Toyota GR Supra to get 4 years’ free Apple CarPlay

With all this talk of BMW moving to a subscription plan for Apple CarPlay, there were bound to be people who would wonder if the Toyota GR Supra, which is based on the Z4 and uses a BMW-derived infotainment system, would also follow suit. Among those people was Motor1, which reached out to Toyota Motor North America with just such a query – and the response was encouraging.

The company’s spokesperson Nancy Hubbell told the online publication that owners will get free usage of the service for the first four years. “I followed up on this and was told that Toyota is offering Apple CarPlay compatibility to Supra customers for a four-year trial period,” she said. “Specifics regarding future subscription fees will be available at a later date.”

It should be pointed out that the subscription isn’t technically free – in the United States, Toyota does not offer CarPlay on the base model, which costs US$49,990 (RM205,900). You’ll have to pony up an extra $4,000 (RM16,500) for the Premium variant, meaning that the service does cost extra, if you’re being pedantic.

No word on whether other countries will offer the free trial period – such as Malaysia, where the Supra will be launched in September.

GALLERY: Toyota GR Supra at GIIAS 2019

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 26, 2019 at 7:18 pm

I guess UMW will do the same for the Premium version. If everything else fails, one can always Miracast.

• Nabill on Jul 26, 2019 at 7:57 pm

Real drivers dun do carplay. we love it all rawr’

• Bernard Chandran on Jul 26, 2019 at 10:18 pm

Toyota quality is still top amongst all car makes. This is why the Perodua Myvi is a top seller in Malaysia. It uses a Pure Toyota engine and it is the poor man’s way of owning a Toyota.

Since Nov 2018 till now over 150,000 Myvis have been sold. The equivalent Iriz only managed to sell 791 only.

150,000 vs 791 – the rakyat has chosen which is the better car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 35
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 27, 2019 at 8:18 am

So right bro. Since the historic victory in mid 2018, patriotic Rakyat big payung Proton again.

• davenport on Jul 27, 2019 at 9:39 am

Spreading lies about Myvi in the comments section of an article about the Supra.

Try harder Perodua salesman.

• Celup King on Jul 27, 2019 at 9:47 am

Ehh sori but nobody cares about your small Toyota didi, I mean Toyota small didi.

• Durian on Jul 27, 2019 at 10:03 am

This is also a lesson for Proton to upgrade their go Iriz. When it was first launched, so many huhuhaha and claimed it as a gc but unfortunately today is the opposite. Also Proton should release the gc Iriz EV as many Patriotic Malaysians like me are waiting for it.

• Sanjay Krishnan on Jul 27, 2019 at 10:38 am

This is very true. This is because Toyota and Perodua cars got RV in Malaysia.

Buy a Perodua for RM55,000 brand new. 3 years later still can sell for RM41k.

Buy a Proton for RM55k, next year sell also cannot get RM27k.

• John Sambung Bayar on Jul 27, 2019 at 8:10 pm

I hope those buyers who buy this car can afford it. Don’t take loan up to your neck just to balik kampung to show off to Opah you got money.

Then 2 months later, either kena tarik balik or sambung bayar.

• Too many ah bengs like to show off to ah lians, then later kena tarik. Padan muka.

• Chavez on Jul 28, 2019 at 2:28 pm

Sesat case change name again.

• Sanjay Krishnan on Jul 27, 2019 at 10:52 am

In the 80s and 90s there were many Toyota Supras in Malaysia. It was so affordable. We had so many Honda Preludes and so many Nissan 300ZX Turbos. Toyota Supra as less than RM100k

But now, Toyota Supra will be about RM600k as it is the same price as the X5 in global pricing.

Surprisingly, 80s Toyota Supra and 2019 Toyota Supra just more of less same price in Japan.

Too much of mismanagement the past 60 years have caused our car prices to shoot high up and our currency to become like banana money

• Aura89 on Jul 29, 2019 at 12:41 pm

Feel a teeny tiny weeny bit sorry for our resident troller. Ever since losing his Nissan job, he have been coming here to find meaning of his existence and why was he born. Too bad the car gods are still giving him the silent treatment.

• Ouch Dee on Jul 26, 2019 at 7:24 pm

Apple Carplay WTF?

• Dollah Said on Jul 27, 2019 at 9:16 am

I wish in Malaysia too we can be proud of a local sports car. I don’t know why our local car company, despite getting so much of help, cannot come out with its own high performance sports car.

The best be could do was Putra and Suprima.

• Dollah Said on Jul 27, 2019 at 9:20 am

UMW, a GLC will sell this car here for RM1 million. This is because, as a GLC, it needs to collect a smuch money as possible for the Government to support the overbloated 1.6 million Government servants.

• Dylan on Jul 26, 2019 at 7:26 pm

RM205,900?! That is way cheaper than the 86 here. Lucky Muricans damn, save us pAbang non.

• Veyron Owner on Jul 26, 2019 at 8:16 pm

If Indonesian prices is any indicative, you’re looking at tripling that murican price. Still can’t beat my Veyron.

• Before taxes, after taxes could nearly double depending on the state.

• Dollah Said on Jul 27, 2019 at 9:35 am

I wish Proton had a fast car like this I can be proud of. The best Proton could do is Putra and Suprima.

I want to buy local made fast car as I am patriotic. I don’t like Jepunis car. I am pro Malaysian and want to buy Barangan Buatan Tempatan.

Why for 30 years, despite RM20 billion in bailouts, Proton did not come out with their own super car?

Now I scared to buy PRoton cause no more Barang Buatan Tempatan. Now China made

• Toyoda High Lard on Jul 26, 2019 at 8:16 pm

If you wants to CarPlay for free then Go aliexpress get an aftermarket android Apple CarPlay USB module.

• Untung Manyak Wang on Jul 26, 2019 at 10:34 pm

ADAC Total 24H Rennen 2019, Toyota GR Supra (SP 8T) pos. 41, Subaru WRX STI (SP 3T) pos. 19. :p

• UMW Jual Mahal on Jul 26, 2019 at 11:00 pm

My bloody overpriced C-HR also got Apple carplay. And it’s free.

• Crasher7 on Jul 27, 2019 at 12:00 am

Greedy corporations! The Kia Picanto and other smaller cars, as well as aftermarket audio units have Apple CarPlay without any annoying subscription fee!

• GR_Fan on Jul 27, 2019 at 3:06 am

Does not matter.

99.9% of us would not get this car.

The remaining 1% don’t care how much the subscription anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Richard Ang on Jul 27, 2019 at 1:35 pm

Price would be around 300k for this car.