PLUS to end Touch ‘n Go reload service at all its toll plazas, cites 48.2% reduction in congestion from move

PLUS Malaysia recently announced that it has successfully reduced congestion by 48.2% at all its central region toll plaza exit lanes since it ended Touch ‘n Go reload services from August 1 this year. In light of this, the company will extend the “no TnG reload policy” to all its operated highways nationwide in the southern and northern regions soon.

According to PLUS, the implementation of the policy in the central region between Seremban and Ipoh South has seen a significant reduction in the number of drivers with insufficient balance in their TnG cards. This, in turn, resulted in less congestion that would have occurred as drivers attempted to reload their TnG cars at toll plaza exit lanes.

Bringing some statistics in for context, the company explained that on the first day of the policy being put into effect (August 1), daily congestion at toll exit lanes was a direct result of 5% of drivers with an insufficient balance.

With a daily average traffic volume of 850,000 vehicles, the 5% accounted for 42,500 vehicles that contributed to high congestion and time wastage. By the end of September, PLUS recorded an approximated drop from 42,500 vehicles daily to 22,000 vehicles where owners had an insufficient balance, representing a 48.2% decrease.

The company expressed its gratefulness towards motorists who ensured that their TnG cards were topped up prior to entering the North-South Expressway, and advised others to plan ahead to do the same. It added that the policy was also to ensure the safety of PLUS personnel as there have been cases of heavy vehicles driving through the booths at toll plazas.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Nigel oleyuwu on Oct 11, 2019 at 12:31 pm

I still couldnt used TnG ewallet to reload my kad TnG. I had to reload using myKad to get cashback

• Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 11, 2019 at 1:38 pm

Ini memang tak baca ewallet fungsi dan kaitan bagaimana pakai dgn TnG kad ni….

• See the majority working in PLUS and TNG. Then you will understand why they make uneducated decisions. They are just lazy and not innovative. Always want the easy way out of things

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
        • Engineer on Oct 11, 2019 at 5:31 pm

This is a technological barrier, nothing to do with being lazy or not innovative. Just because you are that, doesn’t mean others are the same as you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
    • Currently that function not available unless the pay direct with ewallet is available throughout the country. Until TNG allows reload of TnG card via ewallet or allow even credit card reloads, I think this is a major inconvenience. But having said that, its also an inconvenience waiting behind someone who needs to top up.

• About dem time! MY pipu need to be taught a lesson not to do things last minit and wait until no more credit b4 sheepishly going to manned booths to top up. These idiots dun even look remorse or say sori to those they held up thinking its not their fault. Real idiots!

BTW, when is RFID coming to PLUS hiway? Signboards alredi up but neck wait longlong for the service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • Ollie on Oct 11, 2019 at 12:54 pm

good job.. i notice shah alam highway users are the ones always lining up to reload Rm10.. in damansara and kepong, much fewer stop to reload

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • I thought they mean no more reload for exit only?

• TakNakP1 on Oct 11, 2019 at 1:43 pm

My question is not who is right or wrong.
    What happen when a vehicle without TnG or sufficient balance at the toll? The vehicle just stuck there?
    I once forgot my TnG and the operator told me “pinjam belakang”. Amazing option… I wouldn’t mind if PLUS really thought of the situation and charge double or triple the amount.

• Anandm on Oct 11, 2019 at 1:59 pm

Please get all tolls to be paydirect enabled. Which means you can touch your card and deduction been made to your e-wallet. It’s much easier that way. Sometimes, we really want to top-up our cards but when go to top-up at petrol kiosk and so on they will say offline. Therefore, some people have no choice but to top-up at exiting tol. Not everybody can afford to use auto reload with credit card.

Good move but other things to be sorted before getting rid of the top-up lane at exiting tol booth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • khairul on Oct 12, 2019 at 11:06 pm

True.. not all toll plaza accept e-wallet. PLUS highway from KL to Penang not accept e-wallet. I live in Penang where it is easier to use motorcycle to work to avoid congestion. But Sometimes when I have to travel early in the morning using Cars (before 5AM) it is difficult to reload because problem like touch & go Offline

• mr1031 on Oct 11, 2019 at 2:27 pm

good..please reload elsewhere and be a responsible driver..choking the toll booth bcoz of your laziness is not the way forward in this country

• syok sendiri on Oct 11, 2019 at 2:32 pm

infra first, make sure there’s no offline tng services, PLUS hiway able to use directpay e-wallet and provide more topup kiosk then only you can abolished the reload lane…

• Kuih Lobak on Oct 11, 2019 at 2:58 pm

But why North south highway still cannot use e-wallet to reload our touch n go? Been so long already…. Come on! Efficient a bit leh, Ah Lok…

• Please la, stop all the reload, but then go to the toll service center to reload, machine tak boleh pakai, asked the service staff, never respond, and do not accept the reload in counter. What for??? This is not solving the problem, this is creating another problem!

• Rizal on Oct 11, 2019 at 3:56 pm

PLUS, before you citing on traffic efficiency by eliminating TNG reload booths , please make sure that is no downtime at all reload machines and pump stations. Till now also the TNG ewallet cannot be used for PLUS highway. Such inconvenience for us that use PLUS highway in the morning.

• Mei Li on Oct 11, 2019 at 4:18 pm

Just enable the damn eWallet TnG for PLUS. Not everyone can afford to reload at TnG office, Watsons, petrol station etc. (e.g. disabled people, pregnant women etc.). PLUS shouldt sold the TnG in the first place.

• It is not easy to enable Paydirect on a closed-system toll (i.e entry and exit). Unlike an open system toll where the toll charge is fixed, a closed system toll require entry and exit info before any charge can be made.. Imagine the time and latency required to do the process.Do you really want to stop and wait a second before passing through?

• Plus should just implement that everyone needs rfid and completely remove the barrier for toll. The same system as how Singapore run their toll system so cars do not even need to slow down which will reduce congestion even more as everyone slows down for touch and go or even smart tag and rfid with the slow boom gates. And those with insufficient funds will receive a fine.

• Or you know, just scrap tng and embraced the contactless ways, almost everyone got a contactless card, why we need to move that amount to the other card?

• what are u implying? racial profiling? boo!

those that did not bother to ensure hv sufficient balance in their card that need to be whooped!

kudos PLUS. another thing I like to see get implemented is… to dock a heavy fine or penalty to those causing jam at the smart tag lane.. those who either don’t hv sufficient balance or failed to ensure their smart tag is functional (batt, etc)…

happy to see they pay the toll for those cars behind them.. if 10 cars.. let if be 10 cars that persons get to pay.. that only fair

• i foresee more accidents will happen, all speeding past toll and trying to beat each other to see who can squeeze in that 3 little lanes that converged from multiple 10 lanes etc from toll plaza…woohoo!!! vroom vroom…all f1 speedboy wannabe

• Plus want money in advance ma that y they close the reload booth on toll so user will reload more then they will get profit even user not using the card. Congratulations sucker

• PayDirect just functioning when you are in KL. Why it takes them too long to deploy PayDirect into all highway exits?
    Inconvenience!!!

• John Doe on Oct 13, 2019 at 11:14 pm

Everyday some new nonsense will surface…
    You cant even get your smarttag lanes to be reasonably reliable. It appears using smsrttag or tng is causing more congestion then ever!
    Are you saving rm1100 of pay for toll workers at our expense??? Why didnt the transport ministry comment on this?