Autobacs fully synthetic engine oils now in M’sia – four grades, semi-synthetic to come in Q3 2019

Japanese automotive parts retailer Autobacs has now brought its range of fully synthetic engine oils into the Malaysian market, having signed an exclusive distribution deal with CKL Group, the parent company of the Lim Tayar network of service outlets.

The Japanese brand’s fully synthetic oils in 5W-30, 5W-40, 0W-20 and 0W-30 viscosity grades for both petrol and diesel engines are now available for the Malaysian market, with the brand’s semi-synthetic oil set for introduction here in the third quarter of this year.

All grades of Autobacs fully synthetic engine oil come in 4L packs and 1L packs. The 5W-30, 5W-40 and 0W-20 grades of oil are priced at RM252 for the 4L pack and RM68 for the 1L pack, while the 0W-30 grade of oil is priced at RM298 and RM75 for the 4L pack and 1L pack, respectively.

According to Autobacs, the 5W-30 and 5W-40 grades of fully synthetic oil are for petrol and diesel vehicles, while the 0W-20 and 0W-30 grades of oil are for petrol and diesel vehicles with idle-stop (automatic stop-start) functions.

“Autobacs is very pleased to enter this distribution agreement with CKL Group so we may bring our products, formulated with Japanese R&D technology, to a wider group of consumers in Malaysia. We look forward to a long and prosperous working relationship with CKL Group,” said Autobacs manager of overseas business Hidemitsu Ansai.

The CKL Group comprises vehicle servicing, automotive retail distribution and vocational education, while its Lim Tayar vehicle service network currently has 20 outlets across the country, with plans for further expansion in the works. As for Autobacs, the Japanese brand was founded in 1948 as a wholesaler and retailer of automotive parts in Osaka, Japan, and presently has 600 outlets in its home country.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Engineer on Apr 25, 2019 at 7:50 pm

Made in Japan or Made in Malaysia?

• arthur lee on Apr 25, 2019 at 9:50 pm

How much plse? Pricing..

• Malayan on Apr 25, 2019 at 10:03 pm

Trust your Petronas oil. It is proven with F1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Galvin on Apr 26, 2019 at 3:32 am

As long not from Fujitoyo company

• willie on Apr 26, 2019 at 8:35 am

Is this a re-brand, like buying Tesco tissue where they don’t produce themselves, toyota engine oil = penzoil etc etc. I check in lazada of autobacs, results are wiper !

10 years ago, mentioned from JAPAN, very sellable, now consumer have more knowledge, unless its cheaper than oil maker from Castrol, Shell, Mobil, Caltex, than can try.

• Never mention pricing wth Paultan?!
    Help ppl do Ads also need to do complete mah, not let ppl keep guess the price & where it come from(packaging in MY??) LOL

• SS Low on Apr 26, 2019 at 10:33 am

PT, your report is not complete and useful without indicating the price to readers!

• abdullah Hassan on Nov 13, 2023 at 2:11 am

Hello, I am Abdullah from Iraq
    Can I be your agent in my country? Can we work with you? I work in the automotive field