Minister answers criticisms on Malaysian flying car

He’s back! After saying yesterday that the government was mulling technical partnerships for the new national car project (NNCP), entrepreneur development minister Datuk Seri Mohd Redzuan Yusof has now responded to criticism regarding the infamous flying car project, which he also announced yesterday. This project, lest you forget, is due to produce a prototype before the year concludes.

In an interview with Sinar Harian, Redzuan said that what critics don’t realise is that the country has expertise in various areas, which he claimed can potentially contribute to national development. “There are a number of critics who have asked silly questions. For example, today, many have asked me, “we have not produced a car, why are you talking about a flying car?”

“We do not realise that our people have plenty of expertise. If we look at today’s global indexes, some of the individuals involved in industries using space-age technologies are young Malaysians. It is not easy to breed the spirit of entrepreneurship in our youth, but plenty of them have expertise that can help.” he said.

Redzuan previously said that the project will draw upon the capabilities of the aerospace, drone, unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) and automotive sectors. “This year is a realistic target [for the prototype] because we have the technology already. It is all about speed of implementation,” he said.

In the interview, Redzuan also said that there are plenty of Malaysians who have become successful, particularly in designing aircraft interiors. “In Japan, there is a group of Malaysians who produce the designs locally and export them to Japan for use in the construction of aircraft. We don’t know it, but aircraft interiors are designed by Malaysians themselves.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Joker of the year goes to….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 8
    • lilytan on Feb 28, 2019 at 8:46 am

Pls stick to your actual job of developing entrepreneur rather than brown nosing your boss wishful thinking.

• John Bin Bossku on Feb 28, 2019 at 9:42 am

This is why malaysian education no good. must go overseas to get good education

• Projohn Sdn Bhd (Roti) on Feb 28, 2019 at 12:04 pm

Joker of the year goes to john!

• Joker on Feb 28, 2019 at 8:52 pm

Don’t laugh…this thing very common in other countries.
      For Malaysia technology industry, this is a good vision plan.
      Please go overseas and look at this technology before you make any stupid comment here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Optimus on Feb 27, 2019 at 7:58 pm

RON95 price cap lowered, now RM2.08 a liter. But still way higher than Venezuela 1sen a liter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • redpilled on Feb 28, 2019 at 11:10 am

try USD150.76 for a dozen eggs in Venezuela.

• Sling shot on Feb 28, 2019 at 7:02 pm

Yeah, go there and stay for a months… you will be lucky if you don’t starve to death….

• Kenneth fook on Feb 27, 2019 at 7:59 pm

And kids, this is why you dont take weed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
  • Rilek DS Redzuan, oppo mmg sembang kencang.
    Sumpah tak kesah beb

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • Normal car with good safety features people oso can make them masuk parit. Give people flying car we will see twin tower collapse

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
  • hello Minister…. Please lah…. April fool lambat lagi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • YB Albert on Feb 27, 2019 at 8:50 pm

At first black socks/shoes
    Then protiga
    Lagi flying car
    What next?Flying motorbike for rocket propelled mat rempits?
    Why not first national bus?
    First national ferry,cruise ship?
    First national lorry?
    These are more practical…to reduce the import bill,Mr.Pakatan Halangan.Just shambolic tax ringgit going into the money pit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
  • oh boy on Feb 27, 2019 at 9:11 pm

we are switching A-Hole minister to I-dot minister…same damages as RM1m wasted here..

and he is stil defending it!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • LatukBandar on Feb 27, 2019 at 9:20 pm

We can’t even make a decent motorbike, and now you’re talking about flying cars? I know Geely bought some US company that is into these flying car/drone, maybe for agriculture purpose but…

How about a rocket? maybe we can launch some of the stupid minister to space in a 1 way ticket.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
  • Anonymous on Feb 27, 2019 at 9:34 pm

This joker of a minister is still talking c@*k. We know many young M’sians are involved in innovation in various companies in various industries. While we are proud of them… still does not justify the idea of manufacturing a flying car. Anybody can build a prototype… as long as you have money… and I bet this flying car gets some funding from govt r&d funds. Duh.

At the end of the day if you want to build and industry… u need an ecosystem. Are the components of this ecosystem readily available…? Of couse not.

I hope this project TANKS BIG TIME and we really get into building sustainable innovative products that benefit the rakyat. Better focus to develop electric bikes, busses and trains… the drivetrain and batteries and such… these are in great demand now and the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
  • Aircraft interiors are not the same as building flying cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Avenger on Feb 27, 2019 at 10:00 pm

He never heard the idiom: you can’t sew a purse out of a *ahem*’s ears. Which is why what we see nowadays is the true colours of Pakatan ministers. Rubbish in, rubbish out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • zztop on Feb 27, 2019 at 10:10 pm

I hope he is right. That’s too Wawasan 2020

• Jay Tee on Feb 27, 2019 at 10:17 pm

Mr Minister, please tell us why then all these successful, innovative and brilliant Malaysians are overseas?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • The song ‘Dream’ comes to mind ….lmao

Power window also can fix , want to do this!

• Guest who? on Feb 27, 2019 at 11:40 pm

I don’t want that blasted thing flying over my house or anywhere

• King charles on Feb 27, 2019 at 11:43 pm

Hello mr minister,can you hold on the flying car project! Our rakyat still need a affordable housing….better develop more affordable housing for the poor rayat….plzzzzz…..

• Kingcharles on Feb 27, 2019 at 11:44 pm

Hello mr minister,can you hold on the flying car project! Our rakyat still need a affordable housing….better develop more affordable housing for the poor rayat….plzzzzz…..

• calcutta on Feb 28, 2019 at 3:51 am

typical “malaysian cannot do anything lah” response
    you wanna do the easy thing only huh,difficult thing only japan angmo can do right,no wonder all our bakat gone to other countries,because they are the weirdos,only the lazy stupid unambitious middle class can stay here

• YAB Alberto on Feb 28, 2019 at 7:33 am

“Aircraft interiors” – sounds like another field of expertise to me

• Come on guys, this is something for the country, if this idea become reality, this will be a new sector in the country and will produce a lot of job opportunities in our country especially for the young graduates nowadays who are struggling to find jobs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • mr polo on Feb 28, 2019 at 8:19 am

i dont wanna to say all malaysian are stupid, but based on the above comments from netizen, majority still cannot think properly.
    u all boleh fikir x kenapa GEELY sanggup habiskan billion dolar untuk beli company2 flying cars tu?…cuba fikir skrng transportation tend mcmna? and what will happen dlm 10 tahun lg…cubalah jadi orng yg berpandangan jauh, tun mahathir otak bukan fikir short term benefit, dia punya otak dah melangkaui zaman… apapun kita kna support apa yg baik dan tolak apa yg merugikan malaysian.

#kipidap minister

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • willie on Feb 28, 2019 at 8:21 am

All these years, we like to brag for anything to get attention. its time to change, the most valuable that benefit us, is to have more investor setting up factory here = more jobs available. automobile has gone to Thailand, now even Motorcycle like Harley is been assemble in thailand. We see a lot of MOU here and there, its time to just do it and annouce only when new factory start production.

• Please improve the safety of P2 cars before building a flying car.

• KILOWATT on Feb 28, 2019 at 9:07 am

The way he sit on chair and comment, just the way he sit and dream. flying car prototype? how much to spend in this half bake project, please fund to relate dept for useful development.

• Stingerkia on Feb 28, 2019 at 9:13 am

I think you ministers focus you punya electric car first lar, haven’t finish learn jalan now want to terbang!?

• taiko on Feb 28, 2019 at 9:23 am

it’s look weird when the announcement was made by politician rather than the top brass industrial player. imagine d trump make an announcement of GM prototype.

• #wapalewheels on Feb 28, 2019 at 9:24 am

Hey minister, I love to see this become relaity. And really hope to see Malaysia competing in good ways and make a good achievement in technology with other country. But did u know. Some of us still can’t afford to buy a drone. and now, you want us to buy a flying cars. Next idea please.

• Henry on Feb 28, 2019 at 9:37 am

Belum pandai jalan sudah mahu pecut. This is one of the reasons why SGD1 becomes RM3.

• some of u might nt knw de fact dat de flying car is first mooted by Geely, de largest shareholders of proton….. ph govt juz follow de instruction by Geely since DRB-HICOM hv shares in proton….. n aso we still dun knw de manufacturing cost will be bear by Geely or DRB-HICOM…… why nt we juz wait for the updates regarding de manufacturing cost den oni criticize….

• newme on Feb 28, 2019 at 9:44 am

In Japan? That’s in Japan where people don’t blame supplier when things go wrong.

Also, having expertise to design few parts does not equal to building a whole system.

• badut on Feb 28, 2019 at 9:52 am

is he smoking something? must be good stuffs.

• Wan Ahmad Nazaruddin Bin Wan Azizan on Feb 28, 2019 at 9:59 am

Why not we built MALAYSIAN BULLET TRAIN?

• Flying car? on Feb 28, 2019 at 10:49 am

We’ve seen a lot of innovation in automotive industries across the world. Electric car, hybrid, autonomous vehicle, self parking mode etc. . While flying car may sounds like a joke to everyone, if it’s work then well done. Btw its a prototype vehicle. Not like it’s going to production and available for sale right away. I’ll just wait n see. If it didn’t reach my expectation, I wouldn’t be surprise. But if its work, then well done.

• TheJoker on Feb 28, 2019 at 11:06 am

too ambitious la minister.
    y not flying bicycle first?

• passion on Feb 28, 2019 at 11:46 am

did he say that? oh dear. its the end of days!

• Ksatria on Feb 28, 2019 at 12:54 pm

Yes please Mr.Minister. build & use around klang valley or KL & talk abt Msia sudah maju.
    Have you guys seen how bad is basic public transportation in rest of Msia??

• klguy on Feb 28, 2019 at 1:49 pm

these ideas are so not practical. why cant they focus on things that can benefit the ppl and environment. why not electrify the buses. do u know how old the the factory buses in malaysia? do you know how much of carbons are emitted from these old junks?

• dong gor on Feb 28, 2019 at 2:18 pm

Enough lor… making a full turn in the roundabout will bring you back to the starting point.

• fadzili Rahman on Feb 28, 2019 at 2:57 pm

after 30 years we cant make a proper world car and our national car sold to China. now minister talks of Flying car? maybe next month he is making a prototype of a anti gravity craft or a starship. this minister is all joke and needs to be changed ASAP. he remind me of baghdad bon

• fadzili Rahman on Feb 28, 2019 at 3:42 pm

Latest breaking news from Minister: Malaysia will soon unveil prototype of a TIME MACHINE using anti matter as fuel.

• Roger Loh on Feb 28, 2019 at 5:23 pm

Doesn’t matter if we able to produce but we sure need to spend billion on research and development. At the end ,is the same najib way to steal Malaysia people money. This is beyond rediculous

• Tun Pirate King on Feb 28, 2019 at 6:08 pm

At least Najib stole and gave to the rakyat (ala Robin Hood). Atuk stole and does daddykasi. Rakyat gets nothing.

• Oh boy on Mar 01, 2019 at 7:55 am

If a joker can simply throw one million into a day dreaming project and not being taken out…We are screwed as similar as before….How about the others none surface deals bring done?

• John Doe on Mar 01, 2019 at 11:35 am

The NyaNyuk effect is getting more and more apparent

• man copot on Mar 01, 2019 at 1:37 pm

I think, this guy spending too much time with YouTube