FIRST LOOK: 2019 BMW i3s EV in Malaysia – RM279k

For those interested in a different kind of motoring experience, there’s the BMW i3s. The newly-launched electric vehicle is fully imported and carries a price tag of RM279,000 (OTR without insurance), and included in the price is a five-year/unlimited mileage warranty with free scheduled service, as well as a two-year tyre warranty programme.

For power, the i3s draws motivation by a rear-mounted synchronous electric motor that makes 181 hp and 270 Nm of torque (135 kW), enabling a zero to 100 km/h sprint time of 6.9 seconds. Juice is provided by a 42.2 kWh lithium-ion battery pack (comprising eight modules, 120 Ah capacity) that’s located under the floor, which gives a real world range of about 260 km in everyday use.

The i3s can be juiced up via AC or DC charging. The former, with the 11 kW three-phase AC charging, recharges the battery from zero to 80% (about 180 km of range) in 3.1 hours, whereas the latter requires a CCS connector and has a charge rating of up to 50 kW. The i Wallbox Plus is an extra RM8,897 option, and an additional RM1,360 is needed for a public AC quick charging cable, which is separate from the one that comes with the car, which plugs into a wall socket.

Lastly, the battery in the i3s comes with an eight-year/100,000 km warranty, and each module costs RM7,300, with labour costing RM1,140 to replace. We’re told that it’s very unlikely for an owner to have all the modules replaced in the lifetime ownership of the vehicle, but the car itself will inform the owner should a replacement be necessary. You may read our full written review of the i3s, here.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Game Projohn Over on Apr 12, 2019 at 9:51 am

Habisla Proton Iriz EV! 4 years later and no more news about it anymore.

• EDITOR on Apr 12, 2019 at 12:22 pm

Later the EDITOR guy will come and say it will be in production. Hello, now Proton is just a Geely reseller, how to make own cars lah? no more money already

• EDITOR on Apr 12, 2019 at 1:00 pm

You loved to self-reply your own comments, don’t you?

• EDITOR on Apr 12, 2019 at 3:35 pm

That’s not me. I don’t even type like him.

Anyway, your Proton Iriz EV will not go to production. Please stop spreading fake news

• EDITOR on Apr 12, 2019 at 4:01 pm

Yes, fake news is bad. I hope the guy with initial “j” will berhambus from here

• thepolygon on Apr 12, 2019 at 10:18 am

Nice but we got the i3 late. Lucky it’s with the updated version. But somehow it feels as though these are pushed to us from other countries :(

It would be good if we can have a comparison between the cost of usage of NA and Electric vehicle on a daily basis like maybe one of you guys take the i3s for a month vs a 3 series and compare the running cost?

• Kuinosan on Apr 12, 2019 at 10:22 am

It’s perfect for city and in town use. It looks good too.

• Elly MS on Apr 12, 2019 at 10:58 am

Whats the running cost (service & maintenance) how much does it cost (RM) to hav a fully charged battery?

• Avenger on Apr 12, 2019 at 11:00 am

Up north journey from KL back to Guar Chempedak, gotta stop in Ipoh for battery recharge and two cuppa Ipoh white kopi. Then home we go !

• carlover on Apr 12, 2019 at 11:56 am

Sorry BMW ( or Sime Darby Motors), please improve your after sales service first.A service booking waiting is easily 3-4 weeks!Unacceptble.

• Max291 on Apr 12, 2019 at 7:36 pm

Damn ugly car

• eeeriz on Apr 15, 2019 at 9:14 am

Finally.. after several years our market was excluded from the sales (not sure why, but the expensive i8 was included). Saw the car last weekend at the Autoshow MAEPS, it looked fabulous, but the only complaint was the rear seat is actually for kids. About the same size as my mini cooper (R52). But of course this car will save our environment plus a juicy performance despite small size.