Come early 2019, commuters will be able to enjoy unlimited access to public transport for only RM100 a month. This is according to transport minister Anthony Loke, who was replying to a question from Rembau MP Khairy Jamaluddin, as reported by The Edge.
In June this year, the Ministry of Transport (MoT) announced plans for an unlimited access pass, which would require prior review before it can be implemented. During the recent Parliamentary sitting, Loke said there was a need to encourage more people to use public transport.
According to the Seremban MP, the average daily users of MRT Line Phase 1 from January to May this year amounted to 146,842 passengers, which is about one-third of the available capacity (450,000 passengers). “The monthly pass is to encourage more people to use the MRT as well as feeder buses which are already available,” said Loke, adding that a memorandum will be presented to the Cabinet soon.
On a separate matter, Loke said he was personally not supportive of ride-hailing services for motorcycles due to the high number of motorcycle accident in the country. However, he said that authorities will be reviewing this particular ride-hailing service.
According to the Seremban MP, the average daily users of MRT Line Phase 1 from January to May this year amounted to 146,842 passengers, which is about one-third of the available capacity (450,000 passengers).
no wonder govt reduced the capacity on LRT 3!!!
What a brilliant move. This shows Loke has got brains. So much of improvement since May 9th.
Broadband 10X faster, cheaper goods, no GST, fixed petrol prices.
What a great country I live in
KTMB used to have that monthly pass, sold for RM90 some few years back. dont know whose brain was it to stop the good ideas from continue
Would have been great if they have it still. I spend more than RM200 monthly commuting from rawang – KL Sentral.
Even on 1st year of service, the MRT already reached 1/3 of available capacity. That’s already considered high usage. It will increase further with more development along the MRT line. Hopefully it wont become sardine can by the 6th year. The same thing happened to the PUTRA and STAR LRT during the initial year of service as well..By the 5th year, the LRT (putra especially) became sardine can.
You obviously have never taken the LRT lines during peak hours, don’t you? Try taking from Taman Melati or Wangsa Maju at 8am on working day. Ask Mr Loke to join in too incognito. Heck, try taking Komuter also. How can you compare with MRT is beyond me. Take a look at the mature lines first lah.
Wow a hundred ringgit for everything? Including my commute from Johor Bahru to Kedah via ETS train every SINGLE day? Janji dicapati
Gomen bashing…in 3,2,1..
Oh waitt!
Only for town services such as MRT, LRT & Komuterl.
Make sure it is only given to Malaysian.
I’m foreigner and I pay as much tax as you (even MORE!) without protection from SOCSO without EPF. why we cannot enjoy such service ? why must be exclusive to malaysian-only? It’s fair, If we don’t have to pay tax. I’ll be more than happy.
You are paying tax here for earning a living in this country. Similarly, we do the same when we are in a foreign country. If you don’t want to pay tax, then don’t earn here. We are already sacrificing potential earnings by giving places to foreigners like you.
Only one-third! Where all those MRT3 whiners now? Saying it was stupid to reduce trains? Mana otak kau?
Will still whine..cos RM100..is not enough!
That’s what they said about the 2-car Monorel and 2-car Putra LRT, but look what happened. Need to buy new longer trains and dump the working old ones aside. Those who don’t have otaks are those who only plan for the current, instead of looking to the future. These penny wise, pound foolish people.
ad, u’re stupid. U think building infra capacity is based on “just-in-time” upgrade methodology? The MRT is only coming to 2nd year operation.. By the 5th year, its probably gonna filled up to the brim. Thats what happen to PUTRA LRT before.
Of coz one third… other line not yet open! Imagine if line 2/3 open, and line 1 already in full capacity, there will be more sardine!
Make sure more trains are allocated otherwise getting RM 100 pass also cannot get inside the trains during peak hours due overwhelming users.
Only the stupid will see or say something else.
does it include park and ride, cuz theres only 22 working days in a month , benefits seems negligible to some tho….
For me it cost me RM180.20 today if i were to take bus + MRT. so this benefit if you take bus + MRT + LRT.
I had that long time ago for PutraLRT. Can be used for the train & feeder bus rides. Then it became exclusive for students, elderly, & OKU.
Some is demanding how will public transports make recoup the investments but this will move it further into the red. Lets wait & see how this pans out.
That was bck in early 2000 rite where the putra lrt provide monthly pass to the passengers
Ah, I remembered that one! Yup, back around 2000s but only useful for Putraline services because all of them weren’t integrated thanks to you-know-who. Makes you wonder if their intention was to encourage more people to use public transports, then why of all things they did is downsize LRT 3.
Say NO to “Motorcycle ride hailing service”!
Motorcycle ride hailing service will be a dangerous move. Dangerous for the motorcyclist, the riders, and also dangerous to all road users. Seems a lot of motorcyclists cannot behave well in Malaysia.
Cheaper, quicker transport.
Hope we can get Motorcycle ride hailing.
Time to leave my Bugatti at home starting next year… :)
1. Unchanged RON95 prices.
2. RM100 unlimited transport pass.
3. Zero GST, Proton cars up to RM4.3K cheaper !
Rakyat made the right choice!!
Jual kat airport untuk tourist tapi mahal sikit la
Less revenue per passenger. More number of passenger. Could end up with a bigger total revenue.
I wonder if this will include the ERL as well.
ERL not Prasarana thou…
Cheap eh! With just rm100, I can sit train to Singapore or KLIA. Wait… Later taxi protest and block the railway tracks. How?
It should be incorporated into touch n go. Show ur Mykad at a service desk and get your card converted to have maximum cap of RM100 a month on inner city zone. They should encourage unification of a paycard – 0 commission TnG is the way to go, no rapid card or whatever please!
This is what the public need . A good , reliable and affordable public transport system.
Public does not want anymore Proton 2.0 that will cause more road congestion, traffic jams , more parking spaces, more accidents and more burden to Rakyat when Proton 2.0 fail again.
Say Big No,No, to useless Proton 2.0
Say Big Yes, yes to good ,efficient and affordable public transport
Boleh kah Pass RM 100/ digunakan
di !. Comuter
2. Train ie KTM
3. KTM – ETS
4. MRT
5> LRT
6. Rapid Bas
7. Nadi Putra.
Ada kah discount untuk warga emas atas harga kad RM 100
ini.
Dear Yb or to whom is concern, Just want to know any discount for Senior base on the RM100 and RM50.as now RapidKL is giving 20% for senior.(encourage the senior to go out and walk instead of staying at home some just sitting, therefore no exercise get sick depress some senoir really made use they go collecting free goodies given away or getting together-you can see they smilling face went they talk over it.YB please let us have more digital board informing us +-10min when the bus will arrive( this is important especially for the hourly bus if you miss you have to wait 1hr.or worst if the bus not coming at all 2hr wait)-broke down or driver no avialable(no replacement?) and also made sure they don’t give reading for bus that does not stop only passing by to the other bus stop and those that stop have not info. eg Board at Jln Raja Laut near KFC and one Jln Ipoh Chow Kit ( those pass by and not stopping they show the reading and those stoping at the bus stop not showing (not relavant)and one at Pasar Seni have not been use for a very long time-spoil?. And if you are introducing more free bus please look one that can complement Bus402 (1Hrly) Orange route from Titiwangsa to Balai Seni to GHKL out patient (it a long walk from the main road and this place is only mean for those whose have cars and not B40)because you need taxi or walk and by the time you reach you are almost half dead so hot in the afternoon going back. there is also a school(school children will benefit) cont. to Titiwangsa Lake (benefit the tourist and local who have not car) cont. to National Library (to encrouge local -reading)than to KLCC and back Using Bus 302 Yap Kwan Seng to Kg. Baru and Titiwangsa.this is the 1st time I write and a long winded story.”SORRY”I just don’t know how to made it short.Thank You