Perodua Aruz called for inspection over possible airbag sensor issue, involving over 3,000 units

Perodua has announced that a number of units of the Aruz are being called for inspection over possible airbag sensor issue. The exercise involves over 3,000 units of the SUV built before February 15 this year.

The automaker said it was conducting the safety campaign as a result of the Toyota Rush being recalled in the Philippines over airbag sensors deemed as “too sensitive,” in which the curtain airbags may deploy when hitting road bumps at speeds of 60 km/h and above.

Perodua said that the issue has not affected Malaysian models yet, but will carry out inspection and replacement of the part as a precaution. The entire process will take 30 minutes to accomplish, with all costs to be borne by the company.

“We have better roads, but as a responsible company, we will carry an inspection process on all Aruz models made before February 15, involving over 3,000 units,” Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad said, adding that this is not a major safety concern, so customers should not worry.

He said that all owners of vehicles involved in the inspection exercise will be informed about the matter, with a number of Aruz customers having already received letters alerting them of this potential issue, asking them to bring over to service centres for inspection.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Zechariah Pinto on Jul 17, 2019 at 12:49 pm

I hope the Proton fanboys don’t come here and laugh again.

Pls laugh at the end of the day when the Profit and Loss Account comes out at the end of the year.

Till today, Proton is still losing RM4 mil per day.

Perodua is making so much of money, every year, they contribute billions in company tax to LHDN which the Government uses to building Malaysia.

Proton has been given full tax exemptions the past 20 years and have not contributed 1 sen also to LHDN. Infact, rakyat have to pay over RM20 billion in bailouts to Proton to keep it alive.

So, don’t laugh at Perodua ya. Look into your own mirror

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
    • You are so malu that your so-called good company have to recall its cars. Still want deflect away to P1 unrelated matters. Pathetic!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Safety First on Jul 17, 2019 at 5:50 pm

Make money but endangers peoples lives? Well done Perodua!

You’ve just admitted you cared more for money by ‘Rush’ing (haha!) your rebadging and production of Rush so that you unable to catch this highly dangerous defect!

You’re a very irresponsible brand for taking customers lives in exchange for their money. Shame on you!

Japanese taught safety first, but what you learnt is profits first! Shame! Shame!

• At least Perodua took the responsibility and trouble to rectify the issue.

Both the Perodua Aruz and Toyota Rush are manufactured in the same Perodua factory anyway.

Speaking of being irresponsible, do you really think that Perodua can beat the Japanese automotive parts company ‘TAKATA’ that created millions of defective airbags that killed and seriously injured dozens of people out there all because of their greed for profits?

Also, do you think that an unexpected airbag deployment is worse than airbags that shoots metal shrapnels?

• safety 1st on Jul 17, 2019 at 12:50 pm

Good move P2.

• panjang on Jul 17, 2019 at 1:10 pm

Make me remember the recall for Suzuki Swift abroad where if u are lucky and closed the rear door hard enough, the curtain airbag will deploy.

• Kak Tipah on Jul 17, 2019 at 1:13 pm

Ehh, tapi P1 takda pulak masalah airbag. Kenapa P2 boleh ada pulak? Kata hebat benar kualiti.

• Asam laksa on Jul 17, 2019 at 1:17 pm

Once again, our successful game changing national carmaker do care for people’s live. Now with problems involving the safety equipment, Perodua quickly recall all of their Aruz to have a game changing inspection. Hello Proton, when will you recall all of your cars with game over problems?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • Not Toyota Fan on Jul 17, 2019 at 3:03 pm

Looking forward to the mud slinging by both sides fanbois. Get your popcorn ready.

• Avenger on Jul 17, 2019 at 7:27 pm

I don’t see how calling out Perodua for this not catching this highly dangerous defect a mudslinging. In fact, they should be as severely punished as Honda & Takata did with their airbag scandal.