilled. Its what we voted them in for. If they can’t do it, then get the hell out.

• Shahrul on Jul 13, 2018 at 5:42 pm

Please do not remove the toll..but reduce the toll rate..we the rakyat concern about the maintenance of the road..just my opinion..

• wishy on Jul 16, 2018 at 9:12 am

agreed the point. but some of our bros here expects everything to be free and angels from heavens to maintain and fix the broken roads.

• I don’t mind to pay more as long as no jam at all…

• DonkeyKong on Jul 13, 2018 at 7:43 pm

LOL!!! What’s important is the intention?? Dude, then you can promise the moon and the stars, like “vote us into power today, tomorrow our exchange rate will be RM2 = USD1” or “vote us into power today, tomorrow petrol price will be RM0.50 per liter for RON97”. After all, promises don’t count, you don’t have to make any feasibility studies before you lie to win the elections, the important thing is that there’s the “intention” right?

Good! So from now on, election campaigns can all be nothing but lies and empty promises and telling people to “be patient”, because 48% of the voting population voted for this duplicity. Semua kena kencing…

• FiddleMinger on Jul 16, 2018 at 10:03 am

Conveniently forgotten their pledges to scrap GST & investigate 1MDB as well… No Retreat, No Surrender!

• Chew Wai Chang on Jul 13, 2018 at 9:42 pm

I truly trust present government and I am fully believe PH will walk the talk but we rakyat have to bear for a while and give them time to restructure the huge debts which created by previous highly corrupted BN .

• Jude Anding on Jul 13, 2018 at 9:46 pm

Reduce toll rate ….it is impossible to abolish.

• “In a separate report, finance minister Lim Guan Eng was quoted as saying the promise to abolish tolls will be looked at once the country’s financial situation improves.”

It’s hard to believe this guy. He did say LRT3 costs 31 bil, cut cost overnight becomes 16 billion. Previous government said cost on 9 billion. Now, who to trust?

only review once the country’s financial situation improves…. pfhhhh!!! MY FOOT!!

Don’t you ever give me this excuse, today get married tomorrow cannot get children yet.

• Toll is supposed to be on totally new highways. But looks like some old roads, just improve a little, we have to pay toll for it.

• Sama macan bn… pandai berjanji

• Lagi teruk bos. BN ada tunaikan janji, PH hanya mungkirkan janji

• Are Peace on Jul 14, 2018 at 1:41 pm

0%GST, 0%1MDB. hanya mungkirkan janji..

• So what? Ini pulak apa hang? (https://paultan.org/2018/05/28/vehicle-prices-could-go-up-following-the-return-of-sst/)

• Erwinkarim on Jul 14, 2018 at 12:07 am

Unpopular opinion: better to spend RM 55 billion to improve public transport around Malaysia especially in major cities instead of abolishing tolls.

• Anti pembohong on Jul 14, 2018 at 7:52 am

Lain kali lah, nak berjanji biar mampu utk ditepati, jangan sampai cakap tak serupa bikin- ini akan menimbulkan kemarahan.

• As rakyat we understand not all can be fulfilled in 100 days.We have confidence that overtime within the 5 year period this can be accomplished.

• Andrekua on Jul 14, 2018 at 9:45 am

I think it would be stupid to assume PH will abolish all. The ones that are being considered are those expired/extended ones being renewed by Jibby.

Personally I think tolls are here to stay, just need to make sure toll operators are adhering to term, ensuring good traffic flow and not hiking price as they wished.

Just like Duke. I have no complaints paying RM2.50 from kepong to KL because I don’t need to spent 15-20 minutes jammed up in jalan kepong during school rush hours. Not to mention better fuel economy and better road condition.

I still use the public road daily, just not during the morning rush hours. Just use tolls only when necessary.

• Don’t completely abolish la. If Govt can reduce to 50% fm the current toll charges its more than ok.

• Mah syh khee on Jul 14, 2018 at 2:51 pm

Why not give 30-50% discount…If not abolish..

• Suara Rakyat on Jul 14, 2018 at 3:05 pm

I thing current PH gov not need to abolish the toll within Klang Valley just reduce to RM0.50. I thing rakyat still happy with it.

• ah soon on Jul 14, 2018 at 4:06 pm

hancing..sejak menang kenA KENCING..

• Vishnu on Jul 14, 2018 at 5:41 pm

No need abolish.Bring down the price enough

• Survivor on Jul 14, 2018 at 7:49 pm

Dear frenz..I’m still dying inside paying toll for Guthrie Corridor daily..it’s such a short stretch from Rawang to Bt.Jelutong with 3 tolls in between each RM1.90..very painful…at least reduce the toll..easily get hearth attack…Pls help us new gomen..love u PH…

• Hahaha……it is the same. We vote PH because we have no choice, not because they are good. Same like people buy Perodua not because it is good, but no more choices. Talk always easier than do. Nvm, u can take your tine to fulfill your promises. Time flies. I want to see what you will promise in the next GE.

• vincyc on Jul 15, 2018 at 1:27 am

we can still continue pay toll pls keep yr promise PH settle corruption reduce debt as much as possible when every effort r truthful gradually will lead to a better future I will wait go do wat u need to do PH!

• Latabayu on Jul 15, 2018 at 3:17 pm

No need to abolish the toll, who wants to look after the riding comfort and cleanliness of the road. Look at the state and federal road..MRR2 for instance.. very bad!!! potholes every where, elevated structure without proper bridge joint.. if we remain third class mentality with first class facility..i don’t think we can afford to do that. Better remain the collection but with minimum fee just to cover for the maintenance and overhead cost.

• Anonymous on Jul 15, 2018 at 10:23 pm

Your ‘desires’ mean nothing to us. Don’t just talk cock… u said what u want to do n u set ur own deadline of 100 days. Aside prooving to all that u’re just making empty promises, then u need keep your word.

• John Nasir on Jul 16, 2018 at 6:39 pm

Aiyaa, majority sudah sanggup bayar toll.
    10x toll bayar pun sanggup.

Dulu lain, sekarang banyak lain.

Now willing to pay already.

• Robinhood on Jul 17, 2018 at 3:53 pm

At the end of 5-year term, they will tell you “Please vote me in for another term again. I promise I will abolish toll for the sake of the rakyat”

• avatar gone wrong on Jul 18, 2018 at 10:23 pm

once tolls r gone i”ll swap my sedan 4a 4wd. it”ll b potholes, & reverse potholes galore!