Grab Malaysia sees reduction in driver registrations after new rules announced by Ministry of Transport

Following the government’s decision to introduce a bevy of new rules to create a level playing field between the e-hailing and conventional taxi industries, Grab Malaysia has revealed a reduction in the number of new part-time drivers registering with the ride-hailing company.

In a report by Bernama, Grab Malaysia’s country head Sean Goh revealed it was normal to see a decrease during a transition period. “We are finding the best solution for all (parties) as we understand the majority of our drivers are part-timers and their income from Grab contributes 30% to their household income,” he said after meeting with the Council of Eminent Persons recently.

Goh added that Grab had actively engaged with the Ministry of Transport (MoT) and that discussions will continue to ensure a common ground is found between the parties. He also noted that the company is in talks with various insurance companies on new insurance requirements, which was one of the changes that the MoT wants to implement.

Other revisions include a mandatory six-hour course at designated driving institutions for drivers to obtain their Public Service Vehicle (PSV) licenses, annual Puspakom vehicle inspections and a minimum three-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating for the vehicle being used. E-hailing companies must also prepare driver’s guideline and register with the Companies Commission of Malaysia and Cooperative Commission of Malaysia, as well as implement an SOS emergency function in their app.

The new rules were announced in mid-July this year, but all stakeholders (including Grab) have been given a one-year moratorium from the gazetting of the procedures, before full implementation starts next year.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Big Blue Kawan is hepi man now.

• Se7en on Aug 02, 2018 at 10:14 am

The funny thing is, how in denial they(Grab) are. They’ve been reducing driver’s share and never bother about driver’s safety. Always blindly sided with passenger when there’s vivid reason to get them(passenger) jailed for public nuisance/disturbance.

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 01, 2018 at 3:39 pm

I’d still take Grab Vs those smelly, old taxis, driven by dubious taxi drivers who behave like gangsters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • seancorr (Member) on Aug 01, 2018 at 4:07 pm

Grabs has its own fair of issues like drivers not appearing after accepting your request and asking you to cancel it instead of them. I even had one issue with Uber before and I suspect Grab will also have the same issue whereby drivers report you has to having soiled their cars with pictures as evidence and claiming from you for the cleaning fee. All these drivers should be banned permanently for causing grief to their passengers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • Dreba grab on Aug 01, 2018 at 7:02 pm

Sudah bagi kotor bayar la. Tumpang kereta orang buat cara tumpang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • Please BRING back UBER! on Aug 01, 2018 at 4:12 pm

I’m sick of GRAB monopoly on the ride sharing business. Must have other competitors to even the playing field. Also, Chinese companies (i.e Grab) rarely give discounts/coupon codes to their riders (Uber have it regularly).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • godzilla on Aug 01, 2018 at 6:18 pm

u dun know got other ehailing?? dacsee. mycar. frentz all this not competitors?

• Ben Yap on Aug 01, 2018 at 6:25 pm

people don’t 1 2 drive Grab because the earnings is just peanuts.

• Ollie on Aug 01, 2018 at 6:26 pm

Regulation needs to begin immediately. The problem is not with drivers, it’s with Grab monopoly. It’s a very simple focus for them now, maximise prices for consumers, maximize the commissions, and use drivers as their lowest slaves.
    Why 25% commission? No answer. Driver safety? No answer. And they dare to call themselves a super app. They should know their time is running out. There’s only so much you can do in exploiting others for your own gain.

• Mikey on Aug 02, 2018 at 10:57 am

Agree 100% that regulation needs to begin immediately. No use if passenger’s/driver’s complain later. Who is going to be responsible when it happen?!

• Lil Cupacabra on Aug 01, 2018 at 6:48 pm

Drivers are shying away being GRAB drivers becoz driver’s welfare not taken care of, while (some) passengers are unreasonable and took advantage of drivers…

• John L on Aug 01, 2018 at 6:49 pm

Grab is a con man company that relies on newbies to take loss making jobs. Senior drivers know how to be selective of jobs and how to earn incentives. Grab insists on giving passengers ridiculously low fares like less than RM10 for the driver to be stuck in KL for 1 hour or more, and that is before deducting Grab’s 25% commission. Grab operates like an MLM company. Heck, they openly call their referral scheme, “GrabCar Multi-Level Referral Programme.” Google it.

• kimi's fan on Aug 01, 2018 at 9:48 pm

on the other side, drivers are fed up how grab treating to drivers. don’t twist

• muzammil on Aug 01, 2018 at 11:32 pm

grab is the future, taxi is the past.
    they can slow the future down, but they cant stop it.
    imagine 50 years ago, trishaw tried to beat taxi.
    or 100 years ago, lanca tried to beat trishaw.
    it wont work

• Rahim Jantan on Aug 02, 2018 at 1:00 pm

the obvious relation between Grab and Tan Chong.

• Simon Khor on Aug 02, 2018 at 1:22 pm

Sean Goh is telling lies to the govt, last time driver recruiting new driver will get rm 300, then 200 now they are paying rm 50 for every recruit.

Sean Goh should be suspended from Grab for not telling the truth to the govt.

Govt made it compulsory for passenger full identity registration is a good idea and for security reasons. Why Sean Goh not agreeable? Safety is your priority or Grab earnings is your priority.

• We give them money but they treat us like damn shit….