The long and drawn-out saga of toll abolishment continues, and in the run-up to Budget 2020, prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has reiterated that such a move would not be possible – at least, not right now – due to the high costs involved in taking over the country’s highways, according to Bernama.
The premier said that an immediate abolishment was never promised by Pakatan Harapan. “When I [previously] mentioned there was no promise of abolishing tolls, I was referring to the manifesto which stated that it would not be done immediately,” Mahathir said.
In the months leading up to the 14th general election, the party released a manifesto which pledged, among other things, to review all highway concession agreements and negotiate for the best deals to take over each concession, with the ultimate aim to abolish tolls in stages.
Mahathir said that an in-depth study showed that taking over all tolled highways immediately would cost the government tens of billions of ringgit, and billions of ringgit more to maintain. He added that Malaysia would need to repay a trillion-ringgit debt accumulated by the previous government to avoid bankruptcy, and that the interest and principal of the debt would cost billions of ringgit.
“When this is paid, government funds will be insufficient for key infrastructure development, [especially] if the costs of purchasing and maintaining highways are added to the government’s operational and development expenditure,” Mahathir said, adding that the study showed the government would not be able to afford the projects the people are requesting if it is saddled with the cost of maintaining highways.
He also said that not all companies that were awarded toll concessions by the government were able to make a profit, due to the high costs of maintaining the highways.
Abolish tolls not possible.Protiga,flying car possible.What rocket science is this? can anyone explain the logic?
Betoii brah… Return of mythical golden 1000year flying carpet era for us the dignifieds.
This is what MY pipu voted for rite? Hahahahahahaha!
Padan mukak. Hahahahahahaha!
A lot of things became “Not Possible” after you came into power. Wolf in a sheep’s clothing.. the very same wolf is back at its game..again
I strongly sapott its possible, if PLUS bought over by LTH, LTAT, Felda & Kwap.. hidup MY !
Those are all business entities, what the heck u talking about? U think they takeover then let you use it for free??
It’s like promising your girlfriend before you were married that you will buy her a big bungalow with a huge swimming pool, her own sports car and dining in expensive restaurants everyday.
But after you married her, you stay in a rented low cost flat and buy a second hand Saga. And when she asked you about the pre-marriage promises, you tell here that it was just a pledge, not a promise.
That’s a really good way of putting it actually. Easier for laymen to understand. The only difference is, after you marry her, she tells you she owes money by the billions which needs to be repayed or she will have to surrender herself to the loan sharks… So still can buy her the bungalow and fancy car?
Good way of putting it. The only difference is that after you marry her, YOU tell her that she owes money by the billions so you can’t get her this stuff while her bank says every quarter, “um, that’s not true” and then you take her credit card and rack up another 200 billion in debt and say “it will be when I’m through with you”.
Even AFTER you know she owes money YOU still MAKE those promises…now you say you didnt know and all cannot fulfill..anything wrong now all blame on HER..Pakatan Harapan Kosong it seems
Nothing but talk..
Immediate toll abolishment not possible…
But immediate change of government after next GE will…
Protiga,flying cars possible
Then when he will implement it? At least bring down the cost to half. Let’s say from JB to KL is around like RM 40, bring down to RM 20. Ini pun rakyat kena ajar eh? Haiyyooo…
I don’t mind paying for toll so long they don’t devalue to ringgit anymore. Things are so freaking expensive thanks to the previous shameless gov action that cause the RM to drop so much. Bring the RM stronger.
U frm G or what? Every problems always blame previous G. Lame old trick boy!
Better trust the words of snake than our politicians…..