Formula 1 to make a return to Malaysia, says Tun Dr M

Formula 1 might make a come back to Malaysia’s Sepang International Circuit (SIC) if Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has his way. He said this when speaking at the American Malaysian Chamber of Commerce luncheon in Kuala Lumpur in a The Star report.

While not providing a specific date, Dr Mahathir said, “we intend to bring back the Grand Prix, but I don’t know if it’s next year or the year after.” Citing substantial local interest in the Grand Prix, Dr Mahathir added, “we want to bring back the race here, because it has stimulated many Malaysians to go into the automotive industry.”

Dr Mahathir acknowledged that despite not hosting motorsports premier race, SIC still has a busy calendar hosting races and events. However, he felt that by hosting Formula 1 again, spectator numbers would increase. “We will be able to get spectators, more than 100,000 people and that will be worthwhile for us,” he said, having previously expressed this view.

Formula One – Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport, Malaysian GP 2017. Lewis Hamilton, Valtteri Bottas

“Besides, when we have the Grand Prix, the television stations will broadcast this all over the world, bringing about 200 million viewers,” Dr Mahathir said, increasing foreign exposure for Malaysia. Former prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak announced the cancellation of Formula 1 at SIC in 2017 because the event had posted decreasing revenue yearly since it was first held in 1999 but also said the race could return under terms favourable to Malaysia.

Former tourism and culture minister Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz was cited as saying hosting Formula 1 costs Malaysia RM300 million per round while SIC chief operating officer Datuk Razlan Razali said there are many factors to consider before a return to hosting the Grand Prix is possible. SIC currently hosts a round of the MotoGP World Championship, the FIM Endurance World Championship (EWC) for motorcycles and the World Touring Car Cup (WTCR), with Super GT scheduled to return in 2020 as well as local race series Malaysia Speed Festival (MSF).

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• digidigi on Apr 18, 2019 at 8:24 pm

This old people really like car…, u can bring in formula E if u really want……

• Tiramisu on Apr 19, 2019 at 11:28 am

F1 is the pinnacle of motorsport and you have some of the richest fans and the smartest people in motoring technology involved. Sepang F1 was the one of the most exciting race in the calendar and definitely more fun to watch than the boring Singapore night race.

F1 is the only international event where Malaysia’s name is spoken in positive terms consistently so let Tun negotiate for a good deal with F1 organizers to bring the race back in Malaysia.

But first, Tun needs to replace the current Sepang CEO who is hostile towards F1 races with someone else who is a fan of the series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • thefact on Apr 19, 2019 at 2:32 pm

ahhaha. F1 in Singapore boring? really?
        Go to F1 in Sepang, and get drenched UNDER the covered grandstand during the rain. its so awesome. its an experience!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • Have you been to F1 in Singapore? It’s really boring. The whole world agrees that sepang is a better circuit than marina bay. I’m talking solely on the track and the race. Sepang beats marina bay by miles.

• Barbabeau on Apr 19, 2019 at 1:53 pm

this is why we voted him!! bring back the F1 stimulates economy like Monaco!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Veyron Owner on Apr 19, 2019 at 3:05 pm

Monaco? Monaco in any other day have us frolicking around all year long. Many of us practically stay there! In terms of GDP per square feet, Monaco is by far the richest country in the world. They can stomach the losses, can we?

• U-Tun on Apr 18, 2019 at 9:34 pm

Grandiosity is getting bigger by day. No worries cash cows petronas will make it happen. No need to say people are getting stimulated to join automotive industry due to F1. It’s ur son’s obsession actually

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
  • Hafriz entourage on Apr 18, 2019 at 9:52 pm

Please make it a night race

• Anonymous on Apr 18, 2019 at 10:09 pm

TunM still stuck in his YESTERYEAR thinking. Want to spend money for the sake of exposure…? Really…? Does he think M’sia LACKS EXPOSURE today..??!! This RIDICULOUSLY DESIGNED to feed his whim and fancy.

Last F1 race in sepang drew a bit over 110,000 spectators. While 4million people fly KL-SG route annually… yet TunM reluctant to proceed with HSR…! RTS SG-JB will be able to move 10,000 people in an hour… approx 400,000 M’sians work in S’pore. It will help lessen congestion and enhance connectivity. These are economic gamechangers that will benefit the people and the economy. Yet TunM uninterested in these catalyst projects but more interested in F1 races..!

3rd National car… F1 race… money would be better spent on the peoples’ needs… public transportation and housing and medical services, education and supporting our farmers, fishermen and Felda settlers.

This seriously has to stop. TunM needs to step down now for the sake of future generations.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 19
    • F1 FAN on Sep 30, 2019 at 11:58 am

Malaysians working in SG only make SG’s economy thrives. We need F1 again!

• Logical Deduction on Apr 18, 2019 at 10:30 pm

We have elected a stark raving mad old bat and here is the proof! He is confident to get more than 100,000 spectators??? When was the last we had that numbers? The problem is F1 and when F1 isn’t interesting anymore to draw in the crowds, how on earth is he going to bring them to watch? A buy One Free Two offer perhaps?

This is sheer madness and so soon after we extricated ourselves from a money losing folly without paying a penalty! If we signed up for another 10 years and his idea proves to be wrong, will he be forgiven again while we continue to lose money for the next 10 years???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
    • Very Logical on Apr 19, 2019 at 11:10 am

Yeah, and if the outcome does not match his expectation he will say that Malaysians are lazy bunch to get their bums off to Sepang and watch the race. That Malaysians are also stupid for not supporting the technologically advanced F1 race bla..bla..bla.

Oh wait, he already did that, albeit on the different issues.

• the driver on Apr 19, 2019 at 2:48 pm

Look at it this way. If you had a shop with only limited resources, ie cash. What would you do? Spend money to buy more goods to sell? Spend money to line the counters with better looking displays or upgrade your toilets or advertise hugely to gain customers? That is the point for F1, we don’t quite know the complete amount of advantages or effects of staging F1 but it is clear; that staging F1 has tangible benefits that goes beyond what is seen. Perhaps its expensive but this is post Bernie Ecclestone (now owned by Liberty Bell) and ought to be negotiated for lower rates.
      Calling people names like ‘old bat’ or whatever merely reflects the mind of the writer. Frankly, I do admire the confidence or dreams that Tun M has of its rakyat – if you can’t dream big, then who will?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
      • Logical Deduction on Apr 19, 2019 at 3:31 pm

Good idea??? Maybe. It might have been one when it first started but like any other good ideas it has a sell by date, anything that went passed that has gone bad and getting rotten. This “good idea” is the perfect example, having went way past its purpose of existence.

The problem with F1 is multifold. Even when rates are reduced, nothing can prevent a downward slide in interest. Much like you can’t stop a losing business by just cutting cost, you need to entice customers and F1 is failing on that front. Hosting F1 is not a charity nor a national service nor a mandatory. It should be run like a business and if the business isn’t sustainable it should be let go.

The problem with that scenario is we would be tied to this predicament for the next 10 years and if we were to quit early, there are hefty penalties. Already our economy is on tenterhooks and can’t possibly sustain either losses. A bad push and Malaysia’ economy will die or the F1 organisers will die. Or both will die. Either way all of us will die!

• Formula E was in Malaysia when it first started but did not come back subsequently. Probably lack of money and interest from Malaysia.

• Ben yap on Apr 18, 2019 at 11:09 pm

Yes bring back F1. You started the money wasting race circuit and it became a white elephant. You keep hiding behind the automotive industry and gave a thousand reasons why it should be revived but we all know you have invested a ton of personal interest there and caused Malaysia to lose a lot of money. Yet after all many years, you are still ignorant and refuse to learn from your past mistakes. Whether you are 50 or 90 or even to death, you are still blinded and thinking your automotive project will bring success.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
    • casual rider on Apr 19, 2019 at 7:15 pm

are you sure sepang F1 circuit is a white elephant? pls go to SIC website and have a look

• Syazlan on Apr 22, 2019 at 8:16 pm

Clearly you’re not a motorsport enthuasiast, just a poser who know only F1 race held in Sepang. We event have national series races such as Malaysia Championship Series (MCS) & Malaysia Speed Festival (MSF) which consist of many rounds per year. Have you been in Sepang witnessing these national races before???

• Abesla on Apr 18, 2019 at 11:53 pm

Abesla Malaysia! We are back to square one again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • I can guess who will get the contract.

• LatukBandar on Apr 19, 2019 at 12:35 am

RM200 per year with a 10 years minimum contract = RM2 billion. And we are not making money directly or indirectly. But its ok, atuk never waste money, atuk think of Malaysians. Soon, Japanese, Germans and Americans will all be driving our new national car. Envy of the world.

• autodriver (Member) on Apr 19, 2019 at 7:41 am

I hope Tun M will consider to bring the Formula E, the new trend of motorsports rather than Formula One. Nowadays Formula One heat had faded coz it is almost a 1 car show since the session FIA regulate turbo engine until today. I have been following F1 for many years since schumacher, mika hakkinen, david coulthard era but given up in year 2017 coz it was just bored to watch coz Merc car is way ahead of all others.

Formula E is not bad, there are more corners in circuit and driver change car when battery drained. Something different and new, and EV is future move.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • common sensor on Apr 19, 2019 at 8:06 am

All other races at SICC draw very little crowd, often to a quite grandstand. Just being a playground for the riches to throw their money to the drain. For F1; the team with the biggest budget will win (is it a real sport or just another playground for the super rich?) and 50% of the spectators showed up are on sponsored ticket; what real benefit does it bring to the marhaen?

• If the F1 in Malaysia is organised in the same amateurish fashion as the final years, it’ll continue to do poorly.

• Lolwhut? on Apr 19, 2019 at 10:26 am

Lol. Even when F1 was professionally organised like those in America and European countries, they are still doing poorly. It’s not the organisation, it’s the sport itself.

• The same organisers made MotoGP in Sepang success every year. While F1 every year got less and less spectators. So isit organiser problem or the race problem?

• Jonn Dol on Apr 19, 2019 at 9:11 am

SIC should better promote (TV & newspaper ads. , internet) the Sepang rounds of the lesser known EWC, WTCR & SuperGT to attract more crowds.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 19, 2019 at 9:16 am

in singapore, step out of hotel…got f1 race already. in malaysia, step out of hotel, need travel for almost an hour only can reach racetrack. dirty toilets at racetrack.

• Albert Yong on Apr 19, 2019 at 9:26 am

Tun’s vision for F1 is amazing. I am confident it will come back to Malaysia and this time it will make more money.

Thank you Tun for guiding our country to greater heights!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 26
  • Einstein on Apr 19, 2019 at 9:41 am

“Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.” – George Santayana

Malaysians are so fond of this when they chose to bring back their darkest history and re-live them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Anonymous on Apr 19, 2019 at 10:34 am

CORRECTION. People don’t need nor want this. This is TunM’s persoanal agenda. The cabinet did not decide on this. This is to feed TunM’s personal wish and fancies.

• isuzuki on Apr 19, 2019 at 9:42 am

Is that good or bad? LOL

• casual rider on Apr 19, 2019 at 9:46 am

Pls Tun, make it happen again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
  • Angry Voters on Apr 19, 2019 at 9:55 am

Speechless. Is this what we voted for? Really regret it now. Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • thykrupp on Apr 19, 2019 at 10:09 am

F1 is an expensive and unprofitable game for host country. We shouldn’t revive it at current financial condition.

• Mr. Octopus on Apr 19, 2019 at 10:41 am

I support if its a night race. That’s the main thing keeping Malaysian spectators away, the HOT BLAZING SUN and also the ticket prices.

• formula E on Apr 19, 2019 at 10:47 am

i would like to see formula E in Malaysia.

• John Doe on Apr 19, 2019 at 10:48 am

So it’s true that LKS was de-barked last year…
    I miss those days how he make a seemingly simple message extremely complicated with his dictionary jargons…
    It’s all good…

• bieight on Apr 19, 2019 at 11:07 am

what a joke

• Daddy-Kasi on Apr 19, 2019 at 11:36 am

With good dedication you may succeed in life. Especially if you are children of a Prime Minister

• John suka mahatir suka F1 on Apr 19, 2019 at 11:46 am

If u gays dont like f1, go kys thanks. Mahatir is doing something right by bringing f1 back to malaysia. U gays cant even do something right in ur entire miserable lives haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • P. Alyanna on Apr 19, 2019 at 2:39 pm

If Pakatan blinded supporters think bringing back F1 is a great idea, then fine!!!

Go find your own source of funding from the US masters or from a billionaire that nearly killed our currency or from a tycoon in Hong Kong or from HIS hidden riches in a ranch. Go see if they are willing to stomach the losses for another 10 years, why don’t you?

Do it without a single sen from the taxpayer and you have our blessings to go ahead. You folks are the epitome of what @Einstein pointed above.

• John Doe on Apr 19, 2019 at 3:37 pm

We got our English right.
      If you praise knowledge as well as you praise M, you may actually get a better job compared to what you’re doing now.

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 19, 2019 at 12:24 pm

Out dated idea. Gone are the days when Sepang F1 was the only race in this part of the world.

Today we have other Asian cities hosting F1, fans have a wider choice, no longer like those days when there was only Sepang race. Plus, the after party in Sepang just can’t beat even Singapore. We have official & unofficial restrictions.

Don’t waste what limited money we now have. This F1 idea no longer is attractive in bringing in revenue. Less & less are watching F1 worldwide, it’s now boring. F1 will NOT draw in addition tourist. Better to give visa free entry to Chinese tourists, like what Thailand did.

• Benham on Apr 19, 2019 at 5:20 pm

I, a regular rakyat, will definitely not going to watch F1.