Chief minister asks for Penang bridge guardrail specifications to be reviewed following fatal mishap

AppleMark

Concessionaires for the Penang bridge and the Sultan Abdul Halim Mu’adzam Shah bridge (also known as the Penang second bridge) have been urged to improve the standard and specifications of the bridge guardrails to prevent further incidents of vehicles plunging into the sea.

The call made by Penang chief minister Chow Kon Yeow comes following an accident in which a SUV plunged into the sea from the Penang bridge following a collision, Bernama reports. He said that the existing guardrails were probably not tall enough to prevent the mishap from occuring.

“In order to stop such incidents from recurring, it is very important for the authorities to further review the specifications and standards of the guardrails to reduce the risks faced by bridge users,” he said.

“Perhaps it (the barrier) is sufficient to prevent ‘normal’ accidents, but the crash on early Sunday morning was a high impact one, which may prove the guardrails to be incapable of preventing vehicles from plunging into the sea, so they need to be reviewed,” he added.

The national news agency said that the latest mishap was the fifth such incident involving the Penang Bridge since 2010. In September 2010, a couple were killed when their MPV crashed into the railings and went off the bridge, while in November 2012 another fatality occured in similar fashion. In 2015, two people were flung from the bridge following separate accidents, one involving a motorcycle and the other a car.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• nothing wrong with the bridge. it has been there since many2 years. i lt wouldnt be built if doesnt follow any safety standards. should have baseline/fundamental for this.

problem is with even on the bridge still wanna race? thats mindset issue u need to tackle. mind your own surrounding.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 0
    • Best solution is these pipu dun procreate. Solves all problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Mr. Octopus on Jan 23, 2019 at 4:00 pm

So if ppl don’t race accidents wont happen?

It is so obvious that the guard rails are too low. A bus with a burst tyre can easily lose control and roll over it. Thank god so far it hasn’t happened yet.

• Honda dream on Jan 22, 2019 at 7:23 pm

State PH Govt managed by Rocket for many years never review the safety barrier at the bridge??

Not competent enough to prevent any unfortunate circumstances for many cases happened. PH Boleh, Semua Boleh.. LKS lagi boleh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • Master Mind on Jan 22, 2019 at 7:33 pm

Enforcement, more enforcement, even it the barrier is 2 times higher, drunk and drug maniac still killing people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • While improving safety is always a good thing, but in this case the two cars were reportedly racing and one (very likely both) the drivers were under influence of drugs. It’s hard to prevent accidents for people that drive dangerously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • I doubt if any gurad rails are strong enough to withstand a car going at 160 that smacks straight on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • JOACHIM on Jan 22, 2019 at 9:57 pm

Not tall enough is the problem? Why not look at the root cause of why are these kids driving high on drugs? Are making enforcement on drug usage lenient the way to go when more of these cases happening? You are the CM, please think instead of talking nonsense!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • stastasta on Jan 24, 2019 at 3:37 pm

drugs and alcohol is not under CM jurisdiction. he can only make statements regarding bridge which is under his authority.

• JOACHIM on Jan 24, 2019 at 6:11 pm

So you’re saying giving halfassed stupid statements and solutions that doesn’t solve the problem is under CM jurisdiction? Since when Penang CM position has dug new lows?

• Benzs on Jan 22, 2019 at 10:03 pm

RIP and sad news. The road stated 80KM, so pls drive carefully and don’t race your car with your life. Every seconds of your life is judge by your speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Sohai (not ori) on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:28 pm

Typical Malaysian, pro-reactive rather than 1dt world pro-active countries

• drMpower on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:44 pm

I can help this guy to understand what impact a travelling vehicle has on a static structure.
    A 30mph moving vehicle, with a fully strapped on seatbelt 150 lbs plus driver, upon impact on static structure, produces 18-23 G force. Mind you this is 30mph speed which is around..40-50-60 kph?
    So imagine what force the same set up with, lets say double the speed? So how much G force we are talking about. And what kind of stopping energy required to stop such momentum?

The poor kid didnt had a chance. The railguard didnt had a chance. The culprit was well known – no need to talk further on this. The fact the vios lost control and hit the mazda which cause it to lost control too, that gave it. Some maniac could be doing 100mph on the exact stretch and yet didnt end up like the poor kid. But thats life.

I believe wise guy will be extra careful whenever driving on a) a cliff, and b) over waters – on a bridge. Because nothing stops you when you going down. So the railguard isnt going to stop you.

You got to start saving yourself. Dont drive fast and maniac.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Sir Francis Light on Jan 23, 2019 at 1:30 am

FYI concrete guardrail will cracked and broke off no matter how tall you built if there is sufficient force crashes on it. The best solution is Rolling barrier that absorb reflect and guide the crashed vehicle rolling along the barrier preventing it to topple over even if the crashed vehicle is a semi-truck hauler.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • dumbshit.parenting on Jan 23, 2019 at 9:40 am

there’s absolutely nothing wrong with the guard rails and stop diverting the attention away from bad parenting. idiot of a kid driving at speeds not just over the limit but beyond his capability undertaking other cars. even raising the rails to 6′ wouldn’t do a damn difference if a car got hit & flipped again at similar speeds and will surely go over the rails without a doubt. laws in place are just for show when the enforcement is shite.

• Nonconformist on Jan 25, 2019 at 12:03 am

Sure it is easier to just save money and close both eyes and not do anything about the lack of safety measures in the construction and design of the bridge rails. Unfortunately they were innocent lives that were lost flipping over the rails and not guilty ones. In Moey’s case he was minding his own business, driving carefully, sticking to his own lane innocently and the next thing he knew he was crashed into, flipped like an omelette and shoved over the railings like a piece of lint into the ocean due to no fault of his.

• Ben Yap on Jan 23, 2019 at 10:01 am

don’t waste money raising the barrier. malaysia has no more money. just concentrate on building the country. racing down the bridge after consumption of drugs and getting themselves killed is no lost to the country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Petoron Sagu on Jan 23, 2019 at 10:11 am

Takziah pada yang terlibat. Tapi ini bukan masalah railing guard….

• IGP mom on Jan 23, 2019 at 11:25 am

This CM is not smart at all. So if next time a biker fall out in between the space in the railgaurd, what will be the suggestion? The barrier is not the issue. It has been there since over 30 years ago.

• Yup.. just because a few cases u wanna spend millions..politician mentality all the same.. to spend..spend..spend unnaccessary..there’s a reason for speed limits.. next time my cat fall from the bridge also the gomen gotto think some way to prevention mechanisme that cost millions..:P

• pokmang on Jan 23, 2019 at 12:08 pm

jangan memandu ketika mabuk, jangan hisap dadah, jangan berlumba di atas jalan raya, jangan pandu kereta terlalu laju di kawasan yang mempunyai had kelajuan ditetapkan, betulkan diri dahulu bukan betulkan penghadang

• Put AES on Jan 23, 2019 at 12:31 pm

please install AES on the bridge to safeguard my life when i cross the bridge.

• stastasta on Jan 24, 2019 at 3:38 pm

aes wont prevent drunk or drugged drivers from speeding recklessly.

• Mr. Octopus on Jan 23, 2019 at 4:03 pm

Out comes all the bridge engineers and road safety experts born from the internet.

• Chief, you don’t have any better idea? This is the best you can say? OMG!

When will your party promised toll free happen? Now wnat to add-on higher barrier. You pay ka???

Another typical low quality person in charge…

• vVivi Zurianti on Jan 23, 2019 at 10:13 pm

after car accident, upgrade barrier…
    next time, lorry pulak accident, upgrade even bigger barrier….

hahaha…very smart this CM.

• Faridah Shaharuddin on Jan 24, 2019 at 7:21 am

It is not guardrail issue, it is speed issue. How could you curb speed breathing people during off peak hours

• Philip Syed on Jan 24, 2019 at 11:02 am

That’s the flipside of driving an SUV.

• So many western countries have winding hilltop roads with no barrier at all, still no accidents.

But here people drive like they want to die or kill you….no respect for traffic laws etc!

Whose fault?

• Chow Kon Yeow should just focus on the unchecked hillside developments in Penang instead of focusing on issues he doesn’t understand.

Let Anthony Loke do his job. So far, he’s the best performing minister in the cabinet.

• Shashi on Jan 24, 2019 at 11:00 pm

A lot of people are saying there’s nothing wrong with the bridge & the guardrail. I’m just here to say that there’s nothing wrong in reviewing the guardrail because if it was higher & stronger, it could have saved a life today.

• Donsamasa on Jan 25, 2019 at 6:39 pm

Pls. upgrade that bridge…! Clearly showing the bridge is the culprit ! If the bridge’s guardrail was taller that SUV wouldn’t have rolled over into the sea.