RapidKL receives over 20,000 registrations for My50 and My100 unlimited passes, more expected to follow

More than 20,000 people have registered for the RapidKL unlimited travel passes, according to The Star. “We are expecting more people to sign up for either one of these packages. This would enable commuters to travel with ease and at the same time, save,” RapidKL said in a statement. Two choices are available – the My50 and the My100, priced at RM50 and RM100, respectively.

The My100 pass grants access to unlimited rides on all RapidKL lines of rail and road transport, including MRT, LRT, monorail, BRT Sunway, RapidKL buses and MRT feeder buses. Meanwhile, the My50 pass grants unlimited rides on all RapidKL and MRT feeder buses, excluding the BRT.

To recap, the My50 and My100 passes can be purchased from all LRT and MRT stations, as well as at main bus hubs in Shah Alam, Greenwood, Sri Nilam and Kajang. The unlimited passes will be applicable to Malaysian citizens only as they can only be applied to MyKad or MyTentera identification cards, and non-citizens will use the standard Touch n’ Go payment method instead.

To use flat-rate parking at RapidKL Park n Ride facilities, the My50 and My100 activated MyKad must be tapped at entry to the Park n Ride, and the same MyKad be used for boarding the train.

RapidKL also noted the government’s initiative in engaging support for public transport from 10 of the country’s elite athletes, comprising Datuk Nicol David, Syakilla Salni Jefry Krishnan, Syadatul Afifah Badrul Hawidi, Farah Ann Abdul Hadi, Julian Yee Zhije, Leong Mun Yee, Cheong Jun Hoong, Welson Sim, Goh Liu Ying and paralympian Mohamad Redzuan Mohamad Puzi.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 03, 2019 at 12:48 pm

What a caring Government. This is so affordable. Thank you PH for giving the people cheap transportation.

Pity the past few years we had to pay so much for transportation because of unqualified policy makers who were not interested in the rakyat’s wellbeing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Darren on Jan 03, 2019 at 3:10 pm

RM50/mth so cheap , axia full tank oredi RM74.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • LRT User on Jan 03, 2019 at 3:44 pm

Not really for me. As student in Sunway U, my trip includes BRT but I only spend on average RM70 using MyRapid student discount card at the moment. Going up to My100 means I have to spend RM30 more for nothing. Are they really helping public transport users? I don’t think so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
        • Regular Commuter on Jan 04, 2019 at 9:03 am

Just because you aren’t benefiting from the initiative, it doesn’t mean that the general public isn’t or won’t, period!

• Pengguna Pengangkutan Awam on Jan 13, 2019 at 2:22 am

It is meant to be 100 ringgit per month due to its unlimited use. For example, not only you can use the 100 ringgit travel past to and back from your daily destination, but also travel to other places using the public transport. You can travel to Subang Taipan station for lunch while not paying any additional charge, or spent your weekend in Damansara. It is useful to the public who can use the public transport for other activities than just work related.

• That shows more and more pipu r going for more public transports if they have the chance. It was stupid by New Gov to cancel MRT3, further double tracking, HSR, and downsizing LRT3 and ECRL. So penny wise, pound foolish.

All that just to suit the ego of one man and his pet project PeroTiga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • LRT User on Jan 03, 2019 at 2:23 pm

It is only because they are going to stop the MyRapid cards for students and senior citizens. This new plan is worse than MyRapid since many of us do not use up to Rm 100. Now I have to pay more just to enjoy the discount. That is not called savings, that is called spending.

Yet another stupid and shortsighted move by PH to deprive us of our minuscule money. They have no care for public transport users like us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
    • Smarter lrt user on Jan 03, 2019 at 4:16 pm

If it’s lesser than rm100, don’t buy it then, idiot.

• LRT User on Jan 03, 2019 at 4:27 pm

Then I have to pay more for my current usage. How does it help me as a student? Reflect yourself before calling others idiot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
        • Local U alumni on Jan 04, 2019 at 9:55 am

Sorry if i’m stereotypying but sunway u students can most probably afford rm30 extra? Generally it’s obvious more ppl benefited from this. No policy can make everyone happy

• Yet another Uturn on their promise to take care of the rakyat. Just like uturn on abolishing tolls and uturn on reducing petrol to Rm1.50.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • Ktard on Jan 03, 2019 at 8:53 pm

John, RM1:50 petrol price is not part of PH manifesto.

If you wanna spread fake news, go to Lowyat Kopitiam Forum. This is a car site for healthy discussions

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
        • Copy Paste on Jan 03, 2019 at 11:19 pm

“Old wine, new bottle.
          Old politicians, same promises, new name.
          Same promises still applies.”

• His Friend on Jan 03, 2019 at 11:27 pm

agreed! you belong to Lowyat Kopitiam Forum, not this car forum. Paultan is not the place for you.

• Good job Anthony. Give credit where it’s due.

• Great move however there is a serious need for more parking facilities to be made available as most stations are already at maximum capacity.

• Nur syazana on Jan 24, 2019 at 6:22 am

I appreciate new government iniative to help people but I want to comment about that pass. There is 1 time everyone cant use that pass because offline. So counter people said offline so you need to buy a ticket. What the fish. Why I bother buy the pass but still need to spend other money to buy a ticket bcoz offline problem. Please improve or do something RapidKL.