PT TALKS: Proton X70 priced fairly? Perodua new SUV

Proton has finally announced the official pricing for its first ever SUV, the Proton X70. As promised, the entry-level model is priced just under RM100k, with the range-topping Premium 2WD variant going for RM123,800. What’s more, all prices are fixed throughout Malaysia, and each purchase comes with a five-years unlimited mileage warranty.

For the money, you’re essentially getting a proper five-seater C-segment SUV for the price of a B-segment SUV. At heart is an advanced 1.8 litre turbocharged direct-injection four-cylinder petrol engine that’s mated to a six-speed automatic transmission. The engine makes 181 hp and 285 Nm of torque, easily making it one of the most powerful SUVs in its class. You can check out the full model breakdown in our detailed report here, as well as maintenance and running costs here.

Also discussed is Perodua’s new seven-seater SUV, which is due to debut early next year. The Toyota Rush-based car boasts a range of interesting features such as six airbags (standard!) and Advanced Safety Assist 2.0 with Pedestrian Detection. More importantly, the Perodua D38L is tipped to be priced between RM10k to RM20k less than its Toyota counterpart, which would put it comfortably below RM80k.

It’s unusual for both national automakers to field their trump cards around the same time, but that simply means consumers have more choices to choose from, and that’s hardly a bad thing at all. Are you happy with the Proton X70’s pricing, or are you veering towards the more affordable Perodua SUV? Let us know, below.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Powerful but because of the weight it becomes slower than a 1.4 tiguan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 12
    • Cendol on Dec 15, 2018 at 8:08 am

The weight due to car enhanced safety design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • qwerty on Dec 15, 2018 at 8:21 am

Who cares 1 sec slower. It has got more torque to be faster than Tiguan when cruising on highways

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
      • crv on paper faster than tiguan but never seen honda can keep up with vw except the type r. 9 secs already slow. 10.5secs too slow

• John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 15, 2018 at 8:49 am

Is this car really for Malaysians? Proton was born in 1985 to give Malaysians cheap affordable cars. We are now shocked that

1) Price of the car over RM100k
      2) Maintain the car cost more than Japs

According to Proton’s own statistics, 78% of their total sales come from Saga and Persona. The remaining bulk mostly comes from Government ordered Perdanas.

So, Proton buyers mainly are looking for RM50k and below. So why did Proton launch a car costing RM100k and above?

At Rm100k and above, it is still beyond reach of most Proton buyers and fanboys. And the basic model is kosong. Minimum must get the RM110k model. Plus insurance etc, this is RM120k

Also bear in mind also that according to EPF’s own statistics, 76.3% of ALL its contributors earn RM1500 and below. Mostly RM1000 and below.

With this in mind, how can majority of Malaysians get loan to buy RM120k car?

Proton should charge cheaper for this X70 as Proton was born to give Malaysians affordable cars. How many Malaysians can really afford RM100k and above?

Proton should have fought for Malaysians to get us the X70 for RM80k and below. After all we supported Proton the last 30 years kaw kaw

Now Proton should repay every Malaysian with affordable cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 152 Thumb down 15
      • theanswer on Dec 17, 2018 at 9:42 am

x70 is targeted as a global car. saga/persona wont not global enough. suv is not a cheap car to begin with..low income ppl wont buy suv. u want proton to go global, u have to start somewhere. u want saga to go global? dont expect the price going to be cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
        • fadzili Rahman on Dec 17, 2018 at 12:18 pm

Global car? this is a Geeely car and they already selling this car in their markets such as Africa and Middle East as in Europe and USA they are not at standard level. this is not a proton its a re badged Geely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
      • Just buy sagalah bro. Its cheap and reliable.

• I don’t know which part of Malaysia you are from, but the reality is that all additional features in any car comes with a price tag. Nothing is ‘free’.
        You have other cheaper options around. No one is forcing you to buy the X70 or other ‘expensive’ SUVs.
        BTW what era were you born again?

• Chris on Dec 20, 2018 at 12:12 pm

No money don’t buy, let those with money buy

• Truckers on Dec 15, 2018 at 9:59 am

But for SUVs, pulling torque is more important and with 285Nm vs 250Nm, X70 has oodles of pulling torque compared to Tiguan.

• Tiguan VS Boyue - The Truth on Dec 17, 2018 at 9:25 am

Cannot compare Tiguan with X70. One is German and another is a low class China car.

Anyway, Tiguan always got firesales. You can get a brand new Tiguan for about RM130k after discounts.

OOOOPPPPPPSSSSSS…..This is not far from RM123k Proton.

So MALU MALU MALU. Tiguan is so respected globally. Boyue is not even approved in any first world country

Dont forget, Tiguan is a RM500k Porsche Macan in disguise. All parts are the same as the Macan. All DNA same as the Macan

you trying to compare china car with Porsche Macan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 45
        • Tiguan is based on VW’s MQB platform, it consists of Polo and Golf with equivalent compact class Audi, Seat and Skoda counter parts. Boyue is based on Volvo’s XC60 platform, so if you want to bash something, get your facts right first.
          Don’t F” with other people if your facts are always salesman knowledge, are you trying to boost Tiguan sales? Good luck with that DSG still.
          *Check engine light INTENSIFIES*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
          • sam tow truck on Dec 17, 2018 at 1:01 pm

Pls buy Tiguan not X70 because you know every VW is a good news for me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • Venom on Dec 17, 2018 at 11:53 am

Macan is Q5 platform la bodo…not Tiguan

• Macan? Huhuhu dream hard buddy

• McQueen on Dec 17, 2018 at 12:57 pm

Torque-to-weight ratio:
        (kg per Nm)
        X70: 5.95kg/Nm
        Tiguan: 5.8kg/Nm
        CRV: 6.38kg/Nm

Torque is important, but more so, Torque-to-weight.
        Tiguan is still going to feel more responsive. Interestingly, CRV is worse-off compared to X70.

• torquey on Dec 17, 2018 at 5:02 pm

Hp-to-weight ratio:
          (kg per hp)
          X70: 9.48kg/hp
          Tiguan: 9.8kg/hp

• Truckers on Dec 17, 2018 at 5:28 pm

You forget that with 1.8L engine, X70 will reach to torque value faster compared to Tiguan. It will eventually outrun Tiguan quite rapidly.

• No it wont. tiguan reaches peak torque at 1.5k rpm. x70 at 1.7k rpm

• X70 or Xc90 on Dec 15, 2018 at 11:13 am

Joke if people still buy xc90. X70 looks better and more premium

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
    • No tq on Dec 15, 2018 at 3:38 pm

Economy bad . No more capex items .. food more important

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • ricer on Dec 16, 2018 at 7:30 am

Tiguan goes first after toll booth, 10 minutes later x70 smokes it due to higher hp

• Ruslan on Dec 16, 2018 at 8:17 am

X70 money well spent. Smooth hiway cruiser munching all the miles to balik kampung…

• Sohai on Dec 16, 2018 at 6:42 pm

Ecomomy bad??
        Depending on who you ask.
        Over at Merc is still breakig their sales chart every quarter!

• The rich still rich despite bad economy so sales of these luxury cars not affected. X70 is not meant for general rakyat, only middle class & above so I hope Proton will come up with a lower price SUV asap.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 17, 2018 at 8:50 am

Actually to be honest, the Proton X70 is a good car. But I am sure it will fail just like all other Proton cars. You see, Proton’s problem is not their cars. they make good cars. It is their malas attitude that shuns away customers. This is why Proton has gone down the drain

So, no matter whether they have a good product or not, the attitude of the Proton workers need to change. The 10,000 workers are all malas, not interested in giving their best, not interested in giving anything above their JD (Job Description) and have this lepak and malas attitude. For 20 years Proton staff has always relied on bantuan from kerajaan and they still have the same attitude.

Unless they shed this attitude and learn to be hardworking and innovative, the X70 will be just another Waja or Preve.

Remember, it is not the car. Let me reiterate, the car is good, it is just that the company needs to buck up. You can have a good captain steering the ship (Li Chunrong) but if all the workers have mundane attitude, Proton will just be the same 10 years ago

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 9
        • Yusri Salleh on Dec 17, 2018 at 10:18 am

All your life you are begging for handouts and tongkat, then suddenly you are asked to walk on your own….sure fall down one

Sure got muscle wastage. Just like asking bedridden man to walk

• notakata on Dec 17, 2018 at 9:28 pm

That’s much better than only taking action after being sued, yes, the takata cases

• dong gor on Dec 17, 2018 at 12:02 pm

let’s be honest to ourselves and the rakyat, Proton cars were never good lar. Their cars seem reasonable for the price it’s asking, at most. But keep in mind that is with a fraction of tax that is imposed on other MFG. Remove those taxes, u reveal Japanese pricing with Proton quality!

• Leonardo on Dec 19, 2018 at 10:56 am

Unless you are one of the workers or have worked in P1 before, you are making a serious insinuation.
          Have you got facts to back your statement?
          Or is it hearsay or misinformation from disgruntled ex workers? Or were you fired from P1?

• Kindly explain your logic. Its a good car, but the 10,000 staff malas. How do the 10,000 malas staff came out with a ‘good car’. And how do you know if they are malas or not? Are you stationed at the factory from 8-5 monitoring their every move? Are you based at COE, seated with the marketing team and observing their every move, because if you have you’ll know that your statement is nothing but lies. Or are you simply making a conclusion based on hearsay or your experience with only 1-2 service staff? Yes, they’re not perfect. I see there are lazy staff, but which company doesnt have them? I have personally worked with PROTON and there are a number of dedicated staff out there who work very hard. It pisses me off to see idiots like making generalised statements when they do not know head or tail. But that’s how the world works…those who can, do. those who cant, teach. those who cant even teach, sit behind a computer screen all day and bash others because that’s all they are good at.

• To come up with the conclusion “all malas” shows how malas u r actually.. did u did the research, went to the plant, documented each n every workers there before coming to your conclusion.. U r just racist n like to malasly make general conclusion without doing your homework. Show us proof.. pictures, data, punch card etc.. your logic is this… 1 guy malas.. label each and every one them malas.. easy… Malasly done

• YB Albert Kunta on Dec 15, 2018 at 4:21 pm

Powerful? Brudder,at almost 1.7 ton this x70 is a hippo size suv,drinking 1 litre of petrol every 6 to 7 km.
      At current petrol price,it may cost u 35 to 40 sen per km.Imagine petrol at Rm2.70/litre…45 sen/km!!!
      Since Tun only care for B40 group…owners of X70,will definitely not enjoy fuel subsidy.
      Like Preve and Exora…X70 is definitely a thirsty monster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 58
      • petrolhead on Dec 16, 2018 at 7:56 am

I have P2, jepunis and p1. Pening with P2 and jepunis cars. Cannot get 20.1 km/l or any as advertised, not even close. Later their keyboard warrior comes here makes nonsense P1 FC . At least P1 gip more accurate value on paper

• Careful when underpowered on Dec 16, 2018 at 2:22 pm

Probably tranny sound is like dragging a dead log

• The Truth About Geely, Volvo and Proton on Dec 17, 2018 at 8:56 am

After Geely bought Volvo, Malaysians have seen Volvo parts prices go up 3X

After Geely bought London Cab, UK cab drivers complain prices of parts shot up like crazy. Nearly 3X gone up

After Geely bought Proton, Malaysians can expect Proton parts prices go up 3X also.

Don’t bilip me? Go ask any Volvo owner who owns Volvo the past 15 years.

China NEVEr gives anything FREE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
    • Projohn X70 akan habis! on Dec 16, 2018 at 12:36 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 193
      • John Minum Teh 8X Salah on Dec 16, 2018 at 3:19 am

Salad Semua. It should be

“Once buying new Perodua Terios, in few months time, definitely Perodua got 100% issues for many parts for Perodua Terios including upcoming Perodua models as well as other Perodua models too.
        So the new quote known as “Nice to see Perodua, nice to buy Perodua once got many issues for Perodua, considered NEEDED TO PAY 1 TRILLION DOLLARS for repairing Perodua models” because Perodua Company are always dishonest as they never admit that there are many many recalls about Perodua. Perodua are begging billions are making cars without even checking whether there manufacture properly for Perodua Company that has been doing for the past many years and creating millions of faulty cars. Look at Perodua cars, big car, big engine but when mendaki Genting suddenly can terbakar! Other carmakers with big cars and smaller engines can mendaki Genting slowly and safely.

Everyone Must Believe Honda, Toyota, Proton, Kia, Nissan, VW, etc while everyone shouldn’t ever trust to Perodua. Cause Perodua have 100% issues for many parts for Perodua including upcoming Perodua models.”

Then it is correct

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
      • Nosushi on Dec 16, 2018 at 7:51 am

P1 basher tried hard to spew fake news which noone cares. I loled at this comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • Both john and Minum Teh salah! on Dec 17, 2018 at 9:22 pm

You both salah semua! It should be

Once buying new Proton X70 and Perodua SUV, in few months time, definitely Proton and Perodua got 100% issues for many parts for Proton X70 and Perodua SUV including upcoming Proton and Perodua models as well as other Proton models too.
          So the new quote known as “Nice to see National Cars, nice to buy National Cars, once got many issues for Proton and Perodua, considered NEEDED TO PAY 1 TRILLION DOLLARS for repairing Proton and Perodua models” because Proton and Perodua Company are always dishonest as they never admit that there are many many recalls about Proton and Perodua. Proton and Perodua are begging billions are making cars without even checking whether there manufacture properly for Proton and Perodua Company that has been doing for the past many years and creating millions of faulty cars. Look at Proton cars, big car, big engine but when mendaki Genting suddenly can terbakar! Look at Perodua cars, when driving in highway rear axle suddenly can tercabut. Other carmakers with big cars and smaller engines can mendaki Genting slowly and safely. Driving in highway also have no issues at all, nothing tercabut.

Everyone Must Believe Honda, Toyota, Kia, Hyundai, Nissan, VW, etc while everyone shouldn’t ever trust to Proton and Perodua. Cause Proton and Perodua have 100% issues for many parts for Proton and Perodua including upcoming Proton and Perodua models.

• John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Dec 17, 2018 at 9:03 am

Thousands already cancelled bookings for the X70 once they found out price is RM100k and above.

These patriotic Malaysians thought the price will be RM80k and thought Proton being a Malaysian company cares for the rakyat of Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • DRB Hcom on Dec 17, 2018 at 12:52 pm

Its nice to see all the beloved Honda Malaysia salesman trying their best to bash Proton X70 over here. Obviously the Proton X70 might be able to threaten the sales of Honda CRV and HRV in Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
      • Them Jepunis salesmen r trembling in fear. There has been an awakening, and they felt it. Now they fear it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Nightmare on Dec 14, 2018 at 7:18 pm

Not just price.. it’s the drive. If it drives like a typical China car then it will be another nightmare just like the current SAGA and PERSONA that uses China engine and transmission ….both models gear change its all over the place… but Proton won’t admit its supplied from China of course

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 111
    • Ekor rimau on Dec 15, 2018 at 8:22 am

Exactly, its just a matter of trust and confidence in p1. Maybe its own ppl hav lost trust and confidence unlike current oppo team

• redpilled on Dec 15, 2018 at 12:53 pm

Current Saga n Persona uses a Campro engine variant with VVT on the intake cam, its an indigenous design, mated to either a (correct me if I’m wrong) 5 speed manual from Getrag or a CVT from dutch company, Punch. Neither engine or transmission are from China.

WTF are trying to spin?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 1
      • Tun F on Dec 16, 2018 at 10:06 am

Dude… The CVT punch from Belgium…

• Bro, Toyota salesmen r desperado now. They r resorting to outright lies and spin just to sell one more of their junks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
        • DRB Hcom on Dec 17, 2018 at 12:50 pm

Not Toyota Salesman la, they are all Honda Malaysia salesman. Because X70 threatens Honda’s CRV and HRV sales.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
        • DRB Hcom on Dec 17, 2018 at 6:12 pm

All of them are Honda Malaysia salesman here pretending to be Perodua and Toyota salesman. Bashing Proton X70 kuat kuat because X70 is threatening Honda’s CRV and HRV sales. As you know Honda CRV and HRV range are all over priced and very underspecced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
      • Jangan tipu on Dec 16, 2018 at 2:01 pm

Yup as Nightmare said … still in denial it’s from China .. drives like crap too

• Persona owner on Dec 16, 2018 at 2:11 pm

Yes I noticed the Chinese writing on my new Persona radiator cap … Very embarrassing when my mechanic pointed out to me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
        • theanswer on Dec 17, 2018 at 9:46 am

got english writing on my myvi radiator cap..never knew myvi came from UK.

• redpilled on Dec 17, 2018 at 11:00 am

Ha ha ha good one bro…

• Malu Betul on Dec 17, 2018 at 12:50 pm

Yes my Persona too has it … WTF. No other car make has Chinese instructions except China cars !…. I quickly scrapped out the cap sticker

• Why remove it? People were already making noise when MBPJ removed road signs with Chinese words.

• Mr.Crazy on Dec 17, 2018 at 5:45 pm

Both Getrag and Punch were made in China, I’m new Persona Owner tho… Globalization takes place tho…

• Mr. Song on Dec 15, 2018 at 5:41 pm

Have you even driven a China car? You have no idea how advanced they are now. Stop thinking like a typical Malaysian living in the well since birth. Not to mention, newer Proton cars are not all that bad.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
      • Agree… This X70 is not those old Cherry Qq or Cherry Eastar . They have progress alot further than that without protectionism policies.

• Tungkatu on Dec 15, 2018 at 6:08 pm

CVT, gear change … Get out.

• Getrac kepalaotak on Dec 16, 2018 at 2:06 pm

Those who own the Persona and Saga will agree… Proton gear change will go like … Vooooooooo thud….vooooooooo thud. A lot of loud whining sound but car seems to go nowhere

• inikalilah on Dec 16, 2018 at 8:49 am

are u kidding me?proton is the best in class in terms of handling..my fmly got honda city,perodua..im have hilux and spacio,and also saga blm..saga the best reponsive handling..u just came to basher but not have a car..RIP basher..

• The only thing all over the place is your brain. You think people don’t know how to Google what you saying are truths or lies, is it?

• Yes, x70 is priced fairly, BUT NOT ATTRACTIVE! Perodua is albeit a bit smaller, but it is priced attractively. IMO, perodua is going to be the winner, unless proton drastically reduced their ckd price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 22
    • binyue on Dec 15, 2018 at 8:22 am

Wait for binyue

• Tun F on Dec 15, 2018 at 8:33 am

Dude… You want X70 to be priced same as Perodua suv.. That’s totally bullshit.. But it’s true that it should have priced at least at RM89k for the lowest variant…. It just that Proton never learn this game…

• lemang sg buloh on Dec 15, 2018 at 8:51 am

This car just needed a Honda badge. Lets welcome the all new Honda X70, confirm laku

• Dilbert on Dec 15, 2018 at 9:53 am

This is CBU. The CKD will be priced more ATTRACTIVELY and will make Perodua to rethink their pricing. 80k for a Perodua crossover is way too expensive compared to a proper SUV like X70.

• So BR-V price attractive and CR-V not attractive right?

• Simon on Dec 15, 2018 at 11:09 am

For same money, owners of HRV, XV, Sportage, Civic and CX3 better get the X70 AWD.

• Aikon on Dec 15, 2018 at 10:05 pm

No, Proton will not do that. The Perodua is in a different niche and will still take the lion’s share. What’s the point of competing with a lesser product like that at the cost of profitability? Perodua is firmly in the affordable range for those who must be more prudent. Proton has no choice but to forget competing with them and provide offerings to fight the higher brand names.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Rest in Peach Projohn X70 on Dec 14, 2018 at 7:23 pm

No, X70 telah habis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 35
    • Sold out habis dijual like hot cakes

• Rizalman on Dec 15, 2018 at 4:22 pm

X70 interior material, space, build and finishing actually way better than my RM430k Evoque…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 20
      • johnwhat on Dec 17, 2018 at 8:54 am

lies. if youve actually been into an evoque, you wouldnt even mention the two cars in the same sentence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • McShark on Dec 14, 2018 at 7:33 pm

Guys, forty thousands people already cancelled booking for Myvi and thousands people already cancelled booking for Perodua Terios. As well as, most of the people send WhatsApp and says that more thousands people will cancelled booking for Perodua Terios tomorrow.

Good news is that more thousands will soon to be book Proton X70 as well as forty thousands people will book either Proton X70 or Toyota Rush.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 40
    • X70 Buyer on Dec 15, 2018 at 9:39 am

Habislah my X70 order! Now I have to wait until 2020 to get my car. I just booked it yesterday, you know!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Derek Wong on Dec 16, 2018 at 3:41 am

Very clever Mr X70 Buyer. I also got another news is that, yesterday thousands people have cancelled booking for Perodua SUV D38L as well as forty thousands people have cancelled booking for new Myvi. Just now, more thousands people have cancelled booking for Perodua SUV D38L. Don’t forget tomorrow, another thousands people are already expected to cancel their booking for Perodua SUV D38L. These statements are very serious and very honest as according from WhatsApp Community in which I saw many post about cancellations for Perodua SUV D38L from my friends and neighbours as they saw Perodua Puchong Salesman post inclduing other Perodua Salesmen post from different locations from WhatsApp Community

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • Stefan Chong on Dec 17, 2018 at 9:50 am

another fake new from disgruntled Proton fanboy. Perodua not even launch the car and not even have bookings….so how to cancel?]

Kelakar betul Proton fanboy. This is the reason why nobody buys Proton anymore because of their non stop lies

• Derek Sohai on Dec 17, 2018 at 8:00 pm

Sangat bodoh Mr X70 Buyer. I also got another fake news is that, yesterday thousands people have cancelled booking for Perodua SUV D38L as well as forty thousands people have cancelled booking for new Myvi. Just now, nobody has cancelled booking for Perodua SUV D38L. Don’t forget tomorrow, nobody is expected to cancel their booking for Perodua SUV D38L. These statements are very serious and very dishonest as according from WhatsApp Community in which I saw many post about cancellations for Perodua SUV D38L from my friends and neighbours as they saw Perodua Puchong Salesman post inclduing other Perodua Salesmen post from different locations from WhatsApp Community

• TripleY on Dec 16, 2018 at 9:21 am

so everyone canceled their myvi order n rush to buy x70? great logic on customer segmentation u ve there i must say

• Potential buyer on Dec 16, 2018 at 3:53 pm

Jangan tipu la brader

• john oh john Jangan Tipu Ye on Dec 17, 2018 at 9:01 am

poor john, lie also lie properly, where got booking for Perodua Terios? Still trying so hard to lie.

• I say again. Dun involve me in ur stupidity. I got no time unlike u in ur empty showroom. Others play ur game, u tak pulak marah.

• Leonardo on Dec 14, 2018 at 7:37 pm

RM123k Proton X70 or Used 2016 CRV premium,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 34
    • horses on Dec 15, 2018 at 8:24 am

New used CRV might have hidden problem

• Safety First on Dec 15, 2018 at 9:38 am

Used 2016 CRV premium doesn’t have full ADAS like X70. Safety First, nuff said.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 2
      • Driver on Dec 16, 2018 at 2:29 am

only idiot needs ADAS, I drive the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 57
        • freake on Dec 16, 2018 at 9:21 am

10 years ago pipu said dun need more than 2 airbags or VSC

• 10 years ago pipu also said, his wife go Korea tambah 2 airbags in her chest, 1 for her and 1 for him. So sitting in his car, automatically becomes 4 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • I see ur the very wise type that dun need seatbelts and airbags too. But what about ur passengers? They din sign up on the no safety in ur car like u did.

Like the one above says, safety first. Safety features is like life insurance. U dun plan to use it, but u wud be glad u have it when u need it.

• Agree! Honda cars, CRV and Accord are so underspecced in todays standard. Also the price of Honda cars in Malaysia are too expensive, Honda car price in Malaysia is 2.5 times the price in Japan and 2 times the price in China, and Honda Malaysia gives us much much lower spec compare to Japan and China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • 2016 CR-V premium already outdated and competitive

• Michio Kaku on Dec 15, 2018 at 11:15 am

USED CAR mentality always think of price solely. How about cost of ownership for 5 years? Which is saving?

• Expensive cars on Dec 15, 2018 at 8:21 pm

Honda CRV in Japan only RM70k. After discount RM62k can get. Here RM163K.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 1
    • Kena Tipu Kuat Kuat on Dec 15, 2018 at 8:22 pm

Honda CRV in China is RM98K. After discount, RM88K can get. Still sales is very bad.
      Here in Malaysia Honda CRV is RM163K.
      Kena Tipu Kuat Kuat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 1
      • Yusri Salleh on Dec 17, 2018 at 10:20 am

Honda is not a national car. Proton is a national car. It is made for Malaysians.

National company cannot sell expensive to rakyat.

Like you buy local sos cili Adabi. It is cheaper than sos cili Heinz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 40
        • So because Honda is not national car, Honda Malaysia can sell their cars to Malaysians 2 time to 2.5 times of the price in Japan and China?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
        • So Honda is not a national car, so Honda vehicles are not MADE for Malaysians.
          Honda cars are made to CHEAT Malaysians, because they are selling at a ridiculous price, and also underspec.

• Used CRV if you already standby for maintainance money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
    • practical car lover on Dec 16, 2018 at 8:26 pm

just the ADAS makes the proton wayyy better than the CRV. i knew that the ADAS has the usual land departure warning, auto emergency braking, and blind spot assist.

But what i just found out is that the ADAS also has adaptive cruise control, and this monitors the speed of the car in front of you and is able to match their speed. that is a first in this segment i think?

i hope that paultan can do a review of the ADAS system soon.

• Sensibility on Dec 17, 2018 at 10:21 am

Honda CRV already has this ADAS feature on their premium spec- It’s called Honda Sensing. However, it’s priced closer to RM170k for this variant.

• Optimus Prime on Dec 14, 2018 at 7:38 pm

‘For the money, you’re essentially getting a proper five-seater C-segment SUV for the price of a B-segment SUV. ‘ This statement sums it all. Comparing X70 to Perodua SUV does not justify at all, unless you are looking at price alone Clearly X70 is a segment or two higher that P2 SUV X70 should be compared to the likes of CR-V, X-Trail or CX5.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 5
    • Engineer on Dec 15, 2018 at 9:50 am

Bro, that’s the problem with Malaysian mentality. They continue to expect Proton to be a cheap car maker but must be loaded with everything. When Proton tries to move upmarket with such nice cars like X70, you get people who can’t accept why a Proton must be so expensive. That stupid, outdated thinking must go in order for Proton to be successful as a value for money brand and not remain as the cheap car maker like its competitor.

• redpilled on Dec 17, 2018 at 11:03 am

CORRECT!

• RejimKejamGanas on Dec 17, 2018 at 11:09 pm

The reason why the prices of cars are high is because of the excise tax. The excise tax is there to protect Proton and Perodua. If our national brands believe they are as good as the foreign non-national ones, then remove the excise tax and level the playing field. Why should Malaysians continue to be forced into buying national brands by excessive taxes over foreign ones, if these are already world class?

• Proton X70 interiors match up to Merc GLC250.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 33
  • willie on Dec 14, 2018 at 7:57 pm

that red more fierce than mazda soul red colour.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 19
    • Salah Willie! on Dec 15, 2018 at 3:02 pm

That red less fierce than keranjang belanja red colour.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • binrui on Dec 14, 2018 at 8:00 pm

Fair if binrui price will be 50-80k

• taboogen on Dec 15, 2018 at 1:12 am

Better wait proton X50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Is BinYue bro

• Expensive cars on Dec 15, 2018 at 8:23 pm

Honda CRV in Japan only RM70k. After discount RM62k can get. Here RM163K. This is not FAIR…….!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
    • Kena Tipu Kuat Kuat on Dec 15, 2018 at 8:24 pm

Honda CRV in China is RM98K. After discount, RM88K can get. Still sales is very bad.
      Here in Malaysia Honda CRV is RM163K.
      Kena Tipu Kuat Kuat. So Not FAIR!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
  • binyue on Dec 14, 2018 at 8:02 pm

Fair if binyue price is 50-70k

• daniel on Dec 14, 2018 at 8:10 pm

Why u guys only talk about the price point. Yes of coz the price is very competitive, why dont you guys talk about the after service, parts and etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • After service Proton better Perodua now, refer current J.D Power survey. 5 years free service unlimited mileage and free labour cost

• Korean Fan on Dec 16, 2018 at 2:17 am

Because the car just launched 2 days ago and nobody knows yet.

• just my opinion..should be priced from rm85k to rm 110k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 9
  • The truth about Perodua Malaysia on Dec 14, 2018 at 8:27 pm

Why Proton is better than Perodua. There are several reasons why

Firstly, Perodua Company has been giving so many times of rebadging models until now which everyone knows that Perodua has been cheated so many years.

Secondly, talking about new Perodua SUV, the next year when Perodua SUV launch, everyone will say Perodua SUV will definitely looks stale as compare to Toyota Rush and Proton X70. This is because Perodua Designers are always very lazy which Perodua always bailout billions of ringgits except for all carmakers

Thirdly, talking about engines and transmissions, people will never buy Perodua as everyone will buy Proton, Toyota and others. Moreover, Proton, Toyota, Honda and others has been improving a lot as compare to Perodua. This is because Perodua company has been giving such slow engines and outdated transmission for many years. In addition to that, Perodua Company planning are always lazy to research and development. All they need is to take other brands transmission and engines and put Perodua models.

Lastly, At least Proton, Toyota, Honda and others have improve their service quality than Perodua. Where Perodua Company didn’t even bother to improve their CSI. This is why forty thousands people have cancelled booking for Myvi as well as thousands people have cancelled booking for Perodua SUV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 180 Thumb down 29
    • Say Bye Bye to Perodua on Dec 15, 2018 at 1:15 am

True. Don’t forget Thousands People have cancelled booking for Terios including another thousands people will also confirmed to cancel booking for Perodua Terios as well for tomorrow. Also, don’t forget, over forty thousands will cancelled booking for Myvi. While more thousands people will book either Proton X70 or Toyota Rush. While over forty thousands will book either Jazz, City, Vios or Yaris

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 14
      • John syok sendiri on Dec 15, 2018 at 11:39 am

Are u dreaming???wake up wake up…it’s not happen in reality..shame on you..it’s like hoping moon fall on your feet..ahakz…put proton at the same level of honda and toyota?you are mainland people..different from japanese..
        I heard those medias and reporters who attended the x70 were not satisfied with the proton hospitality because no dinner prepared or served..cut cost?

• Say Bye Bye to Proton on Dec 15, 2018 at 2:16 pm

Why Perodua is better than Proton. There are several reasons why

Firstly, Proton Company has been giving so many times of rebadging models until now which everyone knows that Proton has been cheated so many years.

Secondly, talking about new Proton X70, the next year people drive Proton X70, everyone will say Proton X70 will definitely looks stale as compare to Geely Boyue and Perodua SUV. This is because Proton Designers are always very lazy which Proton always bailout billions of ringgits except for all carmakers

Thirdly, talking about engines and transmissions, people will never buy Proton as everyone will buy Perodua, Toyota and others. Moreover, Perodua, Toyota, Honda and others has been improving a lot as compare to Proton. This is because Proton company has been giving such big engines and can terbakar for many years. In addition to that, Proton Company planning are always lazy to research and development. All they need is to take other brands transmission and engines and put Proton models.

Lastly, At least Perodua, Toyota, Honda and others have improve their service quality than Proton. Where Proton Company didn’t even bother to improve their CSI. This is why thousands people have cancelled booking for Iriz as well as thousands people have cancelled booking for X70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 37
        • Spin Too Much on Dec 16, 2018 at 12:59 pm

Please go for kaunseling. You sound very bitter in life. I think you are an ex Proton salesman that got sacked because you were sleeping in office. Now very angry towards your old bosses

• Mohammad Rashid Jamil on Dec 15, 2018 at 1:17 am

Sudah Cancelled Booking untuk Perodua SUV D38L

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • James on Dec 15, 2018 at 1:33 am

Your facts are wrong.
      The cancellations are on proton not myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 36
      • Copy Paste on Dec 15, 2018 at 10:04 am

You are right dude. The cancellations are on proton…. 2018 joke of the year. Pity u dude, sabotage people mindset using your liars and poison bad mouth.

• Michio Kaku on Dec 15, 2018 at 11:54 am

I cancelled myvi booking already. Salesman said im not alone. Many will do so soon.

• Bras and Panties Promoter on Dec 15, 2018 at 6:16 am

Yup for those who talk badmouth about Proton. Must force All Perodua Salesman and Benz to apply Bras and Panties to sell ladies undergarments at either Aeon, Metrojaya, Isetan, Marks and Spencer or Parkson. This will be more suitable for them to become as ex-P2 Salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
      • Bras, Panties and john Promoter on Dec 15, 2018 at 2:58 pm

Nope for those who talk badmouth about Perodua. Must force All Proton Salesman to apply Brad and Panties to sell ladies undergarments at either Aeon, Metrojaya, Isetan, Marks and Spences or Parkson. This will be more suitable for them to become as ex-P1 Salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 33
    • bro…. u tok kok eh…

in the end the sales results speak. why, perodua cars is way more reliable and fuel efficient than p1.

Secondly, they made what the buyers one not someone fantasy.

I guess, u juz have loose touch with reality In the end, business is business. As long as it’s ethical , it’s still an honest business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 25
      • P2 cheat, cannot get 20.1 km/l, not even close

• Safety First on Dec 15, 2018 at 9:25 am

“As long as it’s ethical” but the problem, it is unethical to knowingly endanger your customers’ lives by selling them unsafe cars.

So is it still an honest business by Perodua? I don’t think so. The more they sell just mean they should be more shameful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • Sam 'Ohwai' Loo on Dec 16, 2018 at 6:53 pm

@Safety First – To add salt into wound, ALL their cheapo cars from A to Z DOESN’T HAVE A BLOODY TEMPERATURE GAUGE (worse, old Myvee got temperature gauge, current Myvee.. GONE CASE) that makes it’s even a more dangerous timebomb OTR (we don’t want later on while climbing up a long hill the car suddenly smoked out and terbakar).

• John May 9 Nangis on Dec 17, 2018 at 9:44 am

In 6 months Perodua sold 100,000 Myvi compared to Proton selling only 3000 Iriz

I think the people have spoken.

100,000 vs 3000

No need for fake news. Sales figures speak the mind of 30 million Malaysians

• Nothing is fair about vehicle pricing in Bolehland!

It’s one of the highest in the world !

Reduce all vehicle prices by 50%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 10
    • Then the car owners and used car sellers meroyan no RV. Deswai government if want to reduce price, reduce slowly.

• David Li on Dec 14, 2018 at 8:58 pm

Proton SUV X 70 is definitely over priced. Many of my friends who were initially keen on buying the SUV have now decided otherwise.
    I hope the management can take a good look at the concept of value for money, from the perspective of potential buyers.
    Good luck for pricing the SUV at such a high price!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 22
    • YB Albert on Dec 15, 2018 at 6:44 am

Value for money ? Protong now is actually a Geely vehicle rebadger.
      24 months from today,car lovers with get a mpv and sedan from geely.
      In other words,it is as if geely just started Geely malaysia,but with no showrooms/workshops…using current DRB proton Edar sales/service centres.
      Pandai nya geely…saves billions Rm and billing DRB royalty payments for Rm 1 Billion soon for 3 models.
      You see,how the Tongsan big boys do business?
      DRB…taken for a costly ride,but still act like professionals in car manufacturing.Just pathetic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 25
      • DRB taken proton s.alam Rm6b land. No probs

• p2macai on Dec 16, 2018 at 9:25 am

Better getting P1 bau bau volvo and benz than getting P2 bau bau toyota and daihasut

• Azman on Dec 15, 2018 at 9:20 am

Your friends expecting starting price to be vios price?
      This is cbu. Ckd shall be cheaper.
      I can say even my W205 interior is not much better than this also

• Bro, X70, W205 or even vios prices are all overpriced in Malaysia. The fact that car prices are so high on Malaysia has made the citizens more careful when making their purchase. In other countries, people can change car every few years. This moves the car industry and many people can afford to try any new untested cars if it was priced right. In Malaysia, if you have finally saved enough for an upgrade seriously ask yourself would you be spending your hard earned cash for already expensive car in Malaysia for this X70 nonsense ?

• go google on Dec 17, 2018 at 11:35 am

Not few years, even IN uSA that basher claimed cars are cheap, they only change new cars every 6 years minimum

• If u want to buy C segment SUV, the cheapest is Haval H2. If u want to buy Perodua B segmemt SUV, that brand always overpriced. Pls tell ur fren.

• Jenny on Dec 15, 2018 at 7:07 pm

In China, Geely Boyue sells for Y100,000, that is, RM61,000 at current exchange rate. Why his SUV so high price in Malaysia?
      Whatever the reasons or rationale, many many many people not buying this SUV!
      Reasonable price should be between RM75,000 to Rm80,000!!!

• Kereta national biasanya letak harga bawah 30 ribu ringgit drpd paling laris jual jepunis kereta.
      Dlm segmen C jepunis SUV harga di antara 130k hingga 160k. Jadi X70 letak harga 100k hingga 130k adalah munasabah.
      Manakala segmen B jepunis SUV harga di antara 80k hingga 110k. Segmen B SUV kereta national patut letak harga antara 50k hingga 80k. Jika D38L letak harga lebih drpd 80k bermakna terlalu mahal.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 14, 2018 at 9:38 pm

Perodua is going to do well with its model. Why? It’s price. Malaysians are very sensitive to pricing especially the B40 income group and Perodua is catering to them. Proton on the other hand is gunning for a higher segment served by many other players and they are going for a lower price wins all strategy. Let’s see how many units they can sell after 6 months. If can’t do 1k sales per month they will be in trouble.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
    • Yea at perodua price point malaysians only care about fuel consumption. I don’t get it how they can say peroduas drive well. Handling is really bad. The fuel consumption is good because they use underpowered engines & because the car is light with bad safety that’s why the consumption is good. New myvi has improved safety but I don’t think it can get 5 star at euro ncap like asean ncap. If it wasn’t for fuel consumption proton hands down. That’s their major problem.

• John ben Gobeng on Dec 14, 2018 at 9:43 pm

I am here first :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
  • Malu Malu Perodua on Dec 14, 2018 at 9:45 pm

Perodua has been cheated for many years especially for the prices for the new Perodua SUV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • Nissin on Dec 14, 2018 at 9:51 pm

Go for nissan xtrail at 100k after all discounts/rebates.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • X70 success will be decided by consumers who can afford 100k car and their willingness in putting their bet for proton. When it is NEW, consumer just need to take risk but would they?

• Hey guys, nice discussion. But u didn’t discusss the other thing that Malaysians are also concerned about the moment the car prices moves beyond the A or B segment cars. That is the brand value. I think this point was totally missed out. Remember when the first kit heavy Kia Forte came out with such a big hype here in Malaysia like 10 years ago or so. It was a C segment car competing against the Honda city and vios which is a B segment car. Since then the Koreans brought in so many fully loaded vehicles in and Malaysians still went for the tried and tested japs that are perceived having higher brand value. Similarly on the premium segment Volvo also brought in fully lifted cars and yet the usual BMW and Mercedes still rule the market place. Now likely this Proton SUV is not going to be the car that someone who just got a first job going to buy. This is going to be the car that someone is going to be upgrading to. The question is, will Malaysians want to trade in their preve or their saga or their myvi to a Jap or a European car at that price point or another proton badged car. Factoring sedans are still the top Malaysian prefered car as well. On the badge value angle, nobody is also actually talking about this Car outside of Malaysia or China. Do like to see what u guys think about it. About 10 years ago when I updated my car from a wira, I went for a city vs the forte knowing all the differences and wanted that brand value and had no regrets as well talking to my peers then on the issue. Things are different now with more choices but are Malaysians that much different now that price and specs only trumps everything……..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
    • Fair point bro. But guess only time will decide.

• frankC on Dec 15, 2018 at 2:57 pm

Good point. We (my 70s generation) are more inclined towards Japanese car and perceived Koreans as a rank lower. However reality is that Kia and Hyundai have done much catchup and VW have moved in albeit with some reliability issue and overpriced after sale services. just came across a 508 on the road just now. wow looks good but kept haunted by ‘image of engine issues’ eventhough the big “P” might have overcome it all this while…
        This batch of X70 should be a ‘safe’ bet on proton, since it is a proven model just like wira. I say go ahead if you are into SUV .. cheers

• sonyman on Dec 15, 2018 at 9:41 am

Most Malaysians. first work, either Perodua or Proton. then when they wanna upgrade or improve the life. it will not be a Perodua or Proton.

most will vouch ” i will never ever buy one of these again. ” life too short. i need to move up.

These 2 brands are suppose to be cheap cars. but they are not cheap. There is no such thing as a cheap and cheerful car.

• myvipower on Dec 16, 2018 at 9:30 am

Yes there is, my myvi has quintuplet pipes and can smoke GTR anyday anytime

• Another brand lover arseboy who picks pathetic low grade Japanese cars because he’s more worried when he sells rather than buying the car because he loves it.

• Aieazri on Dec 16, 2018 at 2:51 pm

7 years ago, I faced the same dilemma too. Was choosing between forte, city, vios, inspira and fiesta.

Ruled out fiesta due to cramped interior, vios due to uninspiring look and too basic, inspira due to lack of ESP.
      It was all down to forte vs city.

In the end, against advice of many, I took a leap of faith and chose forte instead due to more value (bigger interior, more tech, more safety feature, nicer look etc). Never regret it, other than normal wear and tear, I never face any single breakdown or major fault.

Choosing a car should not be based solely on price alone but the ownership experience as well. With Proton X70, the features alone justifies the price. On the ownership experience itself, it is yet to be proven. Proton may not be good when it comes to after sales service, however, that has changed for the last 1-2 years. Hopefully they keep on improving.

• If only Malaysians see past the badge of the car, we would have more value for money and safer cars on the the roads, instead of shitboxes like Toyotas & Peroduas. We complain about cars being expensive yet don’t do our part to make sure carmakers give us the best value for our money. We are the problem, yet we expect others to be the solution.

• Perodua pricy, Proton reasonable price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
  • Perodua pricy, Proton reasonable price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
  • Autobahn on Dec 14, 2018 at 10:41 pm

Rm120k for a china made car is absolutely crazy. Its like shopping cheap gadgets from aliexpress…yes they are cheap and they are a knock off of a branded stuffs. You can buy an apple watch look-alike that has a lot more functions than the real apple watch, or electric scooter that claim can go further than the original german bosch motor electric scooter at a fraction of price…in the end they are what they are…a china made knock of…but this geely is different..its a knock of that cost as much as the real deal haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 36
    • Jusin on Dec 15, 2018 at 6:26 am

Katak di bawah tempurung

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
      • Autobahn on Dec 15, 2018 at 9:35 am

U are more than welcome to fill your garage with haval and geely product

• Anonymous on Dec 16, 2018 at 12:58 am

Autobahn, you don’t even know what “knock-off” means. What part of recent Geely cars are ripped off from others? What cars do they resemble, what engines did they steal? Will you be saying Volvo? They literally funded the R&D for the modular engine architecture and platform for both companies to use!
          They’re far from the Japanese and Europeans, but they are very young (lesd than 15 years experience making cars) and one of the very few that do things properly in China.
          Their pricing is not as cheap as “pure Chinese” cars, because good things costs money to make.

• M.Zin on Dec 15, 2018 at 9:29 am

Still cave mindset thinking China products must be lousy therefore must be cheap. Please update yourself, even Huawei Mate P20 Pro is much better than iphone XR and priced higher, yet millions of people already ditch that cave mindset and buying Huaweis and the like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • 80k for a Japan made car is absolutely crazy

• Sure I go for X70, that D38L underpower and full loaded definitely high fuel consumption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • TheDean on Dec 14, 2018 at 11:20 pm

Geely was used to made fun of on Top Gear by the 3 wise men for copying the rolls royce, down to the emblem. Now we’re copying the copycat? I fail to what the excitement is all about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
    • M.Zin on Dec 15, 2018 at 9:31 am

Top Gear by the 3 wise men also made fun of Perodua and even blown up one of their cars. So what are trying to say?

• Simple thing also can’t understand is it. X70 is just a rebagde if a Range rover copy paste. What is everyone so proud of? Clapping hands like monkey as we achieved anything. Price also is high now. good job idiots.

• bottom gear on Dec 16, 2018 at 9:33 am

3 wise men are actually automotive clowns

• TheDean on Dec 16, 2018 at 5:16 pm

Errr only JC disliked the Perodua, citing everything inside it as rubbish. Hamster and Sir May loved the Kelissa. What are YOU trying to say? Geely did in fact carbon copied the Rolls right down to its lady liberty. That’s a fact. And this X70, which name itself is a poor copy of BMW’s and Volvo’s SUVs, is an even poorer carbon copy of Geely’s SUV. That’s also a fact. At least the Perdana looks different from the Accord. Like Skoda-VW-Audi-etc sharing same parts and platforms but look and feel COMPLETELY different. I fail to see what’s all the excitement about when a pure rebadging is all what the X70 really is.

• amd for all on Dec 14, 2018 at 11:28 pm

60k is reasonable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • U mean the Perodua B segment SUV right?
      Actually current market top selling Japanese C segment SUV is around 130k to 160k and all the time national car price just reduce 30k for lower spec to top spec. If price range around there consider reasonable.
      Now, top selling Japanese B segment SUV is around 80k to 110k, so national car B segment SUV should priced at 50k to 80k, if more than that price range is consider overpriced.

• Isaytalksaja on Dec 15, 2018 at 12:14 am

Put p2 suv in 60k+ to 70k then boleh sale good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • I find it cute to see these two fawn over the latest “game-changer”…. the more learned buyers in this price range know what they really want lah. Of course it will end up like the Pervert and Accordana, plus it’s a China car where the rival should be a Haval. Same old same old baoteng.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
  • John Doe on Dec 15, 2018 at 1:26 am

It’s amazing how the public is getting excited about the acquisitions made by Geely over the years. One needs to understand Intellectual Property, Geely doesnt wholly own any of these mentioned companies. And to assume Proton produces something equivalent to Volvo is baffling. Even if you are a substantial shareholder of a new acquired company, you can cross transfer IP rights overnight for your own product and market.
    I can vouch the acquisitions is nothing more than the interest of market cap and the the car is nothing more than just another chinese product waiting to be proven right this time around.

• James on Dec 15, 2018 at 2:12 am

John Doe

It’s amazing how the public is getting excited about the acquisitions made by Geely over the years. One needs to understand Intellectual Property, Geely doesnt wholly own any of these mentioned companies. And to assume Proton produces something equivalent to Volvo is baffling. Even if you are a substantial shareholder of a new acquired company, you can cross transfer IP rights overnight for your own product and market.
    I can vouch the acquisitions is nothing more than the interest of market cap and the the car is nothing more than just another chinese product waiting to be proven right this time around.

• James on Dec 15, 2018 at 2:13 am

John Doe

It’s amazing how the public is getting excited about the acquisitions made by Geely over the years. One needs to understand Intellectual Property, Geely doesnt wholly own any of these mentioned companies. And to assume Proton produces something equivalent to Volvo is baffling. Even if you are a substantial shareholder of a new acquired company, you CANT cross transfer IP rights overnight for your own product and market.

• Chris on Dec 15, 2018 at 5:44 am

For me, was expecting the Proton X70 to ba around RM80K to RM90K for top variant not exceeding the 100K mark. Having said that, my last experience buying a Proton was a Preve 1.6 CFE turbo, wasn’t a good one. There were quite a bit of engine and gearbox problems. Had spent quite a bit for repairs am at the least satisfied with it. My previous Protons was the Saga’s and I had no issue. The RV for the Preve was not in favour as I did try to buy another car. The amount to top up for the bank loan was enough to kill you.
    Having said that, I have very strong reservations against to change to another Proton. Have been with Proton since 1983 and am dissapointed. The Preve is comfortable but not pleasureable to own.
    For the X70 current prices, I would rather look else where.Sorry Proton. Have lost trust and confidence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 16
    • Tun F on Dec 15, 2018 at 8:37 am

Dude… How old are you? First Proton Saga only out in 1985…

• 80k to 90k to get C segment SUV?

• Don’t trust Proton…give Geely a try

• Lancera on Dec 15, 2018 at 11:28 am

Same here, owh I own an Inspira 2.0p anyway, but that’s a different story

• I Feel arctic cold wind blowing hard, bbbbbrrrrrr

• Aikon on Dec 15, 2018 at 10:12 pm

You don’t understand. The X70 is a completely different formula from the Preve which sought to fight with lower priced B segment cars. In terms of offerings, it is as different as chalk and cheese between the Preve and the X70. Furthermore, The X70 doesn’t set out to replace the Preve so it is impossible to offer all those technologies and quality at a Preve point. Logically and from a manufacturing standpoint, it is just impossible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Kross on Dec 16, 2018 at 12:37 am

Why Honda didn’t sell HRv at JazZ pricing?

• Zulkefly Abdul Manan on Dec 15, 2018 at 8:37 am

The question raised not compairing apple to apple… X70 and P2 are in different segment.. X70 should be compared to CRV, CX5, Santa Fe, Fortuner, Sorento and even to expensive Volvo, VW, BMW, Audi or Merc… with Volvo technology X70 is definitely a great car… value for Money… the new P2 SUV can only be compared witb Binyue.. however Binyue is definitely a better equipped car

• Baatla on Dec 15, 2018 at 9:18 am

For a car that costs about RM66k in its home market to be rebadged as “x70” for RM99k as Malaysia’s national car, it sounds more like “Boyue” is a “Ketuk-you” model for the Malaysian motoring public, regardless of whether it is a C segment selling for B-segment price. On top of it, its maintenance cost can be a long term liability. A national car project should always follow the German’s beetle model approach, that is, be an accessible people’s car to begin with.

• Aikon on Dec 15, 2018 at 10:50 pm

Rakyat car or people’s car is now Perodua. Face the fact. You have proven it by buying Perodua more than any other brand. It is futile to expect Proton to fight such small and cheap cars because car sales will always be like water, flows to the lowest point and in this case, price point. Proton needs to take the fight higher now and not waste time fighting from a position it has moved away from

• Don’t try to be smart, Base spec in china comes with 2.0l engine and manual gearbox. And car price in china havent include tax, so it is not otr price. cheapest 1.8 turbo with auto gearbox is 128kRMB without tax

• Chris on Dec 15, 2018 at 10:24 am

The other elementary thing that perodua can focus on is part time 4WD like the Kembara for kampung environments and heavy weather : that together with robust engineering and low costs will make a winner.

• alfie on Dec 15, 2018 at 11:19 am

Only in Bolehland where a foreign company can enjoy the TAX benefit and exemptions like a local national car company while selling their cars at an imported priced to the public!!!! Looks like Geely is making the public pay for the acquisition of Proton at the end of the day!

• Damon Lee on Dec 17, 2018 at 3:29 pm

Why not when Toyota/Daihatsu have been enjoying the same benefits via P2 for 27 years?

• Dari rakyat on Dec 15, 2018 at 11:50 am

Apa cer….
    Rakyat bawah2 ni….mau kereta yg mampu milik dan kualiti yg munasabah
    Mahal…..nak beli dengan ape…..lu fikir la sendiri!!!
    Orang kaya nak beli proton….ade la…..tpi tak ramai…
    Dah kaya…..bm la….merc….la…
    Proton fikir la lebih sikit……yg backup kamu….org bawah2 laaaaaaaaa

• C.P. MOHAN on Dec 15, 2018 at 11:55 am

Whether pricey or not let market meaning customers decide.

• KC Pee on Dec 15, 2018 at 1:05 pm

Really don’t understand why the X70 Premium model come without AWD yet Executive do, as well why not test drive is provided since this is the first SUV in Proton History, this make people feel that the X70 is either too good or is bad for testing , therefore due to above two issues, i decided to cancer my order on Premium Model, I said sorry to Proton, not confiden on your marketing strategies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 32
  • Pricetag high on Dec 15, 2018 at 1:10 pm

Price ia always a concern for Malaysian as our Malaysia household income is not high. hope the next X50 pricetag is affordable if you would like to gain our support.

• Ovotor on Dec 15, 2018 at 2:23 pm

Pricing is fair but not attractive. They should have been braver.

• tokmoh. on Dec 15, 2018 at 2:40 pm

1. On price comparison, it is natural to expect people to choose this as first basis to consider. You gotta set a budget, and see what you can get for the given budget.

The HR-V makes the best case for X70’s rival, the rest are laughable like CX-3 is stupidly cramped, UMW in lalaland with rm150k CH-R, Subaru XV is good but not so spacious, tiny boot too, boxer engine maintenance can be pricey. Even HRV would struggle to make a good case given how sparse its equipment, so the X70 easily makes it look greater value given so much better equipped it is.

The Honda’s only saving grace is it has lower fc, even so, at this price range already, the difference is immaterial.

2. Against its true rivals, it’s still no brainer. The price difference alone shuts down all argument. “oh i heard Boyue’s real world fc is 11L/100km, so fuel guzzler!”, Yea but i also read CRV’s real world fc is about 10L/100km. Really, an extra rm2.20/100km cannot afford?

Pay rm40k in advance, more loan, more interest, more insurance premium to save rm2.20/100km?

Then the Proton has nappa leather, the most comfortable seats designed and engineered with Volvo’s know-how, the most comfortable seat maker in the business. Every second you sit on it, you will feel so good nothing else matters anymore.

Every breath you take is much healthier with air purifier standard to all X70, no one else comes with it.

X70 gives 6 USB ports, more than anyone else. Never a moment you’d need to compromise.

These features are worth more than rm2.20/100km. All for rm40k less than any of its rivals.

3. Perodua SUV isn’t accidental, it’s about damn time they retire the Alza. This 7-seater SUV is finally the suitable successor.

The CEO said before they are wary about psychological barrier of rm80k, expect the new SUV capped at rm80k.

It will serve completely different market, it’s for the lower income that needs fuss free family carrier. Expect sub-par NVH, vehicle dynamics but great fc and affordable service cost.

X70 is for those looking to pamper themselves and they will never be disappointed. The best value for money buy, to those who can afford it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 12
    • P1, Geely, VolvoCar, Mesidis, VolvoTrucks, Lotus > all

Fistbump bro!

• tokmoh. on Dec 17, 2018 at 3:15 pm

Fistbump bro!

Geely’s world domination has only just begun!

• James on Dec 17, 2018 at 9:17 am

Yeah same thing like the Kia Forte…
      I wonder why so many people didn’t buy this instead of the civic… since most of the salesman market it as a luxurious Cseg car. Take away all the electronics (which will fail within a year) and the X70 is nothing more than another “Perdana” fitted with outdated engine.

• tokmoh. on Dec 17, 2018 at 3:13 pm

I can accept if it is because Naza. Their after sales is legendary crappy.

Which is a damn shame. Kia deserves better local distributor that is more passionate about their business.

• Proton will always be Proton. Just like Malaysia will always be Malaysia, change of government or not, the company is handled by the same batch of people with same mentality. It won’t really change much with majority shareholder still under local people. Unless it’s fully sold off to Geely, a total change of top management, then we might see a true change for Proton. I can’t say whether proton can progress further or not after fully sold off to China, but 1 thing is for sure, Proton can’t progress further if left in our local hands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • TreeHugger on Dec 15, 2018 at 4:40 pm

Geely and Proton got a bit overconfident in pricing the X70 instead of starting at 100k for lowest spec. Majority of Malaysians cannot afford 100k car. It should have been 100k max for the high spec. This is still a China car, china design, chassis, and most importantly china engine and transmission. Look at other China brands in Malaysia like Cherry, Great Wall Haval, etc. and China motorcycles like Benelli, Keeway, KTNS, and many more. They are not priced to compete with the established brands because they can’t match the quality, refinement, and reliability. So, I can’t understand why Geely is pricing the X70 this high in Malaysia? Many people will think hard before paying north of 100k for a China car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • The chassis is ady harder than your camry or accord or even HPF so why so much fuss?

• Kevin Wong on Dec 15, 2018 at 4:45 pm

It’s not just about pricing here. Other factors such as fuel subsidy will come into play. Most Malaysians will still want/need fuel subsidy moving fwd. Perodua is already marketing its new SUV as fuel subsidy friendly and the timing is right. Can expect many X70 fans to want to switch camp. I’m one of them & cancelling my earlier booking for X70.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 40
    • Stupid Malaysians will buy Perodua on Dec 16, 2018 at 7:10 am

The problem is that, majority people will cancelled booking for Perodua Terios. There are many reasons why

1. The reason is because everyone knows that Perodua Service is very terrible in which many ex-Perodua owners have feedback about service but still never improve at all. Somemore, When many Proton owners service their car, it takes few hours to complete their vehicles service whereas when Perodua owners service their car, it takes longer time from 9 am to 5 pm to complete their service. I am very sure knows that everyone feels very upset and fed up all the Perodua Company.

2. Everyone boycott Perodua, why? Because Perodua Company didn’t even bother to design their engines and transmission by themselves. As well as Perodua Company are always very lazy to design their Perodua models which already happens for the past 20 years until now. They just rebadge logo, that’s all. Just look at Perodua Terios, everyone knows that Perodua just rebadge logo on Toyota Rush because interior looks the same as Rush as well as exterior looks the same as Rush. Moreover, Perodua Terios will not be fresh when start selling next year on 2019 after launching new Toyota Rush in Malaysia.

3. Until Today, Perodua Company still giving dinosaur engines with outdated transmission in which they never even bother to improve their Perodua models as all Perodua Models still using 4 speed auto which it is suitable for aunties and uncles. In addition to that, just launching new Perodua Alza Facelift this year, no differences but the front bumper just copying from Sienta bumper but giving ABS without VSC, HSC, EBD as well as no 6 airbags but giving 2 airbags.

4. In conclusion, Malaysians rather buy Proton. The reason is that because Proton is actually improving their company itself as Proton is giving more tech and advanced safety features for Proton X70 as well as upcoming Proton models. In addition to that, Proton Exora have ESC, ABS and 4 airbags vs Perodua Alza have 2 airbags and ABS without ESC. Moreover, Proton Service Company gives better service while Perodua Service Company gives terrible service. Anyway, no need to write good comments about Perodua for the upcoming Perodua articles in paultan as everyone knows about bad service for Perodua, copycat Perodua Models and Perodua will never improve

Lastly, Before you book Perodua, pls read the statements as these statements are truth. Once you read then you know, whether you should book Perodua Terios or not. As majority people and me, including Majority Ex-Perodua Owners surely knows that the customer will not going to book Perodua Terios. Especially for those who book Perodua Terios, we are also very surely knows that more thousands people will cancelled booking for Perodua.

• Azman on Dec 17, 2018 at 9:52 am

long essay but end of the day, every year, Perodua sales is 4X Proton.

Perodua sells 200,000 cars and Proton sells 50,000 cars.

Sales figures is EVIDENCE and better than long essays

• Abdul kadir badeges on Dec 15, 2018 at 4:58 pm

Proton X 70 price is too expensive. It seemed this car is unable to compete with established of SUV from South Korea or Japan in term of price and also good quality. This is my prediction as a layman in motor industry unlika Mr. PT. I hope in the years to come when it is manufactured over here the price will be deducted around RM 20 kilo compared today price. This is not people friendly car as we thought previously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
  • Jenny on Dec 15, 2018 at 7:10 pm

In China, Geely Boyue sells for Y100,000, that is, RM61,000 at current exchange rate. Why his SUV so high price in Malaysia?
    Whatever the reasons or rationale, many many many people not buying this SUV!
    Reasonable price should be between RM75,000 to Rm80,000!!!

• Don’t try to be smart, Base spec in china comes with 2.0l engine and manual gearbox. And car price in china havent include tax, so it is not otr price. cheapest 1.8 turbo with auto gearbox is 128kRMB without tax

• Semail on Dec 15, 2018 at 7:37 pm

Nah. Dead on arrival! Farewell geely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
  • Proton should include 5 years free service(labour n parts) for that price!

• Sohai (not ori) on Dec 15, 2018 at 9:34 pm

Ini model boleh balik Tongsan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • Potential buyer on Dec 15, 2018 at 10:36 pm

PT how much is Proton paying you guys to talk rubbish? If we are buying cars just on spec sheet then why do we need car reviewers?

I sat in the X70 at the motorshow. It has to be the least space efficient car ever. Large on the outside but tiny on the inside. Head room, shoulder room and leg room really miles away from any proper C segment. Definitely a consequence of inferior design and metal stamping sophistication.

Powertrain may look good on paper but long term reliability? I doubt that. Fuel consumption likely to bw atrocious in real world with that turbo. Interior materials really bad too.

If this car was 70 to 90k range it wpuld have been forgiveable. At 100k for the base model its just a joke. Bravo to the government for not giving them cheap tax as Geely taking Malaysians for a ride trying to pass off a cbu car as a national car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 82
    • klims on Dec 16, 2018 at 9:45 am

Interior is more spacious than CX5, material wise better than japs SUVs

• Honda Fan on Dec 16, 2018 at 11:59 am

It is also important to take note that when comparing the Chinese SUV alone, not with any SUV from other more established brands, Boyue/X70 is not the best seller in China itself. The best selling local SUV in China for 2018 is Haval H6 which sold almost 2x the volume of Boyue. This basically show where the Boyue rank in terms of local SUV in China.

• I wonder how much P2 paid u to talk this wall of bollocks. This is an SUV, u want space u go for MPV. This SUV has AWD config, so of cuz space is not as efficient. Ur Rush rebadge oso is not space efficient if follow ur logic. Stupid isnt it?

Long term reliability? Its been running in China for 2 years. Pls do some reading. And u must be the only person saying that interior materials is bad. How is Nappa leather “bad” compared to synthetic leather on topkek spec CRV? Talk sense lor.

The car cud be cheaper but its due to Gov meddling that customers have to pay Rm10k more. But no worries, CKD version will be Rm10k cheaper. Ur P2 SUV is DoA b4 its born.

• John May 9 Nangis on Dec 17, 2018 at 9:35 am

In 6 months Perodua sold 100,000 Myvi compared to Proton selling only 3000 Iriz

I think the people have spoken.

100,000 vs 3000

• yawnz on Dec 17, 2018 at 10:58 am

Pipu buy p2 coz it is cheap not because it is good

• We talking about their SUVs not about Iriz or Myvi. If u want to talk about sales number, sure. How does 100,000 compared to 500,000 Boyues sold?

• John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 18, 2018 at 10:43 am

That is China success. Not Proton and not Malaysia.

Proton is still a failure. Don’t asociate China success with Proton please

• daniel on Dec 16, 2018 at 2:51 pm

most importantly yes, they have voice commend function. btw how many of us are actively using the voice command feature? just like siri on apple and google on android, same shit. 90% of the ppl who has those phone will not use siri or google to activate a certain function. so end of the story, full features given but not practical in real world yet.

• contender on Dec 16, 2018 at 3:36 pm

overpriced X70 …. wonder how many cancellation from their previous bookings with just booking fee ? After CKD prices should be cheaper …. CBU or CKD ?

• burger on Dec 16, 2018 at 3:46 pm

as usual, lots of china trolls pretending to be fanboys.

sales will show us all how this model performs at the end of the day. if china expects all malaysians to accept them like bijan then they are in for a surprise!

• I was skeptical about the X70, finally sat in one in the show room. I must say that I am impressed with the whole package. Just curious why AWD is not the top line model.

• theanswer on Dec 17, 2018 at 9:47 am

can ask honda about that too. top range crv also not 4wd.

• newme on Dec 17, 2018 at 8:46 am

What price fairly you are talking about? New launches like HRV and P2 SUV have to be hold on to make way for this China made model to launch.

• typical malaysian on Dec 17, 2018 at 9:04 am

Of course i will buy the Perodua SUV! as the typical malaysian like most, i cannot afford to buy anything more than 80k, so i will go the lowest there is, and to cover my petty self, i will praise the one i can only afford, to a point i make myself believe that is better than anything else in the market. been doing that since viva, worked 100%.

• My salary just rm7000 /month. Rm7000x12=rm84, 000. According to AKPK, i just can buy rm84k price of car. Pay for 5 years. So sad for x70 prices.

• mig29 on Dec 17, 2018 at 10:34 am

I believe Proton X70 is outdated technology. Spend 100K for 9 years is not worth because next 5 years will be EV Era or at least hybrid. I am looking to invest for EV or hybrid. Anyway fuel price will be increasing.

• young n rich on Dec 17, 2018 at 10:53 am

If you gonna pay it for 9 years, that means you cannot afford those X70, moreover CRV, CX5 etc

• The infra in Malaysia is still not up to mark to fully support the electric car/hybrid car now. The government needs more focus on improving that before we can all be expected to jump on the electric / plug-in / hybrid bandwagon. Furthermore as a typical Malaysian might think, I should not buy a 2nd hand hybrid as the battery will already be at the tail end of its life and replacing it would be pricey…..

• Im one of the owner of perodua axia, wira, iswara, nissan sentra 1994 all i can say is perodua n proton car is quite reliable hardly breakdown. Cost of repair fr proton is reasonable fr perodua axia the repair cost is almost like jepunis car chge brake pad at rm290 service aircond around rm400 which is more expensive than my wira, sentra n iswara. Comfortable wise sentra is slightly better than wira n iswara perodua is the worse. I bought axia few month rattle all over the place send to perodua sc they dont bother on all this even the new myvi n bezza can see they all using cheap plastic. I wud rather choose proton fr my next car at least they giving a safer car n better quality although sacrifices fc

• v-tec fan on Dec 17, 2018 at 11:49 am

woh!!! paultan just trigger very Hot topic. P1 fan, P2 fan, neutral and anti P1 P2… all will go crazy…so claim down brother…

• tokey sayur on Dec 17, 2018 at 11:56 am

rugi la to buy the CBU x-70..better wait for CKD.RV manyak rugi.cannot compare CBU japan vs CKD.now condition CBU china vs CKD…aiyak…cancel booking.

• Next year will be interesting. I dont think Honda will just sit still waiting for BRV n HRVsales to plummet.

• I think this x70 are better use punch cvt to match geely 1.8 turbo Geely engine.

• alex yew on Dec 17, 2018 at 12:31 pm

i still opt for x70. have read artucles and reviews from china and malaysian articles, vy confident in this car.

• Alias on Dec 17, 2018 at 12:38 pm

How abt another china brand car Haval H2?

• Mr Hakim on Dec 17, 2018 at 12:43 pm

All the comment a cancerous yet I addicted to read, like smoking cigarettes.

• Azizan on Dec 17, 2018 at 1:31 pm

Yes good value for money

• Anand on Dec 17, 2018 at 2:34 pm

Anything above RM65k for Perodua you will kill your own car market remember Kembara and Nautica was a failure.

• First Gen Proton Saga on Dec 17, 2018 at 3:00 pm

nahh.. When its about proton, all people still condemn but perodua some people like the brand. If all Malaysian people’s want the premium or best quality car, then buy the import one. That’s because you all want the best in your life. Opsss, forgot about our citizen don’t feel proud about what our country’s carmaker have done and they don’t even care about it. All they care is they want the best quality like as an imported car but cheaper in pricing. Premium element i mean. Nahh, if like that. Just go live in at the foreign country and you deserve to drove the premium car. Why don’t we just accept it and support them with us bought the car when it is released. If you want for yourself, why don’t you made the car? You replacing the carmaker member’s position and lead it to become a better company carmaker like you want. i mean all the people’s that comment in this post.

• typical malaysian on Dec 18, 2018 at 9:36 am

well, that’s the typical way to go! as a typical malaysian like most, of course we want bentley-like luxury at a current kancil price at mudah.my! that is why we keep bragging about perodua’s sales figures! indirectly to prove most people get perodua not because of the specs, but because that is all we can afford. then we overhyped every outdated tech to further back it up!

• tigerprawn on Dec 17, 2018 at 3:58 pm

I will never get a proton no matter how good the price is, unless they can get their after-sales shit together

• Nochance on Dec 19, 2018 at 9:41 pm

Folks, this is a waste of time. Wait n see how many will be sold in the first 6 months. Nxy year will b a challenging year for the world’s economy, malaysia incl. those who need cars will go for the cheapest option on the market (not proton). They will also go for the cars with lowest maintenance costs n issues (not proton). Even those who can afford a rm100k or an SUV will buy any other foreign brand on the market. Come back in 6 months and see this comment.

• Dr N. R. on Dec 20, 2018 at 3:18 pm

To Proton,

Why I cancelled my premium booking after viewing?

It is still a Proton (or Perodua), not worth the RM 124k price.
    Back row can only sit 2 adults (+ 1kid the max) a small car feeling/less spacious.Boot ok.
    Not a globally sold car, spare parts not easily available and not cheap like others (manufacture in multiple countries).
    Concerns of resale value (based on Proton rebadge/new models track record).
    Voice command features – good to have only (as I’m not going to use it too)
    Sun-roof – which I do not need at all (hope they can remove it in CKD premium to lower the price).
    Too many electronics to survive M’sian hot/wet weather

Heard of (no proof) the high maintenance costs and spare parts cost (for a local Proton)
    Heard of (no proof) the suspected high fuel consumption (& a heavy car too?)

And just don’t feel right, government bailed out them twice using our Rakyat money and then sold to other for a some money and the new Owner come in to screw Rakyat again, Loser is still Rakyat.

• Suckers on Dec 21, 2018 at 5:22 pm

Who needs a rebadged 2year old suv launched in the year end period with a premium price when other 2 years old are being heavily discounted???