Proton X70 – 15,000 bookings, 2,000 units delivered

Customer interest in the Proton X70 continues unabated, with the national automaker having received more than 15,000 bookings for the SUV since it was officially launched on December 12 last year. To date, over 2,000 units have been delivered to customers in the five weeks since the car was introduced, and the company says that it is working to accelerate the delivery rate in the coming months.

“Proton is very thankful for the support Malaysians have shown for the X70 and we are repaying their faith by trying to deliver units as quickly as we can. This is the start the company was looking for and we hope to keep the momentum going for our other activities throughout the year,” said Proton deputy CEO Datuk Radzaif Mohamed.

Presently, the X70 is being sold as a fully imported (CBU) model from China, and is available in four variants with prices starting from RM99,800. Local assembly (CKD) of the SUV is slated to begin around October 2019 once plant expansion initiatives at Proton’s Tanjung Malim site are completed.

The national carmaker had announced last year that it will be investing RM1.2 billion to upgrade its Tanjung Malim facility, which will produce the X70 and next-generation Proton models.

GALLERY: Proton X70 Premium 2WD

GALLERY: Proton X70 Standard 2WD

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Roti john Sdn Bhd on Jan 15, 2019 at 3:32 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 188
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:08 pm

We must thank Li Chunrong for all this success. Li Chunrong in 6 months could turnaround the company what local CEOs could not do in 20 years

Li Chunrong in 6 months already identified that local kroni suppliers and vendors were cheating Proton maximum the past 20 years.

Pity our local CEOs could not identify this the past 20 years.

Does this mean foreign CEOs are better than local CEOs?

Like this better we have more Li Chunrongs comng into Malaysia to run other GLCs also as well as Putrajaya departments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 12
      • Maruah John Tercabar on Jan 15, 2019 at 7:56 pm

The X70, despite being a good car, is NOT a Malaysian product.

99% of it is made by Geely engineers.

Patriotic Malaysians should know that the money will go to China

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 40
        • Lee Kum Kee on Jan 15, 2019 at 9:20 pm

The arrival of the X70 compact crossover, marks the beginning of the national automaker’s Geely Chinas era with a unique vehicle architecture, tech and design language.

This car that will help Proton get back on the worldstage. Exactly like how the CX5 had done it for Mazda global comeback in 2013.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
          • YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 16, 2019 at 7:42 am

Perodua Aruz will be a top seller. All the P2 bashers will say all sorts of kutuk but every year for the past 10 years, without fail, Perodua sells 200,000 over cars and Proton sells only 50,000 cars per annum This is 4X the amount. This shows rakyat got confidence in Perodua cars.

Perodua Aruz car uses a Toyota/Daihatsu engine that is recognised and won awards in over 200 countries worldwide. Toyota engines have won awards in ALL FIRST World countries.

Proton X70 is the Boyue and 95% of all the cars only sold in China. Geely tried so hard to sell the Boyue in First World countries but every country rejected it due to poor quality. Engine also got no awards.

Have you wondered why all the US and UK car magazines like AutoCar, Top Gear, Motor Trend, Car and Driver NEVER review China made cars?

Your reply is your answer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 40
        • Muhammad arshad bin mustapaha on Jan 16, 2019 at 4:45 am

That is one of china strategy to invade asean market.. we all know.. proton is well known in asean. Also in arab country bcoz they believe malaysian is one of islamic country that produce cars. So, as a jihad, we must support muslim products. So when they join venture in this car industry, they can go outside china and bring some invester also money flows to their country. Sorry proton seller.. i’m just speak the truth. I m also have proton which persona. The safety is good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
          • Lee seng khaim on Jan 16, 2019 at 11:53 am

Don’t ever involve religion in automotive…if we do then next we going to have Islam , Christian ,Hindu,Buddhist n others cars..we be boycotting each others products too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • YB Albert on Jan 15, 2019 at 8:25 pm

DATUK kunta
        You see how Tongsan CEO DR. Li works.
        RM 1.2 billion to be invested in tanjong malim plant.
        So Geely fork out RM 600 juta.Earlier they forked out rm 170 juta.
        So for RM 770 juta ,GEELY came in like a tai kor..no need invest in land and expensive 4 S showrooms..sweet talk dealers to upgrade.So few more months they r going to bill DRB for a cool Rm1 Billion easily for bringing 2 more models from Tongsan.
        So instead of setting up an expensive GEELY MALAYSIA BHD with 300 dealership network,they just make right handed versions of existing models,charge Mc Dunno DRB a cool rm 1 Billion and start making money very soon.
        So,PANDAI NYA Geely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
    • John Crying Like a Baby on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:22 pm

This is the same thing Proton said about the Iriz. Infact, Proton CEO said Iriz order list was 12 months long.

Then, the then PRoton charmain Tun M has to spill the beans and confess that Iriz was a big failure and nobody was buying it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
      • Hongda Men on Jan 15, 2019 at 7:07 pm

Habisla Honda CRVs and HRVs.
        Overpriced CRVs and HRVs cannot sell now. We Hongda salesmen all eat Westnorth wind in the showroom, playing Fruit ninja in our showroom.
        Thousand and thousand RM discounts and free accesories pun cannot sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 6
      • Cancelled orders on Jan 15, 2019 at 7:08 pm

So true la, for the past few days since X70 Launch. So many of my customers and other sales rep’s customers, come to our Hongda showroom to cancel their HRVs and CRVs order. They say our cars are over priced and underpowered, especially HRVs.
        Now we Hongda salesmen start to eat WestNorth wind already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
      • Hongda salesmen on Jan 15, 2019 at 7:10 pm

Hongda HRV E spec RM101K , Proton X70 standard RM99K.
        Hongda HRV V spec RM110K , Proton X70 Executive RM109K.
        Die la i cannot sell any HRV anymore, as Proton X70 is cheaper, higher spec, more powerful engine. I better ask my Hongda Malaysia boss to stop producing Hongda HRVs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
      • crying Hongda salesmen on Jan 15, 2019 at 7:14 pm

Habisla Hongda CRVs and HRVs.
        Overpriced CRVs and HRVs cannot sell now. We Hongda salesmen all eat Westnorth wind in the showroom, playing Fruit ninja and drink sago milk tea in our showroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
      • Low Spec Honda on Jan 15, 2019 at 7:19 pm

Look at how Proton has performed so well with this well specced and good safety featured X70, the best value for money SUV in Malaysia.
        Honda Malaysia, where are the “Should Be” standard over the range Honda Sensing safety system? Honda Malaysia still treat us Malaysian consumers like crap. Facelifted HRV with underpowered 1.8 N/A engine selling at RM100k-RM110K without fully loaded safety system? Go sell these crap HRV kosong spec to 4th world country.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:26 pm

Habisla, HABISLA! Most Majority people are most likely to cancel booking for Perodua Aruz and all move to Proton X70 and Toyota Rush

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
      • Habis, Habisla, HABISLA! HABISLA john because people who haven’t receive the X70 unit are most likely to cancel booking for Proton X70 and all move to Perodua Aruz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
    • Hahaha..Wet dreaming

• Rashid on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:29 pm

Proton is cheating their figures. Geely also cheating their figures. Recently, world reports said Geely is doing very badly and sales and stock berlambak. But Geely announced in Malaysia that is is doing very well and has met targets.

Who to believe? Do I believe Geely or do I believe CNN, SCMP and Reuters and Bloomberg?

Every investor in every Bursa in the world use Bloomberg termnial for their news. If Bloomberg said Geely was doing badly……who to believe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 36
      • It’s you who need to read those articles one more time. Geely did achieve increase in sales, but didn’t achieve sales target by a little margin. Don’t blame other people if yourself are inherently biased and have comprehension problem.

• Arshad on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:36 pm

How to compete with Perodua? Aruz is RM70k. Proton X70 is RM123k. That is RM50k difference

If I can buy RM123k Proton, better I buy the RM123k Subaru Forester

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 40
    • Habisla 8X Tea Drinker! on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:41 pm

Habisla, Habisla! Habisla BASHERS! HABISLA ALL P2 KEYBOARD WARRIORS!!!

• Shut Up to All Haters on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:43 pm

Shut up to all haters who said Proton X70 won’t sell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Silent to all Haters on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:45 pm

Silent to all Haters who said Proton X70 can’t sell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • p2macai on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:48 pm

Honda Salesman, P2 Salesman, Nissan Salesman detected. Always come here to bash Proton, Toyota, Geely, Volvo and other carmakers with talking rubbish in every articles in paultan.org website.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
      • Hunda Anuscrack on Jan 15, 2019 at 6:54 pm

99% of them are Honda Malaysia salesman bashing Proton and Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
        • p1macai on Jan 15, 2019 at 7:30 pm

Geelt Salesman, P1 Salesman, Volvo Salesman detected. Always come here to bash Perodua, Toyota, Nissan, Honda and other carmakers with talking rubbish in every articles in paultan.org website.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
          • Hongda salesmen's nemesis on Jan 16, 2019 at 11:28 am

Finally Hongda Malaysia salesmen meet their nemesis.
            For the past few years Hongda salesmen bash every single car Brands that can compete with them. Now these Hongda salesmen meet their challengers.

• Tangisan John Banyak Kuat on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:48 pm

At least now, BN will have some dedak to pay our resident troll here his monthly payment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
      • redpilled on Jan 15, 2019 at 6:18 pm

Please explain the connection between BN and P1, and how does sales contribute to BN?

• john is sohai on Jan 15, 2019 at 7:53 pm

User ‘john’ is a BN cybertrooper who supports P1 and spreads fake news

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Christopher Lee on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:49 pm

Betul. Rakyat malaysia will now buy P2 Aruz. Maruah john tercabar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
    • To the basher: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Ur cries and screams r music to my ears!

P1, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoCar, VolvoTrucks, Lotus > all

• Paudzi on Jan 15, 2019 at 9:46 pm

Aruz different category and class,

• People who will buy Aruz Will not consider X70 and vice versa. Different segment. X70 consider as luxurious suv whereby Aruz is family budget suv.

• Dato Ravin on Jan 15, 2019 at 3:36 pm

perfect for GrabCar!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:11 pm

This car is CBU. Which means, every car sold, China is getting richer and richer because all money is repatriated back to China.

Untung betul China. The rich country is getting richer and richer.

Let us see whether our other Proton models will be terminated by Geely as Geely will want to market all their Geely models in Malaysia

Long Live Geely!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
      • Profit is in proton and gov got tax plz use some brain…… Before commmmm

• Mahmood on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:38 pm

China Boyue cannot sell anywhere in the world. 95% only sold in China. It was rejected in all developed countries.

Now, Malaysia has become official dumping ground for Boyue that cannot be sold

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • Tangisan John Banyak Kuat on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:50 pm

Tak malu, orang Asing kena datang tolong Proton berjaya. Belajar apa dengan Mitusbishi selama 20 tahun?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
      • citizenjohn on Jan 15, 2019 at 9:02 pm

Belajar macem Jepunis overlord ni… https://paultan.org/2019/01/15/toyota-gr-supra-revealed-first-global-gazoo-racing-model-340-ps-3-0l-straight-six-priced-from-rm205k/

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 15, 2019 at 3:41 pm

Over 2,000+ delivery was December 2018 shipment. Recently (09 Jan) another 2,300 units arrived at Port Klang. These 4,300+ units are still not enough to fulfill Sep-Oct 2018 bookings of over 10,000 units.

Habis lah if you book after the official launch 12 December 2018. Slow slow wait lah. Hari Raya also don’t know can get for balik kampung or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 25
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:13 pm

Proton will need sales of 400,000 cars per annum just to break even. Don’t forget, CBU cars, all money go to China.
      If CKD, then 50.1% profits go to Proton and 49.9% goes to China.

So, Proton will need 400,000 car sales per annum just to break even from their current RM4 mil loss per day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • Wait 6 months and SEE on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:44 pm

Just like any new product, there is always high sales. Wait till 6 months and we talk.

I bet Proton cannot even sell 2000 units per month also by then

Proton oh Proton, don’t syiok sendiri please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Tangisan John Banyak Kuat on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:49 pm

Most of the buyers buy X70 just to show off their cars in the kampung during Raya time.

Now, they won’t order anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
    • X70 Buyer on Jan 15, 2019 at 9:16 pm

I booked one during preview of Proton’s X70 at KLIMS, thinking I can get one before CNY, since so many readers here said this won’t be popular, or they got proof that so many had cancelled. Then now my order is shafted to after National Day! What the…!!! I scolded my salesman, telling him so many had cancelled so why mine is so late in delivery. He just laughed and said ‘sorry but no such thing’. I have to wait for my turn just like all the other late birders.

So that superhot reception of Proton’s X70 wasn’t fake after all, and all those people who kept saying this SUV will be a failure and many cancellations is really telling lies to the public.

You people have no conscience and I hope you soon rot in h3ll. I think those who comment in Paul Tan should really come out and tell the truth, no more lies to mislead the public. I can still see these here now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • I feel for those late coming customers who have been duped. Please understand all these “commenters” r ekceli P2 salespipu, particularly from a basher troll with multiple dupe names.

X70 is getting hotter now that its launched and available for viewing and test drive. I hope all the long waiting customers to be patient and wait ur turn to get ur affordable dream car. Dun need to listen anymore to bashers and negative lies. I think this case above is a prime example of those who were fooled by these bollocks.

Remember, gud things comes to those who wait and this car is a Great Thing!

P1, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoCar, VolvoTrucks, Lotus > all

• Krikkrik on Jan 15, 2019 at 3:42 pm

After all, they all will regret end of days becos no RV, when problems come later, SC will say “biasa lar, chna made n p1 rebadged wat u expect” “tak suka jgn beli lor”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 56
    • Rashid on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:27 pm

This is typical Proton. Even with Proton cars, when you see the SC and tell them about your car issue, they say, “Biasalah bang, ini kereta Proton, what do you expect”

Now even better. You go with your car to the SC, Technician will say “Biasalah bang, ini kereta China, what do you expect”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • Just talk without facts and figures, but one thing for sure, X70 will tapao the Aruz everyday for breakfast, and that is my satisfaction!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • VoidDance on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:39 pm

If you really want good RV, buy the damn Ferrari GTO250.
      Value in 1968 was USD18k. Current price is about USD52 million!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • pengguna ploton kecewa on Jan 15, 2019 at 6:39 pm

heard that before.haha

• BelangR150 on Jan 21, 2019 at 11:33 pm

Not sure which SC you, everytime I complain to the SC they treat my complain as 1st priority.

• Nagamerah on Jan 15, 2019 at 3:43 pm

What they actually mean is 1500 booking and 200 delivered and 1 masuk longkang sudah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 46
    • Rashid on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:31 pm

Recently Geely kena kantoi for giving false news about their sales performance.

Now, I think I will not believe this sales bookings figures.

Cannot trust Geely and Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
      • Why so salty? You sound like someone is afraid of something. You don’t go trash talking a rival unless you’re worried.

• Aruzanmaju on Jan 15, 2019 at 3:47 pm

P2 Aruz will beat it for sure. Haruzzzz…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 42
    • Aruz also beat the sales number for Cayenne.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Aikon on Jan 15, 2019 at 7:16 pm

LOL! Good one there! Guarantee Aruz will beat sales of Forester, CRV, CHR, CX5 and CX33, HRV, XV whatever ‘V’…as well

• Muhammad arshad bin mustapaha on Jan 16, 2019 at 7:20 am

I know bcoz of the price.. cheapest NEW SUV in market right.. after all this is malaysia.. price wins.. either c segmen or b segmen.. pepole bot bother too much (malaysian).

• Aikon on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:26 pm

Of course the Aruz will sell more, it’s a cheap car and that where the entry level market is. The X70 is not after the entry level buyer

• Anonymous on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:34 pm

Of course, because it’s a cheaper and smaller SUV. It also beats a lot of other SUVs in terms of sales, like the Porsche Macan, and the Range Rover Evoque.
      But, is it a better SUV though? If someone can afford a RM100k SUV, why would they go for the Aruz?

• Ruslan Bahari on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:49 pm

It won’t be a surprise because it is cheaper, the Aruz.
      Plus, why would PROTON bother with the Aruz which is a different category and class altogether?

Keen to see how CR-V is doing, though. They won’t be losing too much sales at least for now, but surely, lose 10 sales a state a month, it can add up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Not Toyota Fan on Jan 15, 2019 at 3:57 pm

Am going to try forecast the X70 total sales based on the limited data available.

Sep-Oct 2018 – over 10,000 bookings (average 5,000 per month Sep-Oct)
    Nov-Dec 2018 – over 15,000 bookings (average 2,500 per month Nov-Dec)
    Jan-Feb 2019 – average 1,250 per month
    Mar-Aug 2019 – average 650 per month.

TOTAL – 21,400 unit for 12 months period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
    • Not Toyota Fan on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:00 pm

Correction

Sept – Oct – Nov – Dec 2018 – over 15,000 bookings (average 5000 per month Sept-Oct, average 2,500 per month Nov-Dec)

• Wonder why work as P2 salesman, better start a fortune-teller business.

• P2 Jokers on Jan 15, 2019 at 10:59 pm

No need, better for him (Not Toyota Fan) and other P2 keyboard warriors such as YB Kunta kinte (John Minum Teh 8X), Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk, Roti john Sdn Bhd, Amran, Hussein and Tangisan John Kuat Kuat to apply at Swiss Dream Circus as a clown

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 16, 2019 at 11:41 am

Me, P2 salesman??? Hahahaha

Just because you’re analytically challenged doesn’t mean others should be.

• Wait 6 months and SEE on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:45 pm

So Proton sales will go up from the current 50,000 to 71,400

Still losing money. How lah?

• azrai on Jan 15, 2019 at 4:08 pm

There go our ringgit to China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 30
    • rally_fan (Member) on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:08 pm

didn’t you read this..? “The national carmaker had announced last year that it will be investing RM1.2 billion to upgrade its Tanjung Malim facility”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:23 pm

How can it upgrade when it does not even have a sen? They only got RM170 million from the sale of 49.9% of PRoton to Geely.

So where is the money coming from?

• Chandra on Jan 15, 2019 at 9:19 pm

This: https://paultan.org/2019/01/08/geely-autos-2018-sales-up-20-3-breach-1-5m-mark/

• newme on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:26 pm

That was last year. Last year the owner also bought 10% Daimler share. How many left now?

• Chandra on Jan 15, 2019 at 9:20 pm

This: https://paultan.org/2019/01/08/geely-autos-2018-sales-up-20-3-breach-1-5m-mark/

• azrai on Jan 16, 2019 at 8:42 am

October 2019 will only the new geely tg.malim plant start operating. For the time being it is CBUed from the mainland. Check your fact first.

• Ringgit has been going to Jepun for the past 30 over years and say nothing, and now suddently wakeup.

• 25or6to4 on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:41 pm

Yes, I’m sure Sweden and Volvo feels the same way….smh

• Chandra on Jan 15, 2019 at 9:18 pm

So our ringgit going to Japan for 30 years is considered okay? Remind me which country is richer and more prosperous again?

• newme on Jan 15, 2019 at 4:41 pm

I don’t know how is this car going to save Proton. Iriz already got 17K booking before launching yet Proton fell into deeper hole.

• 15,000 booked
    2,000 delivered
    1 in a parit somewhere

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • China saved Proton.

• calibre16 on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:10 pm

Im assuming ppl is buying knowing they get a CBU, and less ppl will buy come Oct 2019 when it is CKD-ed, just my assumption though

• Autobahn on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:20 pm

Easy to fool malaysian..just change name from geely to proton….cherry and haval shud change their name to proton or perodua too

• dong gor on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:50 pm

Only reporting the booked numbers since day 1?
    Please remember to minus those that cancelled ya…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Sugarhill on Jan 15, 2019 at 5:51 pm

All negative comments. Apa la malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Biasalah, they proud of Aruz only 300 units booking.

• Bzzz Fake News Sdn Bhd on Jan 15, 2019 at 10:52 pm

Aruz already 2,200 bookings, the next day and the following day will tapau X70 sales until close shops

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Ahmed lukman jalil on Jan 15, 2019 at 6:11 pm

I have seen only three in KL So far and I know many who cancelled th bookings after they tested the car and find out it’s all Chinese made and not Malaysian made models. Also I as an automotive writer would never consider this to be a proton . It’s a Chinese made geely car made for third nations of the world now Malaysia. Period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
    • suomynona on Jan 15, 2019 at 7:20 pm

That’s all you can think of as an automotive writer??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Ahmed lukman jalil on Jan 15, 2019 at 8:34 pm

Yes , I wrote articles about proton cars before not a low level Chinese rebadged. Remember what happened to go auto Haval m4.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
        • suomynona on Jan 23, 2019 at 5:11 pm

Yes, now the name has been changed to the Haval H1, I see a number of them everyday. So as the Haval H2, common also. And that’s before getting to the Haval H9, to be introduced soon.

They’re not going anywhere but up, and its right under your nose..”Writer”

• Ahmed lukman jalil Minum Teh 739X on Jan 15, 2019 at 10:54 pm

Yeah, you as an automotive keyboard warrior bashing here, there and everywhere in Paultan.Org

• S.Ibrahim on Jan 15, 2019 at 8:57 pm

Automotive writer? Then what are you doing here? You should concentrate on writing that BS statement in your own articles. BTW, which site do you write for? Just so we can avoid it like the plague.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • mig29ria on Jan 15, 2019 at 6:33 pm

Terbukti PROTON adalah terhebat dengan teknologi kini dari China. Buktikan kepada Malaysia anda BOLEH.

Good Job and Well Done team Proton.

• I bought x70 which has excellent finishing quality at an affordable price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • X70 Extremely Salah! on Jan 15, 2019 at 8:40 pm

You bought x70 which has excellent rubbish quality at an overpriced price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • pengguna ploton kecewa on Jan 15, 2019 at 6:43 pm

all hype but no go. a lot of x70 would go out curi2 after 2/3 year. cannot afford to renew road tax maa..tyre already expensive. maintenance some more. what to do car loan sudah max 30% gaji. biar pape asal bergaye

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • Looks more like you are talking about yourself. Mati2 also want to buy Toyota or Honda because of muka, in the end eat Maggi everyday.

• There are too many bots or shills here. Odd for an automotive page

• Nah. Just bored P2 salesman basher troll who is lonely in his empty showroom. Nobody is interested in their Aruz, deswai he got so much free time come here talking bollocks.

• Perodua Aruz is underpowered. Just imagine if 7 person were inside the car sure got no power.

• Muhammad arshad bin mustapaha on Jan 16, 2019 at 8:16 am

Same goes with alza.. underpowered. A lot accident with alza ‘potong tak lepas’. People who brought 6- 7 people of families should not speeding lorr..

• MyVii on Jan 17, 2019 at 3:39 pm

Cant up Genting for sure!

• RAJA KAMARUL on Jan 15, 2019 at 8:01 pm

A neighbour bought one and of course, he became everybody’s best friend over the weekend. He likes the car, and says its worth the money, despite the badge.
    His only gripe was colour choices – he wished it was available in brown or black – and the lack of an electric tailgate.
    I looked at the car and thought yes, it is a nice car. But I personally can’t get past the badge. Maybe by the their next car hits the market, I could be convinced.

• Hafiz Hisham on Jan 15, 2019 at 9:27 pm

If you only look at the badge, you really aren’t a smart consumer. Widen your view globally. Just look at the smartphone industry when the world had looked past the badge, and millions bought Huaweis, Oppos, Xiomis, etc, while Japanese branded smartphones are almost extinct.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • John L on Jan 16, 2019 at 1:19 am

As usual so many copy paste comments here. It’s a running joke now. I wonder if the editors purposely don’t want to enforce stricter commenting rules to keep the joke running?

• Phaser on Jan 16, 2019 at 4:01 am

There’s a real chance the Proton X70 might set a record for SUV deliveries in a month this January. The current record holder is the Honda HR-V with just under 3,000 units back in 2016. That’s tough to do when a vehicle is CBU only. Proton might in fact run out of cars before the CKD versions can roll off the production line in Tanjung Malim, which is a problem though one created out of good sales.

As for Geely global sales, the group sold 2.15 million vehicles in 2018 and though it predicts no growth in domestic sales this year it’s still targeting to sell 2,000,000 Geely’s (only Geely brand) a year by 2020. The share price? All Chinese car companies are suffering from the slowdown in domestic consumption as any company would when the largest market for cars in the world goes through a contraction. Let’s not forget however that Geely grew by 20% domestically last year so it bucked an industry trend.

Ultimately, it’ll still be a long slog for Proton to get anywhere near the 227k cars Perodua sold in 2018. That’s a pipedream for now but in the interim, it should be putting up a fight to at least regain 2nd in the sales table. If it does, then maybe the company can return to profitability without resorting to measures like a VSS.

• Din Audi on Jan 16, 2019 at 7:21 am

I will buy Aruz(a) for daily commutes as well as outstations bcos of its practicality, fuel savings, additional std safety features it has. If price could be lowered more than the published one, Aruz will attract huge buyers.

• Saw 1 last night on the road. Not bad at all. Mistakenly thought it was range rover

• Din Audi on Jan 16, 2019 at 9:07 am

I dont support Geely & China bcos Chinese gov is a communists gov who discriminate, oppress and torture of other races and religious beliefs.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 16, 2019 at 10:46 pm

Let me guess. You too do not support Shell because of the menyokong agenda LGBT

• Zolkaplie on Jan 16, 2019 at 9:30 am

15,000 units x RM 100,000.00=RM 1,500,000,000.00