Malaysia has the cheapest petrol in the region – report

Have you ever wondered how many litres of petrol you can buy with an average Malaysian salary? Well, good news, because Picodi Analysis has prepared a report that considers the average monthly salaries and petrol prices in 17 countries in the Asia-Oceania region, with the addition of Hong Kong (Brunei is left out here).

According to the report, Malaysia has the cheapest petrol in the region, where on average, one litre of petrol costs US$0.49 (RM2.05). Yes, RON 95 has stayed at RM2.08 per litre for several weeks now, but it wasn’t always the case earlier in the year prior to the government’s involvement.

The pricing of RON 95 in the early parts of 2019 and the survey’s methodology (detailed below) are the reasons why the price used in the survey is RM2.05. Getting back on track, the most expensive place to fill the tank is outside the region in Hong Kong, with the average price per litre being US$2.15 (HKD16.89, or RM8.85).

With a salary of US$843 (RM3,494), you can therefore buy 1,707 litres of petrol with your salary in Malaysia. However, it is Australians that have the best ratio of petrol price to the average salary in the surveyed region, as an average salary of US$3,682 (AUD 5,256, or RM15,153) and fuel price of USD$0.97 (AUD 1.39, or RM3.99) per litre equates to 3,783 litres of petrol purchasable.

Coming in second place is Japan with 2006 litres, followed by South Korea in third with 1,908 litres, New Zealand in fourth with 1,852 litres. Malaysia is fifth in the 17-country survey, just ahead of Singapore with 1,598 litres. On the bottom end of the survey is Pakistan (192 litres), Cambodia (181 litres) and finally, the Philippines (158 litres).

Looking beyond the 17 countries surveyed, Picodi also considered average wages and petrol prices in over 100 countries across six continents. Based on its findings, Venezuela came first as the average salary of US$29 (RM119) nets you over 14 billion litres of petrol, which is priced at US$0.000000002 (RM0.0000000082) per litre.

Persian Gulf countries like Qatar, Kuwait and the United Arab Emirates had fuel prices of between US$0.40 (RM1.65) and US$0.60 (RM2.47), and with their respective average salaries, buyers there can get between 4,900 to 6,500 litres of petrol.

The company also explained the high positions of countries like the United States and Canada can be explained not only by high salaries but also the amount of extracted oil, while Switzerland and Luxembourg stand out with high incomes only.

As for the lowest amount of petrol that can be bought, you’ll need to go to Madagascar (42 litres), Tajikistan (131 litres) and Zambia (137 litres). The study also revealed countries that possessed a rich supply of natural resources do not always mean that petrol will be more accessible for an average consumer, as is the case in Nigeria.

To prepare the report, the firm used the average nett wages based on the latest available data provided by offices for national statistics or relevant ministries. The average prices of fuel for the first half of 2019 in over 100 countries were also taken from globalpetrolprices.com and other local sources.

The number of litres purchasable is then calculated by dividing the average wage by the average price of one litre of petrol, and to standardise the currency used in this analysis, the average exchange rate for the last 90 days is taken in account.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Two are runn on Jul 22, 2019 at 4:06 pm

Cheapest petrol with the cheapest salary in the world

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 1
    • Mr Suka Syukur Selalu XI on Jul 22, 2019 at 5:20 pm

Minyak murah, tanahair aman… Syukurr la geng.

• Real Time Haqim on Jul 22, 2019 at 5:57 pm

Permit asing dan cheapest salary berpisah tiada..

• MeToo on Jul 22, 2019 at 6:28 pm

We SHOULD have the cheapest petrol in the world, cause we are paying for one of the MOST expensive car prices in the world.

• Halim Misbun on Jul 22, 2019 at 7:07 pm

Many people here are asking for RM1.50 petrol. Why don’t you work hard and better yourselves than always asking for cheaper petrol, bantuan kerajaan and handouts?

Give you RM1.50 petrol, you will ask later for RM1.20 petrol. It never ends.

Improve your life by working harder instead of always asking subsidi, bantuan and so on.

Too much of pampering has resulted in a culture of entitlement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 29
    • Hussain Zakaria on Jul 22, 2019 at 7:50 pm

Singaporeans never complain about their petrol prices because their GDP per Capita grew every year the past 30 years to a level where even the average Government Servant earns SGD8000 per month (RM25,000)

In Putrajaya, our average Government salary is RM1200.

Both countries Merdeka same time but one country GDP PEr Capita grew so high to 3rd highest in the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 11
      • redpilled on Jul 23, 2019 at 9:31 am

You forgot to mention the big headstart Singapore had over Malaya at the time… But then again why expect a leftist to deal with facts and figures when they’re only good at lying and twisting/ spinning sh!t…

• Char koey teow on Jul 22, 2019 at 8:09 pm

Thank you PT for this game changing article. Let’s be grateful that our petrol is cheap and not complain again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
    • Given already so much, still want some more. Be grateful we live in a safe country and petrol is cheap

• Now even PT and his writers are being attacked. This has to stop. If you are unhappy you have no more dedak, you have no right to attack PT and his team

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Avenger on Jul 23, 2019 at 11:02 am

Cheap? No. Petrol should be priced RM2.05 according to this survey, so this crony government is charging us extra 3sen per liter. Accumulated it could go into millions of RM. Whose pocket did this extra profit goes into? Anak Atuk?

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 23, 2019 at 1:42 pm

We also wished that cheap petrol were true but it turns out we search everywhere but cannot find RM2.05 petrol. We still want RM1.50 petrol as per promised unfortunately this janji is just a lie.

• Question to Ponder on Jul 22, 2019 at 4:07 pm

If petrol is so cheap, why abang abang naik moto want subsidi minyak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
  • john doe on Jul 22, 2019 at 4:09 pm

And they always skipping one of the most expensive car price with INCOME level.

Compare the PPP with car price with petrol price la!

This compare individually item with different places are useless..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • Spin Too Much on Jul 22, 2019 at 7:47 pm

So right bruv! Petrol and Big Mac price. Malaysia has the cheapest in the region , apelagi mau..

• heybadigol (Member) on Jul 22, 2019 at 4:15 pm

Is this study based on nett or gross salary? Cos in Australia and Japan, maximum income tax rate is 47% and 56% (based on Wikipedia). Malaysia is 28% max. Of course, these are max rates. If you earn less, you are taxed less as well.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 22, 2019 at 4:25 pm

Yeah right. Why should we believe this now? Pakatan Harapan have been brainwashing us for the past many years that our petrol prices is the highest among the region. This coupled with the lowest salary paid in the region makes our petrol prices unaffordable as they have claimed. Why should we believe this BN paid survey now done by an unknown company? Where was this report back during 2018, 2017, 2016? Sorry but we’re not falling for the same trick again. Say NO to fake surveys! Our petrol is highest in the world so says our brainwashing masters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 9
    • Halim Misbun on Jul 22, 2019 at 7:10 pm

work harder instead of always complaining about petrol prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
      • EDITOR on Jul 23, 2019 at 9:55 am

You really should take your own advice instead of coming here daily to troll the site.

• John Doe on Jul 22, 2019 at 4:27 pm

Where’s Rafizi LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • john is otak batu on Jul 22, 2019 at 4:33 pm

Also cheapest salary/labor in the region too !

• Aura89 on Jul 22, 2019 at 4:35 pm

Interesting how this very “convenient” survey was brought up when the PH government is propping up their battered image, rapidly rising oil prices, and upcoming economic gloom predicted to fall onto Malaysia real soon.

I’m sure this is a yearly survey done so my question is; Why wasn’t this brought up in the past years? Why was this year so “special” indeed? PaulTan & crew, care to clarify if you may?

And I find it funnily they could come to a conclusion that Malaysian petrol cost RM2.05 when clearly the price of cheapest grade we could get is RM2.08. I am highly suspicious of their calculation methodology. This sounds like a paid survey done to appease certain sections of the people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 11
    • Ghani on Jul 22, 2019 at 6:35 pm

Should be RM1.92 not RM2.05

https://paultan.org/2019/01/11/jan-2019-week-two-fuel-price-petrol-down-diesel-up/

• Arthur Tan on Jul 22, 2019 at 6:42 pm

PT writes honest articles. We don’t need frustrated people commenting or implying things.

John, it is time to give up your many dupes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 23, 2019 at 5:49 pm

A scene from Spartacus; “I am John”

• JOACHIM on Jul 23, 2019 at 6:18 pm

In that case, I’m a john too.

• I agree with Aura89. The article stinks of propaganda. So call me john if you have to. I’m standing with them.

• Troll Hunter on Jul 23, 2019 at 6:25 pm

John here.

• Siam kap on Jul 23, 2019 at 6:44 pm

Call me john then.

• Angry Voters on Jul 23, 2019 at 6:55 pm

Count me in. I’m John.

• Chavez on Jul 23, 2019 at 8:34 pm

Yup. Im a john. So?

• Aura89 on Jul 23, 2019 at 8:54 pm

If that makes me a john (whoever that is) then yeah I am john. And what’s it to you that I have to be “john” to be critical of this report and poke holes in their survey method?

• Edwin L on Jul 23, 2019 at 10:29 pm

If that makes one a john, then call me john.

• Dredd on Jul 23, 2019 at 11:58 pm

I.AM.JOHN

• You want a john that will fcuk your snowflake government for their incompetence? Well Im ur john.

• Brian on Jul 24, 2019 at 8:23 am

‘John’ is not just a person now, but seems to be an ideal for truth, justice and integrity. Well make me a ‘john’ then. You want a people of ‘john’ you got a people of ‘john’.

• Jeremy on Jul 24, 2019 at 10:07 am

Don’t mind you calling me a john if that’s what it takes to scream at your government to wake up and keep to their promises.

• s.Ibrahim on Jul 24, 2019 at 11:19 am

You want john, you get a john. And what about you? A double speaking forked tongue hypocrite who kowtows to his PH paymasters. Yeah call me john, baby.

• John Doe on Jul 24, 2019 at 1:52 pm

Hi i’m back, why are you so frustrated commenting here then and what are you implying by calling our comments as dupes?
        The irony.. it hurts but don’t try to put it on others pls.

• eeeriz on Jul 23, 2019 at 8:13 am

I am not backing up Hafriz, but you have not read the line carefully. It says ‘where on average, one litre of petrol costs US$0.49 (RM2.05)’.

It says above ‘On average’ ok.

Malaysian fuel cost might be lower for several reasons and I believe it is much lesser than RM2.05 to produce a litre of RON 95 petrol.

Just don’t make a fuss here, be grateful for whatever we have now. Alhamdulillah..

• Avenger on Jul 23, 2019 at 11:04 am

Someone pointed that out below;
        Between petrol prices of RM2.08(95), RM2.67(97), RM3.10(VPower), RM3.15(Blaze100), based on which mathematical equation did they get the average price that Malaysians paid is RM2.05?

What is the average of the above.

• newme on Jul 22, 2019 at 4:39 pm

“Malaysia has the cheapest petrol in the region – report”

Whenever you see this statement, you know petrol price increase is coming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
  • newme on Jul 22, 2019 at 4:39 pm

But do we have reasonable car price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Sammy Loo on Jul 22, 2019 at 7:18 pm

Yes we do and that is the reason why there are more traffic and jam.

The cost of owning a car in Malaysia is way too cheap, a new Axia cost you RM24k only.

• Ex Ambank Staff on Jul 22, 2019 at 4:40 pm

Malaysia has the cheapest petrol then Brunai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Lolwhut? on Jul 22, 2019 at 4:49 pm

Lolwhut! I had expected better unbiased reporting from PT, not just another government mouthpiece. Bad enough we have a PH propagandist troll leaving his shits in just about every single news article.

This isn’t the right time to wear your reputation thin, my writer friends.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 32
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 22, 2019 at 4:56 pm

Do point out anything written that is inaccurate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
      • Mikey on Jul 22, 2019 at 5:20 pm

Where got RM2.05 petrol in Malaysia??

• Lolwhut? on Jul 22, 2019 at 5:47 pm

Between petrol prices of RM2.08(95), RM2.67(97), RM3.10(VPower), RM3.15(Blaze100), based on which mathematical equation did they get the average price that Malaysians paid is RM2.05? An average that is lower than the minimum, is that even possible?

And as another put it, where was this survey in 2018, 2017, 2016, et al? Please you guys are better than to rely on dubious surveys. I implore you to go take a look at that site.

• Halim Misbun on Jul 22, 2019 at 7:09 pm

I don’t see anything inaccurate here. Thanks Hafriz for a good write up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • Asam laksa on Jul 22, 2019 at 8:27 pm

Please behave Wilson, this is not a place to show game over frustations especially towards the writer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • JOACHIM on Jul 22, 2019 at 10:01 pm

“Venezuela came first as the average salary of US$29 (RM119) nets you over 14 billion litres of petrol”
        This already tells you the survey is bogus. Their ‘researcher’ would have been a trillionaire by now if 30 bucks could net you 14billion liters of petrol. I expected better, moreso from you Hafriz.

• BN Cybertrooper already melampau, now frus, he attack Paul Tan and team. Malu betul

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • John Doe on Jul 23, 2019 at 10:09 am

This article is spot on but not so on your site.
        Stop putting up politically linked articles.

• EDITOR on Jul 23, 2019 at 10:52 am

I can see that Paultan decided not to publish my comment and take up my offer to backcheck on the veracity of this survey site. This is certainly your call, but to see Paultan reportage standard can fall for bot data is certainly appalling. To the readers: caveat emptor.

• Avenger on Jul 23, 2019 at 11:08 am

Venezuela came first as the average salary of US$29 (RM119) nets you over 14 billion litres of petrol….

Yeah I’m sure Venezuelans would love to get their hands on 14billion liters of petrol per person so they don’t have that constantly chronic power outages. *slow clap*

• Chavez on Jul 23, 2019 at 8:42 pm

By not including Brunei into the list. Why? So the survey researcher cant declare us having the cheapest petrol price? Then whats the point of this survey if the data subset is skewered and why? To present the angle as said above? Why? A normal researcher wont do something like that unless they have incentives to present that angle. So is this still accurate? And laugh me die if I could get 14 billion liters of petrol back in Venezuela.

• Rahim on Jul 22, 2019 at 5:03 pm

Hello, the only one that lies is BN and their cybertroopers. Pakatan is saving the country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
      • redpilled on Jul 23, 2019 at 9:34 am

Saving the country he says…

“If you tell a lie big enough and keep repeating it, people will eventually come to believe it.” – Joseph Goebbels

• James Lim on Jul 22, 2019 at 7:03 pm

Habisla! Now BN cybertroopers trying to slander Paultan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • Facebook on Jul 22, 2019 at 4:58 pm

This is a very fair comparison. So many of them are crying about the high price of petrol in Malaysia. Please look at Indonesia, Thailand, Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia & Philippine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Mohamed Fadzil on Jul 22, 2019 at 5:08 pm

Why is Brunei always left out in any survey?

• Mamat sepahtu on Jul 23, 2019 at 10:41 am

The Brunei sultanate government gives allowances to the population, to the extend of they became less motivated to work and have own earnings.

• Recko on Jul 22, 2019 at 5:15 pm

too bad Brunei not included in this study

• Cheapest so? What the old govt couldn’t create more FDI. Hopefully the current Govt can perk the FDI n create more jobs. Meaningless to compare when we ,Malaysia salary is the lowest few in the region. Do I hear a yippee ?

• This is the most stupid way to do analysis. We don’t buy oil with all our salaries, because we don’t eat, drink, shower, wash and sleep with oil…. Other country have better plubic transport, dont forget we have higher car prices compared to some others, and to pay car loan.

• Myvi1.5s on Jul 22, 2019 at 5:52 pm

Cheaper car price is better than cheaper petrol. more disposal income.

• normal_user on Jul 22, 2019 at 8:38 pm

Why commenters here involve politics when the figures come from an independent third party research agency?

Try go to Thailand to pump fuel & see for yourself how much gas costs over there. Even their average salary is lower than ours. Not to say that our petrol is cheap, but at least ours are subsidized in a blanket way.

Even Indonesians had long queues to enjoy subsidized petrol (limited quota).

• Jeremy on Jul 22, 2019 at 9:54 pm

An independent 3rd party that has only 11 surveys to their name and of that only 1 survey done for petrol prices which is where this article derive their source of info?

And mind telling me the history of the said agency? Sorry but this is just another clickbait survey done improperly.

• Fordist on Jul 22, 2019 at 11:54 pm

Don’t lie here. Indonesian petrol stations have long queues due to constant fuel shortages, not due to limitations in quotas which no one could control anyway.

• Hong Yee Hong on Jul 22, 2019 at 9:14 pm

We look far, we wanna fly high. Our target is to be like Australia! :D

• Menteli Kenyangan on Jul 22, 2019 at 9:16 pm

Now people suddenly so grateful.. I wonder how would be the reaction if this news came out during BN era.

• ibnu bakrin on Jul 22, 2019 at 9:17 pm

Macam macam komen keluar sini. Saya sungguh puas hati bila beberapa tahun dulu petrol kita harga lebih kurang RM 1.50 seliter. Tapi tah silap mamat mana tah, naik lak petrol jadi RM 1.80 dan naik lagi lepas tu. Kalau petrol je naik xpe, tapi harge brg lain mcm rumah dan brg keperluan harian pun naik. Memang gila dan tamak betul.

• Ben Yap on Jul 23, 2019 at 9:40 am

the affordability of petrol is more important than the price of the petrol. What’s the point if government lowers the price of petrol but our salary is even lower making it “expensive”?

Why does the report exclude brunei? because it makes our country looks bad?

• Alamo on Jul 30, 2019 at 8:19 pm

Cinaman article who is pro PH. Looks like I won’t be reading your page anymore. The petrol price has always been like this and suddenly u came up with this article. I know u guys are very happy PH is now the govt. but don’t be too obviouslah. You are insulting our intelligence lorrr…