Terengganu to issue bike licences for 25,000 youth

In a bid to overcome the issue of youth riding motorcycles without a licence, the Terengganu state government is holding a special programme to issue free licences. Dubbed Lesen Motosikal Terengganu Sejahtera (LMTS), the programme will be held between February to March 2019, says Harian Metro.

Registration for the LMTS programme can be done both manually and online, with the intended target audience being youth aged between 16 and 40 years. “This month we have held a final meeting with all agencies concerned in the implementation of this programme,” said Wan Sukairi Wan Abdullah, chairman of the Youth Development, Sports and Non-government Agencies committee.

“Forms have been distributed to all State Legislative Council (DUN), Institut Modal Insan Terengganu Sejahtera (i-MiTS) and Village Community Management Council (MPKK) offices,” Sukairi said. Those interested in the LMTS programme can fill in the form and submit it to the respective office in their area.

A selection process will be done based on specific criteria and successful applicants will be provided with a voucher to be submitted to participating driving schools. Aside from the motorcycle licence, participants will be provided with one year’s takaful insurance, which will cost RM7 million.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Instead of going through the proper process of getting a licences just like everyone else, a ‘selected’ group will be given ‘bantuan’…these ‘tongkats’ will never end

looks like accidents & fatalities on the road are set to increase.

• Rilek je on Jan 10, 2019 at 1:13 pm

more legal Mat Rempit are coming…

• aieazri on Jan 13, 2019 at 8:33 am

Wow, assuming the applicants are mat rempits.
      Since when having valid license is considered legal for merempit? With license or not, if they’re caught merempit, it is still illegal.

• joejambul on Jan 10, 2019 at 1:15 pm

We legalize the illegal, am I reading this right???

• aieazri on Jan 13, 2019 at 8:34 am

Since when having valid license is considered legal for doing illegal things? Last time I checked, with license or not, if they’re caught merempit, they will still be caught by the authorities.

bash without thinking, yeeshh.

• newme on Jan 10, 2019 at 1:38 pm

It is a program to convert unlicensed mat rempit to licensed mat rempit.

• Katak on Jan 10, 2019 at 2:23 pm

By reading the title alone without the content of the article, I would have wondered since when Terengganu state government has become driving license issuer. Rupa-rupanya memberi baucher kelas memandu. Editor needs to make sure the article title really reflects the content.

• Journalistic licence. Then, keyboard warriors start to grind the bazukas.

• the driver on Jan 10, 2019 at 2:25 pm

What is the purpose of issuing licenses? To ensure the holder has been sufficiently EDUCATED and TRAINED to understand the dangers of operating any vehicle. Handing them ‘easy’ licenses only save the rider from embarassment when stopped by a enforcement officer.

• Sgt Scoop on Jan 10, 2019 at 4:09 pm

Pandering to the lazy, how Malaysian.

• aieazri on Jan 13, 2019 at 8:38 am

Did you even read the articles? There are few criteria to be considered for selection. One of them being their economic status.

Do you even know whats the price of getting a motorcycle license? Unlike you, that amount is big for them and this kind of assistance will really, really help them.

• Yusri on Jan 10, 2019 at 7:28 pm

Are we heading in the right direction PH govt?

• Anthony on Jan 11, 2019 at 1:37 pm

Bro, last time I checked, Terengganu is hold by PAS.
    But I truly hope that the federal government will speak up on this issue, as from what I understand issuing driving licence is suppose to be JPJ’s job, which is under the federal government jurisdiction. So, as we are allow to drive around Malaysia freely.
    In the report, it is mentioned that the licence the Terengganu state government going to issue is Lesen Motosikal Terengganu Sejahtera (LMTS), please take note on the word “Terengganu”. Just wondering, is this licence even legal to be use on the federal level? Or, the people who is holding it can only ride/drive at Terengganu only.
    Just sharing my humble opinion.

• Francis Lim on Jan 11, 2019 at 2:00 pm

This is wrong. They need to do all the tests as required by law. No one is above the law. Didn’t Tun M promise that we are all subject to the rule of law? What happened?

• Botaksee on Jan 11, 2019 at 10:21 pm

What a stupid decision by the relevant authority. Giving out valid license to legalise wrongdoings….it’s a madness …YB Anthony Loke, can the State government authorise the move..how would JPJ respond to this madness…

• aieazri on Jan 13, 2019 at 8:30 am

The only thats mad is your assumption that all the applicants are mat rempits. And since when having valid license is considered permission for wrongdoings? With license or not, if they’re caught merempit, they will still be caught by the authorities.

And do you even read the article? The gov state is issuing vouchers for the participants to apply for license at driving school. They will still need to go through proper classes and tests to get their license.

Gosh these people nowadays…simply bash without thinking

• cOugar on Jan 13, 2019 at 3:01 pm

Mestila ada syarat2nya .. xkn permudah bodo gitu je.yg pengomen pon otak tarok mana?kata bodo Kang marah plop so don’t ever show ur stupidity … Think la sama