Road closures have been announced for the Merdeka celebrations taking place this year at the country’s administrative capital, Putrajaya, The Star reports. The closures on August 31 will be from 6am until the parade is finished; the Merdeka parade is expected to start from 7:30 am and end by noon, said Kuala Lumpur deputy police chief Datuk Roslan Bek Ahmad.
The affected roads are Laman Perdana, Persiaran Perdana, Lebuh Saujana, Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Lebuh Wawasan, Lebuh Bestari, Jalan Pembangunan, Jalan Kemerdekaan and Lebuh Setia, the deputy police chief said in a statement yesterday. Approximately 5,000 parking lots have been allocated, as well as shuttle buses between locations in the area.
There will be three shuttle bus zones – the pick-up points for Zone A are in Putrajaya Sentral, My Farm and Ayer 8, and passengers from these locations will be dropped off at Kiblat Walk. Zones B and C will have passengers boarding from Presint 14, the Higher Education Ministry, Taman Seri Empangan and the Kompleks E parking area, and they will be dropped off behind the Palace of Justice.
“Please follow all instructions of the policemen on the ground and do not park your vehicles indiscriminately on the side of the road. Vehicles deemed to be blocking traffic will be towed,” said Roslan, advising all who are attending to keep their belongings safe and to be wary of pickpockets. Approximately 300,000 people are expected to turn up for this year’s Merdeka celebrations in Putrajaya.
They dont dare do in central KL anymore? Scared that angry and disillusioned voters will hold a Occupy KL at Dataran? Face us if you dare, dont hide behind you government office walls!
You’re delusional. No matter how bad PH is, we certainly dont want PAS-UMNO in real life.
Only you. You don’t speak for the rest of us.
HEAR! HEAR!
You have my vote on that!
Agreed!!
Its time our rakyat take a stand just like our brethren in Hong Kong & in France. Viva le Hong Kong! Viva le Malaisie! Viva le Francaise!
Will you join in our crusade?
Who will be strong and stand with me?
Somewhere beyond the barricade
Is there a world you long to see?
Then join in the fight
That will give you the right to be free!
Do you hear the people sing?
Singing the songs of angry men?
It is the music of the people
Do You Hear the People Sing? (Les Miserables)
Are u Malaysian? Kesian. Every Malaysian know Merdeka Day celebration will be held either in KL or Putrajaya.
Nope. Very rare it will be in Putrajaya as that event is usually reserved for Malaysia Day. Merdeka traditionally is at Dataran Merdeka. I doubt you have been to Merdeka nor Malaysia Day celebrations.
2003 & 2005 held in putrajaya…and i support it held at putrajaya, less jam in the city
I guess you missed the words ‘very rare’
Come on, Angry Voters. This is National Day. Can we just for one day kept politics out of picture? Can we just have one day where we all can unite as Malaysians, despite our political differences?
Please. For the betterment of Malaysia.
The gloves are off, its time to rumble, no holds bared anymore.
Merdeka pun mau politik ka??
When the perceived ‘good guys’ does it, many said it was okay back then. Why the double standard now? Biased much?