KLIMS18: UiTM AVII – a study in autonomous driving

The exterior may be very much that of a regular Perodua Myvi with some creative styling revisions, but what’s underneath the hood is anything but. This is the Urban Intelligent Mobile Autonomous Vehicle II, also known as AVII, a design study prototype created by Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM) as a test-bed for autonomous driving research.

The AVII is a collaboration between four faculties (electrical engineering, mechanical engineering, art & design and computer and mathematical sciences), and is described as “a locally-developed and innovatively-pioneered futuristic autonomous electric vehicle, proficient in navigating long stretches of road with minimal human intervention.”

It boasts an array of autonomous drive equipment to help it achieve this goal. These include a Velodyne VLP-16 light detection and ranging (LIDAR) unit, which creates 360-degree 3D images through input from 16 laser/detector pairs.

Elsewhere, an inertial measurement unit helps determine the vehicle heading, while a Emlid GPS system provides the necessary positional awareness. There’s also a point-grey camera (for lane awareness), a laser range finder, ultrasonic sensor and a rotational encoder in the sensor kitbag. Autonomous capabilities include steering and throttle, path planning/navigation, lane detection as well as short to medium range object detection.

The AVII, which seats four and tips the scales at 1,000 kg, has been designed primarily for autonomous driving research, but there’s also a second exploratory path, that of electric mobility. Components include a five hp asynchronous 48 volt DC motor, which is juiced by a 8.1 kWh lead-acid battery unit.

Operating range is 50 km, and via a household 240V outlet and a built-in three-pin plug connection, the battery takes five hours to achieve a full charge. Maximum operating speed is 30 km/h, but the car has been programmed to a 25 km/h top speed.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Harith on Nov 23, 2018 at 8:40 pm

Good job UiTM folks. Despite limited facilities to develop such work, they managed t do it. Although the range is quite low but at least it’s something great coming from the students and the lecturers

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 9
    • Bzzzz on Nov 23, 2018 at 10:57 pm

Congratz local unigrads know wat best. Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Vader on Nov 24, 2018 at 3:26 pm

It’s the only cheap 2nd hand car they can afford

• aiman on Nov 26, 2018 at 7:15 am

Yup. they 1st buy Iriz but rosak halfway. sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
          • Engineer on Nov 26, 2018 at 10:48 am

That’s what happens when they remove and replace a well proven engine with their untested system.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 26, 2018 at 11:06 am

Malaysia cannot even do EV or Hybrid also….yet they want to look into autonomous driving.

Hello….EV and Hybrid pun tarak ada….

• myvifan on Nov 26, 2018 at 12:03 pm

Myvi if racing first corner sudah masuk wall of shame

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 26, 2018 at 11:05 am

Even Tesla with their Harvard engineers also cannot do proper studies on autonomous driving. I really don’t know how our high quality Uitm can do this

• Kipidap UITM!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • newme on Nov 23, 2018 at 11:43 pm

This is what we called local talent. Unlike certain quarters taking in some China inferior product and claim credit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • uitm & myvi..keyword spotted

• panjang on Nov 24, 2018 at 3:47 am

Good effort but the locals need to push harder.

I wonder what the arts&design students contribution….the stickers?
    Its a waste of fund to change the lightings,rims,bodykit, interior of the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Yes Tes on Nov 24, 2018 at 4:03 am

what? i can see the 80’s electrical condenser, capacitor, relay, what?? 80’s techonology? 3 pin plug? AC plug? HDMI port? wow, fanstatic technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
    • Anonymous on Nov 24, 2018 at 4:59 pm

This is an early prototype for a university study. Did you expect them to produce proprietary components when the project is only about 30%? What you see from the likes of Google and Waymo are the result of millions of dollars of investment, and no less than 5 years of development with a greater number of industry experts and connections. What they didn’t show you is that they all started pretty much like this the very first time. Those companies are out to impress with a sales pitch, so they wouldn’t show you the ugly development stages. This on the other hand is done with lecturers and professors, within students’ Final Year Project duration. Do you honestly think they would waste money on expensive components when at this stage they’re still figuring out an efficient integration and programming? What do you think this is, a gaming rig?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
      • IGP mom on Nov 24, 2018 at 7:43 pm

@Anon … however, contemporary technology can be ARM CPU equipped with standard memories and sensors and none of these cost millions. They cost at most a few thousand ringgit, and a gaming rig as you mentioned, also in the same range. You can’t exaggerate just so to defend local talent. They are what they are, and if they want to improve, swallow the critics and improve! If it is so early stage as you mentioned, don’t bother showing it in a car show and expect only praises. You see, reality is hard to accept, but it is what makes one better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
        • This is a uni project which focuses on proof of concept. Its purpose was never to look like it was ready to be marketed, as PT mentions, its still limited to 25kmph. To be practical, it needs millions of investment to acquire the advanced techs to carry the project forward. If u havent done a uni project on a shoestring budget b4, u dun really have a right to criticise.

• unclekok on Nov 25, 2018 at 12:01 am

And what did you achieve when you were young? Failed your SPM ah?

• IGP mom on Nov 26, 2018 at 12:01 am

@unclekok … hah! Failed SPM? Not in my dictionary. I scored well, in fact I taught my friend for a few months and he got C4 in Add Maths. I taught my cousin who failed Maths 6 months before SPM, and she scored A1. You guys can thumb down, but a half bake UNI project shouldn’t be meant to show in a KLIMS. It is not an amateur show in school/uni for god’s sake. Well done to you all for celebrating and defending mediocrity!

• uncle kok on Nov 26, 2018 at 12:05 pm

Suddenly i feel cold, brrrrr

• Janda Judder on Nov 25, 2018 at 3:33 am

Sila buat lawatan di uitm dn tnya secara terperinci kos utk pembuatan dan development autonomous driving system. Dari assume kononnya murah dn membazir, sebelum kritik jgn jd krik-krik.

• IGP mom on Nov 26, 2018 at 12:04 am

By the way, I have taught students at UiTM Shah Alam before, and I know their quality well. This project shouldn’t be shown to the world at this stage. ‘Local talent’ shouldn’t be displayed as such.

• Engineer on Nov 26, 2018 at 10:51 am

Ya ya. Easy to talk behind a keyboard. Any tomfoolery can do that. Try doing such a project yourself. If you had actually taught in any tertiary institution, you would have known the level of rawness in their projects.

• UiTM won P2 Eco Challenge 2017 pencapaian terbaek.

• IGP mom on Nov 28, 2018 at 12:24 am

@Engineer … if you are really an engineer, you wouldn’t even demo such a thing in your dept event. Let’s check the facts on display … charge 5 hours, operate for 50km and at speed of 25km/h. If you are really an engineer and celebrating this as success presenting it for an event at KLIM stature, good for you. Really, your level of expectation is speechless.

• why is everyone jumping on the ‘autonomous driving’ hype?

• kebal on Nov 25, 2018 at 11:57 am

it’s the future. You can’t not accept it. Whether you like it or not.

• Ah Meng on Nov 24, 2018 at 10:28 am

We dont need UiTM. We need Japanese to provide 3rd national car project man power!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • nosushi on Nov 25, 2018 at 12:02 am

Dowan jepunis car, later cannot export to other countries coz dinosaur tech inside! Yikes!

• Ben Yap on Nov 24, 2018 at 3:49 pm

so slow the car…. i cycle my cervelo S5 also average speed about 35kmph. better i cycle than drive this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • neb pay on Nov 25, 2018 at 12:07 am

Yeah after several km you get tired and stop. Oh and anyone can claim got Cervelo S5 , civic turbo etc but in reality….

• HID for HEADLAMPS!?! on Nov 24, 2018 at 3:50 pm

Anthony Loke should apprehend this car and its owner. Because the use of HID units on a non-factory equipped vehicle. Maybe it’s using the 16000K colour temperature and can blind other road users!!

• The objective is good as an early stage prototype for a uni test bed. But can see big portion of the budgets spend on unnecessary pimping the car with aftermarket head lights, leather seats, sports rims, lowered, repainting and etc. Should just leave those outside look alome since it don’t contribute autonomous study itself.

• kokol on Nov 26, 2018 at 10:08 am

agree with this comment. They should focus the budget more on the dev-boards (Jetson etc). From the look of this car hardwares, I believe it can only achieved sae level 2 .

• What the..?

Out of so many cars choices, they pick MyVi????

Autonomous cars are yet to be fully matured, MyVi is dangerous to be used. Anything went wrong, the driver inside sure bye bye.

But having said that, it’s protection for the pedestrian because Myvi is so soft, pedestrian would not get hurt in the event of car-human collision

• Amran on Nov 26, 2018 at 4:09 pm

Myvi far better than IRIZ!

• Leonardo on Nov 27, 2018 at 11:04 am

It would be go if they can upload a video of the car in action, on the campus roads and avoiding obstacles, etc.
    And I have to agree, as a Proof Of Concept vehicle, you don’t need the pimp the car.
    The aesthetics will come in later. Though I would question the choice of the old Myvi as the donor car. They should talk to P2 and ask for a car for this project, in lieu of publicity for them.

• What they have achieved that they showed at KLIM18? They should have begun with something cheaper to develop n less complex control engineering problem like autonomous parking or braking, which is way much simpler in terms of dynamics n control requirements: Parking maneouvre at low speed doesn’t demand so much precise control on the development of the front/rear tyre slip angles ratio, though it involve multidirection forces, they are almost linear. Autonomous braking, though it is higher speed, and may involve nonlinear tyre dynamics, the forces are only in longitudinal direction. IMHO.. I rest my case. Regards, YG