BMW X2 M35i official pricing revealed – RM398,800

BMW Malaysia has updated its 2019 price list, and this reveals the official pricing for the F39 BMW X2 M35i, which was first previewed here in May and was scheduled to arrive in showrooms this month. The flagship X2 is priced at RM398,800, on-the-road without insurance, which is not far from the estimated price of RM400,000 bandied for it at the preview.

The X2 M35i is powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine offering 306 hp and 450 Nm. Mated to the automaker’s xDrive AWD and an eight-speed automatic transmission with launch control, the variant does the 0-100 km/h run in just 4.9 seconds and gets all the way to an electronically-limited 250 km/h top speed.

Aside from the mill, the X2 M35i features an M Sport mechanical differential on the front axle to minimise traction loss on the front wheels, as well as upgraded brakes – complete with blue calipers – and a steering with revised tuning. It also gets an M Sport adaptive suspension with two selectable modes. The Malaysian-spec car rides on 20-inch Style 721M items in Cerium Grey bicolour, wrapped with 225/40 Pirelli P-Zero runflat tyres.

The exterior styling follows on that seen on the standard car’s M Sport package, with a few minor tweaks. These include a satin Cerium Grey finish for the kidney grille and wing mirror caps and dual 10cm diameter exhaust tips, the latter linked to the the car’s M Performance exhaust system with valve control.

Inside, you’ll find an M Sport package, with M sports seats (and seatbelts with M stripes) as options. Standard fit items include a Navigation Plus system with an 8.8-inch touchscreen, head-up display and a 360 watt, 12-speaker Harman Kardon audio system. At RM400k, autonomous emergency braking (AEB) still eludes the X2, unfortunately.

As is the case elsewhere in the BMW model range, the X2 M35i comes with a five-year unlimited mileage warranty with free scheduled service programme and a two-year tyre warranty programme.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Heskey on Jul 25, 2019 at 8:15 pm

This CUV same priced as Volvo XC40 in the UK.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 389 Thumb down 10
  • seancorr (Member) on Jul 25, 2019 at 9:34 pm

I’m more interested with the upcoming 2 Series Gran Coupe M35i which should be a good looking coupe.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 380 Thumb down 381
  • What safety? on Jul 25, 2019 at 10:10 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 509 Thumb down 1270
  • Sohai on Jul 25, 2019 at 10:45 pm

BMW CEO, When 330i to be local assembly CKD? Now we Wait until neck longer than giraffe oledi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 388 Thumb down 12
  • expensive on Jul 26, 2019 at 11:56 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 482 Thumb down 720
  • Autobahn on Jul 27, 2019 at 9:55 am

Gla45 wayyy more powerful.

• stastasta on Aug 01, 2019 at 9:33 am

mini cooper jcw shares the same chassis and engine. cheaper too