Government looking to lower fuel prices after considering interests of buyers and sellers – Mahathir

The government is looking to reduce fuel prices but will need to take into consideration several aspects on the matter before being able to do so.

According to a report by The Star, prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said, ““we (the government) would like to bring the price of petrol down, but people who sell it must also make some profit. If they do not, they will not sell it and we will not get any petrol.”

“So we have to balance between the buyers and the sellers (before making a decision on the price of petrol),” he added.

Fuel prices are expected to be determined today in a Cabinet meeting, which will consider the interests of both buyers and sellers. Until then, the prices of petrol and diesel remain unchanged as per what was announced for the month of December 2018.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• What looking?! Now only looking! What happen to janji of petrol at Rm1.50 per liter?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • Waney on Jan 02, 2019 at 12:11 pm

Lebey untung. Mineral water at Rm2.50 per liter.

• john raging like bull on Jan 02, 2019 at 12:46 pm

If Proton habis then janji terpenuhi

• Susukotak on Jan 02, 2019 at 1:15 pm

tak pernah jumpe. mungkin dekat2 pru15 akan jumpe

• Aziz Mahmood on Jan 02, 2019 at 2:08 pm

RM 1:50 litre petrol is not part of PH’s manifesto.

John, i know your masters are going to jail soon, but no need to spread fake news like this lah

Find a job a Metrojaya. That will be better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
      • Spin Too Much on Jan 02, 2019 at 4:23 pm

Same politicians same bullcrap. Stop spinning lah. Just because your masters are ruling the country doesn’t make them innocent.

We know what is true and what is false, and it is now clear your propaganda and promises are based on falsehoods. This has nothing to do with John but your incapability to keep those promises to the people. A capable government will not find excuses and shift blame like what you’re doing now.

I think it’s high time you find a better job, one such like you suggested above.

• Bro. Even Metrojaya wun want him and his negative sales tactic. They might just chuck him to the toilet control dept becoz he likes to ‘clean’ so much. Lolz!

• an Archy on Jan 02, 2019 at 10:15 am

The problem really isn’t about station operators who are greedy. There have been grouses that Oil Cos push stock to station operators when prices are high and withhold stock when prices are low. Dealers have no choice in their agreement but to pay for high prices pushed onto them, and they can’t buy cheap either because stock withhold.

• redpilled on Jan 02, 2019 at 1:08 pm

BINGO!!!

• redpilled on Jan 02, 2019 at 1:11 pm

Don’t expect bashers and trolls to understand. They only know how yap their flap or parrot someone else- got nothing between their ears.

• Hampeh on Jan 02, 2019 at 10:29 am

U-Turn some more. Profit and loss are part of business. I did not hear that many petrol station closed during the previous government implementing the monthly float system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • takNakP1 on Jan 02, 2019 at 10:37 am

I would really like to understand what is the complexity of letting the petrol price 100% float daily?
    Can’t they set a threshold subsidy threshold?
    Example RON 95 – Subsidy only starts at above RM2.20 to a limit of RM0.30. Below RM2.20 no subsidy.

• Shouldn’t the gov considered that before announce it?
    You guys are the gov now… please think before u act. these u-turn news can be read around the world, and the world is laughing at malaysia ever yday. malu weehhh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • The world alredi laff at us when we elected a dictator back. The same dictator that we hated for so long. The ‘M’ in Malaysia now oso means Maso as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Free market on Jan 02, 2019 at 11:45 am

This is why no subsidy is the best, let market forces decide. There are always leakages in subsidies either it doensn’t reach the target recipients or are abused. In any free economy, laissez faire works. No subsidy for everything will lead to higher wages eventually. France doesn’t count because they want to increase fuel taxes which are already high.

• Concerned Consumer on Jan 02, 2019 at 12:14 pm

Here comes the BS.. a classic signal.

• Amran on Jan 02, 2019 at 12:39 pm

I smell petron here

• Damon Lee on Jan 02, 2019 at 3:56 pm

I smell bullcrap and this gomen is full of it. Stinks to high heavens.

• kereta_lembu on Jan 02, 2019 at 1:20 pm

I don’t know about you but wasn’t this weekly float thing similar to the one we had before? I can understand that there could be losses incurred but I suppose at some point, it could balance itself out a little. No protest when they bought the petrol at a cheaper rate and have to sell at a higher price?

Anyways, why not just fix it at a reasonable price just like how the Ringgit used to be pegged? That way we can create stability. Since the Gov is willing to top up the ceiling price of RM2.20. So maybe we can just set the price of RM1.90/litre. If it goes below that, just let the government keep the earnings first, then use the earnings to cover back when the price goes up again. Just my 2 cents

• kzm (Member) on Jan 02, 2019 at 1:30 pm

Now u know how hard to manage expectation n reality.

• Deswai they promise 1st, then only think how to manage the fallout after winning. After all, they got 4 years to bury them into the depths of MY pipu forgetfulness. MY pipu mudah lupa mar.

Maybe GE shud be held every year so that pipu dun forget their broken promises. Those who makes realistic promises and honours them will certainly win again and again, that way.

• John Cinta MO1 on Jan 02, 2019 at 2:14 pm

BN government also never fulfilled their promises. I’m still waiting for the 30% reduction in car prices. Then they also songlap the rakyat’s duit and call it a donation. The whole world laughed at us

Although Pakatan never fulfilled their promises, at least they don’t rob the rakyat. We rakyat Malaysia know the new clean government needs to settle with the debts and 60 years of corruption caused by the previous corrupted regime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
        • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Jan 02, 2019 at 3:06 pm

You still waiting? Why you still waiting for BN to return back to power and continue to fulfill their promises? What happen to ur PH?

And who says they are not robbing right now? Petrol is still at Rm2.20, meaning they are blindly robbing the rakyat Rm0.70 PER LITER from each time the rakyat pumps petrol.

• Lolz! They were reducing but u voted them out now prices alredi going back up, Camry price almost same like contis now. Siapa salah? Definitely ur PH lor.

Again dun reply me with ur bollocks. Do it with ur comments and ur dupes.

• Mr. Octopus on Jan 02, 2019 at 4:54 pm

Complain so much… Don’t buy petrol la.