2019 Subaru Forester gets 5-star ANCAP safety rating

In its latest round of testing, the Australasia New Car Assessment Programme (ANCAP) has awarded the latest Subaru Forester with a five-star safety rating. The SUV was introduced in Australia and New Zealand in September 2018, with the safety rating applicable to all variants sold there.

Looking at the technical report, the Forester managed to score a respectable 36.01 out of 38 points in the adult occupant protection category. In the side impact and oblique pole tests, the SUV scored maximum points and provided “Good” protection to all critical body regions.

The same can also be said of its autonomous emergency braking (AEB) system that performed well in low-speed test scenarios typical of city driving. The AEB system is standard on all variants, along with lane keep assist, emergency lane keeping functionality and blind spot monitoring, which are part of the EyeSight suite.

Meanwhile, the frontal offset and full width frontal tests saw a mixed bag of results, with a “Good” rating when it comes to protection for all other critical body regions aside from the driver and front passenger’s chest and lower legs. The latter registered either “Adequate” or “Marginal” results.

Moving on to the child occupant protection category, the Forester once again impresses with a score of 42.62 out of 49 points, with maximum points in the frontal offset and side impact tests. The SUV comes with Isofix mounts on the rear outboard seats and top tether anchorages for all rear seating positions.

When it comes to protection in a crash involving a pedestrian, the Forester’s bonnet provided “Good” or “Adequate” head protection, with the latter relevant to pedestrians’ legs and pelvis. The AEB system’s ability to detect and react effectively to both pedestrians and cyclists also impressed ANCAP. As a result, the SUV received 38.51 out of 48 points in the vulnerable road user protection category.

Lastly in the safety assist category, the Forester’s standard safety and driver assist features performed well for a score of 10.19 out of 13 points, with the lack of a speed limit information function being a weak point.

While the Forester is already available in other markets, it’ll still be a while before we welcome it to Malaysia. At last check, the model is slated to arrive here by the middle of this year, with the EyeSight suite said to be offered on higher-end variants. We’ve already had an early go in the Forester, which you can check out here.

GALLERY: 2019 Subaru Forester 2.0i-S EyeSight (Taiwan-spec)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 15, 2019 at 12:54 pm

Wow, this car can get 5 star. I hope they maintain the old price of RM123k.

Then habis lah Proton X70

Pretty shocking. Higly rated Subaru Forester, that is sold in all first world countries is sold for RM123k

Proton X70, no awards at all even as the Boyue, cannot be sold in any first world country also RM123k

OMG OMG

• Lets See on Mar 15, 2019 at 4:04 pm

Pretty shocking Subaru 2018 entire sales only amounted to 5,175 cars. This included some say the X70 killer; the Forester, but all they did is kill themselves with laughter from the industry.

This is the reason why Subaru never grow, they keep dreaming they are better but even local brands like Proton trounced them. As a potential buyer, I wouldn’t look at brands with such low annual volume being afraid they will exit the market as they did previously leaving their owners hung dry and fuming for aftersales. I would prefer a car with 20,000 bookings because so many are lining up to buy this car. This shows confidence in the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Roti john Sdn Bhd! on Mar 15, 2019 at 4:40 pm

Impressive score for a Game Changer. Habisla X70!!

• Every article whether car or bike, you imbecile would say Habisla X70! But, the opposite happen instead. X70 is still going strong. I am sure your paymaster is disappointed in your ineptitude.

• Kunta’s endorsement of the Forester actually causes the sales even slower for the Subaru, till now still have 2018 stock. On the other hand, his condemning of the X70 has cause the sales of the Proton to increase day-by-day. Kunta, are you sure you are trolling correctly?

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Mar 18, 2019 at 10:30 am

I think if the head unit supports Android Auto & Apple Carplay, the lack of a speed limit information function is not a big issue. Coz you can always open Waze on the head unit which can warn you on the speed limit & AES etc.