Can you bring your motorcycle helmet into Malaysia?

A photo from Ministry of Superbike Singapore has been making the rounds of Facebook, showing a banner set up at an unnamed Royal Malaysian Customs checkpoint. The wording on the banner, in English, says that individuals are prohibited from bringing in a helmet into Malaysia that does not comply with standards.

The quality standards in question are United Nations Regulation R22 for protective helmets and visors and Malaysian Standard 1 (MS)1 specifications for protective helmets for vehicle users. The notice states that any person bringing a non-compliant helmet into Malaysia without proper permit (sic) from the JPJ will be detained by Customs.

However, the notice fails to state if such a ruling applies to helmets currently used by the rider or for helmets imported new into the country, having been bought overseas and hand carried into Malaysia for personal use. The author, having travelled extensively overseas for motorcycle tests and reviews, has always carried his own helmet and not faced a single problem entering a foreign country or re-entering Malaysia.

This regulation has taken many by surprise with comments about the lack of transparency in the implementation as the vagueness of the wording. We have reached out to Customs and will update if we get any news.

What do you think? Another bureaucratic hurdle that inconveniences the rakyat or necessary regulation to prevent the import of substandard safety equipment? Leave a comment with your thoughts and opinions.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Syabas kastam MY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • s.Ibrahim on Jul 09, 2019 at 2:21 pm

Mau cari duit lettew… tak pasal2 tax sana tax sini

• Happyland on Jul 09, 2019 at 8:13 pm

Many tourist buying helmets from Indonesia

• Later AirAsia planes filled with passengers wearing helmet, konon le nak extra safety in the airplane. kuikuikui

• Alex Chan on Jul 09, 2019 at 5:45 pm

Most of the abang abang from JB like to do this bad habit. Try to save a few bucks but buy helmet in Singapore. Constantly breaking the law as they feel it is their right to do so

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • Ghani on Jul 10, 2019 at 10:07 pm

I don’t see what is the problem by getting original branded helmets at a cheaper price in Singapore compared to risk getting fake branded & unsafe helmets at more expensive prices locally. If there is a law then this is a law that should be broken in order to make roads safer.

• willie on Jul 09, 2019 at 11:02 am

if its also mention UN R22, could be related to DOT, SHARP, ECE which complies with R22? its likely the adult/kiddos helmet that looks like iron man etc which are made in china with apparently no certificate at all could be what they meant?

• JohnnyT on Jul 11, 2019 at 1:50 pm

Upon a small investigation into the Fact, UN R22 spells for ECE if I didn’t read it wrongly. And it seems like Malaysia Standard favours ECE and MS over than the rest (even SNELL, SHARP, and JIS).

• willie on Jul 09, 2019 at 11:10 am

Mohan, no need post but found this site at LS2 Helmet facebook which i guess summarized, unless if no mention of R22, than many concern helmet user on safety would be in trouble.

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=1820322904651844&id=681007988583347

Things you should know, Helmet Knowledge – What is ECE ?
    The ECE 22.05 helmet was made by the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe, and is the most common helmet standard used internationally used by over 50 countries worldwide.
    Helmets certified to ECE 22.05 are approved for all competition events by AMA, WERA, FIM, CCS, Formula USA and MotoGP and are used by almost every professional motorcycle racer competing in world championship road racing, motocross and off-road events. It is very similar to the DOT standard as it favours a more impact-absorbent helmet allowing a maximum g-force of 275. The ECE has more in common with DOT than Snell, and is likely to pass the DOT test and vice-versa.
    Even though it doesn’t get a lot of attention in the U.S., the ECE standard motorcycle helmet certification, R22.05, is actually the most widely used in the world; it is recognized by over 50 countries and every major racing organization you can think of.

• Noname on Jul 09, 2019 at 11:17 am

No compromise on safety.
    The more certified helmets the better, in the face of many fake and counterfeit ones

• Must plotek Givi. Meanwhile Shoei is so much more better but cannot pass. Why?

Helmet buyers should only care about whether it has been approved for usage by SIRIM, not JPJ. How would JPJ (see: Loke) know anything about technicalities of helmet protection? More redtape (see: taxation) for the sellers & buyers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • dong gor on Jul 09, 2019 at 11:37 am

Should the banner go through a thorough grammar check by someone qualified before being put out to public? in a way it also represents the malaysia image as a more developed country!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Pulsar Rider on Jul 09, 2019 at 11:51 am

my helmet bought online from Shoppe shipped from overseas currently being held by Malaysian Royal Custom

• My advice is, don’t try hand carrying in your imported helmet through the custom checks or couriering it in bcos both ways u will get your helmet confiscated.
    U need to show prove of purchase, pay the duties based on the purchase value and then only allowed to bring it home. Not worth the hassle as its not a straight forward process..

In other words, the gov wants u to get ur Arai / Shoei/ AGV / HJC / Shark / Schuberth / Noland helmets through local dealers which have the sirim sticker on it..

Any1 else hv jalan belakang suggestions?

• jane doe on Jul 09, 2019 at 3:08 pm

It’s the way the gov agencies wan make sure the imported helmets are safe & most importantly genuine product especially for the popular helmets.. Now a days, any1 can replicate helmet n put fake inspection stickers on it..
      ps. also this is how they create revenue la, though sirim/ms helmet test standards are no where complete or as complex as DOT/ECE/Snell standards..

• Hafiz Hisham on Jul 09, 2019 at 5:29 pm

I can say for certain, buying helmet online from reputable websites like Amazon, Ebay, or even Lazada and going for reputable sellers with very good ratings, you have better chance of getting ori than buying from local shops.

• borntolive on Jul 09, 2019 at 3:16 pm

buy a cheap ass helmet, pull out the sticker and slap it on your new helmet.

• Hafiz Hisham on Jul 09, 2019 at 4:03 pm

Go to Singapore with cheap throwaway helmet, buy that helmet you wanted and use it to come back?

• svherman on Jul 09, 2019 at 12:17 pm

The cynic in me wonders whether there are vested parties that stand to gain. But in maintaining objectivity…

Mohan has covered the question of defining “bringing in helmets”. The other question is would other standards such as Snell, ECE 22 or Sharp be recognised as alternatives? I have a hard time believing the UN & MS ones are more stringent.

If it’s about weeding out the unsafe products then globally recognised standards should be accepted as well. Those that buy helmets from overseas are mainly due to price and variety. No one picks one up that’s a safety hazard. I for one, rue the limited range available locally (looking at you Arai).

• Rizal on Jul 09, 2019 at 12:21 pm

If one purchased branded helmet e.g. AGV, Bell, Shoei through Amazon, will it be confiscated by Kastam due to no MS standard sticker ? Does Kastam recognize Snell or EU compliance ?

• Annoynimouse on Jul 09, 2019 at 12:41 pm

OMG! the language ! Teacher, please help.

• Faris Ariffin Mohd Azizan on Jul 09, 2019 at 12:45 pm

Bulls**t

• KWTay on Jul 09, 2019 at 12:56 pm

another bureaucratic hurdle under the disguise of “safety”

• alldisc on Jul 09, 2019 at 1:00 pm

The standard is set by UN, not by someone living in Jinjang. There is nothing wrong with that. And the issue on concern is your own safety. The Ministers of Malaysia don’t lose anything upon your death because of you helmet low level of protection.

I mean how difficult it is for helmet manufacturers to get their products certified? We are not asking to FIM standards. UN standards is world wide accepted. The keyword here i care. The many years Mohan flew to many countries without problem carrying his helmet – that was what…. The 90s. 20-30 years back. You need to change your mindset to adapt for the better.

• Same L0rr on Jul 09, 2019 at 1:04 pm

Aiyo.. Buy ex5 better

• Ben Yap on Jul 09, 2019 at 1:18 pm

the bunting has too many grammatical mistakes. so embarrassing.

• Pulau Ujong Dwellers on Jul 09, 2019 at 1:40 pm

imho there intention is to tax those parallel importers from Singaputera.
    It’s stupidious to check and verify every rider’s safety helmet crossing the custom!
    besides checking motorcyclist helmet, why not as well check and verify their motorcycle tires, brake pad, lighting, emission, complied as per JPJ permit? If the motorcycle traffic at custom check not heavy or queue enough?

• panjang on Jul 09, 2019 at 7:47 pm

Nahh….that income is soo small and insignificant. Think abt something cynical..

• Think volume dude. Think hundreds of thousands crossings everyday.

• John Doe on Jul 09, 2019 at 2:24 pm

What a *** joke this MOT

• What if a rider rides his or her motorcycle in from Singapore or to Singapore or Thailand and return wearing his helmet. Does that mean it is against this law?

• djlcs on Jul 09, 2019 at 2:51 pm

The standard of English is laughable. Jaguh kampung all.

• Now the question here, is because of no jpj permit OR not comply UN standard? This is totally 2 conditions.
    If i buy international brand shoei or arai then how? Don’t tell me those manufacturer not comply

• Safety First on Jul 09, 2019 at 5:25 pm

Obviously its the former because then they can make more money. Loke is on a warpath to make as much money as possible. Safety? He doesn’t give a frack if it doesn’t earn him money.

• YSUKUriti on Jul 09, 2019 at 5:16 pm

Why specifically “motorcycle” helmet? Can’t it be any helmets?
    Does this means it applies to only motorcyclist?
    And in the banner it specifically mentioned “any passenger”. What kind of passenger?

• Rafa Said on Jul 09, 2019 at 6:30 pm

It’s true. When we evacuated from Kuwait in 1990, I carried a BMW full-faced helmet. The custom stopped me and asked for permit and what not. I told them if they didn’t let me take the helmet through I would create a scene. By the way there were a lot of reporters around, families waiting for loved ones, minister and a big crowd. I got it! Phew.

• This regulation is all horse shit intended to protect towkays of helmet importers in malaysia. They seriously think helmets like Nolan Shoei Arai Bell purchased overseas and brought in by individuals for personal use, which has a MUCH HIGHER quality and safety standard is not safe for use in this god dammned forsaken country? What???? Our rm40 Apollo helmets which carries the sirim MS1 standard is safer??? BULLSHIT!!!!

• Knott Gonzaga on Jul 09, 2019 at 7:40 pm

Well, at least your gov’t is getting serious regarding your safety. In the Philippines, a lot of china made copies of branded helmets abound everywhere since ICC (import compliant certificate)sticker is sold underground for a minimal fee, not to mention the substandard plastic materialed helmets sold in the sidewalks with the faked ICC sticker, yet no one from government dare remind the population of the dangers with their use. It’s like complying to law in spite of the hazards by their use

• Read between the lines. It only needs JPJ permit which meant they don’t really care about the originality of these helmets brought in as long they get their importation money. That’s how our current government works.

• BOYRACER on Jul 09, 2019 at 10:19 pm

I think you get the point.The problem is the English used is a bit vague.It’s the fake products are the real problems here

• Elchino on Jul 10, 2019 at 11:19 am

There is also a notice stating u can only bring in medications/supplements for your own use for a month only. You no long can buy for your friend and family. Fine if $25,000 if caught. Why?

• MengkuduMasam on Jul 10, 2019 at 12:46 pm

Most of branded like Shoei, Bell, Schuberg etc helmets comply with international standard.

is SIRIM certification so big even international safety standard can be nullified?

as long as it meet the standard safety sud be allow.

ni sbb depa nak tax laa nih… byk beli direct dr jepun sbb lg murah kalo beli locally

• There are riders in MY who do not even wear helmets.

As usual this is all about the $

• So how? Still can buy Arai through online store overseas or not?

• Mr CB500X on Jul 26, 2019 at 9:55 am

No problem… Motorcycle = RM100k Helmet=Swan(SIRIM) Approved around RM50+ So Malaysia motorcycle shop should put agent at boarder. Selling Malaysia approved helmet.

• Mr Reader on Oct 19, 2019 at 4:19 am

Found this on Arai Eu website. It seems that they are concerned about buying helmets from other countries as well.

Important Warning concerning buying helmets from other countries.
    Each world market requires different helmet standards. Never purchase helmets from outside your market as they may not comply with legally required standards for your country, not to mention their interior fit may not have been designed for your market and as a result may be very uncomfortable.

Helmets purchased from outside a given market are not eligible for after-sales service or warranty claims. Arai and its authorized agents cannot endorse the continued use of a noncertified helmet.

• Arif Shoei on Mar 17, 2021 at 10:35 pm

i bought my helmet from japan through online app, but been detained by custom, they give me the form for approval/permit that need to submit to JPJ, but the problem is, the form need the detail like UN (united nation) number from the helmet, can someone help me buy recognise the UN number for Shoei J Stream Coture for me? Or you have any better idea that can solve my problem, really appreciate it.

• Anson Wong on Nov 08, 2021 at 5:25 pm

probably one of the dumbest laws.
    online purchases of arai, shoei, nolan bla bla bla needs approval/certification from jpj vs sirim certified Apollo helmets. lol

• Masrizal on Jul 09, 2022 at 3:24 pm

Bought my helmet via Lazada. Helmet from China. Arrived Malaysia on 4th July at 0845am and the helmet was subjected to Custom inspection. At 1421pm, my helmet was handed over to Lazada courier. On 5th July, I received my helmet. So grateful that my helmet was cleared by the Royal Malaysian Customs.