Proton Saga rendered with styling cues from the X70

Last week, Proton finally gave us our first look at the new X70 SUV, which features a few unique design elements to distinguish it from the Geely Boyue on which it is based on, as described by the company’s head of design, Azlan Othman. Rendering wizard Theophilus Chin has now applied some of those cues onto current Proton models, beginning with the Saga sedan.

At the front, the reimagined Saga adopts the X70’s grille that is shaped with inspiration from a bow. The dual slats within the grille are also gone and replaced with the brand’s “infinite weave,” an interlocking pattern inspired by designs found in Malaysian craftsmanship (batik, wood carvings). There’s also a new shape for the headlamps and a larger lower intake for the bumper.

Moving to the rear, the Proton badge that previously sat in the middle of the chrome trim linking the taillights is now gone. Instead, there’s just the Proton lettering present on a redesigned trim piece, which is the look you’ll find on the X70. The taillights have been lightly tweaked to accommodate this, and the spot for the number plate also gets new crease lines.

Further down, the rear fog light that sat in the centre of the bumper has been repositioned to the corners instead. The rest of the Saga shape remains as is, with light revisions like black side window frames. What do you think of this new look for the Saga should it ever receive a facelift? Should this new design philosophy be used for future models as well? Let us know in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• 1Proton on Sep 12, 2018 at 10:03 am

Belajar tinggi-tinggi, akhirnya capable buat gril Batik inspired. Bravo Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
    • st3wp1d on Sep 12, 2018 at 12:31 pm

what?? are u kidding? batik inspired design for a car grille. u can do better than that proton designers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
      • pengayuhbasikal on Sep 12, 2018 at 1:29 pm

Theopilus Chin for proton head designer.

• It is easier to improve based on someone else earlier work. Why not Theopilus come out with something entirely his. Then we discuss.

• End of Saga on Sep 12, 2018 at 12:51 pm

The Saga car looks disproportionate… On the road certain 3/4 view it’s looks like kereta sambung

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • Saga is traditional 3 box sedan. Hard to get proportions right when its that short.

• Agreed, it disproportionate same as Bezza…On the road rear view it’s looks like kotak cucuk dua batang nipis, very unstable.

• Trump is right . Must embargo on Sep 12, 2018 at 12:58 pm

If I have a choice … I won’t give a sen to the Chinese. They have destroyed the world’s economy with the mass and cheap products . Think Taiwan in the 80s but 100 times larger. Deng Xiao Peng should never open up China’s economy. Now the whole world economy is suffering as.everything gets sucked into China. Malaysia’s current economic state is a clear example of Chinese products influence… And Najib and Johor welcomed them with thick red carpet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 58
    • Belajar tinggi2 tp jadi keyboard warrior.

• i think now it’s time for proton to have their own signature grill. no more copycat honda grill please.

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 12, 2018 at 12:00 pm

I rasa patut guna grill bakar sate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • ex-VGM staff on Sep 12, 2018 at 1:25 pm

this one, at a glance has a similarity with Range Rovers from 2013-2017 – including Autobiography spec and also Portfolio spec.

• Personaian on Sep 12, 2018 at 10:06 am

New gen saga back design not nice, looks like depression facial expression. Nowadays design must be gaya with moderate garang looks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Rahim Jantan on Sep 12, 2018 at 1:27 pm

this follows several modern car of todays, like Merc A class sedan and Nissan Teana while trying to be different from the more mainstream cars

• Mr. K on Sep 13, 2018 at 4:09 am

Ya.. term ini yg sya cari..” depression facial expression”

• No beautiful design

• sanosan on Sep 12, 2018 at 10:17 am

Just change the whole ugly looks laaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • ProTiger on Sep 12, 2018 at 10:17 am

I say this is a handsome-looking Saga. Hope this may make it as the facelift model.

Kudos, Theo!

• Darren on Sep 12, 2018 at 10:29 am

Nice Theo.

• This is ugly..please don’t try copy the outlook without changing the platform..it won’t work…

• So ugly..please don’t try copy the outlook without changing the platform..it won’t work…

• Rear is nice, but the front grille is too constricted. Shud have went with 2 slats like GLA instead of 3.

• Not much difference. Still looked ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • I personally think Proton nailed the design of the current generation Saga. If only if they can get rid of the old school antenna and give us bigger wheels, the car would look fantastic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • First Saga Owner on Sep 12, 2018 at 11:14 am

Better make a new design for saga then put in the new engine 1.3/1.5 with or without turbocharged and with hybrid variant and also a better specification that can make the next saga can compete with the import cars.
    Please not make a slight change in the design. it will still look worst to me. I think Azlan should hire an car enthusiastic person with an excelent art talent to make the better design for proton car. not the old designer with lame idea.
    Proton better use 14’inch rim wheel than 13′ on saga because this is sedan car. not compact car like axia.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 12, 2018 at 11:48 am

Lol u know that saga rendering is not from p1 but from Theophilus Chin

• Rahim Jantan on Sep 12, 2018 at 1:32 pm

how dare you tell Azlan to hire someone else to design. he is the designer, no one else can claim his design is better than Azlan. every body must agree on Azlan design, then all of them go for a 45 minutes tea break, later a 2 hours lunch.

i work with Proton, i know. i join them too for that 45 minutes tea break. normally i take 50, because after that must go toilet first. but azlan never marah one because everybosy say his design is nice nice one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • First Saga Owner on Sep 12, 2018 at 4:16 pm

then Azlan is the old designer with a lame idea la. Why not he give chance to the other designer or open a design contest for saga and look for the better design? Or better replace Azlan with other designer with greater world view of car design?
        Just frust to look saga design become worse when the new design made for the saga and also the spec like the cheap car with no value.
        See the perodua myvi design and the other imported car design become better with every new gen of car release. Why not proton do that? then proton wanna said people not support the national car. The fact is the proton member’s can’t bring something new in their car production that can impressed our people and make them to think proton has bring something better than the imported car.

• First Saga Owner on Sep 12, 2018 at 4:25 pm

Better Azlan look the other renderer than Theo. Maybe our newly grad student in art can do better rendering image for saga than Theopilus. Just i mean, better the proton give the chance for the newly grad art student to make the design for saga. I had a look the design for saga FL/FLX made by the student that viral in Facebook, it look better than the saga FL/FLX design.
        Like the designer for new gen Myvi, i hear that designer work with perodua. Just my opinion, no offense. Sory if someone else think i blame the Azlan or proton. Everthing not perfect but better trying to be the best than be the worse.

• Geraldo on Sep 12, 2018 at 11:45 am

Only poor people drive this poorly design car. Very ugly and disproportionate design. Proton Saga is not safe and should be outlawed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • Should have a 3″ higher boot design, 15″ sport rim. Otherwise use the older box shape saga body with 15″ s.rim, I believe Saga will look good. The new Saga has a sisi look doesn’t look sporty at all.

• st3wp1d on Sep 12, 2018 at 12:29 pm

personally current saga design not attractive enough especially to younger age group buyers. they like TH design more.

• if only the engine was as fuel efficient compared with perodua, it would be perfect. i am an owner of the current saga model and i am fond of the bmw-look from the rear. if the facelift was to be done from the front part, and make it more fierce and get rid of the saga blm identity.

• Alternative universe on Sep 12, 2018 at 1:04 pm

Never thought I’d ever say this but…
    This proton looked better stock

• Thomas Foo on Sep 12, 2018 at 1:37 pm

The facelift give the saga Japanese model look.
    The facelift makes the model also looks larger in size.
    The new model should attract more buyers

• in my opinion saga is born to be modified. for design i think saga is OK. it will never be looking as same as RM100K car out there. this is a good choice for low budget sedan car.

• IMO, it does not look nice

• Sohai (not ori) on Sep 12, 2018 at 2:24 pm

Dunt play2, saw many Saka Peesona speeding tailgating on PLUS fastlane, cuck BMW Hondap, saw their antics oso laughing to myself

• Chigga on Sep 12, 2018 at 4:33 pm

Slap new grill.
    Boom!
    Facelift

• If this grill put on Saga very soon, those who buy X70 will feel betrayed.

• Sama hodoh dgn Bezza, jgn tunjuk kat sini lah walaupun ia bkn benar.

• Bernard on Sep 12, 2018 at 8:21 pm

Nothing can make this car beautiful as the design was deeply flawed in the first place…

• now this car is clearly and unmistakenly designed by proton^^

the out of proportion shape tells it all

• Does the government knows what we really want? Cheaper imported and continentals. And completely shut Proton and Perodua down for good!

• Mogan on Sep 12, 2018 at 11:19 pm

One of the most ugliest proton ever. The designer must be blind…

• aging…

• Nashwinder singh on Sep 14, 2018 at 10:47 pm

Yes I agree 100%

• zabarjad on Sep 20, 2018 at 12:00 am

proton ..pengeluar kereta nasional negara,,pengeluar kereta yang paling hodoh..blm,persona,neo..tolongla kluarkan kereta yang menarik skit,,sporty..ni bangga pulak wat kereta kartun..designer kartun betoi proton ni..wat malu ja