Subaru Malaysia revises its five-year/100k km warranty

Subaru Malaysia (Motor Image Malaysia) has announced that it now offers a more comprehensive five-year/100,000 km warranty for new Subaru cars sold in the country, applicable to all vehicles registered from April 25, 2019 onwards.

While the company’s previous warranty package is of the same period/mileage, the coverage was limited for certain vehicle systems. In detail, items such as the car’s suspension, electrical, fuel, air-conditioning, airbags and safety restraints, exhaust and steering systems were only covered up to the third year of ownership. Only the engine, along with the drivetrain and transmission were covered up to the full five years.

With the new revised warranty programme, all these systems are now covered for the full period/mileage, which is five years/100,000 km – the company says this provides customers with better peace of mind during ownership.

There are terms and conditions, as you’d expect. Owners must follow the prescribed scheduled service intervals, and servicing must be carried out at authorised Subaru service centres. Additionally, owners who use non-genuine parts or perform technical modifications that are not approved by the company will not be eligible for the programme.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Truckers on May 31, 2019 at 3:23 pm

Calls it a five year warranty but majority of the car is up to 3 years. Why not call it 3+ years warranty? The way they go about is very sneaky and slightly dishonest. Subaru Malaysia, you just dug your grave in this country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 16
    • Truckers didnt read article on May 31, 2019 at 6:03 pm

Did you read the article?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • Truckers on May 31, 2019 at 10:07 pm

“In detail, items such as the car’s suspension, electrical, fuel, air-conditioning, airbags and safety restraints, exhaust and steering systems were only covered up to the third year of ownership. Only the engine, along with the drivetrain and transmission were covered up to the full five years.”

And did you? ROFL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
        • stupid. baca betul2 la bro. ni previous..now all covered 5 years. bangang

• Truckers on Jun 02, 2019 at 9:06 pm

Sorry. I am an idiot

• Kelvin Ong on Feb 04, 2020 at 12:16 pm

Bro, no need to call people stupid or bangang. Try to be nice, the world will be a better place for it

• Vedder on Jun 02, 2019 at 9:05 am

Please see a doctor. It sounds like you have simple comprehension problems. 1 + 1 = ? Please answer without googling.

• Farhan on Jun 03, 2019 at 11:36 am

Tak faham english, or pretend to understand.. Sounds like a real Trucker to me

• felt that not fair to owner who register before 25 april 2019, even also purchase new XV model

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 31, 2019 at 3:44 pm

only after scandal on paper they do something tsk tsk

• Open minded on May 31, 2019 at 9:48 pm

Yeah.. Better than doing nothing right… Feeling supreme all the time because regular joes r always regular.

• To be fair. Other manufacturers do use this as well. Have you all checked your warranty fine prints. Normally 5 years covers engine and gearbox and electronics.

Aircond, suspension, etc are normally not covered.

• Darren on May 31, 2019 at 4:41 pm

Many are updating to cover all parts in the car for 5 years. When the competition is doing that, those who don’t will be left behind. Subaru are just doing this half-heartedly.

• Subaru XT owner on May 31, 2019 at 4:25 pm

Warranty is bullshit

service technician waited until the 3 years warranty period is over only notify that my vehicle control arm and bushings have to be changed and they are no longer in warranty.

I’ve repeated told them during previous services that my vehicle is feeling wobbly and unstable. They just told me my vehicle is fine and alignment has to be done.

Subaru owners please check your service warranty booklet for parts under warranty to avoid similar case like mine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
    • XV owner on May 31, 2019 at 9:49 pm

Thanks for sharing.

• alias on May 31, 2019 at 9:58 pm

How about your rear tyre bearing? Got issue with that or not because mine just got replaced n no warranty

• Ollie on May 31, 2019 at 9:10 pm

This is a very poorly written article. English fail. But more importantly, there is no such thing as must service with the dealer and get fleeced. You can service at any workshop when with OEM non-Subaru branded parts and still have warranty honoured. Can Paul tan support this legislation or any consumer body, as they do in modern countries?

• Susukotak on Jun 01, 2019 at 4:41 am

Sorry Ollie.. we are still in cave. Not modern enough for any workshop.

• alias on May 31, 2019 at 9:54 pm

My xv aircond did not even last 3yrs and shortly after need to change rear tyre bearing n no warranty for that, common issues apparently

• Hahaha.. Subaru is junk , only the AWD system rocks – a Subaru WRX 2015 cvt owner

• Teo Boon Pin on Sep 06, 2019 at 5:01 pm

Subaru Malaysia service center technician skills is best of the best, even better than official subaru headquarter in Japan. > Remove wheel steering with airbag without turn off engine and unplug car bettery connector. >>Checking CVT oil level and top up CVT oil without use laptop or other instruments to check existing CVT oil temperature. >>>Tigther critical nut without use torque wrenches.. When question them, they feedback “are you a qualify subaru technician or am I a qualify subaru technician? Please go back to customer waiting room, here is dengerous area, subaru do not insure your safety. Thanks.

• Teo Boon Pin on Sep 06, 2019 at 5:07 pm

U are right.