NSW, Australia trials a 40 km/h limit when passing emergency services – what do you think of this?

Beginning September 1, New South Wales motorists will be required to slow down to 40 km/h when passing emergency services on the side of the road. Drivers in both directions on undivided roads will be bound by the rule which, if broken, will result in a hefty AUD448 (RM1,346) fine followed by three demerit points.

Once drivers have made it to a ‘safe distance’ past these emergency services, they can then accelerate back to the corresponding speed limit. Motorists are also required to give way to anyone on foot in the immediate area of the emergency.

This new ruling is a trial enforced by the NSW government to provide extra protection for all emergency workers and volunteers who respond to crashes and other incidents on NSW roads, said Bernard Carlon, NSW centre for road safety executive director. It will be trialled for 12 months before the government consults with police, emergency services and other stakeholders.

NSW, Australia trials a 40 km/h limit when passing emergency services – what do you think of this?

“When you see the blue or red flashing lights on an emergency vehicle stopped on the road, safely reduce your speed so that you are not exceeding 40 km/h when you pass. Keep to 40 km/h until you’ve safely passed all people and emergency vehicles.”

“We want to ensure that people protecting us on our road network don’t become casualties while doing their jobs. This rule will give extra protection and confidence that at the end of a shift they can go home safely to families and friends,” Carlon added.

Such a ruling isn’t news to other parts of Australia. For example, Victoria and Western Australia already force drivers to drive no more than 40 km/h when passing emergency services, while South Australian motorists are forced to crawl past flashing red-and-blue lights at 25 km/h.

Now, what do you think of this rule? Would you be for or against the idea of implementing it in Malaysia? Comment below.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• John May 9 Nangis on Jul 30, 2018 at 6:15 pm

This is good. We must implement this here. Our previous Government Ministers had to respect for emergency services or ambulances. I have seen even ambulance have to stop for the Menteri, his outriders and his ball licker entourage.

I am glad with the New Government, all this is stopped

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 28
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 30, 2018 at 6:29 pm

But Malaysians alredi slowdown to 10km/h when we see anything worth seeing by the roadsise esp accidents on the other side of the road by standing on our seat..ok thats a bit exaggerating…since we are alredi kepo so 40km/h is nothing lor…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 0
  • They shud be like MY pipu, selow down to <10kmph so they can clearly see the license plate numbers of the eksiden vehicles and take photos for their fesbuk/ twitter/ instagram/ snapchat.

Sure become veli safe one since 3 lane hiways will automatically become 1 lane crawl. Aussie shud come to MY and learn from us how to do it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
  • Wilson on Jul 30, 2018 at 6:21 pm

in Malaysia, we still see edgy drivers tailgating emergency vehicles. Ambulance, Bomba, black Maria & Vvip convoy…

• John May 9 Nangis on Jul 30, 2018 at 6:24 pm

In Malaysia, many people tukar tayar also kena langgar kereta or lorry while tukar tayar.

Malaysians must start to respect a car broken down

Worse part is, so many kutus will crowd around a broken down car or a car that has met an accident

Then later, the accident victim find out her laptop, handbag and handphone got stolen in the commotion.

We must have a law that prevents kutus from approaching an accident car

• Late comer, we Malaysian been doing this for ages, slow to 5km/h look for car registration number for later 4D

• Gaviny on Jul 30, 2018 at 8:13 pm

Won’t apply because Malaysians are IN the emergency lane

• slkmerc on Jul 30, 2018 at 8:47 pm

I find slowing down when the emergency services with their strobe lights turn on sometimes could be dangerous, as the drivers sometimes brake abruptly from 80km/h to 40 km/h in Victoria.

• scooticus on Jul 31, 2018 at 2:05 am

South Australia rule is only at 25km/h

• alldisc on Jul 31, 2018 at 9:57 am

malaysian drivers cant even slowdown at school area, which is regulated at 30kmh. and town areas like Melaka and Kuantan etc has a speed limit of 50kmh. which not many of us know or realise and/or obey.

• kaizen on Jul 31, 2018 at 9:59 am

not applicable here in MY. we have already done that years ago even without any applicable laws. we are even safer @ 10km/h. very funny when it comes to managing people’s attitude and culture.

• Aussies shud make lawatan sambil belajar to MY.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 31, 2018 at 11:04 am

in malaysia, we slow down to see…some nak shoot instastory, some fb live, some want find toto magnum damacai number

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 31, 2018 at 11:03 am

australia is well known for stupid and ineffective traffic rules

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Aug 01, 2018 at 7:36 am

Malaysian already practice this & even better, stop their vehicle to look. This behavior applies to both sides of the road/highway. The resulting jam itself makes it impossible for anyone wanting to speed pass the emergency area. For this country, it should be the opposite. Anyone slowing down & stopping on the opposite side of the emergency area should be fined for dangerous driving.

• vwpolo on Aug 01, 2018 at 11:57 am

tak payah implement ,skrng pun kalau accident sikit dah bawak 10kmh lmao