Kenstomoto Valkyrie – red, long and low custom

After 10 months of intense work, Malaysian Kenny Yeoh of Kenstomoto is back with the Kenstomoto Valkyrie, a long, low and sleek custom build reminiscent of Akira’s machine from the manga and anime. Shown to paultan.org ahead of the 2018 Art of Speed (AoS) at Malaysia Agro Exposition Park, Serdang (MAEPS), the Valkyrie is on display at the show’s Invitational Bike Build-off 2018.

As Kenstomoto’s first full custom build, where the frame and rolling gear are unique to the bike, the Valkyrie comes with a single-sided front swingarm, and a 240/45 17-inch rear tyre mounted on a 9-inch wide, eight-stud steel wheel. Taking a standard 2012 Kawasaki Er-6n parallel-twin engine, Yeoh fabricated a completely new frame to house it.

Exhaust exits through two straight pipes just in front of the rider and we can vouch for the fact the Valkyrie is loud. Inside the cockpit is a push-button start and the instrument gauge is a Daytona Bologna 80 unit from Japan, who also supplied the switches.

Taking the low rider ethos to the extreme, the Valkyrie’s frame puts the ride a mere 500 mm off the ground. Ground clearance, as can be expected, is measured in millimetres, in this case some 70 mm.

What will grab the viewer’s attention is the sheer length of the bike, which comes in at 2.89 metres, from tyre tip to tyre tip. A surprising statistic is the weight of the Valkyrie, which is about 200 kg, making it something of a lightweight in the world of custom machines that could be sometimes used as boat anchors.

The steering on the Valkyrie is rather special, with its welded swingarm structure. In the past, bikes with single-sided front swingarms used a Heim joint setup for centre-hub steering but the Valkyrie used a cable-operated system.

Yeoh says he uses a twin cable system instead of hydraulics or linkage for the sake of simplicity. The drawback of using such a system, he says, is the rake angle will change when the front wheel is turned to the left or to the right.

“The Valkyrie is a custom show bike, so I was not too concerned about the practicality of the handling as yet,” says Yeoh. “But the next version of the Valkyrie will probably use a parallel linkage system to avoid bump steer,” he continued.

Front wheel braking is with a custom Arlen Ness 380 mm diameter full-floating brake disc with a Brembo four-piston calliper taken from a BMW S 1000 RR. At the back is a 220 mm brake disc mounted on a Ducati 916 single-sided hub, with the rigid rear end modified to suit.

Finished in Matte Candy Red with Titanium accents, the Valkyrie is styled after the giant fighting robots from Japan, called Gundam. This includes graphics on the 90/90 21-inch front wheel with the Kenstomoto logo and a ’09’ to denote a fictional squad number.

Yeoh had a very stressful time building this bike, with work starting shortly after last year’s edition of the AoS. “The process was sheer insanity. I was working on the Valkyrie day and night, alongside a parallel build of the Azimuth. I don’t I want to do this again,” Yeoh says with a laugh.

The Valkyrie is not a new idea for Yeoh, with the germ of the thought taking root inside his head from way before he started building customs. “I took the clamshell riding position of a “future” bike, and wanted to mate it with a half mechanical, half organic look,” he says.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Motoring Excellence! A marvel of modern motoring design & engineering, Almost otherworldly! Kenstomoto deserved atleast RM1.1B R&D grant!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • John May 9 Nangis on Jul 27, 2018 at 6:02 pm

What a great achievement. We are proud of you Kenny!!

Infact, Kenny should be the CEO of some of our GLCs, he will bring the company to greater heights and teach people how to work hard.

We need more people like Kenny around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • Hafiz Hisham on Jul 28, 2018 at 4:20 pm

You must have never ridden a bike before. If you look closely, you see the impracticality of that bike for road usage, case in point; can see the comments by Curious and Airil below.

Just like another case of a fake news purveyor.

• ShowBikeBro on Jul 30, 2018 at 12:35 pm

Pls read again he said its a show bike so practicality is not his concern. Everyone knows this bike is not practical since its so low and long.

• Hafiz Hisham on Jul 30, 2018 at 12:55 pm

They why should we be proud of an impractical bike?

• Anonymous on Jul 27, 2018 at 7:08 pm

What an absolute beauty.

• Michael on Jul 28, 2018 at 2:57 pm

Malaysian talent is top in the world. We need to cultivate these talent by not pampering. Too much pampering hinders talent.

• Curious on Jul 27, 2018 at 8:45 pm

Isn’t a single front swingarm going to make the bike unstable, for example a small bump during fast cornering would most likely cause the rider to lose control and difficult to recover? Not to mention, the front suspension load will be different when turning left and right. I know this is built for show only, but even a show bike need to at least be rideable.

• Anonymous on Jul 28, 2018 at 11:19 pm

Why would suspension load be different when turning? The swingarm if properly made should only have 1 degree of freedom, and all the load the suspension will care about is from the swinging motion of the swingarm. Provided that the swingarm is stiff enough, and the centre hub steering is centred, which it should be. Yamaha GTS1000 had a single sided swingarm front, and a very similar suspension setup (off centre suspension mounting). On the Yamaha, that front setup improved braking stability. A few other motorcycles also had single sided front swingarm. It’s a superior setup if done properly, but much more complex and expensive.

• Better get you to be CEO of a GLC because you have shown the dedication needed by creating multiple dupes to comment and later support your own comments with those dupes. Not to mention, trying to lie like an idiot (2010 Preve?) and generally create an atmosphere of distrust and deceit in paultan’s comment section. But the GLC you are CEO in is Good at Lying and Cheating. Have a nice day!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Azman on Jul 28, 2018 at 1:42 pm

This is a motoring blog. Pls keep your rants outside of this. We are not interested in your frustrations!

• Hahaha! Gud one bro! PT readers have awoken but basher shill dun feel it. Let them be.

• Airil on Jul 28, 2018 at 7:45 am

Wow this is one marvel of the art. Although, need to move the shifter also rear brake’s pedal to the back to achieve practicality, and better ergo for rider. Nevertheless, a very nice looking bike. First I saw the preview, it reminds me of Akira already.

Hopefully Kenny can get an offer from the old time brand new prime Minister.

• vVivi Zurianti on Jul 28, 2018 at 3:11 pm

Malaysian like Kenny, is a testament Malaysia boleh….

Some other Malaysian “boleh” for the wrong reason *hint-hint*