V177 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Sedan teased for M’sia

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has begun teasing the arrival of the V177 A-Class Sedan on its official Facebook page, which should indicate that a launch is imminent. The model was first revealed globally in July last year, and is an alternative for those who need a little more boot space than what the W177 A-Class Hatchback can offer.

For now, detailed specifications remain a mystery until launch day, and the teaser does little to provide any additional information. In terms of engines, the A-Class Sedan is available with two turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engines, or a sole OM608 1.5 litre diesel unit.

As the petrol options are more likely, we’ll focus on them instead. The first of the two is a M282 1.33 litre powerplant that makes 161 hp (163 PS) and 250 Nm, while the M260 2.0 litre unit offers either 188 hp (190 PS) and 300 Nm in the A 220, and 221 hp (224 PS) and 350 Nm in A 250 variants.

In Malaysia, the current A-Class Hatchback comes in A 200 and A 250 variants, both with a seven-speed 7G-DCT wet dual-clutch transmission. We reckon these powertrains should be offered with the A-Class Sedan as well but we’ll have to wait and see.

Like the W177, the A-Class Sedan is built on the Modular Front Architecture 2 (MFA2) platform, but it is longer (4,549 mm) than the hatchback (4,419 mm) and slightly taller (1,446 mm) by comparison (1,440 mm). Both cars share the same width (1,796 mm) and wheelbase (2,729 mm).

The added length and height is said to result in a car that offers greater rear headroom and above-average shoulder and elbow room, while its 420 litre boot is 50 litres more than its five-door sibling.

Inside, the A-Class Sedan shares many common features with the hatchback, including the wide displays that are linked to the Mercedes-Benz User Experience (MBUX) interface.

We’ll only know more when the A-Class Sedan makes its launch debut here in Malaysia. For now, will you pick the sedan version of the A-Class over the hatchback?

GALLERY: V177 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Sedan

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Apr 01, 2019 at 8:00 pm

Hopefully MBM sells this car reasonably. Don’t overprice it. Just like your battery from RM130k, overnight you can drop to RM55k. Just shows the kind of margin MBM is making

With the A class, try to be reasonable with pricing

• e350e on Apr 01, 2019 at 8:36 pm

i bet it’ll 259k just below c class … i’m might wrong tho

• Wilson Khoo on Apr 01, 2019 at 10:55 pm

I think Nissan cars are better value than Mercedes in Malaysia.

I prefer an X-Trail than a GLC200

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Rojakboii on Apr 02, 2019 at 9:22 pm

Got some information regarding that battery issue from that E300 Bluetech Hybrid. Apparently the owner who got slapped with that massive bill was the second owner. Furthermore, the car had a poor service record with authorized service centers. The owner missed one or two scheduled service. By Mercedes policy, if you miss one you void the warranty. Thus, the reason why that bill became insanely expensive. Another point to take not is that, the battery tech is old and not similar to the current plug-ins making it much more expensive to be replaced.

Lesson: Always service your cars back with the dealership during warranty period. Second, always check service history of a used car before purchasing it especially cars still under manufacture warranty.

:)

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 01, 2019 at 8:24 pm

Let me guess, since its a CBU model like the hatchback, the A200 sedan will be around 240k and with that kind of price, it is a no brainer to go for the bigger CKD C200 @ 259k which is also ‘A’ class higher than the A.

• burning question…is this rear wheel drive or front wheel drive?

FWD – no thanks!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 02, 2019 at 9:02 am

nice cerato, mercedes

• thepolygon on Apr 02, 2019 at 9:21 am

Wow I guess we are no longer in the era of RM 180k for an A-Class (regardless with or without the long butt).

• Unicorn on Apr 02, 2019 at 9:32 am

Buy Benz pls don’t talk price. Like just buy.

• Johnson Amigo on Apr 02, 2019 at 2:07 pm

can sell my mx5 2017 to finance this one!

• Outalingam Crap on Apr 02, 2019 at 2:13 pm

What then is the point of marketing this A-segment sedan in Malaysia whereas there is already the C and CLA class in sedan form, and not having substantial wheelbase length can make this marketing lose out even to C-segmenters like the Honda Civic, IMHO

• Bob_B78 on Apr 02, 2019 at 8:55 pm

Hahaha. A/CLA class is not an A segment car while C class is not C segment car. The first one is C segment car while the later is a D segment car. Hahahah

• Ron_Dennis on Apr 03, 2019 at 11:32 am

Bring the diesel to Malaysia … With access to Euro 5 this can be an opportunity for malaysia who prefer fuel saving and comfort riding…

Kindly test ur diesel market with ur entry level so that in future when this ppl upgrade to mid – high range they will consider diesel too.