MIROS lauds growing adoption of dashboard cameras

The Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) has lauded the growing adoption of dashboard camera in vehicles, saying that the installation of the device is a positive development, Bernama reports.

Its director-general Siti Zaharah Ishak said that the usage of driving recorders was in tandem with the efforts of the institute and the transport ministry to encourage the public to be the “eyes and ears” of the authorities in providing information, including on road accidents. She said that footage can serve as additional information in identifying the cause of accidents.

“For example, when an accident occurs, driver negligence is often initially cited as the cause. However, after an investigation with the aid of the dashcam, it is found that other factors were the cause, such as a burst tyre sending the vehicle out of control,” she told the national news agency.

Siti Zaharah said dashcams should be installed in ambulances, police patrol vehicles and fire & rescue trucks to better facilitate the operation of the security and rescue teams. “Ambulances need space to get past other vehicles on the road, but they can find irresponsible motorists not getting out of their way. The dashcam can provide information on these motorists,” she explained.

Although it was not mandatory, she said all motorists should install a driving recorder because it is a simple process and its cost isn’t prohibitive. “It is easy to install, just plug and play. It does not interfere with the vehicle system. The basic function is to record, and some versions come with an accident warning system,” she said.

Recently, transport minister Anthony Loke praised the initiative of vehicle owners who installed the device, but added that the government had no plan as yet to make it a compulsory item for all motorists as it did not wish to impose an additional financial burden on them.

If you haven’t got one already, search for a dash cam to buy online.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• redpilled on Feb 14, 2019 at 12:11 pm

ya the police needs dash cams, and also body cams to deter them from curi tulang and also to prove the clean ones doing their jobs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • John Bin Edi on Feb 14, 2019 at 12:16 pm

With a dashcam, all the samseng mat rempit won’t dare to attack our cars

• dashcam can capture car breakin kat parking MRT

• Benny T W Wong on Feb 14, 2019 at 12:27 pm

All motorists should have their vehicles installed with dashboard camera and motor insurance companies should give discount or incentive on the renewal of insurance.
    This will encourage more motorists to use this device.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • seancorr (Member) on Feb 14, 2019 at 12:33 pm

I install these on all my vehicles mainly to protect myself from those reckless motorcycle riders who will file a claim against you even if it’s not your fault.

• Not Toyota Fan on Feb 14, 2019 at 12:37 pm

Let me guess, MIROS will soon seek to sell it’s own brand dashcam for installation to Gomen.

Fee Fi Fo Fum, I smell songlap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
  • Ksatria on Feb 14, 2019 at 12:41 pm

Gomen should enforce lots of things including driver assist systems in cars..make it compulsory..reduce car tax for affordability to own a safe car not just the rich gets the benefit. We are waiting.

• Aero (Member) on Feb 14, 2019 at 12:47 pm

We need to improve dashcam use in Malaysia. The recent case of the Penang bridge accident ? We all saw that video because someone invested in a HD dashcam.

Do you think the perpetrator would have given himself in, if it weren’t for that viral video ? He was mentally obscured at the time, my guess is that he probably didn’t even realise or remember exactly what happened that night.

Please buy a dashcam if you can afford it. If you can afford a RM80k car, a dashcam should be no problem for you. One day, you will thank yourself. Or help bring a criminal to justice.

On another note, insurance companies should give rebates or discounts to customers who own dashcams. Insurance companies could save a lot of time and unnecessary hassle on fraud cases. You can’t argue with video footage. As far as I know, no insurance company here offers rebates for dashcam users. If you know any, please feel free to share with us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Can do dash cam review?

• benzs on Feb 14, 2019 at 12:58 pm

This is Xiaomi Yi dash cam. Fully recommended to all since its equip with many function and most importantly is very high quality camera.

• Avatar Toyota No 1 in many countries on Feb 14, 2019 at 1:03 pm

Installed front and rear dashcam last month..

• the driver on Feb 14, 2019 at 1:56 pm

Like a lot of new technology equipment, the quality varies hugely and so do the prices. Finding a good, reasonably priced model is akin to winning the lottery sadly. Waiting until the technology matures and prices stabilize seems the best choice.

• panjang on Feb 14, 2019 at 2:04 pm

Thank you Miros…got nothing better to do lah tu…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • digidigi on Feb 14, 2019 at 2:13 pm

in Malaya they can’t even enforce child seat and travel more passenger than vehicle design carry load

• redpilled on Feb 14, 2019 at 2:54 pm

That’s because Malaysians are degil and stupid. Traffic rules are there to save lives. But Malaysians being Malaysians….
      Last CNY, how many cars on the highway actually stuck to speed limit? Ironically these idiots behind the wheels, especially the ones driving premium/luxury brands, they’re the ones who are the most reckless and kurang ajar ones. All them need a bullet to the head.

• Bieight on Feb 14, 2019 at 2:59 pm

Then at least make it tax free

• #concernedroaduser on Feb 14, 2019 at 3:22 pm

“Ambulances need space to get past other vehicles on the road, but they can find irresponsible motorists not getting out of their way. The dashcam can provide information on these motorists,” she explained.

This is inaccurate. The SOP of an ambulance driver is to prioritize his own safety first. Those drivers are not adhering to their SOP and actually risking their lives and others on the road by harping other motorists to give away for them (even when the situation doesn’t permits).
    Suggest MIROS to educate the ambulance drivers first.

• paparadzi on Feb 14, 2019 at 4:57 pm

1. The government should make it mandatory for factory-installed dashcam on new vehicles. For vehicles already on the road, it should be encouraged but not compulsory.

2. Manufacturers should make it easier to install dashcams by providing USB ports on the rearview mirror like on newer Protons. One problem of installing dashcam is technical issues such as wiring. Having dangling wires and using limited USB ports are some of the issues.

• All car companies must install foc as it could be classified as CSR

• SkinnnedHead on Feb 15, 2019 at 11:42 am

I installed front and rear dashcams since 2014. In two instances I was nearly involved in accidents with a motorcyclist and a car. The footage from the rear and front cams really showed me who was at fault. It taught me to be more careful in the future.

• ferox on Feb 19, 2019 at 2:19 pm

There is a simpler solution, install spiked kangaroo bars on the front of the ambulance and allow them to ram their way through traffic. Guaranteed we will all move our precious car out of the way from miles away.

jk of course :P