Nissan GT-R50 by Italdesign – production model revealed, limited to 50 units, priced from RM4.7 million

Remember the specially-commissioned Nissan GT-R50 by Italdesign? Well, Nissan has revealed the production version of the show car, and just 50 units of the reimagined Godzilla will be made.

Exterior-wise, the production car has stayed true to the concept, with a redesigned diffuser – incorporating the rear number plate – being the only noticeable change. Although the concept featured a two-tone Liquid Kinetic Grey and gold finish, buyers can ultimately decide on their choice of colours, including the striking blue hue you see here.

Speaking of which, the interior gets the same gold theme with race-inspired dashboard, now outfitted with the standard GT-R’s steering wheel, instrument cluster and infotainment system. The concept was finished with a black Alcantara dashboard wrap, carbon fibre trimmings and black Italian leather seats, and you can expect some degree of customisation for the cabin on the production car.

The GT-R50 concept was built on the bones of the GT-R Nismo facelift, powered by a reworked version of its 3.8 litre VR38DETT twin-turbo V6. The engine was uprated to make 720 PS at 7,100 rpm and 780 Nm of torque from 3,600 to 5,600 rpm, representing a significant 120 PS and 128 Nm jump over the donor car.

This was achieved via larger GT3-spec turbochargers, bigger intercoolers, higher-flow fuel injectors and optimised ignition, intake and exhaust systems. Power was routed through a strengthened, rear-mounted six-speed dual-clutch transmission to the GT-R’s ATTESA E-TS all-wheel drive system, equipped with reinforced differentials and driveshafts.

Other upgrades included a tweaked chassis with new Bilstein DampTronic I continuously adjustable damping system, new Brembo disc brakes with red six-piston front and four-piston rear calipers. The 21-inch alloys – uniquely designed for this car – are shod with Michelin Pilot Super Sport tyres measuring 255/35 R21 up front and 285/30 R21 behind.

Now, pricing. The GT-R50 has a starting price of 990,000 euros (RM4.7 million), and that’s excluding taxes and options. If you can stomach that price, expect your ride to be delivered starting next year.

GALLERY: Nissan GT-R50 by Italdesign concept

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Fugley on Dec 10, 2018 at 11:32 am

Godzilla and Suprima same designer , Italdesign.

• Jzsaytalk on Dec 10, 2018 at 11:50 am

If u cant buy 4 biji nissan gtr 35 with rm4.7mil, and why would u pay rm4.7mil for 1 biji gtr 50.
    Rm4.7mil buy 4 biji gtr and have extra lagi boleh tune it up 800ps, then smoke byebye this rm4.7mil gtr50. Lols.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • mitlanevo on Dec 10, 2018 at 12:32 pm

Wiralution same same logic. Lmao!

• afundek on Dec 12, 2018 at 2:26 am

‘limited editon’ this term dont suit for you ‘anak miskin’…this thing is for millionaire toy that have 20 bungalow ,1 private jet , eat gold for breakfast …the only car u can afford is hot wheel..so pliss just mind your own biznez

• redpilled on Dec 12, 2018 at 10:48 am

Different strokes for different folks. This bloke obviously only care about headline figures over everything else.

• A GTR that not only has supercar performance but supercar prices. Yelp! I would go for the Lambo instead.

• wastetime on Dec 10, 2018 at 1:10 pm

50 units? next news will be all 50 units booked by the UAEs.

• ford GT better

• jaguar supersport on Dec 10, 2018 at 10:43 pm

exactly! nissan is always a nissan no matter what skin it’s wearing. nuff said