Kuala Lumpur’s bicycle lane programme will get a further boost with a new route from Taman Melati, Setapak to Kampung Baru, expected to be completed by 2020. According to Datuk Mohd Najib Mohd, director of planning for Dewan Bandaraya Kuala Lumpur (DBKL), this initiative is to expedite travel for those living in the respective areas.
“We find that Sungai Bunus has a well-organised road where we can add lanes for cyclists, pedestrians and for exercising,” said Mohd Najib in a Bernama report. “If anyone wishes to cycle to their work place, it won’t take long, only 20 minutes to here (Sungai Bunus) from Taman Melati,” Mohd Najib said.
Eliminating the drive to work will help lower carbon monoxide emissions and raise awareness on the importance of keeping rivers clean, saying this during the Rediscover Sungai Bunus Fun Cycle programme in conjunction with the World Earth Day. The 7 kilometre cycling event, organised by LA21, the Department of Drainage and Irrigation (DID) and DBKL, was attended by 200 participants from public and private sectors.
waste money & resources. only kids ride bicycle
Masa hujan, blue lane amat licin & bahaya kpd penunggang motosikal. Miros kene turun padang.
Lorong kereta dikecilkan. Merbahaya betul kerana kereta dan lori amat rapat. Spesifikasi lebar lorong kereta dikompromi.
DBKL should convert these blue lanes into motorcycle lanes.FRom KLCC to Jln Sultan ismail/Jln Ampang junction,I hardly see bicycles.It is simply too dangerous to ride a bicycle nowadays.The roads have become quite narrow now,with the bikes roaming in and out of traffic.
DBKL…we are not paris or melbourne where the degree of civic mindedness is very high.Here,the bikers have simply become too dangerous if we give them too many lanes to manouvre .Just give them the blue lanes.Fine and jail them if they overtake dangerously from other lanes.
‘We find that Sungai Bunus has a well organised-road…’
This comes from a director of planning. I bet its well organised by accident as other road system is a mess.
Someone needs to get fired over this idiotic idea. 1. Nobody cycles around KL except for foreign workers. This isn’t Holland. The climate is not suitable. 2. There is no space for cycling lanes so they are put on roads and footpaths making the road and footpaths unusable. Some of the traffic lanes in KL are too narrow for a normal car to use. 3. How much is this white elephant costing? They never mention costs in the articles. Then, of course, we’ll have the cost to remove them when DBKL finally realises their failure.
I’m not against cycling but I’m very strongly against idiotic ideas.
Completely useless. Please go to Damansara Damai. all this cyclist lane become burger stall, goreng pisang stall.
If you want a bicycle lane that cyclists can use, please ensure that they are clear for bicycles to use.
Just walk to the bicycle lane outside DBKL, you will find cars parked all along the lane, making it dangerous for cyclists to use.
I am all for a bicycle lane, but enforcement need to be consistant to prevent the tidak apathy from creeping in.
The weather is not a factor why people don’t cycle. The blocked paths is.
Can the authorities look into bicycle lanes all around Puchong, Subang Jaya, USJ, Glenmarie & PJ. One cant cycle to/from these destinations without going onto roads meant for cars & heavy vehicles.
I wanna see the DBKL mayor cycle everyday on this lane. See whether he enjoys it, or sweating like crazy just under 5 min of cycling…
If wanna promote cycling, do it in the neigborhood, or public park.
what is the point to repaint on existing walking lane? Cyclist is not as stupid as you think they only cycling on blue lane area.
clearly bicycle lane is just a plain stupid idea. Who want to go to work riding bicycle sweaty in hot or sometimes wet rain weather. I read somewhere dbkl spent millions ringgit for this nobody use blue lane.