MRT feeder bus to go fully cashless by February 1

Rapid Bus, which operates the Rapid KL feeder bus service, is set to begin a fully cashless payment system for all of its MRT feeder buses from Friday, February 1. According to Prasarana, a one-month grace period will be given to current concession card holders such as students, senior citizens and the disabled, to switch to the MyRapid Touch n’ Go concession card and enjoy a 50% fare discount.

All 57 feeder bus routes from Sungai Buloh to the Kajang MRT depot will use the cashless payment system, it said, adding that 51% of its 60,000 daily ridership is expected to convert to the cashless system smoothly.

“Prasarana Malaysia and Rapid Bus are always keen and will continuously be behind the idea of cashless society to support the Government’s initiative. Customers are advised to purchase Touch ‘n Go card before boarding the bus to ensure the swiftness of their journey with us. MyRapid Touch ‘n Card can be purchased from any MRT, LRT, Monorail or BRT customer service office,” Rapid Bus said.

The My100 and My50 passes can be used for making the cashless payments, and these can be purchased from any MRT, LRT, Monorail or BRT customer service office. Customers will however need to remember to have a minimum balance of RM3 on their card before boarding the bus. The cards can be reloaded at all Touch n Go reload points.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 31, 2019 at 10:13 am

This is really good. I am thankful that we have a caring Government. Now the My100 and My50 passes have helped so many people.

Really intelligent people now creating policy for the rakyat that is helpful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • redpilled on Jan 31, 2019 at 12:17 pm

Really intelligent people now creating policy for the rakyat that is helpful…

like delaying two more years for Euro4m roll out…
      so caring they delay one, not expeite lor…

• P. Alyanna on Jan 31, 2019 at 12:23 pm

Really intelligent people will not go about cancelling and downsizing public transportation projects if they are really creating policies for the rakyat. These passes are not solving any problem since it’s just a replacement for the previous system which gave better savings.

• Norlia on Jan 31, 2019 at 10:33 am

touch n Go card gotta be more versatile use at public transport, dining, movies, convenience store, fast food, supermarkets, starbucks, chatime

• Cashless shud have been there from the start, even LRT feeder buses r cashless long ago. But this is gud incentive, including the flat rate parking charges when using TnG.

• Mr. Octopus on Jan 31, 2019 at 11:54 am

Next step is to expand the reach of the feeder busses so more can take MRT.

Unbelievable that there is an MRT station 10 mins from my home but no feeder bus comes to the area.

Alternative is to drive or take grab to the station but its not an economical option.

For now have to buy a folding e-scooter.

• kaizen on Jan 31, 2019 at 2:37 pm

why there must be a $3 minimum balance? if you times this with the # of cards floating in the market, how much reserve this company hold? how benefit? consumer or company?
    there has been so much money in the T&G card that floating somewhere in the market, either unclaimed, unused or inactive card?
    customer/consumer should be allowed to use their bank card, as whatever happen, the money is still in the account’s of consumer/customer.

• Rm3 is the max ride fare journey. The min balance is so that they can still get the fare at the end of the journey. No hutang, no IOUs, no bagi chance here.

• Call me by your name on Jan 31, 2019 at 8:10 pm

I think the issue about the minimal minimum balance is stupid. U also need to have minimum balance for bank account so what the issue with tng rm3 minimum balance? Stop calculating how much will be stuck with the company because it’s not your money and it’s not that much. They still need to be accounted for it ie paying tax on it if it becomes their income so what the fuss all about? You’re not getting rich for losing rm3 ringgit

• Raja Kamarul on Jan 31, 2019 at 2:41 pm

The bigger problem is their regular irregularity… absolutely undependable in some areas.

• Desmond on Jan 31, 2019 at 4:10 pm

The problem with this is that all my older family members who refuse to go cashless, or even use online banking and reloadable cards (something about wasting money and trusting cash more) is that they voted for the current govt.

Now CNY is coming up and they are suddenly talking good things about MCA again, which means it looks like this is another case of the current ruling gov shooting themselves in the foot.

I cant vote yet but in the end we all take advice from our elders so i think it’s best not to marginalize them.

• stastasta on Feb 04, 2019 at 9:33 am

everyone must go cashless based on efficiency reasons.
      if your elders are too stupid to vote for the government based on whether or not public transport is cashless, then i am really speechless how they managed to survive till old age.