Gov’t assures consumers there will be adequate supply of petrol and diesel at fuel stations next year

The ministry of domestic trade and consumer affairs (KPDNHEP) has assured consumers that there is an adequate supply of petrol and diesel at fuel stations for sale nationwide, refuting claims that there will be dry pumps come January 1, 2019.

In a report by The Star, KPDNHEP secretary-general Datuk Seri Jamil Salleh said both petrol and diesel were scheduled control items under the Control of Supplies Act 1961 since June 1975. “Therefore the government will ensure that the supply of scheduled goods is always on the market and easily accessible to consumers at all times,” he said in a statement.

Jamil also stated that petrol station operators must ensure that there is sufficient supply of petrol and diesel for daily sale, referring to the licence terms under the Control of Supply Regulations 1974. “Among the other conditions, the licensee was also not allowed to close the station, or to discontinue the sale of petrol/diesel fuel without permission,” he said.

Failure to comply with any of the conditions is an offence under Regulation 21 of the Supply Control Regulations 1974 and punishable under Section 22 of the Control of Supplies Act 1974. Those convicted could face a fine of up to RM1 million or three years jail for the first offence, a RM3 million fine for the second offence and an imprisonment of up to five years or both.

The ministry’s response comes after the Bumiputera Petrol Dealers Association of Malaysia (Bumipeda) said consumers may face difficulty in getting petrol and diesel, as dealers are reluctant to restock at a higher rate at the end of the month, only to sell it for less from January 1 onward.

Recently, the Finance Ministry announced that fuel prices will be floated and set on a weekly basis from next year so consumers can benefit quicker from reductions in global crude oil prices. The move has unsettled petrol dealers in Malaysia, who are actively engaging the government to find ways to minimise/negate (potential) losses during the transition.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• jamari on Dec 27, 2018 at 10:15 am

Sembang lebey

• bukan senang on Dec 27, 2018 at 11:12 am

PH government mmg lebih berkhidmat rakyat dan bertimbang rasa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
      • Hafiz Hisham on Dec 27, 2018 at 3:34 pm

Lebih berkhidmat utk rompak rakyat dan bertimbang rasa bila x lepaskan anak2 dan orang2 tua jugak. Habis rompak semua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
        • John Cinta MO1 on Dec 27, 2018 at 4:08 pm

That is the previous corrupted regime which cybertroopers like John love. The old corrupted politicians fooled the rakyat, songlap their duit and gave dedak to people to get votes during Pilihanraya.

Despite all that, the old corrupted government kalah teruk and people like John were furious and even crying.

Luckily the rakyat has voted for a new clean government to save the country and punish the old corrupted politicians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
          • This is a car site. It is not a site to talk about previous regime. You want to talk about previous regime, you go to that site.

Here we talk about cars & car related.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • Copy Paste on Dec 27, 2018 at 4:34 pm

this is a car site. We talk about car related. Petrol is car related. We do not talk about previous regime.

• Semua Hak Sama on Dec 27, 2018 at 11:17 am

Better to open the license to everyone in Malaysia. Let us Malaysia Baru lead the change. We must allow every single Malaysian the opportunity to apply the license

• Pemalas Dolop Association Malaysia (PDAM) on Dec 27, 2018 at 12:01 pm

Please give your license up. So many people want your license.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 27, 2018 at 12:09 pm

Government should make sure all the PDAM members employ local people. All Petrol stations employ foreigners. Cheap labour. If you calculate the number of petrol stations in Malaysia- this deprives Malaysians of few hundred thousand jobs.

PDAM cry they are patriotic and always ask Government for help but they themselves never employ Malaysians.

Why don’t PDAM start giving back to Malaysia by emplying locals? So many locals got no job

• superdriver on Dec 27, 2018 at 4:01 pm

You go ask for directions or help from the foreigner in the petrol bunk they say tak tau and treat the people like a nuisance. As far as I am concern get them out as soon as possible and give to Malaysians a chance with a proper salary for god sake…please.

• Call me by your name on Dec 27, 2018 at 8:10 pm

Both of u will the 1st one to cry foul when businesses start increasing prices for no foreign laborers policy

• redpilled on Dec 28, 2018 at 11:47 am

Government should make sure all the Federation of Malaysian Manufacturers (FMM) members employ local people. All factories stations employ foreigners. Cheap labour. If you calculate the number of factories in Malaysia- this deprives Malaysians of few million jobs.

Federation of Malaysian Manufacturers – FMM cry they are patriotic but they themselves never employ Malaysians.

Why don’t Federation of Malaysian Manufacturers – FMM start giving back to Malaysia by emplying locals? So many locals got no job

• YB Albert Kunta on Dec 27, 2018 at 1:23 pm

The rakyat is waiting to see how effective the enforcement is,should a petrol station deliberately runs dry.
      Just like the Jan 1 “NO SMOKING” at all open air restaurants.
      Even now,the rear seat belt ruling has been conveniently forgotten.
      The rakyat have a feeling,that enforcement is usually done to “score points”,and after sometime..nobody give a damn to these undang undang.
      Today,if u r a JPJ officer…just stop 10 cars…10 of the cars with rear seat occupants have forgotten the rear seat belt ruling.They ask,” must wear seat belt meh?”

• Safety First on Dec 27, 2018 at 3:46 pm

It’s time for the rakyat to don their yellow vests and take back their country. Viva le Malaisie!

P.S; I’m selling the vests at super cheap prices to rescue Malaysia.

• redpilled on Dec 28, 2018 at 11:56 am

main problem is dealers are not give freedom to determine exact amount to order. imagine staion requires only 15,000L load to maintain based on current sale level, but dealer only have two options – oil-co (any and every oil-co in Malaysia for that matter) shoves down their throat double that volume, or reject that load and go dry… the fact is Oil-Cos in M’sia would rather see their dealers bleed than to take a hit for their front liners.

• panjang on Dec 27, 2018 at 10:21 am

Open market…let them sell at their own price while the gomen set the ceiling price.

This oso need to teach ah..aiyoh.
    just look at how hypermarket compete.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 27, 2018 at 11:16 am

There is a strict law that only 1 person can get one lesen. But during the previous corrupted regime, many Bumipeda cronies each got about 10 stations. Yes, you read that right. There are many kronies from the previous corrupted regime who have about 10 stations each.

And these guys made tens of millions of ringgit each whenever price of petrol went up. At that time, they never gave Government back a single sen for the UNTUNG they made when petrol went up

So shameful, now just one time price going down, they threaten the country

• hondaman on Dec 28, 2018 at 9:55 am

Got proof or not? Name me one bumi individual/company that have 10 licences, if not you talk cock only.

• Waste of space on Dec 27, 2018 at 11:20 am

Agreed! This people don’t know how to run a real business. Take petrol operating license and let Bangladeshi work as cashier, cleaner, pump attendant, etc. They just shake leg and collect money at the end of the day. Put some effort to make your stores profitable and not rely on trading of petrol only..

• Author Gerard Lye on Dec 27, 2018 at 10:32 am

Don’t worry pipu, it will be adequate as nobody buys the X70 so nobody is going to refuel that much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 20
    • Kekacauan parah on Dec 27, 2018 at 12:25 pm

Sudah cukup! Why author pun got trolled? So many keyboard warriors in this website, better become a warrior for the country instead of rubbishing here

• basherlogic on Dec 27, 2018 at 2:37 pm

X70 drink Ron97 so no problem

• Now they are learning that it is fantastic to be in power but it was easier being the opposition

• KPDNHEP Datuk Seri Jamil perhaps can talk with Bumipeda for causing anxiety and making unwarranted threats to the society and poor.

• Pakatan Kuat Tidur on Dec 27, 2018 at 11:00 am

RM 1.50 mana?

Do not make the rakyat furious!

• Aziz Mahmood on Dec 27, 2018 at 11:05 am

Wow, this is a great caring clean government that the New Malaysia has. They care for the rakyat.

Different from Old Malaysia where the previous corrupted regime only songlap duit from the rakyat and pay cybertroopers to spread fake news and like the same post 1000X

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Dec 27, 2018 at 11:24 am

It will be sufficient coz the government is in cahoots with these greedy people.

• xoxox on Dec 27, 2018 at 11:56 am

want 100% profitable business…. lol

• Petrol association threaten no petrol if price hike, another side gov warning to close your shop if you not selling.
    Good to us as consumer, I guess.

• Jeffrey Chew on Dec 27, 2018 at 1:36 pm

These associations still above the head of the authority, Gov should do a spring cleaning to these associations..

• eric_ocy (Member) on Dec 27, 2018 at 2:33 pm

O… When price shoot up u restocked siap2, now price is down u dowan restock pulak… Okay…

• Beruk Besar Best on Dec 28, 2018 at 8:41 am

I no problem. Becoz I am riding kapchai to go work. Top up rm3 to 5 for week oni….

• horrayooi on Dec 28, 2018 at 12:31 pm

Now world oil prices is less than US$50, when is the government going to reduce the prices. Why talk nonsense about maintaining adequate supply when we have plenty of our own reserves below the ground.