Up to 10,000 road accidents are caused by retreaded tyres used on heavy vehicles and lorries every year, said Minister of Works Baru Bian. “I am shocked that the use of retreaded tyres was the main cause of most accidents on the road,” he said in a The Star report.
Speaking to the press during a visit to the Malaysian Highway Authority office in Penang, Baru said this figure averaged out to about 30 accidents daily due to burst retreaded tyres. He also mentioned the second cause of accidents was due to overloading.
“There is also a high number of overweight lorries that caused accidents,” said Baru. Emphasising low quality retreaded tyres were not safe and enforcement must be stepped up, Baru said, “this boils down to enforcement, we should not have overweight vehicles on the road so we need to ensure that enforcement is taken seriously.”
Retreading of vehicle tyres is where used tyres have extra rubber tread glued on to extend tyre life. Poor quality retreads are prone to blowouts and tread separation, leading to incidents of rubber debris on highways.
Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.
tayar selamat
http://www2.hmetro.com.my/mutakhir/2015/03/38922/tayar-celup-selamat-digunakan
retreaded tyres? Are you sure it’s not retarded drivers?
Sick and tired of reading ‘we should do this or that’. Just enforce the law
i think govt. should investigate the cause of the burst, apparently not all the poor retread tyres to blame,
of course, if we use normal compressed air to fill the inner tyre, there is tendency to blow up due to friction and heat will cause the oxygen to expand.
by using nitrogen, it will reduce the blow up rate as nitrogen would not expand through friction and heat.
my best advice is, please use nitrogen gas for all heavy vehicles tyres.
Science matter!
Gosh. Science???? indeed. Nitrogen expands just like any gas. The confidence in your false erroneous statement could be more underestimated.
Air is already 78% nitrogen la.
Yes, this is a big problem. I am glad the current Minister had the guts to say this out loud. This shows he is not scared and brave to voice out his opinions. Unlike before where Ministers did not make noise because they got a hand in some business.
Another problem also is corrupted PDRM and JPJ officers. Many lorries with botak or retreaded tyres kena tahan polis, the offender give duit kopi and all settled. Then he is back on the road committing the offence again.
Another big problem also is 80% of all lorry drivers also got no lesen. Yes, this is shocking. This is why official figures show that 4 million people have no lesen but still use the roads.
This is shocking because there are only 10 million road users. If 4 million have no lesen, this means, 1 inevery 2.5 people have no lesen.
As mentioned earlier, bulk of them are lorry drivers. And the same problem happens. When PDRM or JPJ tahan them, they give duit kopi and they are back on the road again 5 minutes later.
This is why lorries are the No 1 cause of accidents in Malaysia. The drivers have NO LESEN
And you think Malaysian who have license drive better?
Quiz a driver who have a 7 years old license about 2 seconds rule, 4 seconds rule or who has the bigger rights when they come across the roundabout and I’ll tell you that most can’t answer it right.
Forget about asking them what certain road signs mean.
Fact is, our driving school needs fix. The instructors mostly are unsafe and break laws while traffic laws are lamely implemented.
An example – Discounts for traffic summons are held yearly, like a mega sale. Instead of punishing, the gov actually rewards those who takes their lala time to pay.
No wonder we have an in-waiting PM who has tons of unpaid traffic summons himself.
Alamak, in the comment section got someone pulak who is not satisfied with what our new minister is doing. At least now, action is being taken against road murderers.
Anyway, harap there will be stricter rules enforced, and also no more RM50 kopi money given to the Polis to evade all the saman
10,000 eksiden due to retreaded tayar but thats out of 900,000+ eksiden cases. 10% only. Why the minister not find out whats the cause of the other 90%? Tackle the bigger problem not the smaller problem.
How do you know that they are not aware of what the problems are? Do you?
Some of us know the real reason. Too many unsafe Peroduas on the road. Easy to come into accidents and higher mortality chances.
Aiyo, apek apek also know the cause la. The cause is so clear already! It’s because Protong kept giving terrible quality tyres that lead to every accidents in Malaysia.
Wow I din know P1 tyres brand, haha!
Up to 10,000 road accidents are caused by Perodua Vehicles and especially Myvis every year, said Minister of Works Baru Bian. “I am shocked that Perodua was the main cause of most accidents on the road,” he said in a The Star report.
Speaking to the press during a visit to the Malaysian Highway Authority office in Penang, Baru said this figure averaged out to about 30 accidents daily due to Perodua. He also mentioned the second cause of accidents was due to Perodua lousy quality.
“There is also a high number of Perodua that caused accidents,” said Baru. Emphasising low quality Perodua were not safe and enforcement must be stepped up, Baru said, “this boils down to enforcement, we should not have Perodua on the road so we need to ensure that enforcement is taken seriously.”
Perodua is the vehicle used have terrible quality on it. Poor quality Perodua are prone to blow and detachable axle, leading to incidents of Perodua terbakar on highways and axle tercabut
Nak tipu orang… nasib baik english macam sial.
Agree. Perodua and proton are deathtraps paid for with the rakyats money
If follow your logic, other foreign cars that use takata airbags also death traps
Yes the Takata airbags identified are death traps. Anymore?
Not only lorries and busses. Retreaded tyres also on many cars.
Cause in Malaysia got many abang abang who buy cars they cannot afford. Just to show off. So maintenance, they cannot afford.
Many buy Porsche Cayenne 2nd hand. But 4 tyres is RM10,000. So, they got no money because car loans are 100%
These people all use retreaded tyres
Foolish nonsense. Car tyres cannot be rethread unlike lorry tyres which has thicker rubber depth. Next time, do learn before spouting nonsense.
Idiot, don’t make fake news to others. There is no retread tyre for passenger cars ever in Malaysia. Do you understand what is retread tyre or not, it is not like second hand tyre. Retread tyre is a old tyre worn out and it glued with a new rubber tread prolong it lifefycle. Mean old tyre carcass but new rubber tread on-call retread, not used tyre.
Why passenger car doesn’t has retread tyre, main reason is margin. Retread tyre business is very low margin. Do you know the retread margin of truck bus tyre, it is only about RM40-80 depend on size but they got volume coz 1 truck is using 10 tyres. Passenger car is only 4 tyres on a vehicle.
For truck bus tyre, the variety sizes are less than 10 sizes but for PCR there were at least 50 common sizes in different inch and width. The cost to retreat passenger car is too high as you need different machinery and molds to earn RM20 or 30. It is because passenger car tyre (common size) average is less than RM300 which truck buss tyre is RM800-1000.
Another factor is retread for passenger car is prohibited or illegal, who the heck willing to take such a high risk being arrest or suspend business license with such a low profit margin.
WHY I so confident on this, coz I work in tyre industry for many years and I well known how it works. If you able to find a retread tyre for passenger car (not truck and bus) either is Myvi or up to Porsche or any PCR car in Malaysia, I pay you RM10000. Everyone here is witness this bet. You can request paultan admin to reveal my personal data to claim from me too. But if you can’t prove it a Starbucks drink will do.
Brother, you don’t have to layan the fake news troll. The name itself is a dead giveaway it’s that troll. Just take John’s advice and we all ignore him, eventually he will die away. Cheers.
Those people who bought luxury used passenger car but not afford to buy new tyres they will go for second hand tyre or China brand new tyres. They will never able to get a retreat tyre coz no one is selling or supply in Malaysia market ever.
This is horrible.
In the new era of Malaysia Baru, we need to make sure everyong follows the undang-undang and safety should be everyone’s first priority.
Saman the lorry companies that don’t comply with the rules and do what is necessary until they finally follow the undang-undang.
Hopefully YB Anthony will take action.
Ban retreaded just like no smoking at eateries. Life is the most important thing.
Banyak setan bawa overloaded lorries on the highway. Some setan lorry and bus drivers like to suddenly switch lanes making those on overtaking lanes brake suddenly. These setans don’t deserve to be on the highway but locked up in prison!
You want to know why? Because tyres in Malaysia are ridiculously expensive. So, people are finding ways to cut cost. Not saying it is the right thing to do but maybe the Gov should consider lowering the tax or eliminating the tax for tyres so that people can afford them better. I’m sure there will still be people who will not buy new tyres but I’m sure it will also encourage more to change theirs as well.
And what have the ministries done? We still see bikes on car lanes on Federal Highway.
Every year also talk so much on accident stats, then ada buat kerja or not ? What’s the cause ? Any solutions? Where’s the enforcement ? Aduhai…. talk talk talk might as well let me do the talking la.
FINALLY SOMEONE SPEAKS!!!
Tayar celup is NOT SAFE!!!!
read that as retarded
Not just poor quality retread tyres as a cause of blowout, poor tyre maintenance particularly inflation pressure is also another common factor.
Minister report is useless without action and resokution..The lorries and busses caused fatal accidents had been recorded year over year and no action, instead of spending time on the tinted screen, launching apps, please look into this decade long problem…It’s no enforcer or none strict rules that cause lots of life on the road…
Get to the root of the problem . Catch those selling them and jail them for life. Can ?
rakyat expect stern affirmative action to improves on every aspects of life, after change of goverment head. it is good for minister to find out area of improvements, next is just get out of your office and discipline your officers to do a proper job. months passed and honeymoon is long over my minister.
So Malaysiabaru want to finally curb this?
Baru…what about speeding & reckless driving? Try driving after midnight. You’ll be amazed at the number of lorries, trucks and buses that travel far exceeding the 90km/h speed limit for such vehicles. And this is not something new on the Malaysian roads.
Too much of corruption the last few years has led to this. But as of May 9th 2018, things are getting cleaner and better.
Out with the filth! Welcome clean and honest Government
Please ban retreading tyres. Please catch those who does it too. Too many motorist lives at risk
the govt manyak pandai do studies, studies, studies…..Establish commmittee this and that, hire expert this and that, special task force, etc. $$$$ spent! But nothing implemented to safeguard the rakyat..
NATO
every festive season accident rate will skyrocket and yet gov kept rakyat in the dark since 2 or 3 years ago…. PH, Transport Minister should bring back old practise to have daily announcement on accident stats starting 2019 CNY!!! Ops Sikap death toll and accident stats must be made public daily!!!
Lol high tax on tyre and spare part. High cost on doing business. What do you expect?
The main reason of retread tyres burst mainly due to 2 reasons, overloading and hot weather.
Not to scare everyone here, MORE THAN 50% of trucks (except container or chemical petroleum trucks and all kind buses) are overloading in Malaysia market. Those truck carry sand, timber, palm oil etc are high level of overloading than the tyre maximum carry weight.
Why are they not comply with tyre maximum carry weight standard and also break the JPJ rule, the cost is too high if these trucks only carry optimum approved weight.
FYI, transportation cost in Malaysia is “VERY LOW” where most of the companies with trucks or logistic are greatly suffer from making margin. The intense competition among logistic companies push the margin goes lower while the fuel price is adding their cost.
Those time when fuel price increase logistic cost will goes up has already ended. Whoever price up the transport cost to customer they will be expelled from the market. But those customer aka businessman is very smart, whenever fuel price is up they will price increase on their products and claim it was due to “fuel price” charged on their logistic cost.
Why do those trucks using new tyre, the cost of new tyre is about RM800-1000 while retread is about RM200+-. Since the margin is so low most of the companies not willing to fork out more money to buy new tyre while they can opt for retread. If push these companies to have proper maintenance by using new tyre they have to price increase on their services, but how many of us willing to pay for these addition charges. It is dilemma situation.
Work minister betulkan jalan berlobang dan line jalan banyak sudah hilang. Bahaya.
Don’t add these un necessary information, where is the sources. How the retread tyre is becaming the vital cause???? Large companies are working for the retreading of tyre