C190 Mercedes-AMG GT C launched in Malaysia – 557 PS, 0-100 km/h in 3.7 seconds, price from RM1.46 mil

It’s a busy day for Mercedes-Benz Malaysia, as the company has also chosen to add the Mercedes-AMG GT C Coupe to its Dream Car Collection roster. The AMG GT C occupies the space between the AMG GT S and AMG GT R currently on sale in the country.

The power figures reflect the GT C’s positioning, with the M178 4.0 litre biturbo V8 making 549 hp (557 PS) at 5,750 to 6,750 rpm and 680 Nm of torque at 1,900 to 5,500 rpm. A seven-speed AMG Speedshift 7G-DCT automatic transmission handles power delivery to the rear wheels, and the car will hit a top speed of 316 km/h, with the first 100 km/h arriving in 3.7 seconds when setting off from a standstill.

By comparison, the GT S has 503 hp (510 PS)/650 Nm and takes 3.8 seconds to complete the century sprint, while the GT R requires 3.6 seconds thanks to its healthy 577 hp (585 PS)/700 Nm.

The GT C comes with a number of technical features from its siblings, including active rear axle steering and Airpanel system from the GT R, along with an electronically controlled limited-slip differential (GT S, optional on the base GT). Other driving-related bits are the AMG Ride Control sports suspension that offers infinitely variable, adaptive adjustable damping. You’ll also get the AMG Dynamic Plus package for dynamic engine and transmission mounts.

As with most cars that bear the three-pointed star, an AMG Dynamic Select system offers drivers a number of predefined modes to call upon – Comfort, Sport, Sport, Race and Individual. The standard AMG Performance exhaust system also allows you to tone down/up the volume of the gas-expelling pipes in the back.

Visual cues of the GT C include a prominent Panamericana front grille that is flanked by a pair of LED High Performance headlamps (with Adaptive Highbeam Assist). A set of 20-inch AMG five-twin-spoke light-alloy wheels (with 265/35 front and 305/30 rear profile tyres) in titanium grey house red-painted brake calipers.

Meanwhile, the AMG Exterior Night package sees certain parts of the car like the front splitter, rear diffuser, wing mirror and trim pieces applied to the grille slats, side skirt and exhaust tailpipes being finished in black chrome. The GT C also has a wider track (+55 mm) compared to the GT S, which is identical to the GT R’s 1,679 mm.

Focusing on the interior, driver’s are greeted by an AMG Performance steering wheel in black Dinamica microfibre that is part of the AMG Dynamic Plus package. The same material is also applied on the headliner, while other areas see the use of Nappa leather.

You’ll also get matte carbon-fibre trim, red seat belts from the Designo collection, ambient lighting, a panoramic sunroof and powered AMG Performance seats with memory function. Also, double cup holders for good measure.

Other items on the kit list include Thermotronic automatic climate control, COMAND Online infotainment system with centre console-mounted touchpad, a Burmester sound system, Hands Free Access, Keyless-Go, Lane Keeping Assist and Blind Spot Assist.

We now come to the million ringgit question, how much is the AMG GT C? Well, it certainly will cost at least a million, specifically RM1,461,605.60 on-the-road without insurance.

View the complete specifications of the C190 Mercedes-AMG GT C at CarBase.my.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• John May 9 Nangis on Aug 24, 2018 at 2:28 pm

This car global price is US$112k (about RM450k)

Here sell for RM1.46 million.

That is like nearly 4X the global price of the car.

Does MBM think Malaysians are stupid and treat us like cash cow?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 34
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 24, 2018 at 8:07 pm

Try check neighbouring country price lor.. does Thai or Singaporean got that global price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 32
      • Hassan Merican on Aug 25, 2018 at 2:57 pm

If want to follow Singapore and Thailand, can. Make sure we follow also how all their rakyat is treated equally too. No special treatment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
        • M.Hamzah on Aug 25, 2018 at 7:14 pm

No problem, if you agree to equal distribution of economic pie according to rakyat majority makeup.

• Realist on Sep 13, 2018 at 12:55 pm

So you want economic wealth to be distributed on racial lines? That’s essentially what you’re saying. What motivation would people have to work if they know their share will be spilt equally to people who haven’t worked as hard and don’t deserve it?

• kzm (Member) on Aug 25, 2018 at 9:34 pm

U missing the point.. read that dude comment “global price”. Where got global price in this region for Merc?

• John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Aug 27, 2018 at 1:06 pm

Let us follow Singapore system where there is clean governance and merit based

• obviously on Aug 24, 2018 at 9:39 pm

Obviously you are not their target market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 18
    • Hong Hong on Aug 24, 2018 at 10:49 pm

Almost every new car launch, we can see this John whining about the car price. Eg. “Other country selling for USDXX and we are selling 3-4 time more than them. Distributor think Malaysian stupid?” Blah blah blah…

Let me show you how the price become RM1.46 million:
      1. USD112k is for basic AMG GT (not even S). This car (AMG GT C Coupe) cost USD145k without any option in USA. Assuming Mercedes USA made 20% margin, the cost will be USD116k.
      2. Import tax of Malaysia for CBU @ 30%, USD116k become USD150.8k.
      3. Excise duty of Malaysia for CBU @ 105%, USD150.8K become USD309.14k. (Note that excise duty is calculate from USD150.8k, not USD116k.)
      4. Assuming Mercedes Malaysia make 15% margin, USD309.14k become USD355.5K = RM1.456M.
      5. Other cost not considered include logistics, marketing, warranty, other admin cost etc etc.
      Those margin is only my assumption, but the final figure is not far from my calculation.

So, please stop whining about the car price EVERY TIME a new car is launch. Not tired meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 44
      • Bro. He gets paid for it. So why basher will get tired of spewing copy pasta fake news?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 44
        • Andrew Goh on Aug 25, 2018 at 3:10 pm

I don’t think our high car prices is fake news. Nothing fake.

Only fake is your negative comments everywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
          • Hong Hong on Aug 25, 2018 at 8:20 pm

I did not denied the high car price. But this is due to the tax/duty structure of our country, not like John May 9 Nangis say because MBM treat us like cash cow. He have no idea how the car is priced but annoyingly whine non stop.

• Anton Lim on Aug 25, 2018 at 3:32 pm

for 3 years you were paid to tell us Malaysia has cheapest car prices in the world and cheapest petrol prices in the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • Azman on Aug 25, 2018 at 2:22 pm

At least he fights for lower car prices and lower taxes for us. What do you fight for? Write long essays?

I and 30 million people want lower car prices from lower taxes. Only a fool will want to pay overpriced cars.

• Lokman Saad on Aug 25, 2018 at 2:32 pm

When someone charges your RM100 for a plate of wantan mee and you don’t argue and say RM100 is the normal price of a plate of wantan mee…..this meeans something wrong with your head.

Learn to argue for your rights. Learn to look globally at how much a plate of wantan mee costs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
        • Hong Hong on Aug 25, 2018 at 8:32 pm

Every country have different tax/duty on car. I’m not saying RM1.46M (USD356K) is global normal price. I just saying that the tax and duty incurred in Malaysia make the price so high here. But from what I understand from John May 9 Nangis, he sounds like the price so high because Mercedes make more than 1 million profit, which is not correct.
          Comparison with wantan mee is irrelevant.

• Hassan Merican on Aug 25, 2018 at 2:55 pm

You sound like a Mercedes salesman who want to sell at higher prices to get higher commission.

Try selling lower prices and with volume. You can make more than higher prices.

By the way….it is only YOU that is happy with high car prices. We ll want lower car prices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
        • Hong Hong on Aug 25, 2018 at 8:45 pm

I’m not Mercedes salesman and I’m definitely NOT happy with high car price. I want lower car price too.

I’m just providing information on how the car company priced their car, because I’ve done that before for other company.

What you want to say is up to you.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Aug 27, 2018 at 1:02 pm

I think Malaysians want cheaper cars and not all the bull about taxes being high.

• rightwinger on Aug 25, 2018 at 1:56 am

you want? you pay. Dont want? walk away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
      • He wants it free, but yet he complains about pipu getting tongkats. Lolz!

• Azman on Aug 25, 2018 at 2:24 pm

High car prices include high price for my Persona also. How to walk away when I cannot afford my Persona?

Public transport is terrible becaus epast Government never made public transport proper.

• Passion on Aug 24, 2018 at 3:08 pm

Z4 twin?

• Ben Yap on Aug 24, 2018 at 3:14 pm

chic magnet car.

• Andrew Goh on Aug 25, 2018 at 3:09 pm

Mr Hong Hong, we know how tax is calculated. Whole Malaysia knows about the tax. But what we argue for is lower tax.

We all made noise about VSC in cars until all cars now got VSC. Just 3 years ago, nearly all cars got no VSC.

So, I hope people make more noise. We want safer higher safety spec cars and we also want lower tax for our cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5