Johor gov’t committed to build Iskandar M’sia BRT line

It’s been a while since we heard updates pertaining to the Iskandar Malaysia BRT project, the last of which was in 2016 when the project was given the green light. Now, Bernama reports that the Johor government is committed to continuing the BRT system, which will cover 90% of Iskandar Malaysia.

Johor Public Works, Infrastructure and Transport Committee chairman Mazlan Bujang said the state government would ensure the project is given due priority by the Federal government. To start, the BRT would be implemented for the Johor Bahru-Kota Iskandar, Johor Bahru-Skudai and Johor Bahru-Tebrau routes.

“We are trying to get the allocation to implement this project. I have a meeting at the Transport Ministry next week and hope that this project will be given priority,” he said during a Johor State Assembly sitting recently, in response to a query from Datuk Hasni Mohammad regarding the state government’s strategy to ensure the BRT project would carry on as planned. Hasni’s (Johor Opposition Leader) suggestion to implement the Johor Bahru-Kota Iskandar route first will also be considered.

The BRT project will involve three phases, with the first scheduled for completion by 2020. For now, no developers for the BRT system have been named as yet.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Digidigi on Aug 17, 2018 at 12:34 pm

since you project Iskandar population to growth so rapid in coming years, just do lrt la, what brt, don’t say no money, our country can afford protiga, and SOMEONE alr earn billion from forest city project

• Public transports > all

• I support this kind of public infrastructure project. The urbanites just need to get used to using public transport. That’s why I find it hard to accept another one of Mahathir’s pet project. The rakyat will suffer all because we need to feed his ego. I hope he gives up leadership in 2 years time as promised so real leader with real vision can continue leading this country.

• Don’t see how the rail system can be completed in 2018…foundation work hasn’t even started yet.

• BRT is an outdated system. Everywhere else globally, cities are using Tram service for intra-city connectivity. JB’s authority so outdated.

• Ahmadjr on Aug 20, 2018 at 7:53 pm

Ko belum pernah pergi korea lagi. Sistem brt dorang memang terbaik. Tak payah nak pergi sana grab, pergi sini grab untuk
      naik lrt punya pasal

• Mohamed Farid Apandi on Aug 18, 2018 at 12:49 am

Stupid idea.

• Its a good start for JB. Personally i dont care much if gov want to implement BRT. Its cheaper. Most important, its efficiency.

• Harap IRDA mengkaji semula dan ubah konsep dari BRT kepada TRAM. Ia (TRAM) mempunyai daya tarikan tersendiri (local mahupun pelancong) dan seterusnya akan meningkatkan ridership. Tak tipu. Ini betul2 punya.

• I dun know what happen to Malaysian. When we were under BN govt, complaint. Now under PH also the same. So, what do u want? Maybe most of Malaysian want PAS to lead this country.

• Nuffail daniaelle on Jun 17, 2023 at 1:40 am

In IMBRT official pdf, there are at least 11 brt line zipping inside the iskandar region… With total length of 340km i believe that this system is the best thing gov committed to do…