2019 Nissan Livina makes world debut in Indonesia – new 7-seater MPV based on Mitsubishi Xpander

The new 2019 Nissan Livina made its world debut in Indonesia today. Previously spied wearing very little disguise, the new Livina replaces an ageing model that’s struggling to compete in Indonesia’s core Low MPV segment, where the the Toyota Avanza, Daihatsu Xenia, Honda Mobilio and Suzuki Ertiga play in.

The new boy in this budget three-row MPV segment is the Mitsubishi Xpander, which the new Livina is based on. Most of the Xpander’s sheetmetal have been carried over, but Nissan did make slight modifications to the Dynamic Shield face of its Alliance partner’s donor car.

As per the Xpander, there are slim daytime running lights sitting above big main beams in a three-tier lighting arrangement, although the LED DRL design is different, and the Mitsu’s trademark chrome strips that give the sunken cheeks look is absent. Without this frame, the grille is bowl-shaped rather than X-shaped, conveniently morphing into Nissan’s “V-Motion” nose.

Also different from the Xpander is the lower bumper, which has a full-width silver lip and angular fog lamps at each end (vs round fogs on the Xpander, arranged narrowly). The contrasting front lip is visually connected to the silver side skirts.

Also, the front wheel arches of the Nissan are round instead of squared-off on the Mitsubishi. On the side, that deep wedge of a signature line is present, along with the “floating roof” look created by the small black strip joining the side and rear glass areas.

At the back, the shape of the taillamp cluster is similar, although the LED signature graphics are different – the Livina sports outward pointing boomerangs. The Nissan’s tailgate is also more simple in design compared to the Xpander, which features lines that mimic the Dynamic Shield face. Lastly, the silver diffuser of the Livina is a two-piece item. We see some X-Trail in the rear.

2019 Nissan Livina makes world debut in Indonesia – new 7-seater MPV based on Mitsubishi Xpander2019 Nissan Livina makes world debut in Indonesia – new 7-seater MPV based on Mitsubishi Xpander

As a whole, while easily recognisable as twins, it’s easy to tell the Livina and Xpander apart. Under the skin, they’re the same. The new Livina is powered by a 1.5 litre engine with 104 PS and 141 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, mated to a five-speed manual or four-speed automatic. Maximum ground clearance is 205 mm on 16-inch wheels, an important stat for Indonesian buyers.

Equipment highlights on this “trendy techno” MPV include a seven-inch touchscreen head unit with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto, LED DRLs, 16-inch two-tone alloys, colour multi-info display with eco indicator, reverse camera, keyless entry with push start, tilt and telescopic steering and 12V power outlets for each row.

There are five variants and four trim levels in Indonesia, and the line-up reads E MT, EL MT, EL AT, VE AT and the top VL AT. All models get dual airbags and ABS/EBD, with the VE and VL adding on Brake Assist, Vehicle Dynamics Control (VDC) and the above-mentioned back-up camera.

Prices range from Rp 198.8 juta (RM57,532) for the bare bones E MT (15-inch steel wheels, no rear AC blower and radio) to Rp 261.9 juta (RM75,766) for the top VL will all the kit listed above. Six colours are available, including the black and signature Sunset Orange hues seen here. Like what you see? How would the new Nissan Livina compare against our Perodua Aruz?

GALLERY: Mitsubishi Xpander

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 19, 2019 at 3:34 pm

Wow, what a great looking car. When it comes here, people will definitely cancel their orders for the Proton X70. Despite being different segments, everybody trusts a Japanese quality car as opposed to a China car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 34
    • Absolutely right bro! Nissan Livina or P2 Aruz,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
      • Roti john Sdn Bhd on Feb 19, 2019 at 5:56 pm

When the game changing New Xpander, All New Livina and New Avanza FL comes here, habisla the already game over Exora and Ertiga

• Tun F on Feb 20, 2019 at 7:33 am

Just wait for the Aruz’s underpowered complaint

• karam singh on Feb 24, 2019 at 9:53 pm

Nissan & Toyota both underpower.
          underload climbing genting, its gonna rev alot.

• MugenConcept on Jun 20, 2019 at 10:20 am

One does not ‘climb’ Genting everyday son

• Road Killer Machine (R.K.M) on Feb 19, 2019 at 3:49 pm

Hahaha you and your lame same criticism that circulating PT articles can go inside this ugly looking Livina/Xpander, it would be a perfect fit. All your common Jepunis car are mostly CKD here, doesn’t make lots of difference when it comes to the quality. Not as premium as CBU Jepunis, in fact miles away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • Copy Paste on Feb 19, 2019 at 4:29 pm

Copy paste: “Absolutely right bro!”

ASEAN Japanese CKDs are so far apart in quality and specs from their CBU counterpart, they might just be from another setup exclusively for dumping old cars. The truth? They ARE!!!

• Celup King on Feb 19, 2019 at 5:14 pm

Japanese brands only sell by name.
          Cars sold here are for only ASEAN countries, or so poorly specced no First World countries will accept this sh!t. Plus they are overpriced, and built with poor quality.

• YB Albert on Feb 19, 2019 at 7:06 pm

Design wise, KUnta….front looks like John’s underwear ,V shape…horrendously ugly,omg.
      Belakang,ok lah ..not too bad.
      But when Tan Chong launches it,it will be rm90K plus cos of everlasting perlindungan for protong.
      Since Nissan,Renault alliance started…their QC is on the way spiralling downwards.

• Viincent on Feb 20, 2019 at 2:40 pm

Not X70 range lar.. it will aim at Aruz…

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 19, 2019 at 3:39 pm

I can only dream and wish Proton will have Nissan quality and commitment to producing good quality cars.

This car will sell very well. No need bantuan or tongkat from the Government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • Celup King on Feb 19, 2019 at 5:10 pm

Did someone say Nissan quality? (https://paultan.org/2018/12/07/nissan-to-recall-another-150000-vehicles-in-japan-as-a-result-of-improper-testing-made-during-final-inspection/)
      Eh, what quality?

• Safety First on Feb 19, 2019 at 6:16 pm

Proton/Geely quality > Nissan/Takata quality anytime baby.

• Amatku17 on Feb 20, 2019 at 12:02 pm

One word that suit Nissan owner is REGRETS. Poor built quality.

• Celup King on Feb 20, 2019 at 3:44 pm

Another word that suit Nissan owner is WATERFISH. Those who bought from Nissan, Renault or Mitsubishi swore never to buy from these brands ever again.

• Yuck. What a disgusting looking thing. Reminds me of a certain farm animal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Whathef on Feb 19, 2019 at 3:52 pm

Anything with 4 speed auto in 2019 is a joke

• New Livina imported from Indon?

• Should be a better drive than the Aruz/Rush/Avanza siblings. At least it has proper car-like rear suspension (torsion beam I believe) rather than the ancient lorry style beam axle of the Aruz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • The Xpander/Livina uses monocoque chassis, which is better for ride and handling compared to ladder frame in the Rush/Aruz.

• kanazai2001 on Feb 20, 2019 at 7:49 am

lori solid axle mkne x pyh gnti bag getah cv joint… XD

o boi… do u know what is ladder frame chassis?

• kanazai2001 on Feb 19, 2019 at 4:33 pm

pls offer MT…
    凸 toy n p2 of offering AT only…

• But.. But.. I want the mitsubishi version.. Not the nissan version. Please laaa i dah nyampah pakai proton exora ni. Gearbox dah out haritu. Tiap2 minggu kat fb exora group ade aje gambar exora panjat tow truck sebab gearbox fail. I nak pakai jepunis car pulak. Proton keluarkan la x70 ke x80 ke x90 ke… No moarr proton for me. Boleh belahhh!!! Now i want mitsubishi xspenderrrrr pleaseee

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
    • Cool story bro. Just how desperate are these Japanese car salespeople anyways.

• Road Killer Machine (R.K.M) on Feb 19, 2019 at 6:42 pm

This is the first time i read that someone want the Xpander. Oh my my my.. i wonder how did you look in real life.

• Tun F on Feb 20, 2019 at 7:37 am

Dude….. Avoid Mitsubishi…. Sluggish engine and stupid whiny cvt

• kanazai2001 on Feb 20, 2019 at 7:44 am

x kira bah jepang or china boyok or proton…
      x kira cvt or 4 5 6 klajuan kotak AT…
      AT mmg bgi mslh paz few yrs pkai…
      toy avanza 4AT kne… niz lvn 4AT kne…
      honda city cvt & 5AT kne… xpyh bah crte psal proton kotak AT…

• benzs on Feb 19, 2019 at 5:03 pm

Nissan has no innovation. Use Xpander platform and earn big buck. Same story this day with Aruz…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Proton - Geely Premium Reseller on Feb 19, 2019 at 6:29 pm

Proton also no innovation. Use Geely Boyue platform and earn big suck.

• Now, let’s see if mitsu can bring in the eXspander faster or nissan can with the Livina…

• Alfian on Feb 19, 2019 at 5:35 pm

Contacted both Mitsu and Nissan. Both replied (which is the good news). The bad news is, execs from both companies said Xpander (or Livina based on Xpander) is not coming to Malaysia in 2019 :( … I am a sad man…

• xpander 2019 on Feb 19, 2019 at 8:57 pm

other web said it will come in malaysia this year. hahahahahahahaha

• Alfian on Mar 18, 2019 at 10:59 am

True ka? If got the website URLs that mention this, hope you can share :)

• Habislah Livina 2019 with this Ridiculous design
    Aruz will still win with ASA 2.0 with Pedestrain detextion and many other features

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Pyraxle on Feb 19, 2019 at 6:46 pm

I’ve been to Mitsu SC yesterday to get my dad’s Outlander serviced. The SC guys told me that Mitsu gonna bring in the Xpander in June-August. And also they said they would discontinue the sales of ASX soon. Can anyone confirm this to me? Oh the SC is at Ampang Ulu Klang branch.

• albag on Feb 19, 2019 at 8:53 pm

Nissan is doomed.. their CEO is under legal action, their car also only copy pasta from other manufacturer.. even the steering wheel is just a swap of logo from Mitsu.. kek!

• Anonymous_C on Feb 20, 2019 at 9:00 am

Nissan 1.5cc engine OR Mitsubishi 1.5cc engine?

• benzs on Feb 20, 2019 at 10:47 am

Both XD (Xpander) and LV (livina) has 1 serious problem in this era. Gearbox… 4AT anyone? Fuel will be higher consume. BR-V less fuel due to CVT. MPV trend in Malaysia is very upset. All have 10,000 BC technology.

• Pyraxle on Feb 20, 2019 at 1:03 pm

Aruz also 4AT.. We might didn’t get the best specs like in the EU & US but at least we’re one of the best in SEA. Most of Malaysians doesn’t care much about the car specs, as long as it’s spacious, fuel saving & reliable then OK already. Only minorities like us(including myself) are buying a car by studying the specs first.

• benzs on Feb 20, 2019 at 4:58 pm

Yes bro. I prefer studying spec first if not will end up buying blindly. Because 70-90k is not easy to earn. We study spec so that its worth every penny we spend into car. At least CVT or 6SPD Auto and engine must achieve 120hp – 135hp.

• MugenConcept on Jun 20, 2019 at 10:29 am

So, after your study what is the bestest car to get for a budget of 70-90k?

• Pyraxle on Feb 20, 2019 at 1:05 pm

Yes that is accurate & the Aruz also 4AT.. We might didn’t get the best specs like in the EU & US but at least we’re one of the best in SEA. Most of Malaysians doesn’t care much about the car specs, as long as it’s spacious, fuel saving & reliable then OK already. Only minorities like us(including myself) are buying a car by studying the specs first.

• Dual airbag for a family mover. I was all ready to ask them to take my money, until I saw this. Gotta pass this. Sadly.