Proton X70 receives OTA update for GKUI head unit

Proton has released an update for the X70’s GKUI infotainment system, which will be released over-the-air, much like a firmware update on your phone. To ensure a smooth update experience, the national carmaker also posted a step-by-step guide on the process on its Facebook page.

Once the vehicle is started, the system will automatically check for the latest update, and will prompt the driver if there is one. You’ll next need to download the update package, which does not use any of the free 1 GB per month quota that comes with the car.

After the update has been downloaded, simply start the update process, and when completed, perform a factory reset as the final step. During the update process, you’ll need to keep the car in the ACC or ON positions, and should you turn the car off, the update will be paused, only be resumed the next time you start again.

Additionally, the GKUI system will be disabled during the update process, which will take around 40 minutes with a good signal connection. The update has been made available from January 21, 2019.

The update, which carries the version number 1.2.0 2.3.3, comes with a number of changes. Among them (that) is the Blind Spot Information System (BLIS) is now turned on by default; the powered side mirrors can now automatically fold in when locking/unlocking the doors on the Standard variant; and the settings menu has been updated with revised English terms and arrangement, as well as a setting for the power folding side mirrors on all variants.

Other changes include a fix whereby the user’s settings for the BLIS and Door Opening Warning System (DOW) are retained when the car is turned off. An issue where pressing the mute button could wake the car’s infotainment system when it has been switched off, has also been rectified.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• digidigi on Jan 22, 2019 at 10:15 am

wow, culture shock, thanks china for the great proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:10 am

30 years we waited for a Good car. Proton never gave us. When Geely took over, within 6 months, a foreigner give us a good and safe car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
    • trimmtrabb on Jan 22, 2019 at 12:13 pm

40 mins ……car battery boleh tahan ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
      • Ismail Mohd Yusof on Jan 22, 2019 at 2:27 pm

I accidentally left my car since 9am and until end of work hour 5pm
        With emergency signal light turn on.. Coz didn’t close my back door properly.. And magically.. I can start the car back…

• Ben Yap on Jan 22, 2019 at 10:25 am

the headunit using data is not convenient if the area has no line, the headunit cannot work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 47
    • Not Toyota Fan on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:28 am

No shit Sherlock. Just like you can’t Facebook Whatsapp if area has no line.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
    • John Bin Palat on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:32 am

last time Proton action got YES 4G Wifi. Then all Proton dealers sell the YES wifi modem separately to non Proton owners

• John Bin Palat on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:40 am

That day the Proton X70 owners said, “Proton, jom minum teh 8X”

Terus the car masuk parit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
  • Tenkiu P1 for caring about their customers. Much like smartpongs, OTA must be done even on cars since lots of personal details can be stored and hacked out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • Roti john Sdn Bhd on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:26 am

Much like smartpongs, every OTA updates decrease the smartphone performance and battery. Same goes to X70 head unit OTA update. In 3 years, the headunit will broke and have to change it with expensive price. Good business strategy by Proton to gain profit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 57
      • Is that so? Then why my Mi4 still gets OTA updates and I never felt it lagging? Stop bullshitting here. China is so much better in Android systems management, this is not your Samsung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
        • Rob Mi Fanboy on Jan 22, 2019 at 2:08 pm

“China is so much better in Android system management” shows that you know nothing about tech. You better goto a tech site and learn before you post bullshit like this in this site.

• P2 Clowns on Jan 22, 2019 at 2:23 pm

No, China is bad in software optimizing. Your MI4 is not lagging because the powerful chipset MI4 is using. On the other hand, this P2 troll Roti john Sdn Bhd have a weird name and is talking rubbish that made him looked like a clown. That is why he should go to a circus and apply as a clown

• Engineer on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:55 am

Please come out from cave, smartphones nowadays no longer lags with subsequent updates unlike phones of old. Please go change that ancient iphone1 with all that money earned as a paid trooper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • U still using cavemen smartpong kah? Few years alredi smartpongs no longer lags due to updates anymore. Keep up with technology and the times. Most pipu r more concern on their private date being hacked due to outdated systems unlike u.

• John Bin Palat on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:30 am

Geely should open directly in Malaysia and sell us Geely cars direct. I trust Geely cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Edwin L on Jan 22, 2019 at 2:21 pm

Geely and Proton wanted to, but Bapa NNCP said cannot. Must plotek his NNCP baby from being stillborn.

• I oso trust Geely but what to do. Bapak needs to plotek his Perotiga baby so not allow Geely closer partnership with P1. Otherwise we can have cheaper cars.

• Oso 783MB downloaded in 7 minutes?! Thats freaking dem fast speeds! The potential for P1 GKUI is endless. Once AA & Carplay is integrated via OTA, it will totally destroy other dinosar infotainment systems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Arshad on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:08 am

China work hard. They never sleep like Proton workers or yourself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
      • john - Keyboard Warrior on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:28 am

john doesn’t sleep but he is a keyboard warrior. Everyday he work hard by typing in this site in every articles to increase Proton sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
        • John Banyak Makan Dedak BN on Jan 22, 2019 at 1:51 pm

Last time he tried to make people support BN, but people were smart enough to vote for a new clean govt. now, he wants people to buy a China-made car that has been rejected by 97% of the world

• John Bin Palat on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:34 am

So fed up of fake news from john in this site. No wno more dedak, he also disappear

• Brian on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:49 am

Sorry but when I got to your Perodua showroom I only see you sleeping in the showcar. Straight away I got disinterested in Aruz and went to book for Proton’s X70.

• Lolz! Both r working hard to fulfill the 15,000 and more counting orders. U think they got so much free time like urself in ur empty showroom meh?

Stop replying me with drunken bollocks. Once u sober up and talk sense then come back and reply me with with some brains.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 22, 2019 at 10:44 am

Wow, lucky China took over Proton. I fnot for Geely, we will never imagine having such high tech in our Proton cars.

Well done Li Chunrong and well done Geely!

• FredLim on Jan 22, 2019 at 10:45 am

Saw new X70 shipment arrived in port klang , hope to collect my red X70 premium b4 CNY^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • X70 Buyer on Jan 22, 2019 at 12:26 pm

So lucky! Mine will only arrive after National Day. Hope it gets the OTA updates when I will receive my car by then.

• The red is veli smexy and veli matching for all seasons. U made the right choice.

• Roti john Sdn Bhd on Jan 22, 2019 at 10:52 am

Habisla Protong Ex Seventy! I’m sure that every OTA updates will slowdown the head unit until it can’t operate and forces owner to replace with a new one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 35
    • Jhuan on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:13 am

Sounds like iPhone experience.. haha!

• John Minum Teh 8X - Circus Clown on Jan 22, 2019 at 2:16 pm

Looks like this jester is using an iPhone and he relate his iPhone OTA update with the X70 HU updates. This is just the first X70 HU OTA update and how can you know it will slowdown the HU?

• You still stuck in 2010 is it? Latest firmwares no longer experience performance slowdown after updates.

• YAB Alberto on Jan 22, 2019 at 3:44 pm

Attacking Proton using John’s name sounds really desperate for some SA, sales bad lately???

• The more he attacks P1 means the fear is getting stronger. It seems P2 sales is going down bad and their SUV isnt as hot as they predicted. No matter, X70 sales is getting stronger and stronger. More and more can be seen on the roads.

P1, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoCars, VolvoTrucks, Lotus > all

• No need all this.

Reliable , RV, Spare parts cheap, great mechanics etc, thats what we want.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:31 am

Need all these?

Reliable 1.5L NA + 4AT, great RV, cheap spare parts, any mechanic can fix ect.

Congratulations, you just bought a Perodua.

• Oren Jus on Jan 22, 2019 at 12:53 pm

Is it the famous honda EX5 that you the only one want?

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:26 am

780+MB download in 40 mins !!!! 4G connection konon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • typical malaysian on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:52 am

“Additionally, the GKUI system will be disabled during the update process, which will take around 40 minutes with a good signal connection.” doesn’t it meant download+installation?

• engris pawer on Jan 22, 2019 at 12:24 pm

kesian baca tp tak paham. 40 minit bukan download update saja ‍♀️

• X70 Buyer on Jan 22, 2019 at 12:28 pm

Theoretical 4Gspeeds vs Actual 4Gspeeds.
      That also you want to gripe? Somemore can update while on the move, so no time is wasted.
      Facepalm!

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 22, 2019 at 2:41 pm

My gripe is with the telco (Celcom) & it’s crony (Altel).

Theoretical 4G (14.83 Mbps, per OpenSignal’s ‘The State of LTE’ 2018 report) would have meant that 780+MB file be downloaded in about 7 mins but the article states 40 mins with GOOD signal !!!! That means Celcom & Altel can only achieve 2.60 Mbps with GOOD signal !!!!

Would you be satisfied with such slow speed when you get your X70??

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:50 am

buy crv and cx5 better…those car buatan malaysia…x70 jenama malaysia buatan tiongkok

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Jan 22, 2019 at 12:09 pm

Can it be downloaded OTA using Wifi? If possible, just need to park at the house porch & update using house’ Wifi connection, just like smartphones.

• SALang on Jan 22, 2019 at 1:24 pm

40min with good signal.. omg..

• OMG so many people have reading and comprehension deficiencies. 40 mins for the whole update process, which means including download and installation. Plus can be done while on the go. What’s so hard about that?

• Afeeq on Jan 22, 2019 at 2:56 pm

OTA update and free monthly data? Never before have I heard those two being offered on the same vehicle. Good job Proton and Geely!

• Ollie on Jan 22, 2019 at 3:41 pm

Really that simple to win over consumers with stupid gimmicks? Well not surprising considering 35% of voters went for BN in the just election. Same group of low iq buyers of Chinese gimmicks

• JOACHIM on Jan 23, 2019 at 4:07 pm

Why not? Simpler gimmicks like Rm1.50 petrol, double up internet speeds, higher BR1M than BN, minimum salary Rm1500, no more tolls, free tertiary education, and many more works didn’t it? Making good these promises OTOH…..

• Wonder on Jan 22, 2019 at 5:33 pm

Its typical proton/chinese,its all good to start with ,it will show its true colours after 3 years&why the interest rate 2.36?

• Terence Gan on Jan 23, 2019 at 6:29 pm

anyone using infotaiment bluetooth hands-free? my problem is receiver couldn’t hear very clear…

• Chong on Oct 29, 2020 at 8:01 am

Does anyone have problem after the latest update on the x70 infotainment unit? Bluetooth problem when making call, having statics noise and the unit keep getting stuck and the controller on the steering doesn’t respond on the head unit. Also when trying to make call you cannot say out the name and have to read out the phone number. I mean who still remember the phone number now a day???