Mimco Alif – sketches of Giugiaro-designed EV SUV

You may remember on Monday we ran the news that the Alam Perkasa Consortium (APC) was apparently one of the bidders for the New National Car Project (NNCP), with its planned carmaker, the Malaysian International Motor Company (Mimco), expected to build a mid-sized electric SUV called the Alif. Well, the original source of the story, The Edge, published APC’s sketches of the car on its online version of its article today, giving us a proper glimpse of what it will look like.

Reportedly penned by legendary designer Giorgetto Giugiaro and his son, Fabrizio (who are said to be part of the consortium), the Alif would be a handsome, if rather conventional take on an electric crossover. Looking pretty compact despite the “mid-size” billing, it features a closed-off trapezoidal “grille” with built-in accent lighting, flanked by slim headlights and paired with a front skid plate and a distinct lack of air intakes.

Along the side, you’ll find prominent front and rear haunches and chunky body mouldings, while the rear gets full-width tail lights. Large alloy wheels in a two-tone turbine design complete the design, and we also get a look at the logo – a blue roundel with a stylised head of a bird, finished in gold.

There are big plans for this car, which is set to debut at the Geneva Motor Show in March before going on sale in 2022. The consortium plans to sell 60,000 units of the Alif per year, with about 80% being exported to places like Europe and the United States. Against an initial private investment of RM5 billion, APC aims to rake in an annual turnover of RM14 billion.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• benard on Jul 31, 2019 at 3:21 pm

So each car to cost RM233K

• Horizon Sailor on Jul 31, 2019 at 3:29 pm

Too much “Mat Jenin” ambition perhaps.

Even the so called 20-30 yrs old national car maker still cannot penetrate international market.

Dont u guys remember “Esna Venere”…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Matchy on Jul 31, 2019 at 3:50 pm

Isn’t the front grill looks a bit like BMW?

• Manual Swift Sporter on Jul 31, 2019 at 3:56 pm

If all the Chinese Electric startups taught us anything, the West is crying out right now for more generic looking electric SUVs made in South East Asia by a company with as much knowledge to build cars as we do. Trump and Boris will be queuing up to drop their deposits for sure.

• TIGER PYEKQ on Jul 31, 2019 at 5:37 pm

it wont work because electricity cost in malaysia is high. end up product will be high cost. If china make a car like this, the cost will slam malaysian cost nicely. The reason for china being able to produce low cost products is because of cheap electricity. For us to offset electricity cost, use bangla lor. and end up low quality product. End up no one buy. then bungkus. Malaysia Boleh!

• JAMALBLUE on Aug 01, 2019 at 12:35 am

Looks sick! But need to change the logo cause damn ugly

• kereta_lembu on Aug 01, 2019 at 2:19 pm

As mentioned, 80% of the SUV will be exported. That says a lot because there must be a reason why a ‘National Car’ is not being sold in a bigger volume in Malaysia. My hunch is that the car will be expensive. So much so that only 20% can afford it. Secondly, we do not have the facilities to cater for such EV cars yet. When? I don’t know…looking at our petrol/diesel quality here, we’re not even on par with some countries…I just don’t see that we can get facilities ready for EV cars in the near future.

Another thing that worries me is that, even parking meters were vandalized last time. I’m pretty sure if we have public charging stations, its just a matter of time someone or some rempits will go and destroy it or vandalize it for the sake of entertainment.

• Looks like the sketches of an intern

• Bulus on Aug 03, 2019 at 12:55 pm

Y is chicken used for the logo?