Govt’s RM6.2b takeover of 4 highways on hold – report

The Malaysian government’s proposed RM6.2 billion takeover of four highway concessionaires has been paused for a re-examination of the offered price, according to government sources. Singapore’s Straits Times (ST), via the Malay Mail, reported that some in the federal government, including cabinet members, believed the offer was excessive.

Some argued that the finance ministry’s projected revenue, backed by congestion charge collection, may not allow for the acquisition to be self-funded as presented currently. “The whole matter (Gamuda proposal) is on hold pending a full review,” the ST quoted an unnamed minister as saying. The Singaporean daily added that the issue was causing friction within the Pakatan Harapan coalition government.

The same minister said finance minister Lim Guan Eng had presented the plan to the public and made offers for the concessionaires – which are linked to Gamuda Bhd – without the agreement of the cabinet. Gamuda, which is agreeable to the buyout offers, is leading the ambitious RM46 billion Penang Transport Masterplan. Lim was the chief minister of Penang before last year’s general election.

This link was fuelling detractors’ suspicions that the two issues were connected, the ST report said. The report also quotes an unnamed DAP leader who somewhat confirms the internal resistance to the takeover proposal. “The finance ministry is of the view that the proposal is good, but it has taken on an unfortunate political twist,” the DAP person said.

In June, the Minister of Finance Inc made a RM6.2 billion offer to take over the operators of the Lebuhraya Damansara Puchong (LDP), Sistem Penyuraian Trafik KL Barat (Sprint), Lebuhraya Shah Alam (Kesas) and the Smart Tunnel.

Lim had said that the takeover bid is being done in the name of public interest, and with the congestion charge system in place, the highways will be toll-free during off-peak hours and toll rates will be 30% lower outside of peak hours.

“This is because the government is not an organisation looking to make a profit. We have taken out the element of profit and are doing it for the public good unlike private enterprises which must make a return,” he said.

The minister stressed that the highway takeover move will not incur cost to the government and that toll rates would not be increased. This is because the takeover will be financed through bond issuance, with congestion charges used to pay off the debt. The plan will also see consumers save up to RM180 million in toll charges during the concession period, he added.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• pengayuhbasikal on Jul 31, 2019 at 4:34 pm

Ekceli can get cheaper. Ecrl can get Diskaun 33%.

• oh weally on Jul 31, 2019 at 4:43 pm

ini bukan u-turn, ini tarik handbrake punya j-turn!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
    • Vader on Jul 31, 2019 at 6:36 pm

waze suh jalan sesat. Biar lambat, asal selamat.

• Manifesto Dicapati on Jul 31, 2019 at 6:51 pm

Janji Dicapati

• Zenrich MLM on Aug 01, 2019 at 12:18 am

Not U-turn, just waiting another 200 investors via crowd funding before get project.

• More like Bro Nobita is waiting for Arab sheikhs to buyout the highways and donate back to the gomen.

• hondaman on Jul 31, 2019 at 5:03 pm

What’s new from the U turn gomen… Yawn..The only person that can make announcement 1st before informing the cabinet and get away with it, is the great Tun M.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • Yellow Vest on Jul 31, 2019 at 7:54 pm

Smart decision again by U turn gomen. The Kesas highway concession is set to expire in 4 years. Abolish tolls, cost of living sure gone up.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jul 31, 2019 at 5:04 pm

Ah Lim, we got bigger problems lah. You pandai pandai kira dunno where tiba tiba 6 Billion, like money drop from sky ah?

Aiyoh, help kick start the economy first lah. You ask wife go pasar see how much food price has gone up. You go talk to fresh grads and ask them how long no jobs. You go ask that young couple if they have enough savings to put down payment for that small size apartment. We are all suffering, gaji tak naik sudah bertahun tahun tapi cost of living makin naik. We voted PH not only to get rid of that Kleptocratic gomen but also to make a better future for ourselves.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 5
  • SuaraRakyat on Jul 31, 2019 at 5:14 pm

Is OK, take money to build sport car, organise the F1, build flyingcar is priority, who created the toll system, your ask toll father kill it own son?

• Rock kapak diehard on Aug 01, 2019 at 2:01 pm

Is OK, take money to build Felda, Putrajaya, cyberjaya, KLIA, klcc, Bkt jalil sukan. Pffftt

• Damon Lee on Aug 01, 2019 at 3:36 pm

Other than the first which benefited hundreds of thousands of rakyat, the rest are made by who? Yes, your favourite 90+ year old PM.

• lilytan on Jul 31, 2019 at 5:17 pm

If I remember correctly, Nobita was really bad at math.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
  • U-Tun on Jul 31, 2019 at 5:17 pm

Whatever offers put on table, comes with something beneath it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Lolwhut? on Jul 31, 2019 at 5:30 pm

UTurn have been expected. Uturning is here. Should rename his portfolio from Finance Minister to UTurn Minister and charge him to kickstart more uturn projects on the road. He is more adept at that than seriously looking at our failing economy.

• Angry Voters on Jul 31, 2019 at 5:41 pm

Make policies atas angin saja. Say want to do this, want to do that before election. Now after election still the same attitude, says want to do so many things but they forget now they’re in Government, what they said must be carried out. So after they realised their stupid acts and words, they retracted what they said one by one or make some lame excuse like they were misquoted. When newsites insisted they weren’t misquoted, these ministers threaten to gag order them, bar them from pressies, or want to sue them. These kind of capalang ministers aren’t fit to lead us. Sheer brief moment of madness that drove the rakyat to elect them now we all suffer from their incompetence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
    • Say want to do this, want to do that before election. Now we see the long Q to Sg Buloh …

• History Bender on Aug 01, 2019 at 11:20 am

The way he runs thing, he can’t even manage to run Sg Buloh. If Botak Chin were there, Botak Chin would easily have escaped.

• Shahrul on Jul 31, 2019 at 5:49 pm

Hmm..just wondering..is it fair for the rest of malaysian citizen as tax payers?6bil ringgit will be spent just to benefit not even 20% of road users(estimation)..lots of things can be done with 6bil ringgit..totally agree with toll reduction..not “pengambil alihan”just my opinion..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Hantu on Aug 01, 2019 at 12:21 am

You are absolutely correct

• stastasta on Aug 01, 2019 at 9:32 pm

6b ringgit will be funded by congestion charge which will be paid by the very same toll users. so, no extra burden on the rest of citizens staying outside klang valley.

• Ben Yap on Jul 31, 2019 at 5:54 pm

if there is no 3rd national car project, buying over the tolls concessionaire is possible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Premkumar on Jul 31, 2019 at 6:25 pm

What’s with the u turn? Easy. Blame Najib, 1MDB and previous government. *yawn*

• stastasta on Aug 01, 2019 at 9:34 pm

u turn is the same bargaining strategy which government had used to lower the cost of ECRL and MRT 3. if the contractor / concessionaire dont want to give discount then threaten to walk away and cancel the deal. clever government saves our rakyat compared to the free spending previous government which squandered our money.

• BMW fan not on Jul 31, 2019 at 7:03 pm

Ah Lim, how you compute that 180 Mil consumers saving ar. You take a pee and made that u turn ar?

• I suggest Paultan tone down when reporting this kind of news. I get depressed!!

New hope becomes false hope.

• ben yadder on Jul 31, 2019 at 8:13 pm

both gov also kaw2 kencing rakyat…dunno who to believe now…..

• Lets See on Aug 01, 2019 at 11:25 am

Easy. Lets see:
      One didn’t promised you all that wonderful things, but work on the ground to make some of it happen.
      The other promised you all that wonderful things, but choose to blame the previous management when they couldn’t make any of it happen.
      Choose which is the lesser of these 2 in next election. Choose wisely this time.

• Kall nk tgk org bodoh yg berlagak pandai, inilah dia.

• Kalo nk tgk org bodoh yg berlagak pandai, inilah dia.

• Ah meng on Aug 01, 2019 at 8:23 am

Everyda kena kencing.. Where is free toll? This is not what I want when voting PH..

• Hope not wrong decimal point for this time.. I hope so.. So scary under Uncle Lim as a MoF..

• John Doe on Aug 01, 2019 at 8:29 am

Why are you still talking?
    Apologize for all your defaming first.
    Especially your statement of the previous government stealing GST money.

• blabla on Aug 01, 2019 at 9:04 am

PH is more suitable to be opposition rather than gomen..already 1 year been a gomen still thinking like opposition..

• vVivi Zurianti on Aug 01, 2019 at 9:37 am

As expected…..U turn.

Whatever whichever the govt, all very good sweet-sweet bed talk only.

• Aura89 on Aug 01, 2019 at 11:15 am

Another example how people vote for stuff they don’t understand, since that money Pakatan ‘saved’ is NOT spent on Malaysian citizens as promised.

“Democracy has a major issue: the dumb are also allowed to participate.”

• Ah lim on Aug 01, 2019 at 11:23 am

So tired will this new uturn decision.. Come on.. Tau buat kerja ka tatau buat kerja? U turn uturn uturn all the time..

• Mr. Octopus on Aug 01, 2019 at 12:40 pm

All got conned by fake news from Sg lol

• Damon Lee on Aug 01, 2019 at 3:38 pm

You mean like how we got conned with all that 1MDB story and GST money lost & Birkin diamond stories? You might be right.

• Ben Yap on Aug 01, 2019 at 1:23 pm

once it’s on hold, there is a possibility it will not materialized.

• stastasta on Aug 01, 2019 at 9:21 pm

it will probably materialize similar to the revival of ECRL and MRT 3. government is just playing hardball negotiation tactics to force the contractor or concessionaire to lower the cost

• Ollie on Aug 01, 2019 at 4:47 pm

Hopefully Tony Pua and Ong Kian Ming as the brains trust of LGE read this and know that they are over their head and just get lost out of the FInance Ministry and have competent people in their place. Who gave them the position is the question.

• Lim Sey Ya on Aug 03, 2019 at 7:56 am

What are the purposes of build highway in Klang valley??is it really to avoid traffic congestion during peak hours??the answer is no..the PM4 government just wanna doing business with his own rakyats and making tons of money for his crony…that’s it…