2019 Honda CB650R and CBR650R launched in Malaysia, priced at RM43,499 and RM45,499

Launched at the 2019 Malaysia Autoshow were the 2019 Honda CB650R and Honda CBR650R, priced at RM43,499 and RM45,499 respectively, excluding road tax, insurance and registration. The middleweight duo replace Honda’s outgoing CBR650F four-cylinder which featured in the paultan.org RM50,000 Motorcycle shoot out last year.

The DOHC, 649 cc sixteen-valve inline four-cylinder liquid-cooled mill is shared between the CBR650R and CB650R and puts out 93.8 hp at 12,000 rpm and 64 Nm of torque at 8,500 rpm, fed by Honda’s PGM-Fi through 32 mm diameter throttle bodies. Power gets to the ground via a six-speed gearbox and assist and slipper clutch with chain final drive.

Also common between Honda’s new middleweights is the suspension, which uses a Showa separate function upside-down fork (SFF) in front – 6 kg lighter than previous. At the back is a monoshock with 10-position preload adjustment, attached to a cast aluminium swingarm.

Braking is done with radial-mount Nissin callipers in front grabbing 310 mm discs with a single calliper and 240 mm drake disc on the rear wheel. Two-channel ABS is standard, as is Honda’s version of traction control, called Honda Selectable Torque Control (HSTC).

Aside from the obvious difference in styling, where the CBR650R is a fully-faired sports bike while the CB650R follows Honda’s Neo Sports Cafe naked sports design, the CBR650R weighs in at 207 kg while the CB650R tips the scales at 202 kg. Fuel is carried in a 15.4-litre tank while seat height is set at 810 mm for both bikes.

Inside the cockpit an all-new LCD instrument display can be found, with LED lighting now used in the front and rear. Colour options for the 2019 Honda CBR650R are Grand Prix Red and Matte Gun Powder Black Metallic, while the CB650R comes in Candy Chromosphere Red and Graphite Black, with delivery to Honda Big Wing showrooms expected to be next month.

GALLERY: 2019 Honda CB650R
GALLERY: 2019 Honda CBR650R

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• AFMGT on Apr 11, 2019 at 2:50 pm

Pretty girls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • The girls with their torn clothes are blocking the bikes…

Next time ask them to stand at the side and also inform them that they can buy proper attire at shopping complexes, pasar malam, online …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 56
    • Gabriel from Above on Apr 11, 2019 at 3:39 pm

These girls compulsory to wear provided by Honda motorcycle model uniforms, they kenot simply buy and wear proper shopper or pasar malam or online sourced attire!
      Don’t be over-smart teaching models non-compliant play truancy and indiscipline!
      Why disturbs their livelihood and occupation?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 13
      • Go for English classes bro….

• Dr No on Apr 11, 2019 at 7:14 pm

They look great and respectable? Ok bro lmao

• P. Alyanna on Apr 12, 2019 at 1:58 pm

No it is not fine. They don’t need to wear such dresses to promote a bike. Simple formal wear will do just fine.

What is more important is the sales technique and bike features, not the girls or how they dress.

Don’t be the type to judge women by how pretty we are. Don’t be a Neanderthal sexist. Respect us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • redpilled on Apr 12, 2019 at 2:44 pm

dude why stop there:-

* Theodora Comnena was aged 13 when she was married Baldwin III of Jerusalem (1158)

*Agnes of France was 12 when, widowed, she was married to Andronicus Comnenus, Byzantine Emperor (1182)

*Isabella de Valois was 8 years old when she was married to Richard II of England

*Beatrice d’Este was betrothed aged 5

*Caterina Sforza was betrothed aged 9,

*St Elizabeth of Portugal was aged 12 when she was married to King Denis of Portugal and gave birth to three children shortly thereafter

*Rukmini the wife of Lord Krishna was said to be 8 years of age, at the time of her marriage

*Seeta the wife of Lord Ram was said to be 6 years of age

*Margaret Beaufort, (age 7; approximately) was married to John de la Pole (age 7) in 1450 by the arrangement John’s father.The marriage was annulled in 1453.

*Joan of France, Duchess of Berry (age 12), betrothed in a wedding contract at age 8 days old, she was officially married in 1476.

*Anne de Mowbray, 8th Countess of Norfolk (age 6) was married to Richard of Shrewsbury, 1st Duke of York (age 4) in 1477. She died at age 10 and he, as one of the Princes in the Tower is believed to have been murdered at age 10.

*Rukhmabai (age 11) was married in India to her husband (age 19). After a lengthy court battle, the marriage was dissolved by an order from Queen Victoria and the publicity helped influence the passage of the Age of Consent Act, 1891, which increased age of consent for girls in India, married or unmarried, from 10 to 12.

*Janakiammal Iyengar (age 10) was married to the Indian mathematician Srinivasa Ramanujan.

*Ushabati Ghosh (age 11) was married to the Indian physicist Satyendra Nath Bose when he was twenty. Bose, not keen on marriage so early in life and while still attending college, only did so on his mother’s insistence. They had nine children, two of whom died in early childhood.

*Nujood Ali (age 10), an arranged marriage by her father to a 30-year-old man[14] in 2008. Coverage of her self-presented application for divorce later that year led to the legal age of marriage in Yemen to be raised to 18.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • Use your brain on Apr 13, 2019 at 10:47 am

Store this to your twisted brain – respect is be earned not asked. How you respect women like that? If your daughter(s) like that will you give your respect to them?

• digidigi on Apr 11, 2019 at 4:18 pm

Their attire is elegant and proper…shut up if u don’t have better things to comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 12
    • I know you are just being sarcastic;) no way you are that dumb

• There’s 1 cute Japanese girl reviewing cb250r n cb1000r on YouTube… N she doesn’t wear torn clothes but rather fully riders outfit.. She’s way more beautiful n natural than these 2 ladies.. n she complement the bike perfectly.. I want to buy the bike not the superficial sexually exploited women..

• Darren on Apr 11, 2019 at 3:23 pm

The bikes are more interesting that the girls.

• john is otak batu on Apr 12, 2019 at 11:10 am

Honestly No, Girls r more interesting than bike over here!
      For 45.5 k I’ll get the girls 1st not the bike!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • anonymous on Apr 11, 2019 at 3:31 pm

As expected, some of our hero start to complain the attire of the showgirls. That is why why we are behind Thailand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • Is it wrong for bike geeks to be more interested in the bike than the girls? Stop being sexist. That is the reason why we are behind the rest of the world until we start treating women with respect and not justify oogling at them.

• Dig the cafe styled one, thumbs up.. super competitive price for a 4inline, showa forks, nissin calipers & great styling..

• youngun on Apr 11, 2019 at 4:08 pm

Came earlier than I thought. But the pricing is slightly high.

• Raja Faiz on Apr 11, 2019 at 5:19 pm

Finally…more affordable 4 cylinder bikes with full fairing…good job honda bring them into malaysia market

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 11, 2019 at 5:21 pm

I clicked on this article to view the girls though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Copy Paste on Apr 11, 2019 at 5:46 pm

Copy paste: “That is why why we are behind Thailand.”

• Ouch Dee on Apr 11, 2019 at 6:46 pm

The babe at the right hand side is not happy. Why?

• P. Alyanna on Apr 12, 2019 at 12:14 pm

For being treated as sex object in this day and age. Can see so many horny guys whacking the commenter above who are more interested on the bike than the girl.

• TreeHugger on Apr 11, 2019 at 9:32 pm

Now it’s not so easy to choose between this and the MT-09. The 09 is lighter yet more powerful and torquey and has adjustable suspension but rm4k pricier. This cb is slightly cheaper and honda has better build quality than yamaha although being an inline4 it is heavier. I guess the only way to decide is by test riding each bike or maybe Mohan can do a shootout between these 2 sub-50k bikes.

• eric_ocy (Member) on Apr 11, 2019 at 11:06 pm

Seeing a naked bike more cooler than a fairing bike is rare af! Who else liked this naked look more than the fairing?

• hanep on Apr 12, 2019 at 8:08 am

Highly priced. Dulu tak silap previous one was at 39k something while previous facelift MT-09 ckd was at 43k (exclude ins,etc). Now its the range of MT-09 price already, more than Yang-Mahal.

Nice design, but good luck

• Its inline 4, yamaha is inline 3. Of course price will be higher than mt09. But lower than z9

• Look at the revised specs bro, dulu unbranded front suspension.. Now Showa big piston forks.. There is also bump in horse power.. Guess tuning mayb..Revised styling to the front and side fairings.. Plus there are riding modes aswell..

• But I think this CB650R was more neat and fine than MT09.

• willie on Apr 12, 2019 at 8:55 am

all bikes brand are jumping into the LCD/LED wagon, unlike cars, bikes are expose to often direct sunlight, no matter how bright the panel are, there are times when vision is not 100% visible. personally still like the needle type, always clear, with our scorching sun,for daily rider, am certain it would not last or will start to fade.

• radio on Apr 12, 2019 at 10:47 am

X? adv/ touring/DP version? baru bole lawan versys 650 & strom

• Kelvin on Apr 12, 2019 at 10:45 pm

Nice bike.. pretty girls..

• I think the girls look great. They are hot and sexy and they go well with the bikes from an overall marketing standpoint. I love women. If they are hot, they are hot and that is all there is to it.

• I'm confused on Apr 15, 2019 at 11:55 pm

ok,so the question now is should I buy yamaha mt09 or Honda cb650r now?

• Sohai on Apr 16, 2019 at 10:43 am

The pricing is not keen enough to steal any sales from MT09, which is more powerful and lighter.
    For a 650 class, my choice still goes to Suzuki 650sv, which is cbu japan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Inline V on Apr 29, 2019 at 3:58 pm

Cheapest inline-four at the moment in Malaysia

• Izham Ibrahim on Aug 20, 2019 at 7:51 am

Hi,

I’d like to get your clarification on the prices of these 2019 bikes eg. CB650R ABS, CBR650R ABS, GSX-S750 ABS, Z900 ABS & MT-09, if you may.
    As mentioned, Honda Cb650r OTR is RM43, 499.00 (w/o Ins) right? Let’s just say +RM2K for Ins = ~ RM45.5K.
    How come when I inquired frm the bikes shops (in Penang & online ads elsewhere), prices becomes RM50K+ at least. Frm RM53K+ to RM57K+ for these mentioned bikes. That’s ~ RM9K-RM10K hike.
    Another thing is, how do I check physically (on the bikes) the mfg year/model of the bikes? Coz I believe a lot of the sellers/shops would claim that theirs are 2019 models when they actually aren’t. They ordered & arrived the old brand new/unregistered models in 2019 [stock clearing may be]).
    Thanks for your assistent.
    Sincerely yours
    Izham Ibrahim

• Maulana Nur Mohamad Bin Mohamad Sabari on Oct 09, 2020 at 9:30 am

i do love the 4 cylinder engine.the overall design is not not that bad.but the modern looks with MONOSHOCK sux.the exhaust also a big NO NO.the front light is a NO. the body design is a no.if honda know what a cafe racer is then the back would be a 90 degree angle for easy conversion to brat/cafe racer style.