Volvo S90 T5 Momentum now in Malaysia – RM338,888

The Volvo S90 gains a new T5 Momentum variant in Malaysia, which sits below the existing T8 Twin Engine Inscription and T8 Twin Engine Inscription Plus. If you can make do without a hybrid powertrain, the S90 T5 Momentum costs RM338,888, which is RM30,000 less than the base hybrid variant available.

Motivation comes in the form of a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder Drive-E petrol engine that serves up 251 hp (254 PS) and 350 Nm of torque, all of which is directed to the front wheels via an AW TG-81SC eight-speed automatic transmission. In terms of performance, the S90 T5 accelerates from 0-100 km/h in 6.8 seconds, and will hit a top speed of 230 km/h – claimed fuel consumption is 7.0 l/100 km.

Kitted up in Momentum trim, the new S90 variant is visibly dissimilar from Inscription models. Up front, the chrome accents on the grille and bottom apron are now gone, with the former sporting a different slat design as well. You’ll still get the LED Illumination headlamps with the brand’s ‘Thor’s Hammer’ daytime running lights, Active High Beam and auto-levelling function.

Along the sides, the Inscription’s chrome trim, which is placed at the lower section of the doors and just behind the front wheels, are not present on the Momentum model. The wheels are 19-inch five-triple spoke matte tech black diamond cut alloys shod with 255/40 Michelin Pilot Sport 4 tyres. Meanwhile, the rear no longer features the trapezoidal-shaped exhausts, with two circular outlets taking their place instead.

On the inside, the Orrefors crystal gear lever is replaced with a leather-wrapped one, while Iron Ore Aluminium inlays adorn various parts of the cabin. You’ll also notice the diamond-cut roller control on the centre console for cycling through the available drive modes is no longer there, but the engine start-stop knob remains.

The kit list includes a 12.3-inch Adaptive Digital Display instrument panel, dual-zone climate control, Sensus Connect infotainment system with nine-inch touchscreen, Comfort Seats with black leather upholstery, powered driver and front passenger seats (memory function for driver’s side), second-row air-con vents (B-pillars only), integrated booster cushions (outer rear seats), a reverse camera, and a slightly larger fuel tank (55 litres versus the T8’s 50 litres).

Safety and driver assistance systems similar to the T8 variants, with seven airbags, Adaptive Cruise Control, City Safety with Front Collision Warning and Pedestrian and Cyclist Detection with Full Auto Brake, Lane Departure Warning, Lane Keeping Aid, Blind Spot Information System (BLIS), Roll Stability Control and Hill Descent Control. There’s also the Pilot Assist semi-autonomous driving system, Park Assist, and Park Assist Pilot.

Six exterior colour options are available, including Crystal White Pearl, Mussel Blue Metallic, Luminous Sand Metallic, Onyx Black Metallic, Bright Silver Metallic, and Maple Brown Metallic. Each purchase also comes with a five-year warranty.

What do you think of the more affordable Volvo S90 T5 variant relative to the T8-powered options? If you’re interested, you’ll want to head on over to our first ever Premium Auto Car Expo (PACE) at Setia City Convention Centre on November 3 and 4, 2018, where Volvo is offering free five years standard service (VSA 5+) for those who book the XC60 T5, S90 T5 and XC90 T5 at the event.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• comment_sensor on Oct 30, 2018 at 5:59 pm

Buy non hybrid. Enjoy high RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Wtfugly on Oct 30, 2018 at 6:29 pm

The rear is plain fugly ..and the front getting boring with every Volvo looking same

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Mutthu Samy on Oct 30, 2018 at 7:59 pm

I have to be frank this may be a better car compared to camry or accord. But the price like this will kill the car any time. Thats why for many many years, the sales is just kaput

• deng.....! on Oct 31, 2018 at 10:26 am

Ah Muthu,

better car as you said, then pay more la. You get what u pay la. don’t expect to get more without paying

• Only in My better car must be expensive. That is why Camry is still laku keras. Some people think it is better so it is ok to be sold at high price while the reality is the car is “old”.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 30, 2018 at 6:00 pm

This car in US is USD$48k. Fresh graduate in US start with salary US$4800 per month

In Malaysia, this car is RM340k. Fresh graduate salary start with RM2500 per month.

Volvo is too way overpriced in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 39
    • Agree, but VPCM veli fast w pricing. Thousands P1 fans waiting for X70 price w bated breath …

• Then why isn’t Volvo the best selling car in USA if fresh grads can afford it? Enough lies!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Whine police on Oct 30, 2018 at 7:58 pm

Move to the US
      You can whine less there

• Blame the 3rd national car project.

• paparadzi (Member) on Oct 30, 2018 at 10:33 pm

What car is not overpriced in Malaysia?

• klguy on Oct 31, 2018 at 12:55 am

BMW 5 series in US is USD53k, Frsh grad in US start salary US4.8k.

In Malaysia, this car is RM340k, Fresh grad salary start with MYR2.5k.

BMW is too way overpriced in Malaysia leh….

• kzm (Member) on Oct 31, 2018 at 9:30 am

Do u asking Volvo to price this car for RM25k in bolehland based on ur logic?

• Mario and Bros on Oct 31, 2018 at 6:51 pm

John Minum Teh 8X, I think you hate Proton. You are extremely coming from Perodua/Toyota Salesmen. As I see you, you are always hating Proton as I already go through for few months back

• Yes, he is. Regular readers alredi knows about him and his antics.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 30, 2018 at 6:02 pm

there is a secret to buying Volvos in Malaysia. Buy a 1 year old car from mudah.

This car is RM340k. In 1 years time, as with all Volvos, this car will be RM160k. More than Half the price less.

you are still safe cause still got 4 years warranty left and you just saved your self like RM180k to invest in something more viable.

Be a wise consumer. There is a reason why they tell you Volvo is for life cause you cannot sell it after 1 year!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 31
    • Volvo full of specs 》German kosong spec.

• 1. If you’re trying to convince a streetwear fans not queuing for new Supreme or Yeezy latest release on a fashion platform or forum, you came to a wrong place. Meanwhile Paultan should change their direction on updating latest 2nd hand car value news to suits your requirements instead of new model launching. 2. Real car enthusiasts with couple of monies don’t care the depreciation on their favorite machine. Buy a crane instead of Ferrari if you want to anaylize in an investment perspective.

• James on Oct 31, 2018 at 9:11 am

First you said buy 1 year old volvo from mudah. Then you said one cannot sell it after 1 year. So how to buy 1 year old volvo when the owner cannot sell it after 1 year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • Hamidah on Oct 30, 2018 at 6:05 pm

Buy a Volvo only if you can afford it. Don’t be like the abang abang take heavy duty loans just to buy this car and show off to their neighbours and to balik kampung and brag about it.

Bumper alone is RM20k and Windscreen alone is RM23k. Make sure you are rich enough to afford the maintenance of this car. Buying is simple with loans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
  • Better buy BMW 530E, so many brand new pre reg units going for RM290k.

Why should I buy a China car with this kind of price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
    • YAB Alberto on Oct 30, 2018 at 6:49 pm

No one asked u to and probably u cant afford it either

• Andrew on Oct 30, 2018 at 7:14 pm

in that case, jaguar and range rover is india car

• Tee For on Oct 30, 2018 at 10:35 pm

How can I contact you to get one of those?

Do some reading bro….

• What’s left not owned by China? BTW, this is Sweden’s car, as always. BMW does setup BMW Brilliance production in China, does that really matters?

• some people never use brain before comment. Now, everything made in chine. The most important is the technology that the product is designed.

• Ruslan Bahari on Oct 31, 2018 at 7:40 am

Because you’re a snob. Badge snobbery. And a cheap one at that, because you’re willing to buy a cheaper pre-reg BMW just to drive a Beamer.

And because you’re not too smart. A 2014 BMW 320i was 240k. In 2018, a low-mileage unit can be bought at 120k. That depreciation rate is synonymous with contis, but BMW takes the cake.

• It’s clear Volvo doesn’t know how to design cars.

Also, no RV and parts are expensive. It’s a low volume seller.

This is Bolehland not a nice Scandinavian country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Go n study parts n maintenance for merc n bmw before u simply commented here.

• Mr Hakim on Oct 30, 2018 at 6:46 pm

Wait until Geely version arrived and Proton rebadge it lah. Much-much cheaper.

• sutheshk87 on Oct 30, 2018 at 7:55 pm

I thought Volvo launched the S90 T5 back then with the T6. So whats new here?

• Digidigi on Oct 30, 2018 at 8:32 pm

many paultan fans who infact not Volvo target customer will say this is the best with good safety feature etc, but the local sales figure of 530e will be miles ahead of this volvo.when u paying so much, u paying premium for the brand

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 31, 2018 at 8:52 am

these rims are actually nicer

• Better than Lexus ES