2019 Mitsubishi Triton now open for booking in M’sia – launch in Q1 next year, 5 variants, from RM100k-140k

Following its global debut in Thailand earlier this month, the refreshed Mitsubishi Triton has arrived at the ongoing Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show (KLIMS 2018) as part of an official preview. There’s more too, as Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) has begun order taking for the pick-up truck ahead of an official launch in the first quarter (Q1) of 2019.

We’ll jump right into the most important bit: the estimated pricing for the new Triton is from RM100k to RM140k (on-the-road without insurance), and there will be five variants on offer. In terms of specifications, MMM has confirmed that we will be getting the 4N15 2.4 litre MIVEC turbodiesel engine, as well as the new six-speed automatic transmission that replaces the five-speed INVECS II unit.

Other features include the new Super Select 4WD II from the latest Pajero Sport with Off-road Mode (Gravel, Mud/Snow, Sand and Rock), plus a suite of advanced safety systems. The latter is an attractive proposition as it includes Forward Collision Mitigation, Ultrasonic Misacceleration Mitigation System, Rear Cross Traffic Alert, Blind Spot Warning with Lane Change Assist and Auto High Beam.

The new Triton sports a bolder look that proudly showcases the brand’s Dynamic Shield family face. Highlights include a bonnet that has been raised by some 100 mm for better presence, slim bi-LED headlamps with LED daytime running lights, LED taillights and new-design alloy wheels.

Inside, the Triton receives a redesigned centre console with new switchgear and air-conditioning vents. For a more upmarket look, soft-touch materials are used on the armrests, centre console sides, door inserts and parking brake lever.

Given that most truck owners live in the urban jungle, touches such as a smartphone tray with USB ports below the central switchgear at the front; smartphone tray with a USB charging port behind the centre armrest, as well as a rear air-con blower with roof-mounted vents have been added as well.

As mentioned earlier, the Triton is now open for booking, with prices ranging between RM100k and RM140k. An official launch will only take place in Q1 of next year, and the pick-up truck will arrive as a fully-imported (CBU) model from Thailand. Interested?

GALLERY: 2019 Mitsubishi Triton facelift model range

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Proton eats roti john on Nov 22, 2018 at 7:21 pm

Habisla Arena!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
    • Edwin L on Nov 22, 2018 at 9:28 pm

Still dreaming? Arena have been out of sale since 10 years ago. Stop dreaming & talking nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • John Minum Teh 8X - Bras and Panties SDN BHD on Nov 22, 2018 at 7:22 pm

If this truck comes here including Ranger, Habisla Hilux. Now, John Minum Teh 8X and Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk are obviously hiding like caves

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Habisla 8X tea drinker on Nov 22, 2018 at 8:51 pm

Hilux dead for sure. Triton and Ranger facelift become tougher and bold, Hilux facelift become pig face and fugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • To be priced at 140k, I hope the top-spec Triton would be really well-equipped. Because it will undoubtedly be compared to the 145k Ranger Wildtrak Biturbo, which we all know is currently the best pickup on sale.

• No point on Nov 22, 2018 at 8:38 pm

Pickup used to be same price same B-segment sedan, now it closer to C-segment sedan.

• Haidi on Nov 22, 2018 at 9:20 pm

I am pretty sure that this truck scored / will score very bad in pedestrian safety in NCAP test.

• Nasilemak on Nov 22, 2018 at 10:19 pm

After seeing it live, it looks like the old triton with new body panels. I think its the old triton with new drivetrain and new panels. Even the interior looks dated. It’s so bad that even the navara got a better quality interior than this triton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • benzs on Nov 23, 2018 at 8:32 am

Felt like after GE14, all new car price increases tremendously. Triton (4×4) price is around 93k ~ 126k(roughly). Even new Camry is priced at 190k. Our RM has no value.. Sad ~~~

• You sell roti canai RM1, 5 years ago. Now you are creative. You add susu cheese & comes with sup ekor. Do you think you can sell RM1?

The MIVEC 4N15 alone is much more advance than the previous 4D56.

• Benzs on Nov 23, 2018 at 8:12 pm

Another 10 years Triton cost rm200k. Worth it or RM devaluation? It seems car pricing keep on increase and never reduce. Even though manufacturers add this and that but in the end mass production shouldn’t be expensive. Yeah I get it, those new engine is so much advance. But before this model being facelift, those price was never being exp and reaching 140k. This is madness

• Ah beng Level 2 on Nov 23, 2018 at 10:41 am

Now tats wat i really called ” beautiful monster” the real deal

• Wow talk about an ugly vehicle! but its less ugly than the one its replacing….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • If it really is the super select 2,with locking rear diff? Then they have just taken away this Ford customer :) I’ll go and check with the local showroom soon, because the lack of rear diff lock is what stopped me getting a Triton last time