Top 10 most stolen vehicles in Malaysia in Q1 2019 – Proton Wira on top, Toyota Hilux highest non-national

During the launch of its Vehicle Theft Awareness Campaign 2019, the Vehicle Theft Reduction Council of Malaysia (VTREC) also shared a list of the top 10 most stolen vehicles in the country in the first half of 2019. As usual, a ubiquitous national car continued to top the list.

That car was the Proton Wira, with a total of 127 units stolen in the first three months alone, while the older Saga Iswara followed with 82 units. Close behind was the Perodua Kancil with 70 units reported stolen, and while perennial second placer Toyota Hilux has slipped to fourth, 52 units were still nicked, making it the most “popular” non-national model.

Further down the list were the Perodua Myvi (49 units), Proton Waja (41 units) and Proton Saga (40 units), while the Nissan Vanette continues to be a hot item among thieves with 36 units stolen. Two of Honda’s bestselling sedans, the Civic and City, rounded off the list with 28 units and 24 units respectively.

On a more positive note, the number of thefts continues to decrease, with 35,953 vehicles reported stolen last year. That’s a 15% reduction compared to 2017, and it also represents a 49% reduction over the course of five years.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Sparcov on Jun 26, 2019 at 5:01 pm

Vehicles stolen for car parts, Myvi for sport rims.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
    • Kuih lapis on Jun 26, 2019 at 6:01 pm

Luckily Perodua is using a game changing security system on their cars so thieves are lazy to steal Perodua cars, and a lesson for Proton to learn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 57
      • Maximoff on Jun 27, 2019 at 12:55 pm

Kah kah. Nothing is secure about perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • You are right. Thieves lazy to steal Perodua because Peroduas not worth it! Finally, some honesty from you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • panjang. on Jun 26, 2019 at 5:02 pm

1.Would be very interesting which generation of the models is favoured by the thieves.

2.Toyota not only losing ground on sales, even thief does not want it as much as before.

3.Despite what most people said, Proton is ‘hot’ in the market with 4 very old models in the top 10 albeit in the wrong race.

4.Local grads prefer non national car but local thieves stay close to their roots supporting local produce.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
    • Used Proton Satria lesser and lesser ,

• Well, grads want new cars, thieves are supporting modder communities that are racing using these outdated Protons. Go Figure. I mean you can’t fault them, those old Mitsubishi rebadges were terribly reliable. 1st Gen saga was the best selling new car in the UK when it debuted, subsequent generations haven’t even been sent back there yet…

• Mario and Bros on Jun 26, 2019 at 5:06 pm

Besides Perodua Kancil is the third perennial placer of stolen car, Perodua Myvi wheels also stolen by thieves. Sure Perodua Owners will regret if buying new Myvi and even other Perodua Models as well.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 10
  • Nasi kandar on Jun 26, 2019 at 5:08 pm

This is a shocking news! Looking at the picture above, now we know that many old Proton cars are being stolen easily. This means that Proton is using a game over security system on their cars. This is also why Proton cannot improve. I hope Proton can admit their mistake and use a game changing security system to make Proton cars harder for thieves to steal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 93
    • So, what about the Hilux? A 100k pickup same security as a 40k Proton, right?

• The reason why Proton cars are high on the list is, that other cars fell apart and had been scrapped already.

• redpilled on Jun 27, 2019 at 8:34 am

Douchebag, you forgot to mention your beloved Totoya Hilux oso has lau-ya security system hence it’s the only truck crooks love to steal. No other trucks on the list wor…..

• Bro, you are talking about a car which is more 20 years old! Even Toyotas, Nissans, Mazdas, Fords, Peroduas, etc, are easily stolen back then. Security against car theft was very low then. Only high end cars had decent security in those era.

• Iqbal9510 on Jun 28, 2019 at 9:37 pm

And someone like me that seldomly lock my wira might contribute to that statistic

• Mario and Bros on Jun 26, 2019 at 5:10 pm

Even Hilux is also one of stolen cars which placed to fourth position. This will also regret to Hilux Owners. For safety before you buy pick up truck, don’t buy Hilux. Besides that, you shouldn’t buy Nissan Navara as well because Nissan Navara got lots of CVT issues after buying for several months. So it is safer to buy Ford Ranger or Mitsubishi Triton

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 22
    • Hate to break your bubbles but
      1) Navarro uses 7-speed transmission with manual mode and not CVT
      2) Ford Ranger with ZF transmission tends to overheat a lot unless you get the latest version with 10-speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 98
    • Capricorn on Jun 26, 2019 at 9:13 pm

DMAX is the smart choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Mario and Bros on Jun 27, 2019 at 11:38 am

But Triton and Ford Ranger have more power and more safety than DMAX

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 26, 2019 at 5:25 pm

That’s quite impressive for cars that Proton no longer sells for the past 10 years. Shows how popular the Wira and Iswara is. Just wonder why are people swiping the Vannette for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Either stripped down for spare parts or to carry stuff (smuggling).

• Crime, obviously. Compact vans are very practical, from theft to kidnappings. Old Proton models were very reliable, can’t fault that efficient Japanese tech. 1st Gen Saga under the name Knight, was the best selling new car in the UK when it debuted. A feat unmatched by any other Proton, nor National car since.

• panjang on Jun 27, 2019 at 2:18 pm

Vannette is reliable, cheap to run and multi purpose.
      People uses it ( be it legally owned or stolen ) to transport worker and equipment. Most of it becomes mobile toolbox for contractor or mobile storage for pasar malam traders and of course…crime.

• Daddykasi on Jun 26, 2019 at 6:59 pm

Hidup proton!

• Almost 100 cars are stolen per day!!!!! It’s still a very big number. Clearly shows that stealing vehicles here is easy work for the thieves. What are the authorities really doing about it?

• redpilled on Jun 27, 2019 at 12:03 pm

What are owners doing to prevent from being a victim, that’s the question you should be asking. Authorities will only act after the fact. It’s up to owners to be vigilant.

• astute on Jun 26, 2019 at 11:25 pm

Most Hilux are ‘reported’ stolen for insurance money. Most of them are somewhere driving around on plantations without a license.

• Jimho on Jun 26, 2019 at 11:27 pm

My ’93 Iswara Aeroback has been so problematic & so distressful to me. I park it outside my house so that someone could steal it & I would cont to walk & ride my motorcycle. So far it’s still there & only the durians in the car were stolen!

• Dude, if you can’t even maintain an Iswara in decent condition, you deserve to walk. My 1991 Saga 1.5 is still going strong with timely oil change and occasional preventive maintenance. Parts are cheap and easy to find.

• panjang on Jun 27, 2019 at 2:22 pm

I really doubt he can walk…everything is problematic to him.

The durian thief needs to be toughts a lesson though.

• Azam Ali on Jun 27, 2019 at 1:04 am

the trend doesn’t change for the last 10 years. google search about stolen cars in MY 2009 also reveals #1 is wira, followed by hilux for non-national model. the only difference was Camry used to be on the top 10 hot list.

• Leonardo on Jun 27, 2019 at 4:35 pm

I wanted to buy a pre-owned Toyota Hilux recently as it is the most rugged and reliable pick up in Malaysia. (I owned a Toyota Landcrusier ll before). But I changed my mind after the used car dealer told me that the insurance is only covered by Toyota themselves and is more expensive. No other insurance companies would want to insure a Toyota Hilux due to its high theft rate.
    So I bought a Triton instead.
    Toyota should have invested in a better anti theft system as this problem have been going on for at least 10 years already. And the Hilux is not exactly cheap.

• T Vs F on Jun 27, 2019 at 6:05 pm

Would you rather own a Hilux and if stolen but insured for at least RM40k or own a Ford Ranger and stolen and insured for only RM10k according to market value? Also, please consider that insurance company pay out only 80-90% or market value for total loss (including stolen) cars

• They purposely lost the Proton Wira so that can claim total lost from insurance

• Vehicle Theft Reduction Council of Malaysia (VTREC)??
    really?
    we need such organisation?
    whose paying their salary?