TaxiGo app launched – ride-hailing for taxi services

Another ride-hailing app has been launched, making it the second to come about in a week, The Star reports. The arrival of TaxiGo on to the scene comes after the cALLme app – meant for passengers to hail taxi drivers at the Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) – was introduced over the weekend.

Developed by local company Cab Mmobility in collaboration with experts from Taiwan and Japan, the TaxiGo app is expected to benefit some 60,000 registered taxis across the country. TaxiGo will not take a percentage of commission from the cab fare, only imposing a RM2 fee for any trip.

Cabbies will also have the opportunity to earn at least 10% to 20% additional income from advertisements, these being via digital displays placed on the car’s roof. The app is available on both Android and iOS platforms.

At the launch, transport minister Anthony Loke said that having more taxi drivers embracing e-hailing was a positive development for the industry. “I am glad taxi drivers are taking up the ministry’s call for them to get on the e-hailing platform. This is the way forward for the industry. When more taxi drivers take up e-hailing, it will be good for both the industry and the consumers,” he said.

Loke said that consumers usually did not mind taking traditional taxis if the vehicles were comfortable and the fares were affordable and clearly defined. “The most important element for consumers when calling for a taxi or private car is that they must know how much they have to pay before they enter the car,” he explained.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 18, 2018 at 10:34 am

I don’t know why they are wasting time with so many apps. 90% of the time, people just call Grab. Grab is the market leader because Grab has provided clean and honest drivers to the public.

All these other apps get the majority old cab drivers and old KLIA limo drivers who are filthy, dirty, lazy and the car always smells of smoke. The driver, instead of working hard, always lepak bawah pokok and sembang with other teksi drivers for hours smoking in their teksis. So their cars stink so much.

This is the reason why Grab is doing so well. We, 30 million Malaysians have migrated from dirty cheating teksis to Grab now

No matter what new app comes, it is still the same old ex teksi driver who is now under the new app.

So what changes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
    • JoshuaF on Dec 18, 2018 at 11:57 am

Recently since the change, we see clean and honest taxi drivers to the public like Grab now. Taxi driver and Proton deserve second chance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
      • IGP mom on Dec 19, 2018 at 1:25 pm

2nd chance? They had many chances for 60 years. I paid $84 from Mid Valley MegaMall to Shah Alam UiTM gate, not even to the faculty. To go inside, pay another $5! Still give chance for them to cheat??

• Aniki Tan on Dec 19, 2018 at 7:34 pm

Take KTM from Mid Valley MegaMall to Shah Alam , $3.50 only

• Boyka on Dec 18, 2018 at 12:45 pm

We need healthy competition in the market, with this only the industry can grow. If we let Grabs alone concur the market, i bet sooner or later same problems which people have been suffering so long with the taxi’s will happened too. You thought there’s no bad Grab driver out there? Me myself meet have meet with some driver which are not so polite, & the worst one is getting into a smelly & aircond spoiled car from KL town to airport.

No doubts the Taxi’s image in our country have been mostly ruined by those lazy & cocky drivers, but there’s still good taxi driver out there.

Btw, just a remarks, i have been taking KLIA taxi recently, & honestly speaking, their car condition is good compared to some Grab cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • zymba on Dec 18, 2018 at 4:37 pm

Enable star rating asap! Then, customers can choose only the good ones and hopefully this make others buck up.

• LRT User on Dec 19, 2018 at 9:57 am

The worst taxi drivers are those apeks, always cheat me and lazy to stop in front of my house. I find pak haji taxi drivers are more honest and make sure I am safe in my house before they leave.

• finally on Dec 18, 2018 at 10:54 am

finally they use apps. can install and compare price now. next move, improve their service and car condition. give them fair competition with GRAB so we as consumers benefit from it.

• It is not about use of technology alone but I believes the industry need to improve – driver and taxi. I hope the goverment should organise professional training and conduct random check on taxi, from time to time. Put the training hrs as one of the criteria for renewal of permit.

• sentero on Dec 18, 2018 at 10:58 am

Just close the ‘Pajak’ system and ensure taxi use car of certain age not the Iswara/Wira anymore. Then, u open only one app either together with local partner/agency already enough.

Opening/allowing so many e-hailing apps but at the end service very poor and bad driver attitude also no point.

See how Singapore or other countries run their taxi business. They provide basic salary for the driver and monitor the driver earnings through app usage and also GPS. The taxi even maintained by Gov’t since its owned by Gov’t and see how are their taxi?

• hondaman on Dec 18, 2018 at 12:57 pm

Alloo, your statement about singapore taxis are wrong. There is no individual taxi owners, all owned by companies for easy monitoring. The drivers still needs to pay daily rental & vehicles maintained by the companies.

• sentero on Dec 18, 2018 at 2:06 pm

Yes. Thats why I put salary for the driver and maintenance by the Gov’t owned company.

SMRT a subsidiary under Temasek.

• No wonder Temasek annual returns have been dropping like flies, and SMRT breakdown rates is near daily.

• So many teksi apps still cant beat 1 Grab app. Loki dun seem to realise the problem is not the apps. He still tido on the job.

• So what the problem? not the apps problem

• The problem is the market shud be liberalised instead of adding more rules and regulations. This useless Gov went the other way just for the sake of their korni.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 18, 2018 at 6:43 pm

At least not malas and dedak like before

• Bus Passenger on Dec 19, 2018 at 11:33 am

Previous Govt did not give so much trouble to Grab. Only those laws that ensure passenger safety is implemented. This Govt is trying kill Grab business to prop up their malas and dedak cronies. I wished for my previous Govt to return.

• Before this, previous Gov forced them to work hard becoz Grab was allowed in. Now they get sapot from New Gov, they got so much time to malas and protes for dedak. Ini salahan New Gov.

• Not Toyota Fan on Dec 18, 2018 at 11:03 am

Foresee taxi drivers will later complains, got confused, too many apps. Can’t get customers via apps. Blame here blame there.

You gotta understand these taxi drivers uses smartphones for Whatsapp & (if slightly more tech savvy) surfing porn. So many of them are hardcore old skool. Dinosaurs won’t change.

• Teksi evo on Dec 18, 2018 at 11:09 am

Betui YB.. Rakyat must know how much we have to pay before enter the taxi. Rakyat been taken for a ride past few year and still paying the price of a rogue teksi driver and geng

• Ben Yap on Dec 18, 2018 at 11:10 am

customer need to pay additional RM2 for the trip, not as competitive as grab. customer no need to pay anything.

• Sohai (not ori) on Dec 18, 2018 at 4:40 pm

Taxi drivers being used as pawns, who is behind the app

• Lason Jo on Dec 18, 2018 at 10:02 pm

So many app… lol

• taxi driver on Dec 20, 2018 at 4:47 pm

hi government,

can the taxi operate just like the private car…
    no need…
    taxi permit
    psv licence
    commercial insurance
    puspakom inspection
    driver card
    proper uniform
    and so on..