BMW Intelligent Personal Assistant officially revealed

With many automakers implementing more advanced connected services in their vehicles, BMW has revealed that it too will do the same with its new Intelligent Personal Assistant (we’ll shorten it to IPA). From March 2019, the system will be standard on models equipped with BMW Operating System 7.0 in selected markets.

Powered by BMW’s Open Mobility Cloud and artificial intelligence, the IPA will offer drivers the ability to operate their car and access its functions and information simply by speaking, even when outside their vehicles.

The system will tie in with a digital customer profile (BMW ID) and will learn routines and habits of the driver, taking into account their preferences and favoured settings. In essence, it is like having a personal butler for your car that you can communicate with via natural voice control.

To “ring up” the assistant, you’ll need to utter “Hey BMW” followed by the desired command. For instance, saying, “take me home” will result in the navigation system being set up to do exactly that, while, “Hey BMW, I’m cold” will prompt the system to adjust the climate control temperature accordingly.

Should you need to better understand how your car’s High Beam Assist works, the system will explain that, and should you say, “Hey BMW, I feed tired,” a vitality programme is triggered for the driver. BMW says the system even supports casual conversation, so you can ask, “Hey BMW, what’s the meaning of life?” and probably be replied with “42.”

For the busy businessman, the system offers integration with Microsoft Office 365 and Skype for Business, so emails can be read and teleconferences joined when needed. You can also link your calendar and contacts so the system can suggest a time the driver needs to set off, available parking space and routes with minimal congestion.

BMW says the IPA will be available in a basic version with voice control in 23 languages. As mentioned at the start, cars with OS 7.0 will support the function, which can be extended with the Connected Package Professional option. There’s also compatibility with other digital voice assistants like Amazon Alexa and other rapidly growing ecosystems, BMW says.

From March 2019, the X5, Z4 and 8 Series (with OS 7.0) will be able to install the full version of the IPA via remote software upgrade. The new 3 Series will be available for order with the system in November this year.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 07, 2018 at 6:11 pm

All these gadgets look great but when it rosak, you have to pay tens of thousands of ringgit just to repair it. Make sure you are very rich before you buy a BMW. Don’t be like the majority in Malaysia, no money also, but struggle to take loan to buy BMW. Then service or repair come….cry

• teelim on Sep 08, 2018 at 1:29 am

just give everyone the choice to use Android Auto!!

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 08, 2018 at 12:23 pm

Proton X70 pun ada.

• Do we have to call “Hey B-M-Vee,” ? German IPA might not understand BM-DoubleU…

• Megane on Sep 09, 2018 at 6:05 am

Hey BMW, How much is the maintenance bill for this month
    IPA : Giggles

• Will Mac on Sep 10, 2018 at 12:30 pm

Bmw really need a new interior design team.

• Add A Comment on Sep 11, 2018 at 7:49 am

I am still waiting for KITT. Where are you KITT?

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• How about the BMW X3?