2019 Honda Wave 125i – price drops to RM5,999 for single-disc, RM6,299 for double-disc, LED headlight

Updated for next year is the 2019 Honda Wave 125i from official distributor Boon Siew Honda Malaysia, priced at RM5,999 for the single-disc brake version and RM6,299 for the double-disc equipped underbone bike. This is a price drop from last year’s pricing of RM6,263 for the single-disc and drum brake and RM6,549 for brake discs front and rear, when GST was still in force.

New to Honda’s Wave 125i is an LED headlight for lower power consumption and longer service life. As a kapchai targetted towards the middle and higher end of the commuter market, the Wave 125i has proven popular with urbanites.

The large under seat storage compartment, with 18-litres of capacity, also provides a larger seat for greater riding comfort. Fuel is carried in a 5.4-litre tank, which Honda says will give an estimated 300 km of range.

Fed by Honda’s PGM-Fi, the Wave 125i uses a single-cylinder four-stroke air-cooled 124.9 cc power plant that produces 9 hp at 7,500 rpm and 10 Nm of torque at 5,500 rpm. Power for the Wave 125i gets to the ground via a four-speed centrifugal clutch automatic gearbox and chain final drive.

The two 2019 Honda Wave 125i single- and double-disc brake versions come with three colour choices – Pearl Magellanic Black with Candy Scintillate Red, Pearl Magellanic Black with Pearl Nightfall Blue and Force Silver Metallic. Availability of the Wave 125i at authorised Boon Siew Honda dealers is from this month.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• panjang on Nov 19, 2018 at 5:29 pm

When i read ‘double disc’ i was like….’why on earth does this cub need twin disc at the front?’

Looking at the pic makes me smile. TQ PT for putting smile to my face this evening.

• Mohan K Ramanujam (Member) on Nov 19, 2018 at 5:38 pm

Hahah, thanks pointing that out, will clarify the issue.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 19, 2018 at 6:39 pm

Good price. New Government with less corruption, we have cheaper bikes and cars now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
      • Kapcais used to be only RM4,000 1 year ago. So kuat makan this current Gov now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 20
    • Bumi dipijak slippers on Nov 20, 2018 at 12:48 pm

kapchais should have fitted with better braking system, shorter stopping distance.
      kudos to Honda!
      How about the rest of kapchais makers?

• Can buy iPhone XS for that money!

Oh what sad times we are living in now…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
    • Jimho on Nov 27, 2018 at 12:33 am

People change smartphones every 1-3 yrs. Many are still using their 20-35 yrs Honda kapchais. I can run errands & go places on my bike. Smphs can cause stress, unhappiness & bent backs/necks.

• super cub on Nov 19, 2018 at 6:33 pm

Will BoonSiew launch the new Supercub 100cc anytime soon?

• Ben Yap on Nov 19, 2018 at 7:20 pm

good move with lower price. this segment for 125 cc can still enjoy fuel subsidy and lower price of motorbike.

• Daily driver on Nov 19, 2018 at 7:31 pm

thailand punya versi signal belakang tak capang.

• Maria on Nov 19, 2018 at 11:29 pm

Ohhh god.. the old one didn’t have capang now this one got capang..

• Alyy8128 on Nov 21, 2018 at 8:42 am

Is this one having the Helmet-in feature?

• azhar on Nov 21, 2018 at 6:48 pm

Who says SST more expensive than GST???

• Max291 on Nov 22, 2018 at 8:42 pm

Dear Honda, I want C70. Just to travel from home to office 2km away. Heck, I’ll buy 1 of those, 1 day each, 1day for pasar & 1 for weekend @mamak.

• Jimho on Dec 10, 2018 at 4:11 pm

Aiyo lazy Max, just walk the 2 km. You’ll be healthier & save more $$$.

• ex5 110, wave alpha 110, dash 110, wave 125i and dash 125i. yeah 5 cupcai from honda sold side by side

• Top speed of this bike?

Tq.

• Warren Bernabe on Aug 04, 2019 at 8:42 pm

When is the release of honda wave 125i in philippines?